Carriers are reporting longer-than-normal shipping times. Acoustic Sounds is not responsible for in-transit delays.

Found 398 product(s) in the

Jazz Music

genre in

Product Reviews

Results Per Page
Viewing 1 - 20 of 398 Products
Sonny Clark - Cool Struttin' Product No: ABLU 3579170
Available: InStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Blue Note/Blue Note Classic Vinyl Series

5 Stars
Posted Monday, July 26, 2021 by Anonymous


The Oscar Peterson Trio - We Get Requests Product No: CVEJ 9045 SA
Available: BackOrdered
Category: SHM Single Layer SACDs
Label: Verve

Solid production

5 Stars
Posted Sunday, July 25, 2021 by mikeinastoria The red strip notes this mastering was based on the original 2010 master tape release.

This item was released by Universal Music, LLC in Japan Nov 26, 2014.

Recorded in New York on October 19th and 20th, 1964, Peterson and crew play standards and bossa nova songs.

The music is layed out with a beautiful touch and neat phrasing - truly a gem.

Personnel: Oscar Peterson (p) Ray Brown (b) Ed Thigpen (ds)


Charles Mingus - Mingus At Carnegie Hall Product No: AROGR 134
Available: InStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Run Out Groove

Holy Wow

5 Stars
Posted Friday, July 23, 2021 by Brian VanPelt All 3 of my records looked perfect except for one slight discoloration. You could tell by looking at them that they'd play cleanly, and they are almost perfectly quiet outside of a light click or two.

The sound stage is huge - from left to right and in between. There's also depth as some of the players are back in the mix. All of the major players are easily heard. The musical detail is nearly perfect and they sound like they are in your room. This is a great live recording.

What of the performance? Since most of the music on these records has not been released before, I thought it useful to comment on the performance. In a word it's phenomenal - easily the best thing I've ever heard from Mingus, and that's saying a lot. Every tune absolutely rocks, and everybody gets a chance to solo. Each tune is an album side, and they just go with such energy that I can't find enough adjectives to describe. This is literally 2 hours of hard driving Bop at its fines


Dexter Gordon - Go! Product No: ABLU 3579907
Available: InStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Blue Note/Blue Note Classic Vinyl Series

Clean and very dynamic

5 Stars
Posted Thursday, July 22, 2021 by Brian VanPelt There was only one instance where I heard a light pop. Other than that, there was no surface noise. The record was cut loudly and it was easy to hear all of the instruments in their own space. If this album is representative of the Classic Reissue Series, then you can expect a lot from this series. Essentially, the quality of this album is a Tone Poet release, but without the fancy jacket, or the nice vinyl sleeves. Instead, you get a simple cardboard outer jacket and a paper inner sleeve with some sort of plastic lining glued to the insides.

Since I don't care about the outer jacket, this is perfect for me. The vinyl was almost perfectly quiet - and you can tell just by looking at it that it would be quiet - the surface looks super smooth. Furthermore, the record is 180 g, but it somehow felt more sturdy than that.

If this record is representative of the series, then I will try to buy every one of these records. Here, you get Tone Poet records, and they are


Freddie Hubbard - The Hub Of Hubbard Product No: AMPS 210991
Available: BackOrdered
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: MPS

Highly Recommend

5 Stars
Posted Friday, July 16, 2021 by Sam AAA and pressed at Optimal. Decent quality gatefold. Highly recommended, especially for the price.


Oliver Nelson - Blues And The Abstract Truth Product No: AIMP 42801
Available: InStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Impulse (Acoustic Sounds Series)

5 Stars
Posted Saturday, July 3, 2021 by Anonymous


Bill Evans Trio - On A Friday Evening Product No: ACONC 301
Available: BackOrdered
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Concord Craft Recordings

Fantastic!

5 Stars
Posted Thursday, July 1, 2021 by Anonymous This is one great live performance! Very good recording as well as a flat quiet pressing. It’s been on my turntable for the last week!!!


Sonny Rollins - On Impulse Product No: AIMP 42701
Available: InStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Impulse (Acoustic Sounds Series)

Beautiful everything

5 Stars
Posted Wednesday, June 30, 2021 by David There are a handful of great reissue companies these days, but I can't think if a more consistently great company as Analogue Productions/Acoustic Sounds. This record sounds absolutely fantastic. The music I've already have loved, but the mastering, pressing and jacket are really well done. I wish this series never ended...


Miles Davis - Milestones Product No: ALEG 48603
Available: BackOrdered
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Sony/Legacy

Love This Mono!

