Carriers are reporting longer-than-normal shipping times. Acoustic Sounds is not responsible for in-transit delays.

Found 43 product(s) in the

R&B/Soul Music

genre in

Product Reviews

Results Per Page
Viewing 1 - 20 of 43 Products
Ray Charles - Modern Sounds In Country And Western Music Vol. 1 & 2 Product No: ACON 0899
Available: InStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Concord

Well done!!!!

5 Stars
Posted Monday, December 28, 2020 by Anonymous This sounds great to me. Great value!!!!!


Dr. John - Dr. John's Gumbo Product No: AAPP 093
Available: InStock
Category: 200 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Analogue Productions

Excellent!

5 Stars
Posted Friday, September 11, 2020 by Jon Excellent sounding album. Drums and bass sound incredible and the vinyl is completely flat and dead silent. Couldn’t ask for better.


Ann Peebles - Straight From The Heart Product No: AHIR 32065
Available: InStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Speakers Corner (Hi)

Great

5 Stars
Posted Friday, August 7, 2020 by Garz This record is so much fun. A nearly perfect product from Speaker’s Corner. Only improvement that I would prefer is a gatefold (which was probably not true of the original). Recommended highly


Marvin Gaye - Every Great Motown Hit Of Marvin Gaye: 15 Spectacular Performances Product No: AMOT 49701
Available: InStock
Category: Vinyl Record
Label: Motown

Horrible

1 Stars
Posted Tuesday, July 21, 2020 by Anonymous Don't waste your $. Terrible quality and sound. Ktel sound. Very disappointed.


Quincy Jones - Body Heat Product No: ALMLR 782937
Available: InStock
Category: 140 / 150 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: LMLR

Flawed pressing

3 Stars
Posted Thursday, July 2, 2020 by Anonymous Great music and fidelity, but listening experience weakened by several hitches in the giddyup: both sides had several stylus stick points.


The Isley Brothers - The Heat Is On Product No: ACOL 33536
Available: BackOrdered
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Speakers Corner (Columbia)

Great sound

5 Stars
Posted Friday, October 11, 2019 by Anonymous Compared this to CD release Sony Legacy 2001, this LP sounds smoother.The cymbals not as harsh and bright also Ernie's guitar sounds nice and smooth.

Also compared to original LP release. This new release has a bit more volume but not over done. There is more detail in the music. Cymbals are more present along with other instruments but at the perfect mix.


Vanessa Fernandez - Use Me Product No: AGRN 1050-45
Available: BackOrdered
Category: 45 RPM Vinyl Record
Label: Groove Note

5 Stars
Posted Tuesday, March 5, 2019 by Anthony This is a very good "audiophile quality" recording. The vinyl is perfectly flat and quiet, the music is dynamic, the song choices both listenable and enjoyable. Vanessa has a distinct voice and delivery and sprinkled within is her own brand of soulfulness that could be described as perpendicular to, rather than parallel to the music. (The pimped-out Cadillacs had diamond shaped rear windows, not "diamondS in the back".) Overall, a successful endeavor.


Aretha Franklin - The Atlantic Singles Collection 1967-1970 Product No: AATL 571351
Available: InStock
Category: Vinyl Record
Label: Atlantic

PUNCHY MONO BASS

5 Stars
Posted Saturday, September 29, 2018 by Anonymous Both LPs are flat and quiet. I’m not sure if this is all analog although it sounds like it. This mono remaster is superb and bass has plenty of punch but no distortion.


Stevie Wonder - The Original Musiquarium I Product No: AMOT 36101
Available: InStock
Category: Vinyl Record
Label: Motown

Terrible sound

2 Stars
Posted Tuesday, September 12, 2017 by Anonymous Sounds very thin and compressed. Why would anyone remaster something as badly as this and believe it was acceptable?

2 stars is a gift, put a minus in front for my true rating. stick to a used copy until it is done correctly.


Otis Redding - Otis Blue Product No: CAPP 095 SA
Available: InStock
Category: Hybrid Stereo SACD
Label: Analogue Productions

Man I Hope There Are More!

5 Stars
Posted Tuesday, February 7, 2017 by Stephen Bieth I was very excited when I heard this was coming out and I wasn't disappointed. Yes there is some distortion (as do most early Stax releases) but over all the sound is a major improvement over the last reissue (and the reissue was good). I would love to see Otis's whole catalog come out. Including live releases. I spent three days on this planet while Otis was alive ( I was born December 7th 1967 and Otis died December 10th 1967) yet his impact on my love of music is huge. This is one of Otis's best, a lot would say it is his best. But in my opinion Otis never released a bad one. Buy the SACD because you will love it and if they gets sales maybe we will get more!


Otis Redding - Otis Blue Product No: AAPP 095-45
Available: BackOrdered
Category: 45 RPM Vinyl Record
Label: Analogue Productions

Otis at his best!

