Found 222 product(s) in the

SACDs

category in

Product Reviews

Results Per Page
Viewing 1 - 20 of 222 Products
Bob Dylan - Desire Product No: CMOB 2119 SA
Available: InStock
Category: Hybrid Stereo SACD
Label: Mobile Fidelity

True to the original release

4 Stars
Posted Saturday, January 28, 2023 by joey1127 I give this 4 stars because it reminds me of the copy I bought when the album first came out. It's kind of strident sounding and vocals can be a bit brash at times. However, there is nothing wrong with this release, that's exactly how the original pressings sounded so...this is a fantastic re-issue of the original recording just as I remember it sounding. Fantastic material, but just not the same sound quality as BLOOD ON THE TRACKS.


Steely Dan - Can't Buy A Thrill Product No: CAPP 134 SA
Available: InStock
Category: Hybrid Stereo SACD
Label: Analogue Productions

Steely

5 Stars
Posted Wednesday, January 25, 2023 by Anonymous


Steely Dan - Everything Must Go Product No: CAPP 142 SA
Available: InStock
Category: Hybrid Stereo SACD
Label: Analogue Productions

Excellent sacd by AP

5 Stars
Posted Wednesday, December 14, 2022 by Mike G. I bought Everything Must Go and Two Against Nature AP sacd's the day they were available on the website. Superb job by AP on these releases. Dynamics,clarity,and analog like realism in every aspect along with no digital artifacts. Much better than my Redbook issues for sure. I'll be getting the whole AP sacd Steely Dan catalog as they are released. They are the best on any digital format I've heard. Excellent job and totally recommend them for All the Dan fans who appreciate the band's obsessive studio quality.


Steely Dan - Two Against Nature Product No: CAPP 141 SA
Available: InStock
Category: Hybrid Stereo SACD
Label: Analogue Productions

Why havn't I bought this album before?

5 Stars
Posted Wednesday, December 7, 2022 by CliffC I just received my SACD copy of Two Against Nature and I am very impressed! I have owned many SD albums over the years, both vinyl and cd versions and enjoyed most of them a lot. But I never bought this album before it was offered on SACD. The production of this album is lush and detailed. The sound stage is expansive and provides great separation of the instruments and the vocals. Close your eyes when you listen for a while and appreciate where each voice and instrument is coming from. This SACD version is a 5+! Next on my list is Can't Buy a Thrill when it is releases on SACD.


Crosby, Stills and Nash - Crosby, Stills & Nash Product No: CMOB 2228 SA
Available: BackOrdered
Category: Hybrid Stereo SACD
Label: Mobile Fidelity

Beautiful

5 Stars
Posted Saturday, December 3, 2022 by George The best sounding digital format I've encountered till now.I think ONE STEP BOX from Mofi,will be stellar. George - Romania


Michael Jackson - Thriller Product No: CMOB 2251 SA
Available: InStock
Category: Hybrid Stereo SACD
Label: Mobile Fidelity

3 Stars
Posted Saturday, December 3, 2022 by Anonymous


Johnny Hartman - The Voice That Is Product No: CIPJ 74 SA
Available: InStock
Category: Hybrid Stereo SACD
Label: Analogue Productions (Impulse)

I love the voice of Johnny Hartman

5 Stars
Posted Monday, September 26, 2022 by Anonymous The voice that is the antidote to modern day stress. A lazy boy chair a glass of wine and Johnny Hartman voice and the rest is audiophile history. I have all of his SACD in my collection i recommend that you begin the process today.


Pink Floyd - Animals Product No: CAPP 88271 SA
Available: InStock
Category: Hybrid Multichannel SACD
Label: Analogue Productions

5 Stars
Posted Tuesday, September 20, 2022 by Anonymous


Di Meola, McLaughlin, De Lucia - Saturday Night In San Francisco Product No: CIMX 8324 SA
Available: InStock
Category: Hybrid Stereo SACD
Label: Impex

Somehow disappointed.

3 Stars
Posted Thursday, August 18, 2022 by Ruben Torres The sound is even better than the original Friday night in S. F. Al Dimeola, the less gifted player of the 3, produce the album. He made his usual circus act, and the other two play as good as usual, but somehow it lacks the magic of the first album. Anyways, if you are the kind of listener who thinks that Jazz at the Pawnshop is good jazz, this one in comparation is a masterpiece. 5 stars for the production, 3 stars for the music.


