Carriers are reporting longer-than-normal shipping times. Acoustic Sounds is not responsible for in-transit delays.

Found 205 product(s) in the

SACD

category in

Product Reviews

Results Per Page
Viewing 1 - 20 of 205 Products
Herbert von Karajan - Strauss: Eine Alpensinfonie Product No: CDGR 90240 SA
Available: InStock
Category: Hybrid Stereo SACD
Label: Esoteric (Deutsche Grammophon)

Eine Alpensinfone/Karajan come full circle!

5 Stars
Posted Monday, March 22, 2021 by Ronald H. This was the first Classical cd that I bought in late 1982, when the cd format was first introduced. Historically, Eine Alpensinfone/Karajan was the first classical title to be mastered to cd along with Abba's The Visitors, at Polygram's Hanover W Germany cd plant. There has only been one other major remaster of this title. Esoteric, in cooperation with Universal Music, which owns this title, have remastered the recording using there own proprietary equipment. When it comes to music reproduction, I'm a minimalist. I have listened to this hybrid sacd on a Sony D-303 flagship portable cd player from 1991, mated with Sony MDR-E484B flagship earphones from 1990. My takeaway is, this version is the pinnacle of warmth and definition that was missing from previous editions. So, imagine how nice it will sound with sacd equipment. As a bonus, in addition to the title composition, Strauss's Metamorphosen, is included. Highly recommended!


Miles Davis - Sketches Of Spain Product No: CMOB 2086 SA
Available: InStock
Category: Hybrid Stereo SACD
Label: Mobile Fidelity

Highly Recommended

5 Stars
Posted Wednesday, March 3, 2021 by Anonymous A stunning collaboration between master arranger Gil Evans and Miles Davis, plus some of his band and other outstanding jazz players. Davis' playing is unsurpassed in its creativity, tone, and subtlety of phrasing. All rendered in outstanding sound that captures the emotional impact and wide range of colors and rhythm of the music.


Chicago - Chicago II Product No: CMOB 2133 SA
Available: InStock
Category: Hybrid Stereo SACD
Label: Mobile Fidelity

4 Stars
Posted Monday, March 1, 2021 by Anonymous


Pink Floyd - The Dark Side Of The Moon Product No: CAPP 81033 SA
Available: PreOrder
Category: Hybrid Multichannel SACD
Label: Analogue Productions

When will this be available for delivery?

5 Stars
Posted Thursday, January 14, 2021 by Clint I know there is a pandemic, but I've been waiting 13 months.


Ben Webster Quintet - Soulville Product No: CVRJ 8274 SA
Available: InStock
Category: Hybrid Mono SACD
Label: Analogue Productions (Verve)

5 Stars
Posted Tuesday, December 15, 2020 by Anonymous


Wild Child Butler - Sho' 'Nuff Product No: CAPO 2015 SA
Available: InStock
Category: Hybrid Stereo SACD
Label: APO Records

$5 Bargain

5 Stars
Posted Tuesday, November 24, 2020 by Big Al Had no idea what to expect from this CD, but I like the blues so thought I would take a chance for $5. Great music and sound quality. Just finished listening and my foot is still tapping.


Duke Ellington and Johnny Hodges - Side By Side Product No: CVRJ 6109 SA
Available: InStock
Category: Hybrid Stereo SACD
Label: Analogue Productions (Verve)

5 Stars
Posted Thursday, November 19, 2020 by Anonymous


The Jimi Hendrix Experience - Are You Experienced? Product No: CAPP 19782 SA
Available: InStock
Category: Hybrid Stereo SACD
Label: Analogue Productions

Great SACD Transfer

5 Stars
Posted Wednesday, November 11, 2020 by Tom Caselli This album was never a stellar sounding album. I have at least 11 different LP versions and 5 different CD mastering. This is the first one that captures the the best attributes of the recording. Would love to see this get the UHQR treatment, at least for the stereo mix. ??


Ben Webster and Harry 'Sweets' Edison - Wanted To Do One Together Product No: CORG 0117 SA
Available: InStock
Category: Hybrid Stereo SACD
Label: ORG - Original Recordings Group

This is a Must Own!!

5 Stars
Posted Wednesday, November 11, 2020 by Nat X I have many albums that I love...and they stay that way...and so often I think that I won't find another one that can come close to any position on that list of the great ones. There are many reasons I love them...some were played during certain times....some I heard out of nowhere and had to own. But...I keep buying albums...always searching...always chasing the dragon. From the first note on this album I was hooked. I'm not saying it's the greatest album of all time...but if you love music...you need to own this. Phenomenal....peaceful...powerful. You'll dig it.


Various Artists - Memory Lane Product No: CUNJ 0699 SA
Available: InStock
Category: Hybrid Stereo SACD
Label: Universal Records (Japan)

Not All Memories Are Good

2 Stars
Posted Wednesday, October 14, 2020 by Unaccustomed Customer Like most modern, non-audiophile masterings, on most of the songs here, the overall sound is forward, with a digital, cold tonality. When I tried to turn the volume up to get a warmer sound on a number of tracks, I got too much treble and not enough bass. When these things happen on a $2 used CD, I don't like it, but I deal with it. However, when this happens on a $40 SACD, it is unacceptable. To be clear, I like SACDs that have a lot of detail, I just don't think it needs to come at the expense of tonal balance.

They really seemed to be going for clarity and detail over warmth on this SACD. And unfortunately, they succeeded. For reasons already mentioned, I do not consider this to be an audiophile release. I am not saying they are necessarily claiming it is an audiophile release, but it is a SACD that sells for $40.

I honestly cannot recommend this SACD. I want SACD to live on, but releases like this are not going to save it.


