Carriers are reporting longer-than-normal shipping times. Acoustic Sounds is not responsible for in-transit delays.

Found 216 product(s) in the

SACDs

category in

Product Reviews

Results Per Page
Viewing 1 - 20 of 216 Products
Tsuyoshi Yamamoto Trio - The Look Of Love - Live At Jazz Is 2nd Set Product No: CVEN 0356 SA
Available: InStock
Category: Single Layer Stereo SACD
Label: Venus

At the club

5 Stars
Posted Monday, April 4, 2022 by Brian VanPelt It is like being at the club. All the instruments sound very real. Basically, you have an upfront seat to this event. As such, all of the instruments have tremendous presence in the room. If you've ever sat near a piano at a club, you can feel a lot of the music it makes. Same goes for the drums and bass. Additionally, there is some clapping between tunes as well as some background chatter when the music is quiet. There is background rumble which is evident on track 4 if you blast the music. I had the music blasted much louder than normal. This is not as evident on the other tracks. Track 4 is completely a bass/cello solo (playing a very cool version of Somewhere Over the Rainbow).

If you keep levels loud, but not overwhelming, then you will experience no distortion or tape hiss (although this might have been recorded digitally).

The playing is very spirited with the piano left of center, the drums centered and the bass between.


Freddie Hubbard - The Artistry Of Freddie Hubbard Product No: CIPJ 27 SA
Available: InStock
Category: Hybrid Stereo SACD
Label: Analogue Productions (Impulse)

Wow

5 Stars
Posted Wednesday, March 30, 2022 by Brian VanPelt These Impulse/Analogue Productions collaborations are all insanely good. This release is no exception.

First of all, everything sounds so clear, with lots of air around instruments. The drums and cymbals are crystalline, and any brass sounds very realistic. I noticed that the pianos are slightly softened when other musicians are soloing, and then accentuated when it's time for the piano solo.

The presentation feels like it preserves the placements of the musicians, and all of the instruments sound realistic and of the right size (no cadillac sized piano for example). There is no tape hiss at all. Freddie's horn is usually in the left channel and it's well- represented. Everything sounds just right. The drums and sax are in the right channel.

I suspect that I will buy every Impulse/Analogue Productions SACD.


Kenny Burrell - Bluesey Burrell Product No: CPRJ 29 SA
Available: BackOrdered
Category: Hybrid Stereo SACD
Label: Analogue Productions (Prestige)

Close Up and Personal

5 Stars
Posted Friday, March 25, 2022 by Brian VanPelt This is a low key album. Every instrument seems closely mic'd, with Burrell's being the most prominent. As such, you can hear every detail of each of the instruments - and every pluck of Burrell's guitar (and you'll need that because he can fly sometimes, even when he's just chilling). So, the recording is awesome, and there is no tape hiss.

Most of the action happens out of the left and right channels, but sometimes there is sound in the middle. Burrell is usually in the left channel, the drummer in the right and the pianist in the center. The bass seems in the back, but a little right of center. The bassist can verbally hum at almost the same frequency he bows the bass. Some tunes feature a sax on the right.

Essentially perfect. I could notice no sonic flaws whatsoever. The sound has a very nice analog feel to it, so it probably sounds almost identical to the master tape.


Myra Taylor - My Night To Dream Product No: CAPO 2017 SA
Available: InStock
Category: Hybrid Stereo SACD
Label: APO Records

Wow great value

5 Stars
Posted Wednesday, March 9, 2022 by Mark I bought this for $5 and listened on my Mark Levinson setup. It was amazing. Spider and a fly, still blue water, and sunny side of the street were oddly familiar and highly enjoyable as was the broader introduction to 40s era blues.