Grateful Dead - From The Mars Hotel Product No: CMOB 2196 SA
Available: LimitedStock
Category: Hybrid Stereo SACD
Label: Mobile Fidelity

This and the mofi vinyl sound better than original

5 Stars
Posted Thursday, August 4, 2022 by Anonymous This SACD and the mofi vinyl sound better than original mofi vinyl of the 1980's which was an original master and sounds great. These DSD masters in the right engineers hands sound marvelous. Get them while you still can


Lightnin' Hopkins - Goin' Away Product No: CPRJ 1073 SA
Available: BackOrdered
Category: Hybrid Stereo SACD
Label: Analogue Productions (Prestige)

Amazing

5 Stars
Posted Wednesday, July 20, 2022 by Brian VanPelt There is a 200 gram LP of this album, and I want to echo the reviews I have seen for that. This is amazing.

It's just Lightnin' singing and playing guitar, a bass player and someone playing a drum. It's like being in the recording booth for the original sessions. There is absolutely no distortion of any kind, and there's not even tape hiss. This is unreal.

The soundstage is occupied on the left by the bassist, I think. The right is occupied by the drummer, and Lightnin' is in the center with his guitar. Every detail can be heard. Lightnin's voice is very well recorded - which I know is difficult to do. You can hear that he sings too close to the mic on occasion, but he doesn't distort even then. All of the instruments sound real/authentic on this completely acoustic album.

The amazing sound quality adds to the mesmerizing quality of this album. It's pretty much perfect.


Jean Morel - Albeniz: Iberia (complete)/ Ravel: Rapsodie Espagnole Product No: CAPC 6094 SA
Available: InStock
Category: Hybrid Stereo SACD
Label: Analogue Productions (RCA/DECCA Living Stereo)

All Wrongs Righted! GRAB this while you can!

5 Stars
Posted Thursday, June 16, 2022 by Dace Gisclard I gave the Australian Eloquence CD's of the Albeniz and Ravel a rave review on AMAZON, only to be dismayed when another reviewer pointed out that the stereo channels of the tracks played by the Paris Conservatoire were REVERSED! Thankfully, that problem has been corrected here, and the remastered sound is terrific. The only remaining fly in the ointment is that these Analogue Productions SACD's retain the incorrect ordering of the movements as it was on the RCA LP's--a relatively minor issue--that's what the programming feature is for!

The flawed Eloquence CD's have been discontinued, and are now (6/16/22) selling for astronomical prices. An inquiry to Eloquence yielded the information that their set is OOP, and they have no intention of issuing corrected copies. At present, this AP set is a collector's best bet for this much-sought-after legendary recording, and is likely to remain so. GRAB it while the price is still reasonable.


Billy Joel - An Innocent Man Product No: CMOB 2094 SA
Available: BackOrdered
Category: Hybrid Stereo SACD
Label: Mobile Fidelity

Great early 80's Billy Joel

5 Stars
Posted Sunday, May 22, 2022 by joey1127 While "The Stranger" and "52nd Street" are Billy's golden albums, there is a magic about this early 80's gem. I had an original pressing from Columbia that was a tad brittle sounding and bright. This Mo-Fi SACD absolutely cleans up this fantastic album and makes it sound really good. The nostalgia of 50's era doo-whop is ever present here and really shines as it should.


Tsuyoshi Yamamoto Trio - The Look Of Love - Live At Jazz Is 2nd Set Product No: CVEN 0356 SA
Available: InStock
Category: Single Layer Stereo SACD
Label: Venus

At the club

5 Stars
Posted Monday, April 4, 2022 by Brian VanPelt It is like being at the club. All the instruments sound very real. Basically, you have an upfront seat to this event. As such, all of the instruments have tremendous presence in the room. If you've ever sat near a piano at a club, you can feel a lot of the music it makes. Same goes for the drums and bass. Additionally, there is some clapping between tunes as well as some background chatter when the music is quiet. There is background rumble which is evident on track 4 if you blast the music. I had the music blasted much louder than normal. This is not as evident on the other tracks. Track 4 is completely a bass/cello solo (playing a very cool version of Somewhere Over the Rainbow).

If you keep levels loud, but not overwhelming, then you will experience no distortion or tape hiss (although this might have been recorded digitally).

The playing is very spirited with the piano left of center, the drums centered and the bass between.


Freddie Hubbard - The Artistry Of Freddie Hubbard Product No: CIPJ 27 SA
Available: InStock
Category: Hybrid Stereo SACD
Label: Analogue Productions (Impulse)

Wow

5 Stars
Posted Wednesday, March 30, 2022 by Brian VanPelt These Impulse/Analogue Productions collaborations are all insanely good. This release is no exception.