5 Stars
Posted Tuesday, June 21, 2016 by Jonathan Tinn This Otis Redding album has one hit after another. I can't get enough of this.

Great pressing, great performance, great musician!


Sade - The Best Of Sade Product No: AEPI 80591
Available: InStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Epic

Compressed and flat

3 Stars
Posted Sunday, March 27, 2016 by Mike A This reissue is flat and without good bass, compared to the cd!. and that is not saying much as I have been buying a lot of Audiophile titles of late with great results. This one misses the mark big time sorry.


Ray Charles - The Genius of Ray Charles Product No: AATL 1312
Available: LimitedStock
Category: Vinyl Record
Label: Atlantic

Incredible let down

1 Stars
Posted Wednesday, August 19, 2015 by DeRosa Let me start by saying I am a huge fan of the Rhino re-issue program, I have many satisfying records by these fine folks, but this just isn't one of them. It's horrible. I had to look up some other references to find out why this classic record sounds so awful and distorted, and came across Steve Hoffman's comments on his challenges of remastering this great music. The overload and distortion is on the original tapes. Envision meters pegged into the red. Ray's voice frequently distorts, you'll keep turning the volume down, it sounds like your speakers are blown. There is no getting around the fact it's just the way it is. I'd skip this one, even at a low price it only make it more maddening these great performances sound terrible on this record.


Bill Withers - Just As I Am Product No: ASUS 7006
Available: BackOrdered
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Speakers Corner (Sussex)

Great Album / Good Remaster

4 Stars
Posted Friday, August 14, 2015 by TheSturt This is a great album and the remaster was as expected. Just plain ole good music to listen to and vinyl that was done with care. You won't go wrong by adding this to your collection.


Leon Bridges - Coming Home Product No: ACOL 91419
Available: InStock
Category: Vinyl Record
Label: Columbia

Great Soul Debut

4 Stars
Posted Tuesday, July 21, 2015 by audiofan It's amusing to see this listed as an "alternative" music selection; this is mid-60s soul all the way, like Sam & Otis used to make. The vinyl is quite well-done - there were no noise problems or defects with my copy. The mix is (purposefully) reminiscent of the era mined by the music - it has one foot in the past (and I mean that in a positive way) but manages to sound both dynamic and 'analog' at the same time. A great new artist and a very decent pressing!


Bill Withers - Live At Carnegie Hall Product No: CMOB 2156 SA
Available: InStock
Category: Hybrid Stereo SACD
Label: Mobile Fidelity

Bill Withers - Live At Carnegie Hall Hybrid SACD 2014

5 Stars
Posted Saturday, November 15, 2014 by Mark Powers I am not a big R&B person but this recording is now in my top 10 of live performances and I have been listening to music for quite awhile, a must purchase. Bill Withers voice is a pure and very strong true R&B voice. The band during this recording is perfect. It all comes together with a very enthusiastic live audience that you can hear throughout. Packaging is good with good liner notes. There are some issues here and there with the sonic quality's of the recording, some drops, announcer's mic doesn't seem to be on same board, sometimes the audience can get a little loud, very little things. The performance is so strong it blows away imperfections in the sonic quality. I am going to listen again, right now. If you are looking for a disc to take you out of your normal genre, this is it.


Ray Charles - The Great Ray Charles Product No: AATL 1259
Available: LimitedStock
Category: Vinyl Record
Label: Atlantic

The Rhino release 1259

5 Stars
Posted Thursday, September 4, 2014 by Anonymous I was turned on this this album by a forum member who swore it was black and smack in the face when things picked up. I removed the album from orig packaging and did use the RCM just brushed it and played. Quiet and well engineered I loved it so much I bought for a buddy to add to his collection. For the $ you cant beat this Ray Charles album it was just done right!


Sam Cooke - The Best Of Sam Cooke Product No: AAPP 2625-45
Available: InStock
Category: 45 RPM Vinyl Record
Label: Analogue Productions

4 Stars
Posted Tuesday, December 3, 2013 by Anonymous


The Meters - The Meters Product No: AJOS 4010H
Available: BackOrdered
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Josie

Funky!

4 Stars
Posted Wednesday, October 16, 2013 by Jeff C - Australia Being half the price of most LPs these days I had reserved expectations. However the pressing quality is pretty good and the sound is very acceptable and given that this old school instrumental funk is the bomb, I have to say this album is well worth getting. Perhaps an original pressing may sound better or worst but without anything to compare to, I have no complaints about the sound quality on this one.


Booker T. - Sound The Alarm Product No: ASTA 34492
Available: LimitedStock
Category: Vinyl Record
Label: Stax

not the high energy music of the originals

2 Stars
Posted Tuesday, September 3, 2013 by old and lonely Sonics and recording--couldn't be better.

Modern soul music--not for me unfortunately

If you are expecting high-energy music as found on the original albums, which I love, this one is not for you.



Viewing 1 - 20 of 43 Products