Found 405 product(s) in the

Jazz Music

genre in

Product Reviews

Results Per Page
Viewing 1 - 20 of 405 Products
Miles Davis - E.S.P. Product No: AMOB 451
Available: InStock
Category: 45 RPM Vinyl Record
Label: Mobile Fidelity

5 Stars
Posted Monday, September 21, 2020 by Anonymous


Oliver Nelson - The Blues And The Abstract Truth Product No: AIMP 7746433
Available: InStock
Category: Vinyl Record
Label: Impulse

Awesome

5 Stars
Posted Wednesday, September 16, 2020 by GSal As you might expect with the names on this album, this is one great recording! Sonics, detail, fidelity. Overall an impressive LP. It’s hard to imagine how the 45 rpm version could possibly sound better.


Grant Green - Sunday Mornin' Product No: ASDS 65216
Available: BackOrdered
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Slow Down Sounds

The real deal

5 Stars
Posted Saturday, September 12, 2020 by Brian H. It’s hard to believe that I am the first to review this release. This was back-ordered for a while and I was lucky to snag a copy when it came back in stock (now back-ordered again). Green’s guitar is plucky and smooth, drums, piano, and bass are well-defined (among the most realistic bass reproduction I’ve heard), and the stereo imaging is superb. Quiet vinyl, beautiful jacket — if you’re a fan of modern audiophile jazz reissues, do not hesitate!


Grant Green - Grantstand Product No: ABNJ 84086
Available: BackOrdered
Category: 45 RPM Vinyl Record
Label: Analogue Productions (Blue Note)

5 Stars
Posted Wednesday, September 9, 2020 by Anonymous


Stan Getz & Joao Gilberto - Getz and Gilberto Product No: AVER 69001
Available: InStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Verve (Acoustic Sounds Series)

Stunning

5 Stars
Posted Saturday, September 5, 2020 by Ken 5 stars for every single detail on this reissue. Don't hesitate.


Chrissie Hynde & The Valve Bone Woe Ensemble - Valve Bone Woe Product No: ABMG 504491
Available: InStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: BMG Rights Management

Great voice for this music

5 Stars
Posted Saturday, August 1, 2020 by DD I read a review a while back, but passed it by. I'm glad I gave it a chance. She does a great job, and the band is solid. My pressing is quiet, and it sounds good. They dabble with effects and synth, but it seems right and fun. "Caroline, no" is a bit much for me when it comes to the effects, but you judge. She has a better voice for this music than some jazz artists.


Charlie Haden, Joe Henderson, and Al Foster - The Montreal Tapes: Tribute to Joe Henderson Product No: AVER 43172
Available: BackOrdered
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Verve (Play 33 1/3)

Excellent!

5 Stars
Posted Saturday, July 25, 2020 by Anthony This is just an excellent LP, one in which is going to move into my top ten. I am going to have consider other offerings from the Play 33 1/3 catalog. It's that good! I read somewhere that if one were to pick a tenor saxophonist in whom to emulate, he couldn't do much better than Joe Henderson. I'd have to agree.


Jimmy Forrest, Elvin Jones and Grant Green - All The Gin Is Gone Product No: RDLM 404-2
Available: InStock
Category: 1/4 Inch - 15 IPS Tape
Label: Delmark

Spectacular recording and performance!

5 Stars
Posted Monday, July 6, 2020 by Anonymous Highly recommend.


Andrew Hill - Smoke Stack Product No: ABLU 852544
Available: InStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Blue Note (Blue Note 80)

nice

5 Stars
Posted Tuesday, June 30, 2020 by william great pressing no static, label is cut good, no defects or distortions really happy this was pressed this with the original analogue tapes! since this is a really unpopular record from blue note it seems blue note didn't use the same amazing recording equipment as black fire, point of departure, and judgement because they knew it was not going to sell as well. just listen


Van Morrison - Three Chords And The Truth Product No: ACRL 6646
Available: InStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Caroline International

Backwards and Forwards

5 Stars
Posted Monday, June 29, 2020 by JazzDoc I've been a Van fan for decades. Listening to this album on Qobuz didn't give me the experience I'd hoped for, perhaps mostly because I wasn't really giving it my attention at the time. So, now I've got the vinyl spinning on my Linn and the lyric sheet in my lap--kinda like the good ol' days. There's something timely about these songs, something timeless about the arrangements. Silver marbled vinyl, quiet and flat surfaces, great depth and R-L dimensions, clearly defined instruments. If you've ever liked Van on vinyl, buy this.


