Carriers are reporting longer-than-normal shipping times. Acoustic Sounds is not responsible for in-transit delays.

Found 446 product(s) in the

Jazz Music

genre in

Product Reviews

Results Per Page
Viewing 1 - 20 of 446 Products
Duke Ellington and Coleman Hawkins - Duke Ellington Meets Coleman Hawkins Product No: AIMP 79501
Available: InStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Impulse (Acoustic Sounds Series)

Wow! Kicks butt!

5 Stars
Posted Tuesday, May 17, 2022 by Michael Renwick Awesome record, great sound quality.

The content here has me smiling ear to ear. Music feels

fresh and exciting. Top tier rotation for sure.


Art Pepper - +11 Product No: ACONC 383
Available: InStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Contemporary Records (Acoustic Sounds Series)

Superb reissue

5 Stars
Posted Saturday, May 14, 2022 by Eric L This is the first release in the Contemporary Series and

it's been a long time coming. Finally Craft teamed up

with Acoustic Sounds to remaster these reissues. If

you're a fan of Roy DuNann, the engineer for these

sessions, you'll probably want to have these.

Contemporary is admired by many audiophiles for it's

great natural sound and this is no exception. Bernie

Grundman, who worked at Contemporary, has

mastered these.This recording is from 1959. The sound

retains the vibrancy and warmth of the originals. In

many ways the sound here is more satisfying and

realistic then Van Gelder's Blue Notes. And the

arrangements by Marty Paich are really stunning.

I compared a couple of selections with the OJC 1988

release remastered by Phil De Lancie. The OJC is

excellent as well and to be truthful I really can't tell

which one is superior. But don't go by me. Hopefully

others with a keener ear will be more analytic.


John Coltrane and Johnny Hartman - John Coltrane & Johnny Hartman Product No: AIMP 80001
Available: InStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Impulse (Acoustic Sounds Series)

They say its...

5 Stars
Posted Sunday, May 8, 2022 by Christopher, Bronx New York wonderful - and it is. Clear and nicely detailed. All aspects of the instruments come alive and Johnny's vocals are more distinctive. Previously releases were too muddy with vinyl noise level being too noticeable. This release is wonderful - in every way. Once again - done so fine!


Hank Mobley - Curtain Call Product No: ABLU 31401
Available: InStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Blue Note (Tone Poet)

Great Session

5 Stars
Posted Wednesday, April 27, 2022 by Anonymous Hank Mobley, Kenny Dorham, Sonny Clark, what more could you want? Apparently an early RVG Stereo recording which is why it's not panned as widely as he did later. It almost sounds mono but in my opinion that's not a bad thing. Great stuff.


John Coltrane - A Love Supreme Product No: RRAP 0027
Available: InStock
Category: 1/4 Inch - 15 IPS Tape
Label: Analogue Productions

A new golden age

5 Stars
Posted Saturday, April 23, 2022 by Tom Caselli

Why are you reading this rather than clicking on the buy button? One of the most influential albums in jazz is being made available to you from the safety copy, in sound that was only previously imagined. As they say you snooze you lose.

I feel sorry for a distinguished reviewer the self proclaimed king of vinyl who can only question the validity of tape but doesn’t participate in it. For a fraction of the price touted for one of his analog setup’s he could experience these on his own system.

Beautifully done, keep em’ coming. Maybe Mingus next?


John Coltrane Quartet - Ballads Product No: RRAP 0028
Available: InStock
Category: 1/4 Inch - 15 IPS Tape
Label: Analogue Productions

Don’t Wait until it’s gone

5 Stars
Posted Saturday, April 23, 2022 by Tom Caselli

Ballads is the album where Coltrane reins in his “sheets of sound” and plays in a more melodic style. Previously, this was low on my Coltrane list until I heard this tape. While AP’s recent vinyl reissue was stellar, this tape moves it up several levels. If you have seen the movie Vanilla Sky where Coltrane appears as a Hologram at a party, well this is a hologram for your ears. This puts you in the studio. Don’t miss out grab it now.


