Carriers are reporting longer-than-normal shipping times. Acoustic Sounds is not responsible for in-transit delays.

Found 200 product(s) in the

SACD

category in

Product Reviews

Results Per Page
Viewing 1 - 20 of 200 Products
The Oscar Peterson Trio - We Get Requests Product No: CVEJ 9045 SA
Available: BackOrdered
Category: SHM Single Layer SACDs
Label: Verve

Solid production

5 Stars
Posted Sunday, July 25, 2021 by mikeinastoria The red strip notes this mastering was based on the original 2010 master tape release.

This item was released by Universal Music, LLC in Japan Nov 26, 2014.

Recorded in New York on October 19th and 20th, 1964, Peterson and crew play standards and bossa nova songs.

The music is layed out with a beautiful touch and neat phrasing - truly a gem.

Personnel: Oscar Peterson (p) Ray Brown (b) Ed Thigpen (ds)


Eugene Fodor & Alexander Peskanov - Tchaikovsky: 1812 Overture Product No: CTEL 60541 SA
Available: BackOrdered
Category: Hybrid Multichannel SACD
Label: Telarc

4 Stars
Posted Wednesday, July 7, 2021 by Anonymous


Eric Dolphy - Out To Lunch Product No: CBLJ 9020 SA
Available: InStock
Category: SHM Single Layer SACDs
Label: Blue Note

Wow!

5 Stars
Posted Sunday, May 9, 2021 by E. Smith If you like abstract music, this is a must have. First the recording quality is absolutely outstanding on this sacd. The composition and performance are nothing short of amazing. This is a jazz masterpiece. Truly unparalleled. The first track “hat and beard” took my breath away. Dolphy was without a doubt a musical genius. I bought this knowing nothing about him and now I can’t get enough. Thank you acoustic sounds, without you I would never have found this gem.


Harry Nilsson - Nilsson Schmilsson Product No: CMOB 2219 SA
Available: LimitedStock
Category: Hybrid Stereo SACD
Label: Mobile Fidelity

An artist for everybody

5 Stars
Posted Thursday, April 22, 2021 by Jacob Brodbeck Full disclosure here. As a teen in the 70s I heard the name Harry Nilsson and I heard the tune “ Jump into the Fire”, but never connected the artist to the song. When I realized that I could get “Jump” on SACD I took no time ordering it. That’s how much I groove to that tune. Truly psychedelic. As I sat and listened to the disc beginning to end I realized that this was a man who could relate to seemingly everyone. Each tune has its own slot in life. Nilsson related to us. While I cannot relate to his talent in song writing, it makes him the the dominant giver.

This just may be the FUNNEST cd I have. And like nearly everything MOFI puts out, it clean, crisp and transparent in its remastering.

If there is one song writer I’d like to sit, smoke a joint with, and talk about life, it’s Harry Nilsson.


Herbert von Karajan - Strauss: Eine Alpensinfonie Product No: CDGR 90240 SA
Available: InStock
Category: Hybrid Stereo SACD
Label: Esoteric (Deutsche Grammophon)

Eine Alpensinfone/Karajan come full circle!

5 Stars
Posted Monday, March 22, 2021 by Ronald H. This was the first Classical cd that I bought in late 1982, when the cd format was first introduced. Historically, Eine Alpensinfone/Karajan was the first classical title to be mastered to cd along with Abba's The Visitors, at Polygram's Hanover W Germany cd plant. There has only been one other major remaster of this title. Esoteric, in cooperation with Universal Music, which owns this title, have remastered the recording using there own proprietary equipment. When it comes to music reproduction, I'm a minimalist. I have listened to this hybrid sacd on a Sony D-303 flagship portable cd player from 1991, mated with Sony MDR-E484B flagship earphones from 1990. My takeaway is, this version is the pinnacle of warmth and definition that was missing from previous editions. So, imagine how nice it will sound with sacd equipment. As a bonus, in addition to the title composition, Strauss's Metamorphosen, is included. Highly recommended!


Miles Davis - Sketches Of Spain Product No: CMOB 2086 SA
Available: InStock
Category: Hybrid Stereo SACD
Label: Mobile Fidelity

Highly Recommended

5 Stars
Posted Wednesday, March 3, 2021 by Anonymous A stunning collaboration between master arranger Gil Evans and Miles Davis, plus some of his band and other outstanding jazz players. Davis' playing is unsurpassed in its creativity, tone, and subtlety of phrasing. All rendered in outstanding sound that captures the emotional impact and wide range of colors and rhythm of the music.


Chicago - Chicago II Product No: CMOB 2133 SA
Available: InStock
Category: Hybrid Stereo SACD
Label: Mobile Fidelity

4 Stars
Posted Monday, March 1, 2021 by Anonymous


Pink Floyd - The Dark Side Of The Moon Product No: CAPP 81033 SA
Available: InStock
Category: Hybrid Multichannel SACD
Label: Analogue Productions

When will this be available for delivery?

5 Stars
Posted Thursday, January 14, 2021 by Clint I know there is a pandemic, but I've been waiting 13 months.


Ben Webster Quintet - Soulville Product No: CVRJ 8274 SA
Available: InStock
Category: Hybrid Mono SACD
Label: Analogue Productions (Verve)

5 Stars
Posted Tuesday, December 15, 2020 by Anonymous


Wild Child Butler - Sho' 'Nuff Product No: CAPO 2015 SA
Available: InStock
Category: Hybrid Stereo SACD
Label: APO Records

$5 Bargain

5 Stars
Posted Tuesday, November 24, 2020 by Big Al Had no idea what to expect from this CD, but I like the blues so thought I would take a chance for $5. Great music and sound quality. Just finished listening and my foot is still tapping.


