Carriers are reporting longer-than-normal shipping times. Acoustic Sounds is not responsible for in-transit delays.

Found 44 product(s) in the

R&B/Soul Music

genre in

Product Reviews

Results Per Page
Viewing 1 - 20 of 44 Products
Donny Hathaway - The Best Of Donny Hathaway Product No: AFRM 58107
Available: InStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Friday Music

Pretty Good, If You Like 'Our Donny!'

4 Stars
Posted Tuesday, March 23, 2021 by Rick Higgins Excellent for a one vinyl Best Of. Buy, Now! In addition, please purchase, vinyl or CD, his, "Extension Of A Man.' Wonderful!


Erykah Badu - Mama's Gun Product No: AMOT 33701
Available: BackOrdered
Category: Vinyl Record
Label: Motown

Excellent Recording

5 Stars
Posted Saturday, March 13, 2021 by Chris_G As a life long Erykah Badu fan and of this album in particular, this pressing does not disappoint in any way. Excellent and soulful vocals, good bass and well recorded.

My only ding is that the labels are reversed on each of the 2 lps, so side 1 is really side 2 and side 3 is side 4 on my copy.

It was definitely worth the 6 month backorder wait to get the album.


Spinners - Best Of Spinners Product No: AFRM 59179
Available: InStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Friday Music

Mixed feelings

4 Stars
Posted Tuesday, March 9, 2021 by Anonymous The pressing is excellent/quiet, and the gold vinyl is beautiful! But I have mixed feelings about the sound. Some of the tracks sound wonderful and warm, like "One of a Kind (Love Affair)" and "They Just Can't Stop It The (Games People Play)". Others like "I'll be Around" sound bright. Not sure what the source was, or if it was different for some of the tracks. My analog components are all tube and tend to the warm side, yet on some of the tracks I felt the need to turn the volume down. Overall recommended, but can't give it 5 stars.


Donny Hathaway - Everything Is Everything Product No: AATC 33332
Available: InStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Speakers Corner (Atco)

perfection

5 Stars
Posted Tuesday, January 12, 2021 by Anonymous if you dont own this, get it, now!!!!! speakers corner did a great job with this one and it sounds wonderful,,, grab these while you can.....


Sam Cooke - Portrait Of A Legend 1951-1964 Product No: AABK 92641
Available: InStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Abkco

Defective packaging

3 Stars
Posted Friday, January 8, 2021 by Anonymous Good album and all, but the materials used in the inner sleeves left a lot of debris all over the records. Whatever the particles are, they were abrasive and clinging to the records. Professional cleaning could not help all of the audible pops and clicks.


Ray Charles - Modern Sounds In Country And Western Music Vol. 1 & 2 Product No: ACON 0899
Available: InStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Concord

Well done!!!!

5 Stars
Posted Monday, December 28, 2020 by Anonymous This sounds great to me. Great value!!!!!


Dr. John - Dr. John's Gumbo Product No: AAPP 093
Available: InStock
Category: 200 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Analogue Productions

Excellent!

5 Stars
Posted Friday, September 11, 2020 by Jon Excellent sounding album. Drums and bass sound incredible and the vinyl is completely flat and dead silent. Couldn’t ask for better.


Ann Peebles - Straight From The Heart Product No: AHIR 32065
Available: BackOrdered
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Speakers Corner (Hi)

Great

5 Stars
Posted Friday, August 7, 2020 by Garz This record is so much fun. A nearly perfect product from Speaker’s Corner. Only improvement that I would prefer is a gatefold (which was probably not true of the original). Recommended highly


Marvin Gaye - Every Great Motown Hit Of Marvin Gaye: 15 Spectacular Performances Product No: AMOT 49701
Available: InStock
Category: Vinyl Record
Label: Motown

Horrible

1 Stars
Posted Tuesday, July 21, 2020 by Anonymous Don't waste your $. Terrible quality and sound. Ktel sound. Very disappointed.


Quincy Jones - Body Heat Product No: ALMLR 782937
Available: InStock
Category: 140 / 150 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: LMLR

Flawed pressing

3 Stars
Posted Thursday, July 2, 2020 by Anonymous Great music and fidelity, but listening experience weakened by several hitches in the giddyup: both sides had several stylus stick points.


The Isley Brothers - The Heat Is On Product No: ACOL 33536
Available: InStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Speakers Corner (Columbia)

Great sound

5 Stars
Posted Friday, October 11, 2019 by Anonymous Compared this to CD release Sony Legacy 2001, this LP sounds smoother.The cymbals not as harsh and bright also Ernie's guitar sounds nice and smooth.

Also compared to original LP release. This new release has a bit more volume but not over done. There is more detail in the music. Cymbals are more present along with other instruments but at the perfect mix.


