Found 90 product(s) from the

Mobile Fidelity

label in

Product Reviews

Results Per Page
Viewing 1 - 20 of 90 Products
Simon & Garfunkel - Parsley, Sage, Rosemary And Thyme Product No: AMOB 484
Available: InStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Mobile Fidelity

Clear and sharp, but......

3 Stars
Posted Thursday, August 8, 2019 by VicN This version of an old classic is very clear, fast and sharp, but as I listened to it, it just didn't grab me. They've achieved this clarity by biasing the high frequency end at the expense of the mid range. The result is a noticeable amount of the "music" has been sucked out of the mids leaving them very lean. The high end is empathised to the point that some songs were sibilant in parts. I was wondering if it was just me, so I threw on the Sundazed version I've had for a while, which was also produced from the original master tapes. The Sundaze version didn't have quite the same amount of resolution as the MoFi release, but was fuller in the mids, sounded better balanced and had no sibilance. To me the Sundazed version better captured the warm 60s sound and was more involving. So if you're a clarity/resolution freak, then the new MoFi is it. If you prefer the original warmer fuller sound, then the MoFi mastering may leave you a little cold (pun intended).


Supertramp - Breakfast In America Product No: AMOB 471
Available: InStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Mobile Fidelity

Disappointed

3 Stars
Posted Tuesday, December 18, 2018 by Spinnin I found the sound to be dull at a lower volume and glaring at higher listening volumes. My wife made a comment about the sound being sharp as she passed by. I listened thru speakers and headphones and came away with the same conclusion. I have the Speakers Corner reissue of Crime of the Century which was described by a person of authority as epic thru my headphones. So much for the Grammy award for sound recording.


Richard Thompson - Rumor And Sigh Product No: AMOB 476
Available: InStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Mobile Fidelity

Perfect

5 Stars
Posted Wednesday, November 21, 2018 by Anonymous This is the album that turned me on to Thompson as a solo artist. Over the years I have aquired the original vinyl pressing as well as the CD. The MFSL version blows both away. Spreading the music over two disks tightens and deepens the bass, but not at the expense of great midrange and treble. A must have for RT fans.


Simon & Garfunkel - Parsley, Sage, Rosemary And Thyme Product No: CMOB 2199 SA
Available: InStock
Category: Hybrid Stereo SACD
Label: Mobile Fidelity

Superb.

5 Stars
Posted Friday, November 9, 2018 by Gibbsy This is a simply superb mix. Detail, depth, soundstage are all there. Instruments are so well placed and the percussion is beautiful. Vocals are never buried and you'll hear nuances that simply aren't there on the RBs.

A must for every Simon and Garfunkel fan.


Billy Joel - Billy Joel's Greatest Hits Volumes 1 & 2 Product No: CMOB 2121-2 SA
Available: LimitedStock
Category: Hybrid Stereo SACD
Label: Mobile Fidelity

5 Stars
Posted Sunday, July 1, 2018 by Anonymous


Tom Waits And Crystal Gayle - One From The Heart Product No: AMOB 448
Available: InStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Mobile Fidelity

excellent recording

5 Stars
Posted Monday, May 21, 2018 by Anonymous clearly one of the best recorded Tom Waits records. a "Super LP" n the list of great ups from The Absolute Sound. Deserved. nice contrast between the two voices.


Linda Ronstadt - Heart Like A Wheel Product No: CMOB 2190 SA
Available: InStock
Category: Hybrid Stereo SACD
Label: Mobile Fidelity

Very good sounding SACD

4 Stars
Posted Friday, April 20, 2018 by Anonymous This is a very good sounding SACD of this album. Clearly superior to the CD release. Clean with good instrument depth and separation. If there is anything holding this release back it is a limited frequency range / clarity on the vocals. This is less notable on some songs like "When Will I be Loved." Rondstadt and her band were in prime form for this album and there are lots of great songs here. If you like the music this is worth buying.


Carly Simon - Anticipation Product No: CMOB 2166 SA
Available: InStock
Category: Hybrid Stereo SACD
Label: Mobile Fidelity

A good, but not great SACD release

4 Stars
Posted Friday, April 20, 2018 by Anonymous I purchased this title after being really impressed with the Mobile Fidelity SACD release of Carly Simon's "No Secrets," which sounds great. Actually, I purchased "Carly Simon" (released in 1971), Anticipation (released in later 1971), and No Secrets (released in 1972) all on SACD. I mention this because the SACD of Carly Simon sounds decent, this SACD (Anticipation) sounds better, and then "No Secrets" sounds the best.

This SACD sounds notably better than a good sounding CD release, just not great. It is somewhat veiled - lacking some of the clarity and depth of a great SACD release. It very well could be the original recording or degradation of the master tape over time. The music itself contains several classics. If you already like the album this SACD is probably as good as it gets.


Carly Simon - Carly Simon Product No: CMOB 2165 SA
Available: LimitedStock
Category: Hybrid Stereo SACD
Label: Mobile Fidelity

Good for SACD, but not great

3 Stars
Posted Friday, April 20, 2018 by Anonymous I purchased this title after being really impressed with the Mobile Fidelity SACD release of Carly Simon's "No Secrets," which sounds great. This SACD sounds a bit better than a good sounding CD release, but not great. It is relatively veiled - lacking clarity or depth. It really holds some of the songs back from being magic - "Dan, My Fling" in particular which would be amazing with great quality sound. It very well could be the original recording or degradation of the master tape over time (although I've heard older recordings sound much better.) The music itself is often good, but not as consistently good as No Secrets. If you already like the album this may be as good as it gets. It just isn't up to the sound standards of a great SACD.


