Carriers are reporting longer-than-normal shipping times. Acoustic Sounds is not responsible for in-transit delays.

Found 48 product(s) in the

R&B/Soul Music

genre in

Product Reviews

Results Per Page
Viewing 1 - 20 of 48 Products
Zapp & Roger - All The Greatest Hits Product No: ARHI 45143
Available: InStock
Category: 140 / 150 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Rhino

Time machine powered by electro funk

5 Stars
Posted Tuesday, July 20, 2021 by Anonymous It's easy to understand the influences this band operated under with just a single listen. Most of this music was in heavy rotation on boom boxes, car stereos and turntables when I was a teenager, so it already carries a nostalgic value to it. Moving past that, however, these songs and the music (quirky sounding as it may be upon first blush) are solid portions of heavy funk that challenge you to sit still in any capacity while listening to them. The collection rightly opens with "More Bounce to the Ounce" and doesn't let up or disappoint. Some reviews I have read take sole exception with the quality of the Zapp medley, and that is fair. It could have been done a bit better. The rest of the record is well worth the money spent, even excluding the cool looking vinyl and the colorful and glossy gatefold of the cover. If you want to peer into late 70's/mid to late 80's funk that packs a true punch, this is your jam.


Ray Charles - Genius + Soul = Jazz Product No: AIMP 21001
Available: InStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Impulse (Acoustic Sounds Series)

Outstanding

5 Stars
Posted Friday, June 11, 2021 by Anonymous Outstanding pressing! Dead quiet Vinyl a great music. If you like the music just buy it. You won’t be disappointed.


Sade - This Far Product No: ASON 56121
Available: InStock
Category: Vinyl Box Sets
Label: Sony Music Entertainment

Sade! Love deluxe!

5 Stars
Posted Monday, May 3, 2021 by Anonymous Can't go wrong with this set. All her studio albums a must for a true Sade fan! I love the set! And sounds great!


Leon Bridges - Good Thing Product No: ACOL 30351
Available: InStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Columbia

Nice recording and pretty quiet vinyl

4 Stars
Posted Tuesday, April 13, 2021 by Brian VanPelt The pressing is pretty nice, but I did notice some inner groove distortion on the very last song. I though the dynamic range was pretty strong, but the soundstage seemed a little shrunken, in that I didn't feel that the music extended all the way from speaker-to-speaker.

The vinyl was fairly quiet. In fact, I don't remember any loud noises (crackles or pops) anywhere on the record. But there are some light clicks and such throughout the album, not bothersome. Overall, a clean record.

The recording seems pretty good, but there's nothing unusually great about it. The album is well-produced, and any singing seems to come from the middle of the back wall.


Bill Withers - Bill Withers' Greatest Hits Product No: ALEG 67414
Available: BackOrdered
Category: Vinyl Record
Label: Legacy

Very Clean and Smooth

5 Stars
Posted Sunday, April 11, 2021 by Brian VanPelt The music is super smooth, and the vinyl is super clean. There are essentially no surface noises to speak of - aside from the occasional light click here and there. There is nothing especially expensive about this record, but the vinyl sounds as good as any I've heard.

If that's not enough, the music is almost perfectly presented. For example, during the Ain't No Sunshine song, it starts off with Withers' voice centered/high, with only a guitar for a little bit, but then the rest of the band floods the room, and the transition feels like a warm flood. That describes much of the album. The soundstage is wide and 3D - the instruments are in the left/right forground, while Withers' voice is centered further back. Some other instruments fill the space from left-to-right.

This has got to be one of those albums you can use to relax after a hard day. The sound is topnotch, the record mostly clean and quiet, and it's not priced like an audiophile special.


Donny Hathaway - The Best Of Donny Hathaway Product No: AFRM 58107
Available: InStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Friday Music

Pretty Good, If You Like 'Our Donny!'

4 Stars
Posted Tuesday, March 23, 2021 by Rick Higgins Excellent for a one vinyl Best Of. Buy, Now! In addition, please purchase, vinyl or CD, his, "Extension Of A Man.' Wonderful!


Erykah Badu - Mama's Gun Product No: AMOT 33701
Available: BackOrdered
Category: Vinyl Record
Label: Motown

Excellent Recording

5 Stars
Posted Saturday, March 13, 2021 by Chris_G As a life long Erykah Badu fan and of this album in particular, this pressing does not disappoint in any way. Excellent and soulful vocals, good bass and well recorded.

My only ding is that the labels are reversed on each of the 2 lps, so side 1 is really side 2 and side 3 is side 4 on my copy.

It was definitely worth the 6 month backorder wait to get the album.


Spinners - Best Of Spinners Product No: AFRM 59179
Available: InStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Friday Music

Mixed feelings

4 Stars
Posted Tuesday, March 9, 2021 by Anonymous The pressing is excellent/quiet, and the gold vinyl is beautiful! But I have mixed feelings about the sound. Some of the tracks sound wonderful and warm, like "One of a Kind (Love Affair)" and "They Just Can't Stop It The (Games People Play)". Others like "I'll be Around" sound bright. Not sure what the source was, or if it was different for some of the tracks. My analog components are all tube and tend to the warm side, yet on some of the tracks I felt the need to turn the volume down. Overall recommended, but can't give it 5 stars.


