Carriers are reporting longer-than-normal shipping times. Acoustic Sounds is not responsible for in-transit delays.

Found 371 product(s) in the

Jazz Music

genre in

Product Reviews

Results Per Page
Viewing 1 - 20 of 371 Products
Boz Scaggs - Boz Scaggs Product No: AATL 19166
Available: InStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Speakers Corner (Atlantic)

Essential Boz

5 Stars
Posted Monday, April 12, 2021 by motoraway The remaster of this LP took it to another level and this release is a prime example of quality engineering. Sound is superb for this often overlooked Boz Skaggs gem. Good stuff!


Chet Baker - It Could Happen To You Product No: ACONC 357
Available: InStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Concord Craft Recordings

Unique and warm and soft. Relaxing

4 Stars
Posted Saturday, April 10, 2021 by Anonymous Relaxing music. Interesting unique voice. I appreciate Craft for offering this selection. The cover is solid + anti static inner sleeve and is a step up from the flimsy Blue Note Classic Series covers that come with a paper inner. My pressing is mostly flat and with minimal defects and quiet. Looks quality. Happy bout this. The sound on my system when compared to others comes across on the warmer side, smooth, and soft, lacking a measure of bite and snap, sparkle. The trumpet sound imaging and projection is pretty good. Chet’s voice is a bit soft on the edges and has a measure of being muffled at times but does form a center position well. I have a number vocal-driven recordings from the ‘50s and early ‘60s original LP and those are remarkably clear, realistic. The sound on this has some air but IMO is a little 2 dimensional. I don’t know if all these are because of the master tape, the mastering or both as I don’t have another copy for comparison. Overall, enjoyable


Ben Webster - Gentle Ben Product No: AAPJ 040-45
Available: InStock
Category: 45 RPM Vinyl Record
Label: Analogue Productions

IT'S A SHOW STEALER, LADIES AND GENTLEBEN

5 Stars
Posted Thursday, April 8, 2021 by S. Madon Gentle Ben serves up some of his most deeply felt blues and ballads, very gently supported by the Tete Montoliu (great pianist) Trio. Recorded in Barcelona in Nov 1972, just 10 months before Ben's death. This is simply a beautiful record. Listen to the two numbers by Gershwin that Ben plays with a heart as big as his breathy style on the reeds. Freaking choked me up in parts, I must say. His playing on the tenor sax was so expressive on Gershwin's "How Long Has This Been Going On" that I swear I could hear him singing the words to that song. And so I repeat that old cliche, "They don't make players like this anymore!" Ben was greatly respected amongst his peers and like many such artists in the mid- 60s moved to Denmark where he developed a huge following and played at the amazing Montmarte club, often with Tete's trio. Tete's amazing piano work is prominently featured here too. Treat yourself to a gentle evening with this Gentle Ben.


Tsuyoshi Yamamoto Trio - Misty Product No: AIMX 30-45
Available: InStock
Category: 45 RPM Vinyl Record
Label: Impex

THIS ONE PLAYS MISTY FOR ME

5 Stars
Posted Thursday, April 8, 2021 by S. Madon Thoroughly enjoyed this top-notch recording. It sounds as fresh, original and innovative today as it did back in the 1970s when it was recorded. The TYT offer up a veritable variety of jazz tunes, plus an original Blues composition, played with great emotional depth and maturity. The recording quality is superlative, pure audiophile level, reflective of the high standards now expected from the original Three Blind Mice (TBM) and this Impex Records label. A+++ Buy it before it's gone! Seriously....do it! You need this record to correctly show off your music system.


Dick Schory's New Percussion Ensemble - Music For Bang, Baaroom, And Harp Product No: AAPP 1866
Available: InStock
Category: 200 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Analogue Productions

Baaroom Indeed!

5 Stars
Posted Saturday, April 3, 2021 by DavidL This pressing from Analog Productions is a home run! The dynamic range and soundstage will blow you away. You will feel like you have a front row seat during its recording in the Chicago Orchestra Hall. Yes, the music is whimsical and kitschy. But if you like percussion focused performances, this is the one to own. Every time you listen to this pressing, your ears will pick up something you hadn't noticed before. Last time my audiophile nerd group got together for an afternoon listening session, I played this record for them. They chuckled at the silliness of the music at first, but then the surprise of the dynamic nature of this recording took over. Everyone agreed that I needed to bring this record to every future group gathering to use as a reference recording on our systems. This is one of the best reissues Analog Productions has released. It deserves far more attention than it has received. I highly recommend grabbing a copy of this amazing recording.


Charles Mingus - Tijuana Moods Product No: ARCA 2533
Available: InStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Speakers Corner (RCA)

Holy Cow

5 Stars
Posted Friday, April 2, 2021 by Brian VanPelt The vinyl is almost perfectly quiet, as clean sounding as you can get. I don't remember anything louder than a light tick at one time.

The sound quality is amazing. It is up close and in your face. If I closed my eyes, I could hear some of the performers almost immediately to my left and to my right - horn players of some sort. They felt almost within arm's reach of me. Further back and around the back of my wall, and along it, were other performers like the drummer. There are some points when everyone is playing at once, an you feel like you are almost inside of the chaos. At one point, the castanets sounded like they came from behind me.

