Carriers are reporting longer-than-normal shipping times. Acoustic Sounds is not responsible for in-transit delays.

Found 1933 product(s) in

Product Reviews

Results Per Page
Viewing 1 - 20 of 1933 Products
The Who - Tommy Product No: AGEF 95270
Available: InStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Geffen

Almost phenomenal

3 Stars
Posted Wednesday, June 16, 2021 by Carter DeVries KG’s mastering is excellent as I’ve come to expect. Sides 1-3 play quiet as you could ask for but side 4 has, I guess, what would be called “groove roar”….like a constant static-y swoosh that is very obvious between tracks but also during any part of playback where the music that is quieter or just less busy. I’ve tried two copies and both have had this defect. Just a head’s up. It may just be the current batch, but if you receive one with this issue you’ll hear it loud and clear….and it’s a drag.


Freddie Hubbard - Hub-Tones Product No: ABLU 7764742
Available: InStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Blue Note (Blue Note 80)

Almost Tone Poet quality

5 Stars
Posted Monday, June 14, 2021 by Brian VanPelt If you are familiar with the Blue Note Tone Poet records, then you are aware of the high standard they set for quality pressings. This record is just about as good. It sounds like it is cut about as loudly as a Tone Poet, but it is a little thin- sounding compared to a Tone Poet.

As for surface noise, there's not much. A click here or there is all I heard. The record itself looked visually perfect. The pressing is almost dead quiet, and all of the instruments have great detail and punch. The soundstage spans from left to right, with center fill. The cymbals are perfect and the horns will knock you for a loop.

Overall, excellent. I hope your copy is as good as mine.


Oscar Peterson - We Get Requests Product No: RRAP 0025
Available: InStock
Category: 1/4 Inch - 15 IPS Tape
Label: Analogue Productions

Fantastic Amazing Sublime

5 Stars
Posted Saturday, June 12, 2021 by Anonymous Fantastic presentation sounds sublime everything is gorgeous Excellent job guys I am so happy with this album Congratulations Chad and all Acoustic Sounds Team Cheers Fernando from Chile ????


Ray Charles - Genius + Soul = Jazz Product No: AIMP 21001
Available: InStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Impulse (Acoustic Sounds Series)

Outstanding

5 Stars
Posted Friday, June 11, 2021 by Anonymous Outstanding pressing! Dead quiet Vinyl a great music. If you like the music just buy it. You won’t be disappointed.


Donald Byrd - Byrd In Flight Product No: ABLU 11301
Available: BackOrdered
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Blue Note (Tone Poet)

5 Stars
Posted Friday, June 11, 2021 by Anonymous


Animal Collective - Sung Tongs Product No: ADOM 006
Available: InStock
Category: Vinyl Record
Label: Domino

Beautiful!

5 Stars
Posted Wednesday, June 9, 2021 by Anonymous (Have loved this "band" for 20 years) Having been disappointed before with CD-era albums arriving later to vinyl, I was apprehensive. I took a chance and now stand in awe. The gatefold packaging is beautiful and done with obvious care, and the vinyl is even better. 2 discs, so the 55 minutes are not packed in, and the sound: Depth, suppleness, clarity. I expected a CD pressed onto vinyl, but no...this is the real deal. Wow!


Paul Chambers - Bass On Top Product No: ABLU 25901
Available: BackOrdered
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Blue Note (Tone Poet)

Standard Tone Poet Quality

5 Stars
Posted Tuesday, June 8, 2021 by Brian VanPelt It's nice to sit back and relax to a record for the first time, and genuinely not worry about surface noise. It's a freeing experience, like when I was a kid and put on a record for the first time. As usual for the Tone Poet series, there is little if any surface noise.

The setup has the bass player prominently on the right with the drums. Piano is in the middle, but a little further back. Finally, the electric guitar is on the left. Each instrument is afforded time to shine, and in most tunes that's the bass and the guitar, although one tune had a piano solo, and another tune had a drum solo.

The sound is softened, probably because the tape is old (1957), but much has been done with the tape. I suspect high frequencies needed to be trimmed a little, some of the higher frequencies might be a little muted. This has an older, tube-like sound to it.

By the way, the guitar solos are nothing short of stunning. Grade 4.5


Hank Mobley - Soul Station Product No: ABLU 746554
Available: InStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Blue Note/Blue Note Classic Vinyl Series

great quality at a good price

5 Stars
Posted Tuesday, June 8, 2021 by bobby this classic series is a must have ,, for 25 bucks you get a AAA record cut by kevin gray and pressed in germany,,,,you cant do much better than this,,grab while you can because when these go Out of Print,the cost will rise...


Art Blakey & The Jazz Messengers - The Witch Doctor Product No: ABLU 87501
Available: InStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Blue Note (Tone Poet)

Smokin'

5 Stars
Posted Monday, June 7, 2021 by Brian VanPelt This one is cut loud, like most of the other Tone Poet albums. These guys get started and just keep going - there is no dull moment in this one. I heard ideas that I hadn't before, and you can't help but toe-tap to a lot of these tunes.

The surface noise is essentially null and void, but you wouldn't know it because the music is quite loud.

On the right, I heard the sax and Art Blakey on the drums - and he pounds those things into submission. The piano was in the middle, and maybe a trumpet was on the left. The bass lingers somewhere in the back.

This is a seriously dynamic album. All of the instruments sound correct, and they were all played with vigor. To use classical music speak, the whole album is played in allegro; there is no slow down ever. As far as the music is concerned, this is really high on my list of Tone Poet releases. It is toe-tapping and head bobbing, and it's not even like you have a choice.