Tsuyoshi Yamamoto Trio - The Look Of Love - Live At Jazz Is 2nd Set Product No: CVEN 0356 SA
Available: InStock
Category: Single Layer Stereo SACD
Label: Venus

At the club

5 Stars
Posted Monday, April 4, 2022 by Brian VanPelt It is like being at the club. All the instruments sound very real. Basically, you have an upfront seat to this event. As such, all of the instruments have tremendous presence in the room. If you've ever sat near a piano at a club, you can feel a lot of the music it makes. Same goes for the drums and bass. Additionally, there is some clapping between tunes as well as some background chatter when the music is quiet. There is background rumble which is evident on track 4 if you blast the music. I had the music blasted much louder than normal. This is not as evident on the other tracks. Track 4 is completely a bass/cello solo (playing a very cool version of Somewhere Over the Rainbow).

If you keep levels loud, but not overwhelming, then you will experience no distortion or tape hiss (although this might have been recorded digitally).

The playing is very spirited with the piano left of center, the drums centered and the bass between.


Duke Ellington & John Coltrane - Duke Ellington & John Coltrane Product No: AIMP 79901
Available: InStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Impulse (Acoustic Sounds Series)

5 Stars
Posted Sunday, April 3, 2022 by Anonymous


Tsuyoshi Yamamoto Trio - Misty Product No: ASCML 1056-45
Available: PreOrder
Category: 45 RPM Vinyl Record
Label: Somethin' Cool

Before it comes out review

5 Stars
Posted Thursday, March 31, 2022 by Brian VanPelt I am currently listening to the DSD recording they used to make this record. I'll tell you this, it's like sitting in a piano bar, not far from the piano. Yamamoto's piano stretches from left to right, so I suppose you are either behind him, or directly in front. Complete cymbal and piano decays. Here is a jazz record with a perfectly captured piano. It feels so intimate, like it's late at night and there are not a lot of people in the bar. Wait until you hear it, the piano is simply captured better than I've ever heard it before.

This performance was recorded direct to lacquer, and in DSD (11.52 MHz). The record offered here is the Yellow Misty, and that one was recorded in DSD and then cut to lacquer. The Green Misty is the one that was cut directly to lacquer.

By the way, the performance is great - intimate sometimes, vigorous other times. Besides the piano, there are drums and bass.

Recordings this good will allow us to move on from analog reco


Freddie Hubbard - The Artistry Of Freddie Hubbard Product No: CIPJ 27 SA
Available: InStock
Category: Hybrid Stereo SACD
Label: Analogue Productions (Impulse)

Wow

5 Stars
Posted Wednesday, March 30, 2022 by Brian VanPelt These Impulse/Analogue Productions collaborations are all insanely good. This release is no exception.

First of all, everything sounds so clear, with lots of air around instruments. The drums and cymbals are crystalline, and any brass sounds very realistic. I noticed that the pianos are slightly softened when other musicians are soloing, and then accentuated when it's time for the piano solo.

The presentation feels like it preserves the placements of the musicians, and all of the instruments sound realistic and of the right size (no cadillac sized piano for example). There is no tape hiss at all. Freddie's horn is usually in the left channel and it's well- represented. Everything sounds just right. The drums and sax are in the right channel.

I suspect that I will buy every Impulse/Analogue Productions SACD.


Freddie Hubbard - Ready For Freddie Product No: ABLU 3596791
Available: InStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Blue Note/Blue Note Classic Vinyl Series

Excellent

5 Stars
Posted Saturday, March 26, 2022 by Kevin The sound is first class and the pressing excellent. There were a few pops, but I have not cleaned the record yet so it may get better. I loved the sound stage and balance of the instruments, the mastering is wonderful. You can't go wrong on this, and Freddie plays his heart out, and the band is amazing. I'll buy another copy for insurance.


Kenny Burrell - Bluesey Burrell Product No: CPRJ 29 SA
Available: BackOrdered
Category: Hybrid Stereo SACD
Label: Analogue Productions (Prestige)

Close Up and Personal

5 Stars
Posted Friday, March 25, 2022 by Brian VanPelt This is a low key album. Every instrument seems closely mic'd, with Burrell's being the most prominent. As such, you can hear every detail of each of the instruments - and every pluck of Burrell's guitar (and you'll need that because he can fly sometimes, even when he's just chilling). So, the recording is awesome, and there is no tape hiss.

Most of the action happens out of the left and right channels, but sometimes there is sound in the middle. Burrell is usually in the left channel, the drummer in the right and the pianist in the center. The bass seems in the back, but a little right of center. The bassist can verbally hum at almost the same frequency he bows the bass. Some tunes feature a sax on the right.