Charles Mingus - Tijuana Moods Product No: CORG 0174 SA
Available: BackOrdered
Category: Hybrid Stereo SACD
Label: ORG - Original Recordings Group

3 Stars
Posted Thursday, March 3, 2022 by Anonymous


The Rolling Stones - Beggars Banquet Product No: CABK 84982 SA
Available: InStock
Category: Hybrid Stereo SACD
Label: Abkco

Great Sound Quality

5 Stars
Posted Wednesday, March 2, 2022 by Brian VanPelt There is no tape hiss at all, and every single note is clear. The guitar is very sharp and you can feel the stums. Mick's voice is usually centered, and sounds as good as I've ever hear him. It also sounds like the mastering is high-volume, if that makes sense - this is mastered loudly, which is a great thing. There are no distortions associated with old tape.

This is seemingly perfect, but it still contains that grungenous you want from the Stones, but not in the sound quality. Somehow, the sound is pristine, but you get the grunge in the manner the Stones must have meant (instead of through shoddy sound). I wouldn't describe the soundstage as wide, but it does feel like it has depth. Sometimes, as in the 5th song, Mick's voice is focused as well as I've heard anywhere - somewhat lifelike in your listening room. Sympathy for the Devil gave me goosebumps.

The 45 rpm record you get is as thin as thick piece of paper, but it is made of vinyl.

Outstanding. Grade 5+.


Lightnin' Hopkins - Goin' Away Product No: CPRJ 1073 SA
Available: InStock
Category: Hybrid Stereo SACD
Label: Analogue Productions (Prestige)

Amazing

5 Stars
Posted Thursday, February 24, 2022 by Brian VanPelt There is a 200 gram LP of this album, and I want to echo the reviews I have seen for that. This is amazing.

It's just Lightnin' singing and playing guitar, a bass player and someone playing a drum. It's like being in the recording booth for the original sessions. There is absolutely no distortion of any kind, and there's not even tape hiss. This is unreal.

The soundstage is occupied one the left by the bassist, I think. The right is occupied by the drummer, and Lightnin' is in the center with his guitar. Every detail can be heard. Lightnin's voice is very well recorded - which I know is difficult to do. You can hear that he sings too close the mic on occasion, but he doesn't distort even then. All of the instruments sound real/authentic on this completely acoustic album.

The amazing sound quality adds to the mesmerizing quality of this album. Presumably, they had to do some cleanup to eliminate tape hiss, and they did so just right, so as not to


Herbie Hancock - Speak Like A Child Product No: CBLJ 9017 SA
Available: LimitedStock
Category: SHM Single Layer SACDs
Label: Blue Note

Seems muffled

3 Stars
Posted Saturday, February 12, 2022 by Brian VanPelt I had to turn this way up to hear all of the instruments. The piano is the loudest and the drums seem quieter than I have ever heard before. When you turn up the volume, you can hear each instrument clearly, but even then, it seems like they have no sparkle. Everything is somewhat flat and dull.

Compare this with Soul Station, also a Japanese issue like this one, and you won't believe the difference. After listening to Speak Like a Child, I put Soul Station in the player. Immediately, I had to turn the volume down, and it seems like a veil had been lifted off of the instruments.

Somehow, this would be great if they could "sharpen the focus" somehow. I highly doubt that they used the analog tapes as their source.

My advice would be to wait for this to come out in SACD from Analogue Productions or go find the record.


Hank Mobley - Soul Station Product No: CBLJ 9022 SA
Available: InStock
Category: SHM Single Layer SACDs
Label: Blue Note

Sounds Excellent

5 Stars
Posted Saturday, February 12, 2022 by Brian VanPelt I didn't detect any tape hiss, and all of the instruments sound lively and vivid. The recording is excellent.

When Hank Mobley solos alone, I can detect a slight echo to his sax - he appears on the left. The piano is in the middle and the drums are on the left. Each instrument is loud enough to hear clearly, but not so loud as to drown out the others.

I have the Classic Vinyl Reissue of this same album, and I like this quite a bit better. The vinyl version features some tape distortion when Mobley hits loud high notes; while this SACD features no distortion at all. Not only that, this SACD sounds transparent to the analog source. The sound is very focused and sharp. There are times when you can hear Mobley yelp as he's getting into the music.