Freedom of surface noise affords this l


Andrew Hill - Passing Ships Product No: ABLU 87401
Available: InStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Blue Note (Tone Poet)

Another Tone Poet near perfection

5 Stars
Posted Thursday, June 3, 2021 by Brian VanPelt When I say near perfection, it is essentially perfect except for maybe 2 light surface noises during the whole album. It's evident that these Tone Poet offerings are about as good as it gets. The records are dead silent - far more quiet than the latest one-step record.

Everything was perfectly clear. Brass was generally on the left, with some appearing in the middle with the keyboard/piano player. The bass player was somewhere centered in the back and the drummer was always on the right. Each instrument was easily discernible with enough air around them so each could define its own sonic space. Image stability was superb. Occasionally, a flute would join in the middle. The dynamic range was strong - the record is cut fairly loudly - but not the loudest I've heard.

If there is a fault with this album, not the record, it's that when the drums are pounded, the original source tape distorted a little. But that was only one tune, wherein it was done twice.


Henry Mancini - Peter Gunn Product No: AAPP 1956-45
Available: InStock
Category: 45 RPM Vinyl Record
Label: Analogue Productions

5 Stars
Posted Thursday, June 3, 2021 by Anonymous


Paul Simon - Still Crazy After All These Years Product No: AMOBUD 014
Available: PreOrder
Category: Vinyl Box Sets
Label: Mobile Fidelity

Loud and Clear

5 Stars
Posted Thursday, June 3, 2021 by Brian VanPelt First, I'll start with the bad. I've never gotten a flawless-looking one-step record yet. This one has a faint scratch and some light Rorschach marks on disk 1 - none of these had any sonic effects. Next, the vinyl is not dead quiet. There are light clicks throughout, but they are sparse. I also counted 2 light pops.

Aside from those observations, the album is otherwise perfect. These records are cut very loudly - akin to the Speakers Corner version of Goodbye Yellow Brick Road, or Dave Brubeck's album Time In. Needless to say, the dynamics are astounding. If there are any clicks during the songs, you'll most likely not hear them. In addition, the beat of the bass drum is propulsive. Everything is perfectly balanced - the instruments sound proportionally correct..

The sonic image is laser tight. It's easy to pick out every instrument in space. Paul Simon's voice is perfectly centered and focused. You can hear the complete decay of every tone. Grade: 4.5


McCoy Tyner - Tender Moments Product No: ABLU 11001
Available: InStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Blue Note (Tone Poet)

Separation of instruments

5 Stars
Posted Thursday, June 3, 2021 by Brian VanPelt By now, I have come to trust that these Tone Poet records are essentially flawless from a sonic perspective. This record did have some strange scuff marks like I see regularly on the Series 80 reissues, but none of those marks had any sonic effect.

This album has a wonderful dynamic range - another hallmark of this Tone Poet series. When the band kicks into full gear, it is potent, but you can still pinpoint and name every instrument if you try. I just laid back and let it hammer me. Everything is so clear, and the vinyl so quiet, you can really just relax and enjoy without the fear of annoying surface noise.

This album occasionally just explodes forth from the speakers. Mr. Tyner apparently didn't mind having sudden bursts of all 9 players going at once. Every instrument sounds completely natural.

I wish somebody like Deutsche Grammaphon would undertake a Tone Poet - like series of classical records - they are literally as quiet as any records I've ever owned.


John Coltrane - Ole Coltrane Product No: AORM 1086-45
Available: InStock
Category: 45 RPM Vinyl Record
Label: ORG Music

4 Stars
Posted Wednesday, June 2, 2021 by Anonymous


Harry Nilsson - Aerial Ballet Product No: ARCA 3956
Available: InStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Speakers Corner (RCA)

Great sounding, where is Daddy’s song?

4 Stars
Posted Tuesday, June 1, 2021 by Anonymous Great press, beautiful art work, but omits the first track on the US release Daddy’s Song, bummer.


Daft Punk - Random Access Memories Product No: ACOL 71686
Available: BackOrdered
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Columbia

It's perfect!

5 Stars
Posted Tuesday, June 1, 2021 by Nick Johnson It took a while on FedEx's part. But the package arrived without any issues. The album is gorgeous! Everything from the cover art, to the sound quality. This album at the very least, is the finest album I have ever received in the last 15 years. I look forward to getting more LP's from Acoustic in the near future. As for Daft Punk, I will continue to crave more albums.


The Ronnell Bright Trio - The Ronnell Bright Trio Product No: ASAM 03
Available: InStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Sam Records

Superb!

5 Stars
Posted Monday, May 24, 2021 by ShockTop When an album causes me to turn towards my speakers and smile... that's when I know it's something special. A treat. Dynamics are great. Dead quiet pressing. One of my fave Sam releases.


Amy Winehouse - Frank Product No: ARPB 515858
Available: InStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Island Records

Gone too soon. But her music is here

5 Stars
Posted Monday, May 24, 2021 by Richard Shipp I very good Amy Winehouse album, and a dead quiet great sounding pressing.


Johnny Cash - American V: A Hundred Highways Product No: AAME 27690
Available: InStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: American Recordings

Johnny Cash's Soul

5 Stars
Posted Sunday, May 23, 2021 by Richard Daniel Shipp Johnny Cash with a Mic, a quiet guitar, and other very laid back instruments, you can hear such a pure record. Really touching, and the Production is top quality. So very glad I bought this. Now I have to collect the rest of the American collection.


Ron Miles - Rainbow Sign Product No: ABLU 39601
Available: InStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Blue Note

10 out of 10

5 Stars
Posted Friday, May 21, 2021 by Anonymous Best record I’ve bought all year. Great music Great sound.



Viewing 1 - 20 of 1933 Products