Donny Hathaway - Everything Is Everything Product No: AATC 33332
Available: InStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Speakers Corner (Atco)

perfection

5 Stars
Posted Tuesday, January 12, 2021 by Anonymous if you dont own this, get it, now!!!!! speakers corner did a great job with this one and it sounds wonderful,,, grab these while you can.....


Sam Cooke - Portrait Of A Legend 1951-1964 Product No: AABK 92641
Available: BackOrdered
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Abkco

Defective packaging

3 Stars
Posted Friday, January 8, 2021 by Anonymous Good album and all, but the materials used in the inner sleeves left a lot of debris all over the records. Whatever the particles are, they were abrasive and clinging to the records. Professional cleaning could not help all of the audible pops and clicks.


Ray Charles - Modern Sounds In Country And Western Music Vol. 1 & 2 Product No: ACON 0899
Available: InStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Concord

Well done!!!!

5 Stars
Posted Monday, December 28, 2020 by Anonymous This sounds great to me. Great value!!!!!


Dr. John - Dr. John's Gumbo Product No: AAPP 093
Available: InStock
Category: 200 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Analogue Productions

Excellent!

5 Stars
Posted Friday, September 11, 2020 by Jon Excellent sounding album. Drums and bass sound incredible and the vinyl is completely flat and dead silent. Couldn’t ask for better.


Ann Peebles - Straight From The Heart Product No: AHIR 32065
Available: InStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Speakers Corner (Hi)

Great

5 Stars
Posted Friday, August 7, 2020 by Garz This record is so much fun. A nearly perfect product from Speaker’s Corner. Only improvement that I would prefer is a gatefold (which was probably not true of the original). Recommended highly


Marvin Gaye - Every Great Motown Hit Of Marvin Gaye: 15 Spectacular Performances Product No: AMOT 49701
Available: InStock
Category: Vinyl Record
Label: Motown

Horrible

1 Stars
Posted Tuesday, July 21, 2020 by Anonymous Don't waste your $. Terrible quality and sound. Ktel sound. Very disappointed.


Quincy Jones - Body Heat Product No: ALMLR 782937
Available: InStock
Category: 140 / 150 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: LMLR

Flawed pressing

3 Stars
Posted Thursday, July 2, 2020 by Anonymous Great music and fidelity, but listening experience weakened by several hitches in the giddyup: both sides had several stylus stick points.


The Isley Brothers - The Heat Is On Product No: ACOL 33536
Available: InStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Speakers Corner (Columbia)

Great sound

5 Stars
Posted Friday, October 11, 2019 by Anonymous Compared this to CD release Sony Legacy 2001, this LP sounds smoother.The cymbals not as harsh and bright also Ernie's guitar sounds nice and smooth.

Also compared to original LP release. This new release has a bit more volume but not over done. There is more detail in the music. Cymbals are more present along with other instruments but at the perfect mix.


Vanessa Fernandez - Use Me Product No: AGRN 1050-45
Available: InStock
Category: 45 RPM Vinyl Record
Label: Groove Note

5 Stars
Posted Tuesday, March 5, 2019 by Anthony This is a very good "audiophile quality" recording. The vinyl is perfectly flat and quiet, the music is dynamic, the song choices both listenable and enjoyable. Vanessa has a distinct voice and delivery and sprinkled within is her own brand of soulfulness that could be described as perpendicular to, rather than parallel to the music. (The pimped-out Cadillacs had diamond shaped rear windows, not "diamondS in the back".) Overall, a successful endeavor.


Aretha Franklin - The Atlantic Singles Collection 1967-1970 Product No: AATL 571351
Available: BackOrdered
Category: Vinyl Record
Label: Atlantic

PUNCHY MONO BASS

5 Stars
Posted Saturday, September 29, 2018 by Anonymous Both LPs are flat and quiet. I’m not sure if this is all analog although it sounds like it. This mono remaster is superb and bass has plenty of punch but no distortion.


Stevie Wonder - The Original Musiquarium I Product No: AMOT 36101
Available: BackOrdered
Category: Vinyl Record
Label: Motown

Terrible sound

2 Stars
Posted Tuesday, September 12, 2017 by Anonymous Sounds very thin and compressed. Why would anyone remaster something as badly as this and believe it was acceptable?

2 stars is a gift, put a minus in front for my true rating. stick to a used copy until it is done correctly.


Otis Redding - Otis Blue Product No: CAPP 095 SA
Available: InStock
Category: Hybrid Stereo SACD
Label: Analogue Productions

Man I Hope There Are More!

5 Stars
Posted Tuesday, February 7, 2017 by Stephen Bieth I was very excited when I heard this was coming out and I wasn't disappointed. Yes there is some distortion (as do most early Stax releases) but over all the sound is a major improvement over the last reissue (and the reissue was good). I would love to see Otis's whole catalog come out. Including live releases. I spent three days on this planet while Otis was alive ( I was born December 7th 1967 and Otis died December 10th 1967) yet his impact on my love of music is huge. This is one of Otis's best, a lot would say it is his best. But in my opinion Otis never released a bad one. Buy the SACD because you will love it and if they gets sales maybe we will get more!



Viewing 1 - 20 of 48 Products