Duke Ellington and Johnny Hodges - Side By Side Product No: CVRJ 6109 SA
Available: InStock
Category: Hybrid Stereo SACD
Label: Analogue Productions (Verve)

5 Stars
Posted Thursday, November 19, 2020 by Anonymous


Ben Webster and Harry 'Sweets' Edison - Wanted To Do One Together Product No: CORG 0117 SA
Available: BackOrdered
Category: Hybrid Stereo SACD
Label: ORG - Original Recordings Group

This is a Must Own!!

5 Stars
Posted Wednesday, November 11, 2020 by Nat X I have many albums that I love...and they stay that way...and so often I think that I won't find another one that can come close to any position on that list of the great ones. There are many reasons I love them...some were played during certain times....some I heard out of nowhere and had to own. But...I keep buying albums...always searching...always chasing the dragon. From the first note on this album I was hooked. I'm not saying it's the greatest album of all time...but if you love music...you need to own this. Phenomenal....peaceful...powerful. You'll dig it.


The Jimi Hendrix Experience - Are You Experienced? Product No: CAPP 19782 SA
Available: InStock
Category: Hybrid Stereo SACD
Label: Analogue Productions

Great SACD Transfer

5 Stars
Posted Wednesday, November 11, 2020 by Tom Caselli This album was never a stellar sounding album. I have at least 11 different LP versions and 5 different CD mastering. This is the first one that captures the the best attributes of the recording. Would love to see this get the UHQR treatment, at least for the stereo mix. ??


Various Artists - Memory Lane Product No: CUNJ 0699 SA
Available: InStock
Category: Hybrid Stereo SACD
Label: Universal Records (Japan)

Not All Memories Are Good

2 Stars
Posted Wednesday, October 14, 2020 by Unaccustomed Customer Like most modern, non-audiophile masterings, on most of the songs here, the overall sound is forward, with a digital, cold tonality. When I tried to turn the volume up to get a warmer sound on a number of tracks, I got too much treble and not enough bass. When these things happen on a $2 used CD, I don't like it, but I deal with it. However, when this happens on a $40 SACD, it is unacceptable. To be clear, I like SACDs that have a lot of detail, I just don't think it needs to come at the expense of tonal balance.

They really seemed to be going for clarity and detail over warmth on this SACD. And unfortunately, they succeeded. For reasons already mentioned, I do not consider this to be an audiophile release. I am not saying they are necessarily claiming it is an audiophile release, but it is a SACD that sells for $40.

I honestly cannot recommend this SACD. I want SACD to live on, but releases like this are not going to save it.


Supertramp - Breakfast In America Product No: CMOB 2189 SA
Available: BackOrdered
Category: Hybrid Stereo SACD
Label: Mobile Fidelity

Outstanding Fidelity

5 Stars
Posted Sunday, September 6, 2020 by NordicDave Sonically, this disc has everything you hope for and seldom get. Beautiful full range, terrific clarity, great soundstage. Think listening to the master tape in your living room. The engineering quality of this recording is obvious. I found great enjoyment in the lesser know tracks, as the presentation was so remarkable.


The Flying Burrito Brothers - The Gilded Palace Of Sin Product No: CITV 03 SA
Available: InStock
Category: Hybrid Stereo SACD
Label: Intervention Records

Bright Clear Balanced Sound

5 Stars
Posted Thursday, August 27, 2020 by EdwardInEdgewood You can hear the birth of country rock music as this album progresses from song to song. And I have never heard "The Gilded Palace of Sin" sound better that this SACD release. Every voice and instrument is bright, clear and balanced. Hopefully other Gram Parsons' albums will get the same treatment.


Grateful Dead - Workingman's Dead Product No: CMOB 2137 SA
Available: InStock
Category: Hybrid Stereo SACD
Label: Mobile Fidelity

Masterpiece #1

5 Stars
Posted Sunday, July 19, 2020 by Mike This along with American Beauty are essential classic's. Both MoFi sacd's are IMHO the best around. The sonic's from top to bottom are accurately reproduced, the way the band intended the material to be heard. Epic stuff, highly recommended!!


Grateful Dead - American Beauty Product No: CMOB 2138 SA
Available: InStock
Category: Hybrid Stereo SACD
Label: Mobile Fidelity

Masterpiece #2

5 Stars
Posted Sunday, July 19, 2020 by Mike I own this and Workingmans Dead on MoFi sacd. Everything about the band shines in spades on both releases. Sonic's, clarity,dynamic's, EVERYTHING! IMHO, the best issue's of either disc around. Excellent, highly recommended!!


Chicago - Chicago VI Product No: CMOB 2132 SA
Available: InStock
Category: Hybrid Stereo SACD
Label: Mobile Fidelity

Chicago VI

5 Stars
Posted Sunday, July 19, 2020 by Mike MoFi did a very good job laying this down on sacd. The depth & air along with clarity & dynamics make this disc very listenable. My favorite by the band. If you like Chicago, you will enjoy VI. Recommended material.


Arnett Cobb - Party Time Product No: CPRJ 7165 SA
Available: InStock
Category: Hybrid Stereo SACD
Label: Analogue Productions (Prestige)

Superb

5 Stars
Posted Friday, June 26, 2020 by Erich Excellent recording and performance. Kevin Gray's master is fantastic on this SACD with superb sound. Very enjoyable...I'm playing it over and over.



Viewing 1 - 20 of 200 Products