John Coltrane - My Favorite Things Product No: AORM 1080-45
Available: InStock
Category: 45 RPM Vinyl Record
Label: ORG Music

fantastic!

5 Stars
Posted Friday, June 26, 2020 by Anonymous fantastic!


Arnett Cobb - Party Time Product No: CPRJ 7165 SA
Available: InStock
Category: Hybrid Stereo SACD
Label: Analogue Productions (Prestige)

Superb

5 Stars
Posted Friday, June 26, 2020 by Erich Excellent recording and performance. Kevin Gray's master is fantastic on this SACD with superb sound. Very enjoyable...I'm playing it over and over.


Art Blakey & The Jazz Messengers - Live In Paris '65 Product No: ASAM 21
Available: InStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Sam Records

What's not to like, amazing!

5 Stars
Posted Wednesday, June 24, 2020 by Mike Got it directly from SAM Rec! All top, the dynamic rendering and performance of Art et al should not be missed.


Nathan Davis Sextet - Peace Treaty Product No: ASAM 17
Available: InStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Sam Records

Enjoy

5 Stars
Posted Wednesday, June 24, 2020 by Mike Another great SAM release. Do not miss out!


Lonnie Liston Smith & The Cosmic Echoes - Cosmic Funk Product No: ARGM 0895
Available: InStock
Category: Vinyl Record
Label: Real Gone Music

Great Music Not Served Well by the Production

2 Stars
Posted Tuesday, June 23, 2020 by rw I bought this to replace my original copy of this title. The original copy is a bit noisy and has a few (very few) pops.

Well, this was a mistake. The Real Gone version is overly bright and the vocals sound as if a banshee is singing. Just to be sure, I immediately played my original copy and the brightness was gone. It became easy to recognize that a human was singing.

If you want this title, find a good used copy.


Macy Gray - Stripped Product No: ACRC 38913
Available: InStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Chesky

Macy is Magical

5 Stars
Posted Sunday, May 17, 2020 by Christopher D. I bought this album on whim. What a great decision that was. Like bourbon, Macy's vocal styling can be an acquired taste for some. Thankfully I love bourbon. This album takes you on a pleasant Sunday drive. Just a smooth, pleasant, enjoyable ride. There are surprises as well. A Metallica cover? Yes...and it's really good.

My only criticism, when listening in stereo, from the right channel there is a prominent twang from the upright bass. Its right in your face. Also, Macy's vocals get lost behind the band. Something was off.

My solution? I flipped the mono switch on my receiver. Macy immediately and rightfully returns to the forefront. And that bass twang? It fades into the background. I also turned my bass tone 3 clicks to the right. Put the music right in my sweet spot. So go ahead and pull the trigger on this album. It's damn good.


Cassandra Wilson - Glamoured Product No: ABLU 41401
Available: InStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Blue Note (Tone Poet)

Mixed Bag

5 Stars
Posted Monday, May 4, 2020 by Anthony This is a very well recorded record. The vinyl is quiet and has no apparent flaws. In my opinion, I found the covers of other the artist's works to be superior to her original compositions. I think that had they simply put the cover songs on one disc, it would have been a much more enjoyable offering. Others may disagree.


Lee Morgan - The Cooker Product No: ABLU 57701
Available: InStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Blue Note (Tone Poet)

Perfect

5 Stars
Posted Sunday, May 3, 2020 by Anthony Excellent! The Tone Poet issues have been consistently good. This one cooks!


Keith Jarrett - The Koln Concert Product No: AECM 67001
Available: BackOrdered
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: ECM

70’s ECM classic still dazzles, but...

3 Stars
Posted Friday, May 1, 2020 by Gregory Isaacon This pressing is SUPER noisy. Admittedly it’s a difficult album to get just right, because the entire piece(s) revolves around a LOT of open space and many pin- drop delicate moments. But even after cleaning out of the box and a brand new cartridge, there’s tons of surface noise on this sucker—to the degree one normally finds on a well-loved 40-year old record. This is one you may want to just listen to digitally, sadly.


Ahmad Jamal Trio - Ahmad Jamal At The Pershing Product No: AAPJ 128
Available: InStock
Category: 200 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Analogue Productions

Chad and team are on a roll!

5 Stars
Posted Friday, April 24, 2020 by I'm Famous. Danny Kaye. The original, if you can find a mint copy, is great. This reissue is LEAPS BETTER than the original. I know, I have both copies. There's just so much more information retrieved and encoded in the grooves. Playing back on a Lyra mono cart, this record will literally blow you away. A+++ reissue.



Viewing 1 - 20 of 405 Products