The soundstage stretches from the left speaker to the right speaker, and it feels like the piano is placed further back, but in the middle.

This is just fantastic. I give it a 5+.


Cannonball Adderley - Somethin' Else Product No: CBNJ 81595 SA
Available: InStock
Category: Hybrid Stereo SACD
Label: Analogue Productions (Blue Note)

Just like the record

5 Stars
Posted Wednesday, January 19, 2022 by Brian VanPelt All of the instruments are very clear. The drums are on the right, the piano in the middle, and the trumpet and sax are on the left. The bass seems to be in the back, somewhere between the drums and the piano. The piano, while clear, is also a little soft, while all of the other instruments are quite vivid/sharp. The underwhelming piano is something that I believe all Rudy Van Gelder recordings had. This is the same situation with the record as well. It's not that big of a deal and, if you listen to enough Blue Note albums, you get used to it.

If you know the record, then you know what it sounds like - now imagine that without surface noise. I don't remember for sure about the record, but on this SACD the soundstage is quite spacious and 3-dimensional. The piano seems further back, while the brass and drums seem quite forward. There were times when the music seemed to stretch beyond my speakers.

Pick this up quick as they sell out fast.


The Alan Parsons Project - Eye In The Sky Product No: CMOB 2221 SA
Available: InStock
Category: Hybrid Stereo SACD
Label: Mobile Fidelity

5 Stars
Posted Friday, January 14, 2022 by Anonymous


Keith Jarrett Trio - Koln Concert Product No: CECMJ 9059 SA
Available: InStock
Category: Single Layer Stereo SACD
Label: ECM

Just like the record

5 Stars
Posted Thursday, January 6, 2022 by Brian VanPelt I immediately was able to tell that this SACD sounds exactly the same as the record, minus the surface noise, as I've listened to the album a lot. Of course, zero surface noise means you can turn it up as loudly as you want.

Keith Jarrett's piano occupies mostly the right/middle of the soundstage, It seems like you are sitting on the stage with him. The piano is so well-recorded, you can easily hear every note, and you can hear Jarrett's hands gong up and down the piano keys. Of course, that also means you can hear Jarrett's vocal sounds quite clearly - but if you are a fan a this man, you already know he makes noise while he plays (it seems he gets into some place in his head, and he is able to concentrate intensely as if there is no audience).

This is an amazingly relaxing album. It's incredible to hear someone create music on the fly. You can listen as Keith Jarrett plays note after note until he hits a melody he likes, and then he embellishes on the fly.


Wynton Kelly Trio and Wes Montgomery - Smokin' At The Half Note Product No: CVRJ 8633 SA
Available: InStock
Category: Hybrid Stereo SACD
Label: Analogue Productions (Verve)

Crystal Clear

5 Stars
Posted Sunday, December 26, 2021 by Brian VanPelt All of the instruments are well recorded and, even though this was a live show, it seems almost like a studio recording. The soundstage is spacious and has good depth.

Each instrument is sharply defined, and on the piano, I could trace (in my mental image) Kelly's fingers going up and down the piano's keyboard. Every pluck of Montgomery's guitar is easily heard, as well as every drum or cymbal strike. Even the bass stands out as very well-defined. Whatever tape they used to master this had to be in perfect condition - there are no harmful sonic artifacts from worn-out tapes.

This recording is ridiculously good. The audience is not intrusive at all, and you do have the feeling of being there. The general layout is guitar on the left, drums on the right, and piano in the middle but further back.

This is exceptional in every way. I have the 45 rpm Analogue Productions version of this album, and between that and this SACD, I call a sonic draw.

Grade: 5+


Scott Hamilton & Andrea Pozza - Who Cares? Product No: CFON 140 SA
Available: InStock
Category: Hybrid Stereo SACD
Label: Fone

Very good recording of acoustic jazz duo

4 Stars
Posted Wednesday, October 27, 2021 by Jimmy James Both are excellent musicians. Minimalist recording because that is all that is required here. Their readings of Airegin, On a Misty Night and Old Devil Moon are the standout tracks. Very enjoyable and highly recommended.