Bill Withers - Bill Withers' Greatest Hits Product No: AMOB 445
Available: InStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Mobile Fidelity

truly great sound

5 Stars
Posted Thursday, March 8, 2018 by EW in this hobby for over 20 years but this is my first review. Why, simply because this is a truly amazing recording. Typically I am not a fan of Greatest Hits albums. This however is one of the really good ones.


Dean Martin - This Time I'm Swingin' Product No: AMOB 410
Available: LimitedStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Mobile Fidelity

Overall, a solid pressing

4 Stars
Posted Tuesday, February 27, 2018 by Lance The album itself is fantastic, but the pressing isn't quite up to the bar that Analogue Productions has established. That being said, it's still pretty good and a worthy investment if you're a fan of Dean Martin like I am.


Ry Cooder - Paradise And Lunch Product No: AMOB 449
Available: InStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Mobile Fidelity

Amazing

5 Stars
Posted Friday, February 16, 2018 by Kristjan The music on this album great, but the sound is amazing. This is the best sounding album, I have ever heard. The 3D impression, listening to Cooder singing, is the best I have ever heard. 6 stars!


Weezer - Weezer (Blue Album) Product No: AMOB 480
Available: InStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Mobile Fidelity

A+++++++++++

5 Stars
Posted Sunday, January 14, 2018 by Anonymous Great sounding album.


James Gang - Rides Again Product No: AMOB 477
Available: InStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Mobile Fidelity

NOT SO FANTASTIC SOUND QUALITY

3 Stars
Posted Saturday, December 16, 2017 by George I'VE EXPECTED MUCH MORE FROM THIS MFSL LP,...ON TEND MY GARDEN , VERY UNSATISFIED WITH THE MID BASS,IT IS TOO PRESENT,CREATING UNCOMFORTABLE SOUNDSTAGE...ETC


Derek & The Dominos - Layla and Other Assorted Love Songs Product No: AMOB 470
Available: InStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Mobile Fidelity

4 Stars For Remaster - 5 For Pressing

5 Stars
Posted Thursday, August 17, 2017 by audiofan I have only had the time to play this LP twice at time of writing, and the pressing is, not surprisingly (it's Mofi) flawless in every way. However, the sound is just a bit less impressive than I'd hoped. Mastered by Krieg Wunderlich, and "assisted by Rob LoVerde", it isn't bad, but it isn't, at least to my old ears, one of Mofi's best. Maybe I'll change my mind after a few more spins, and yes, I realize the recording is nearly 48 years old, but I was left wishing it had a little more balance - some voices/instruments seem to "jump out" more than seems natural, but perhaps that's the original mix. Alas, I no longer have an original copy to compare it to. If someone out there does, and purchases this as well, I'd love to hear what you think - I only have a SACD - hardly a fair comparison. Very good, but not stellar.


The Allman Brothers Band - Live At The Fillmore East Product No: CMOB 2143 SA
Available: InStock
Category: Hybrid Stereo SACD
Label: Mobile Fidelity

5 Stars
Posted Wednesday, April 5, 2017 by Anonymous Possibly the greatest jam band gig ever recorded. Greg Allman's rich B3 sound cannot be played too loud, neither can Duane's brilliant screaming guitar. I was looking for rich DSD sound on a SACD release of this classic, and this wonderful Mofi offering delivers.


Jefferson Airplane - Surrealistic Pillow Product No: CMOB 2175 SA
Available: InStock
Category: Hybrid Mono SACD
Label: Mobile Fidelity

Excellent alternative to the stereo mix

5 Stars
Posted Tuesday, December 13, 2016 by Hal Broome Less reverb than the notorious "swimming pool" stereo version, and Jack's bass comes off more clearly, proving he was the rock foundation of the band. In the quieter moments, you can appreciate more the wistfulness and uniqueness of this classic San Francisco band, undiluted by the stereo shenanigans of Marty and Grace's voices coming from dueling speakers (although there is something to be said for that, as well!). Seems a waste that MoFi is finally putting out JA SACDs and not using the 4.0 multichannel mixes that exist, but I'll be happy enough if they follow up with Baxter's and Crown on SACD!


Jefferson Airplane - Volunteers Product No: CMOB 2176 SA
Available: InStock
Category: Hybrid Stereo SACD
Label: Mobile Fidelity

If you don't do vinyl, this is the version to get!

5 Stars
Posted Saturday, October 15, 2016 by Hal Broome I no longer have a turntable, but still have my original album, and in the following years have added the CD MoFI Gold, and even the Japanese SACD, which had a bit of harshness to it, but was still my "go to" version. I'm currently playing this new release for the first time, duly fast-forwarding to the highlights -- "Good Shepherd," of course, then "Hey Frederic," where Grace's voice cuts like a knife, and my fave, "Wooden Ships," that puts CSN&Y's version in second place. With old RCA 16-track tech, the sound will always be a "should have," but I'm satisfied! Odd that bits are more clear, while others fade (like a tambourine fade-out on "Good Shepherd" that seems muted). However, this is now my "go to" version. If I buy another version, it will be the SACD multi-channel: please, MoFI, allow this to happen! There is a quad mix of this, so why not?


Love - Forever Changes Product No: AMOB 402-45
Available: InStock
Category: 45 RPM Vinyl Record
Label: Mobile Fidelity

Love LOVE.

5 Stars
Posted Thursday, September 15, 2016 by SS This is the best vinyl release of this classic 1967 album that I have ever heard. If you love records and LOVE then don't wait and order it today!


Bob Dylan - Highway 61 Revisited Product No: AMOB 422
Available: LimitedStock
Category: 45 RPM Vinyl Record
Label: Mobile Fidelity

5 Stars
Posted Wednesday, September 14, 2016 by Anonymous



Viewing 1 - 20 of 90 Products