Dietrich Fischer-Dieskau - Schubert: Winterreise D911 Product No: CDGJ 9039 SA
Available: LimitedStock
Category: SHM Single Layer SACDs
Label: Deutsche Grammophon

The greatest performance and the most outstanding recording/remastering SACD sound.

5 Stars
Posted Monday, October 12, 2020 by John Fang When I was a child, I heard the simplified version of the Der Lindenbaum. I was so attracted to it’s beautiful melody and it’s sweet-sour feeling that says “Come here to me,friend, here you will find your rest”. Later on I realized it is a lied from Schubert’s Winterreise. I was so astonished how artistic it is, with the contrasting middle section and the beautiful peaceful ending. Since then I started to collect many LP/Cassettes/CD in order to have a “perfect” one. I have 5 of his CD, from 1955 to 1985, including the CD version of this 1972 recording. The early one (1955) is very outstanding..However the recording is old, and the piano part is not well recorded. This 1972 SACD is totally different. The sound is so grandiose in both piano and vocal, as in cathedral, for hymn-like last two songs (21 & 23). It gives the Winterreise a deeper meaning, the life and destiny.


Supertramp - Breakfast In America Product No: CMOB 2189 SA
Available: InStock
Category: Hybrid Stereo SACD
Label: Mobile Fidelity

Outstanding Fidelity

5 Stars
Posted Sunday, September 6, 2020 by NordicDave Sonically, this disc has everything you hope for and seldom get. Beautiful full range, terrific clarity, great soundstage. Think listening to the master tape in your living room. The engineering quality of this recording is obvious. I found great enjoyment in the lesser know tracks, as the presentation was so remarkable.


The Flying Burrito Brothers - The Gilded Palace Of Sin Product No: CITV 03 SA
Available: InStock
Category: Hybrid Stereo SACD
Label: Intervention Records

Bright Clear Balanced Sound

5 Stars
Posted Thursday, August 27, 2020 by EdwardInEdgewood You can hear the birth of country rock music as this album progresses from song to song. And I have never heard "The Gilded Palace of Sin" sound better that this SACD release. Every voice and instrument is bright, clear and balanced. Hopefully other Gram Parsons' albums will get the same treatment.


Grateful Dead - American Beauty Product No: CMOB 2138 SA
Available: BackOrdered
Category: Hybrid Stereo SACD
Label: Mobile Fidelity

Masterpiece #2

5 Stars
Posted Sunday, July 19, 2020 by Mike I own this and Workingmans Dead on MoFi sacd. Everything about the band shines in spades on both releases. Sonic's, clarity,dynamic's, EVERYTHING! IMHO, the best issue's of either disc around. Excellent, highly recommended!!


Grateful Dead - Workingman's Dead Product No: CMOB 2137 SA
Available: InStock
Category: Hybrid Stereo SACD
Label: Mobile Fidelity

Masterpiece #1

5 Stars
Posted Sunday, July 19, 2020 by Mike This along with American Beauty are essential classic's. Both MoFi sacd's are IMHO the best around. The sonic's from top to bottom are accurately reproduced, the way the band intended the material to be heard. Epic stuff, highly recommended!!


Arnett Cobb - Party Time Product No: CPRJ 7165 SA
Available: InStock
Category: Hybrid Stereo SACD
Label: Analogue Productions (Prestige)

Superb

5 Stars
Posted Friday, June 26, 2020 by Erich Excellent recording and performance. Kevin Gray's master is fantastic on this SACD with superb sound. Very enjoyable...I'm playing it over and over.


Supertramp - Breakfast In America Product No: CA&MJ 9536 SA
Available: InStock
Category: SHM Single Layer SACDs
Label: A&M

5 Stars
Posted Monday, June 22, 2020 by Anonymous


Barry Manilow - Ultimate Manilow Product No: CSON 4088 SA
Available: InStock
Category: Hybrid Stereo SACD
Label: Sony

Acceptable not the the best sacd i herd but enjoyable

4 Stars
Posted Friday, June 12, 2020 by Peter.S. Not the best sound i have heard but still very acceptable.If you like Manilow than get this sacd $39 dollars is a lot for an sacd but you get lots of songs.


Derek & The Dominos - Layla and Other Assorted Love Songs Product No: CMOB 2188 SA
Available: InStock
Category: Hybrid Stereo SACD
Label: Mobile Fidelity

sacds with more channels

5 Stars
Posted Friday, June 12, 2020 by Peter.S. I have the remastered cd and now I bought the mofi sacd.The mofi sacd is just a little better than the remastered cd but that little bit makes a big difference in sound. If you like derek & the dominos than by all means buy this sacd. Like i said on all the reviews i think that they should make a three channel option because thats the way stereo was invented to be a three channel system. If you agree with me than go on mofis web site and let them know that you would like them to make sacd with more channels at least three they could even have a third option for a milti channel you know more than three channels for ambiance i just cant understand with all the space on the sacd why not use it it. Just a waist of space not to.I have many multi channel sacds and dvd audio plus blu ray music with high rez dts and dolby and stereo all on one blu ray also pcm multi channel why not have all these options on your music


Dire Straits - Communique Product No: CMOB 2185 SA
Available: InStock
Category: Hybrid Stereo SACD
Label: Mobile Fidelity

Moore channels please

5 Stars
Posted Friday, June 12, 2020 by Peter.S. Just another great sounding sacd from dire straits with the benefit of excellent songs highly recommended just wish they would make at least a three channel version of this music thats the way that stereo was meant to be i do not understand why with todays technology and that people have multi channel audio systems why not take advantage of at least the center channel Peter.S.



Viewing 1 - 20 of 205 Products