Essentially perfect. I could notice no sonic flaws whatsoever. The sound has a very nice analog feel to it, so it probably sounds almost identical to the master tape.


Chet Baker - Chet Product No: ACONC 359
Available: InStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Concord Craft Recordings

Beautiful!

5 Stars
Posted Saturday, March 19, 2022 by Vazquez The music is amazing, the lineup is amazing, the mastering is superb! Wow and at this price it is a bargain! 10


Coleman Hawkins - Coleman Hawkins and Confreres Product No: AVRJ 6110-45
Available: InStock
Category: 45 RPM Vinyl Record
Label: Analogue Productions (Verve)

Of course it sounds incredible, but disappointed

5 Stars
Posted Saturday, March 19, 2022 by Johnnymics I haven’t been personally failed by any pressing from Acoustic Sounds and QRP. They’re the best in the country and top 1% in the world. This album is no exception. Sounds incredible. Distinct, wide, and alive. My issue is the album is missing a couple of tracks, specifically Cocktails For Two. Love that song and wish it was here.


Monty Alexander - Yard Movement Product No: AHMVR 7909
Available: BackOrdered
Category: Vinyl Record
Label: HMV Record Shop

That would be "Ernest Ranglin"

5 Stars
Posted Wednesday, March 9, 2022 by Typo Correction to the spelling mistake. Ernest Ranglin is the legendary guitarist referred to.


Myra Taylor - My Night To Dream Product No: CAPO 2017 SA
Available: InStock
Category: Hybrid Stereo SACD
Label: APO Records

Wow great value

5 Stars
Posted Wednesday, March 9, 2022 by Mark I bought this for $5 and listened on my Mark Levinson setup. It was amazing. Spider and a fly, still blue water, and sunny side of the street were oddly familiar and highly enjoyable as was the broader introduction to 40s era blues.


Charles Mingus - Tijuana Moods Product No: CORG 0174 SA
Available: BackOrdered
Category: Hybrid Stereo SACD
Label: ORG - Original Recordings Group

3 Stars
Posted Thursday, March 3, 2022 by Anonymous


Herbie Hancock - Speak Like A Child Product No: CBLJ 9017 SA
Available: LimitedStock
Category: SHM Single Layer SACDs
Label: Blue Note

Seems muffled

3 Stars
Posted Saturday, February 12, 2022 by Brian VanPelt I had to turn this way up to hear all of the instruments. The piano is the loudest and the drums seem quieter than I have ever heard before. When you turn up the volume, you can hear each instrument clearly, but even then, it seems like they have no sparkle. Everything is somewhat flat and dull.

Compare this with Soul Station, also a Japanese issue like this one, and you won't believe the difference. After listening to Speak Like a Child, I put Soul Station in the player. Immediately, I had to turn the volume down, and it seems like a veil had been lifted off of the instruments.

Somehow, this would be great if they could "sharpen the focus" somehow. I highly doubt that they used the analog tapes as their source.

My advice would be to wait for this to come out in SACD from Analogue Productions or go find the record.


Hank Mobley - Soul Station Product No: CBLJ 9022 SA
Available: InStock
Category: SHM Single Layer SACDs
Label: Blue Note

Sounds Excellent

5 Stars
Posted Saturday, February 12, 2022 by Brian VanPelt I didn't detect any tape hiss, and all of the instruments sound lively and vivid. The recording is excellent.

When Hank Mobley solos alone, I can detect a slight echo to his sax - he appears on the left. The piano is in the middle and the drums are on the left. Each instrument is loud enough to hear clearly, but not so loud as to drown out the others.

I have the Classic Vinyl Reissue of this same album, and I like this quite a bit better. The vinyl version features some tape distortion when Mobley hits loud high notes; while this SACD features no distortion at all. Not only that, this SACD sounds transparent to the analog source. The sound is very focused and sharp. There are times when you can hear Mobley yelp as he's getting into the music.

The soundstage stretches from the left speaker to the right speaker, and it feels like the piano is placed further back, but in the middle.

This is just fantastic. I give it a 5+.


Sonny Clark - My Conception Product No: ABLU 601
Available: InStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Blue Note (Tone Poet)

Love This Record

5 Stars
Posted Monday, February 7, 2022 by Anonymous Just look at that Lineup! One of my favorite Tone Poets so far. Must have in my opinion.



Viewing 1 - 20 of 446 Products