Patricia Barber - Clique Product No: CIMX 8323 SA
Available: BackOrdered
Category: Hybrid Multichannel SACD
Label: Impex

Not as good to these ears as Cafe Blue or Modern Cool

3 Stars
Posted Tuesday, October 5, 2021 by Jimmy James Just doesnt have the depth or soul of the others. I dont think the recording is as good. Enjoying Eden Atwood WAVES more and I bought them at the same time. I like Eden's vocals in the center channel. The sound on WAVES is just spectacular.


Charles Mingus - Mingus Ah Um Product No: CMOB 2208 SA
Available: LimitedStock
Category: Hybrid Stereo SACD
Label: Mobile Fidelity

Very Nice

5 Stars
Posted Tuesday, October 5, 2021 by Brian VanPelt Everything is very clear on this SACD. All of the instruments sound true. There is no discernible distortion of any kind, nor is there any tape hiss. Even so, the top end seems right, so I don't suspect any issues with rolling off the high end.

All in all, everything sounds correct and natural, and the soundstage seems appropriate wide, with good depth.


Kenny Dorham - Matador Product No: CIMX 8321 SA
Available: InStock
Category: Hybrid Stereo SACD
Label: Impex

Awesome

5 Stars
Posted Sunday, September 26, 2021 by Brian This sound here is wonderful. There are no distortions of any kind, no tape hiss, nothing. The sound is very strong and it sounds very natural. Kenny hits notes that I don't think would play on a record player. Generally, his trumpet plays out of the left and, on at least one occasion, his notes could be eye- squintingly piercing. I take that as essentially perfect reproduction of his sound.

Overall, all of the instruments were easy to point out. The piano sounded vibrant and well-recorded. Actually, I could say that for all of the instruments. Perfect pitch, timbre, or whatever you call it. Additionally, you really feel like you are not just in the studio, but amongst the musicians.

Excellent on all accounts.


The Cranberries - Stars - The Best Of 1992-2002 Product No: CUNJ 2287 SA
Available: BackOrdered
Category: Hybrid Stereo SACD
Label: Universal Records (Japan)

SACD Layer Doesn't Disappoint

4 Stars
Posted Sunday, August 29, 2021 by :DavidL I was hesitant to purchase this SACD as there is not much information listed about the mastering or audio quality. I took a chance and the SACD layer doesn’t disappoint. The music is well balanced with great soundstage. I can hear vocals, acoustic guitars, electric guitars, cymbal crashes, and tambourine with refreshing clarity. Dolores O’Riordans voice has never sounded so lush and her backing harmonies are perfectly blended with her lead vocal track. Dynamics are really well done considering this is 90’s alternative rock. Mastering gets 5 STARS for the SACD Layer. Unfortunately, only 3 STARS for the CD layer. I have a feeling they just slapped on the mastering from the original 2002 release. The music is smashed, loud, muddy, boomy, and the vocals sound two dimensional. Kinda disappointing since I like to use the CD layer on the go in my car and iPod. Overall, I am really enjoying this 20 song collection from the Cranberries.


Sam Cooke - Night Beat Product No: CAPP 2709 SA
Available: InStock
Category: Hybrid 3-Channel Stereo SACD
Label: Analogue Productions

5 Stars
Posted Tuesday, August 24, 2021 by Anonymous


Michael Stern - Saint-Saens: Symphony No. 3 'Organ' Product No: CREF 136 SA
Available: InStock
Category: Hybrid Multichannel SACD
Label: Reference Recordings

SACD Stereo Mix - Ho Hum

3 Stars
Posted Wednesday, August 11, 2021 by Anonymous I listened to the CD layer and then the SACD stereo mix layer. Honestly not that much of a difference. If this was the first SACD I was exposed to honestly I'd be a tad disappointed. It does sound good, but not really altogether different than redbook.



Viewing 1 - 20 of 216 Products