Extraordinary sound, huge dynamics and soundstage, complete with an essentially perfect playing surface - it has all of these things. This was the first time I've heard this album, but it will definitely not be my last.


Ornette Coleman - The Shape Of Jazz To Come Product No: AATL 1317
Available: LimitedStock
Category: Vinyl Record
Label: Atlantic

5 Stars
Posted Tuesday, March 30, 2021 by Anonymous


Max Roach - The Max Roach Trio Featuring The Legendary Hasaan Product No: AATL 1435
Available: InStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Speakers Corner (Atlantic)

Historic

5 Stars
Posted Sunday, March 28, 2021 by Anonymous The legendary Hassan and Max Roach! Great music and sound.


Various Artists - The Sound Of Jazz Product No: APPR 1098
Available: InStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Pure Pleasure Records

Excellent

5 Stars
Posted Saturday, March 27, 2021 by Kevin Burke Now one of my favorites,Billie Holiday sound fantastic,I highly recommend this one.


Grover Washington Jr. - Grover Live Product No: ALTY 55429
Available: InStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Lightyear

Wonderful sounding Grover

5 Stars
Posted Wednesday, March 24, 2021 by EricL This is a great concert in 1995 in NY with Grover in great form. Many favorites played here, all in top notch sound. Great pressings, centered and quiet. If you like Grover, don’t hesitate.n


Alice Coltrane - Journey In Satchidananda Product No: AIMP 228
Available: InStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Impulse

Great music deserves better pressing

3 Stars
Posted Saturday, March 20, 2021 by Keith Purchased a Koetsu cartridge a while back and have been on a album purchasing odyssey since. Had the CD of this and really enjoy it, so decided to order....Sorry to say the CD is a little more dynamic, has better separation, and low end. Both offer good imaging, but its one of the few albums I've been disappointed with the pressing. Too bad ....... the music here deserves better.


The Oscar Peterson Trio - We Get Requests Product No: AVER 7708989
Available: InStock
Category: Vinyl Record
Label: Verve

Fantastic Music and Great Recording

5 Stars
Posted Wednesday, March 17, 2021 by Anonymous If you need something to listen to after a stressful day (or during a stressful day) this LP has it. Quiet, clean, soothing jazz artfully played and recorded. Highly recommended!


The Art Farmer Quartet featuring Jim Hall - Product No: AATL 1421
Available: InStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Speakers Corner (Atlantic)

Fantastic!

5 Stars
Posted Tuesday, March 16, 2021 by Jazzman Fantastic! But it already!


Wynton Kelly Trio and Wes Montgomery - Smokin' At The Half Note Product No: AVER 93614
Available: InStock
Category: Vinyl Record
Label: Verve

Love this Album!

5 Stars
Posted Monday, March 15, 2021 by Evan Saw a recommendation for this and took a chance. Fantastic music-- great for a mellow morning listening session. Great sonics as well.


Donald Byrd - Byrd In Paris Product No: ASAM 10
Available: InStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Sam Records

Outstanding performance and recording

5 Stars
Posted Monday, March 15, 2021 by Evan After seeing the rave reviews on SAM records I took a chance on this. I couldn't be happier. The sonics are fantastic and more importantly the playing and music are delightful. Highly recommended.


Paul Desmond & Gerry Mulligan - Two Of A Mind Product No: ARCA 2624
Available: InStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Speakers Corner (RCA)

Great LP

5 Stars
Posted Monday, March 15, 2021 by Anonymous Great LP from two favorites. Great sonics. Highly recommended.


Sarah Vaughan - After Hours Product No: APPR 52070
Available: BackOrdered
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Pure Pleasure Records (Roulette)

Stunning Performance and Recording--Must Have!

5 Stars
Posted Monday, March 15, 2021 by Anonymous Absolutely incredible performance and recording. Emotionally engaging, spine-tingling, you name it. You want this record in your collection.


The Dave Brubeck Quartet - Time OutTakes Product No: ABRB 901
Available: InStock
Category: Vinyl Record
Label: Brubeck Editions

Pleasantly Surprised

5 Stars
Posted Monday, March 15, 2021 by Gsal A very enjoyable collection of outtakes. Excellent sound quality and great arrangements. I bought this as a collector but discovered that the wow factor here is Tremendous!


Red Garland Trio - Swingin' On The Korner: Live At Keystone Korner Product No: AELM 5990527
Available: InStock
Category: Vinyl Record
Label: Elemental Music

Poor sound recording

3 Stars
Posted Tuesday, March 9, 2021 by Anonymous While excellent music, the sound quality is shockingly poor.


Herbie Hancock - The Prisoner Product No: ABLU 46001
Available: BackOrdered
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Blue Note (Tone Poet)

5 Stars
Posted Sunday, March 7, 2021 by Anonymous Excellent pressing and mastering, and outstanding music. The compositions here are substantial with harmonies lush and reminiscent of Speaks Like a Child. Herbie is in top form as a composer, arranger, and player, and the sound quality as good or better than the other Tone Poet releases-- which is saying something!



Viewing 1 - 20 of 371 Products