First of all, everything sounds so clear, with lots of air around instruments. The drums and cymbals are crystalline, and any brass sounds very realistic. I noticed that the pianos are slightly softened when other musicians are soloing, and then accentuated when it's time for the piano solo.

The presentation feels like it preserves the placements of the musicians, and all of the instruments sound realistic and of the right size (no cadillac sized piano for example). There is no tape hiss at all. Freddie's horn is usually in the left channel and it's well- represented. Everything sounds just right. The drums and sax are in the right channel.

I suspect that I will buy every Impulse/Analogue Productions SACD.


Kenny Burrell - Bluesey Burrell Product No: CPRJ 29 SA
Available: BackOrdered
Category: Hybrid Stereo SACD
Label: Analogue Productions (Prestige)

Close Up and Personal

5 Stars
Posted Friday, March 25, 2022 by Brian VanPelt This is a low key album. Every instrument seems closely mic'd, with Burrell's being the most prominent. As such, you can hear every detail of each of the instruments - and every pluck of Burrell's guitar (and you'll need that because he can fly sometimes, even when he's just chilling). So, the recording is awesome, and there is no tape hiss.

Most of the action happens out of the left and right channels, but sometimes there is sound in the middle. Burrell is usually in the left channel, the drummer in the right and the pianist in the center. The bass seems in the back, but a little right of center. The bassist can verbally hum at almost the same frequency he bows the bass. Some tunes feature a sax on the right.

Essentially perfect. I could notice no sonic flaws whatsoever. The sound has a very nice analog feel to it, so it probably sounds almost identical to the master tape.


Myra Taylor - My Night To Dream Product No: CAPO 2017 SA
Available: InStock
Category: Hybrid Stereo SACD
Label: APO Records

Wow great value

5 Stars
Posted Wednesday, March 9, 2022 by Mark I bought this for $5 and listened on my Mark Levinson setup. It was amazing. Spider and a fly, still blue water, and sunny side of the street were oddly familiar and highly enjoyable as was the broader introduction to 40s era blues.


Charles Mingus - Tijuana Moods Product No: CORG 0174 SA
Available: BackOrdered
Category: Hybrid Stereo SACD
Label: ORG - Original Recordings Group

3 Stars
Posted Thursday, March 3, 2022 by Anonymous


The Rolling Stones - Beggars Banquet Product No: CABK 84982 SA
Available: InStock
Category: Hybrid Stereo SACD
Label: Abkco

Great Sound Quality

5 Stars
Posted Wednesday, March 2, 2022 by Brian VanPelt There is no tape hiss at all, and every single note is clear. The guitar is very sharp and you can feel the stums. Mick's voice is usually centered, and sounds as good as I've ever hear him. It also sounds like the mastering is high-volume, if that makes sense - this is mastered loudly, which is a great thing. There are no distortions associated with old tape.

This is seemingly perfect, but it still contains that grungenous you want from the Stones, but not in the sound quality. Somehow, the sound is pristine, but you get the grunge in the manner the Stones must have meant (instead of through shoddy sound). I wouldn't describe the soundstage as wide, but it does feel like it has depth. Sometimes, as in the 5th song, Mick's voice is focused as well as I've heard anywhere - somewhat lifelike in your listening room. Sympathy for the Devil gave me goosebumps.

The 45 rpm record you get is as thin as thick piece of paper, but it is made of vinyl.

Outstanding. Grade 5+.


Hank Mobley - Soul Station Product No: CBLJ 9022 SA
Available: BackOrdered
Category: SHM Single Layer SACDs
Label: Blue Note

Sounds Excellent

5 Stars
Posted Saturday, February 12, 2022 by Brian VanPelt I didn't detect any tape hiss, and all of the instruments sound lively and vivid. The recording is excellent.

When Hank Mobley solos alone, I can detect a slight echo to his sax - he appears on the left. The piano is in the middle and the drums are on the left. Each instrument is loud enough to hear clearly, but not so loud as to drown out the others.

I have the Classic Vinyl Reissue of this same album, and I like this quite a bit better. The vinyl version features some tape distortion when Mobley hits loud high notes; while this SACD features no distortion at all. Not only that, this SACD sounds transparent to the analog source. The sound is very focused and sharp. There are times when you can hear Mobley yelp as he's getting into the music.

The soundstage stretches from the left speaker to the right speaker, and it feels like the piano is placed further back, but in the middle.

This is just fantastic. I give it a 5+.



Viewing 1 - 20 of 222 Products