Vanessa Fernandez - Use Me Product No: AGRN 1050-45
Available: InStock
Category: 45 RPM Vinyl Record
Label: Groove Note

5 Stars
Posted Tuesday, March 5, 2019 by Anthony This is a very good "audiophile quality" recording. The vinyl is perfectly flat and quiet, the music is dynamic, the song choices both listenable and enjoyable. Vanessa has a distinct voice and delivery and sprinkled within is her own brand of soulfulness that could be described as perpendicular to, rather than parallel to the music. (The pimped-out Cadillacs had diamond shaped rear windows, not "diamondS in the back".) Overall, a successful endeavor.


Roy Ayers - Daddy Bug Product No: AATL 1538
Available: LimitedStock
Category: Vinyl Record
Label: Atlantic

Overlooked session

4 Stars
Posted Friday, November 9, 2018 by Rumproller This album of vibist Roy Ayers was recorded in 1969 for Atlantic Records and produced by label mate Herbie Mann, a popular artist for Atlantic. Jazz seemed at a crossroad at the time. It was fighting for survival-and relevance. Miles Davis pointed a way for the future with his fusion LPs. Thankfully this album is NOT in the fusion mode. Instead it is orchestral, as were Miles' work with Gil Evans but sounds more like a date by the Modern Jazz Quartet. The music is in a dark minor key vein with touches of modality. Strings and woodwinds are added to the rhythm section which includes Miles' band mates Ron Carter & Herbie Hancock. The songs are mostly from writers who were more contemporary in the sixties, including Laura Nyro, the team of Bacharach/David and Jobim of Brazil (three songs by him). The pedigree is good considering the contributors, though no one's heard it. "Daddy Bug" deserves a listen.


Aretha Franklin - The Atlantic Singles Collection 1967-1970 Product No: AATL 571351
Available: InStock
Category: Vinyl Record
Label: Atlantic

PUNCHY MONO BASS

5 Stars
Posted Saturday, September 29, 2018 by Anonymous Both LPs are flat and quiet. I’m not sure if this is all analog although it sounds like it. This mono remaster is superb and bass has plenty of punch but no distortion.


Stevie Wonder - The Original Musiquarium I Product No: AMOT 36101
Available: InStock
Category: Vinyl Record
Label: Motown

Terrible sound

2 Stars
Posted Tuesday, September 12, 2017 by Anonymous Sounds very thin and compressed. Why would anyone remaster something as badly as this and believe it was acceptable?

2 stars is a gift, put a minus in front for my true rating. stick to a used copy until it is done correctly.


Otis Redding - Otis Blue Product No: CAPP 095 SA
Available: InStock
Category: Hybrid Stereo SACD
Label: Analogue Productions

Man I Hope There Are More!

5 Stars
Posted Tuesday, February 7, 2017 by Stephen Bieth I was very excited when I heard this was coming out and I wasn't disappointed. Yes there is some distortion (as do most early Stax releases) but over all the sound is a major improvement over the last reissue (and the reissue was good). I would love to see Otis's whole catalog come out. Including live releases. I spent three days on this planet while Otis was alive ( I was born December 7th 1967 and Otis died December 10th 1967) yet his impact on my love of music is huge. This is one of Otis's best, a lot would say it is his best. But in my opinion Otis never released a bad one. Buy the SACD because you will love it and if they gets sales maybe we will get more!


Otis Redding - Otis Blue Product No: AAPP 095-45
Available: BackOrdered
Category: 45 RPM Vinyl Record
Label: Analogue Productions

Otis at his best!

5 Stars
Posted Tuesday, June 21, 2016 by Jonathan Tinn This Otis Redding album has one hit after another. I can't get enough of this.

Great pressing, great performance, great musician!


Sade - The Best Of Sade Product No: AEPI 80591
Available: InStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Epic

Compressed and flat

3 Stars
Posted Sunday, March 27, 2016 by Mike A This reissue is flat and without good bass, compared to the cd!. and that is not saying much as I have been buying a lot of Audiophile titles of late with great results. This one misses the mark big time sorry.


Ray Charles - The Genius of Ray Charles Product No: AATL 1312
Available: LimitedStock
Category: Vinyl Record
Label: Atlantic

Incredible let down

1 Stars
Posted Wednesday, August 19, 2015 by DeRosa Let me start by saying I am a huge fan of the Rhino re-issue program, I have many satisfying records by these fine folks, but this just isn't one of them. It's horrible. I had to look up some other references to find out why this classic record sounds so awful and distorted, and came across Steve Hoffman's comments on his challenges of remastering this great music. The overload and distortion is on the original tapes. Envision meters pegged into the red. Ray's voice frequently distorts, you'll keep turning the volume down, it sounds like your speakers are blown. There is no getting around the fact it's just the way it is. I'd skip this one, even at a low price it only make it more maddening these great performances sound terrible on this record.


Bill Withers - Just As I Am Product No: ASUS 7006
Available: InStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Speakers Corner (Sussex)

Great Album / Good Remaster

4 Stars
Posted Friday, August 14, 2015 by TheSturt This is a great album and the remaster was as expected. Just plain ole good music to listen to and vinyl that was done with care. You won't go wrong by adding this to your collection.



Viewing 1 - 20 of 44 Products