5 Stars
Posted Friday, June 18, 2021 by Rob Incredible quiet vinyl pressed at RTI. Ordered it just in time as I see it is now backordered. Mono sounds so full and centered and I couldn't be happier with this purchase!


Freddie Hubbard - Hub-Tones Product No: ABLU 7764742
Available: InStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Blue Note (Blue Note 80)

Almost Tone Poet quality

5 Stars
Posted Monday, June 14, 2021 by Brian VanPelt If you are familiar with the Blue Note Tone Poet records, then you are aware of the high standard they set for quality pressings. This record is just about as good. It sounds like it is cut about as loudly as a Tone Poet, but it is a little thin- sounding compared to a Tone Poet.

As for surface noise, there's not much. A click here or there is all I heard. The record itself looked visually perfect. The pressing is almost dead quiet, and all of the instruments have great detail and punch. The soundstage spans from left to right, with center fill. The cymbals are perfect and the horns will knock you for a loop.

Overall, excellent. I hope your copy is as good as mine.


Oscar Peterson - We Get Requests Product No: RRAP 0025
Available: InStock
Category: 1/4 Inch - 15 IPS Tape
Label: Analogue Productions

Fantastic Amazing Sublime

5 Stars
Posted Saturday, June 12, 2021 by Anonymous Fantastic presentation sounds sublime everything is gorgeous Excellent job guys I am so happy with this album Congratulations Chad and all Acoustic Sounds Team Cheers Fernando from Chile ????


Gil Evans - New Bottle, Old Wine Product No: ABLU 47301
Available: BackOrdered
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Blue Note (Tone Poet)

Very Dynamic

5 Stars
Posted Wednesday, June 9, 2021 by Brian VanPelt This Gil Evans records are cut very loud. The very first sound is a blasting horn, which will wake you right up. From that point on, the pace move briskly.

The sense of space was wonderful. You really feel like you are sitting amongst a group of musicians, except it's not an intimate venue. This band is big and encompasses, completely, the space from left-to-right between your speakers. The sharpness of the instruments is fantastic. Every instrument is completely sharp and hyper-dynamic. I don't know if I've ever heard a record this dynamic before. When the horns all play at once, they will knock you out of your seat. Each instrument is easy to point out in space, and there are a lot of instruments.

Several instruments get a chance to solo, but I don't remember which, other than the guitar. There are so many instruments that I lost track. This is the second Gil Evans record (after Out of the Cool) that featured tunes that just throw in everything at you,


Hank Mobley - Soul Station Product No: ABLU 746554
Available: BackOrdered
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Blue Note/Blue Note Classic Vinyl Series

great quality at a good price

5 Stars
Posted Tuesday, June 8, 2021 by bobby this classic series is a must have ,, for 25 bucks you get a AAA record cut by kevin gray and pressed in germany,,,,you cant do much better than this,,grab while you can because when these go Out of Print,the cost will rise...


Paul Chambers - Bass On Top Product No: ABLU 25901
Available: BackOrdered
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Blue Note (Tone Poet)

Standard Tone Poet Quality

5 Stars
Posted Tuesday, June 8, 2021 by Brian VanPelt It's nice to sit back and relax to a record for the first time, and genuinely not worry about surface noise. It's a freeing experience, like when I was a kid and put on a record for the first time. As usual for the Tone Poet series, there is little if any surface noise.

The setup has the bass player prominently on the right with the drums. Piano is in the middle, but a little further back. Finally, the electric guitar is on the left. Each instrument is afforded time to shine, and in most tunes that's the bass and the guitar, although one tune had a piano solo, and another tune had a drum solo.

The sound is softened, probably because the tape is old (1957), but much has been done with the tape. I suspect high frequencies needed to be trimmed a little, some of the higher frequencies might be a little muted. This has an older, tube-like sound to it.

By the way, the guitar solos are nothing short of stunning. Grade 4.5


Art Blakey & The Jazz Messengers - The Witch Doctor Product No: ABLU 87501
Available: BackOrdered
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Blue Note (Tone Poet)

Smokin'

5 Stars
Posted Monday, June 7, 2021 by Brian VanPelt This one is cut loud, like most of the other Tone Poet albums. These guys get started and just keep going - there is no dull moment in this one. I heard ideas that I hadn't before, and you can't help but toe-tap to a lot of these tunes.

The surface noise is essentially null and void, but you wouldn't know it because the music is quite loud.

On the right, I heard the sax and Art Blakey on the drums - and he pounds those things into submission. The piano was in the middle, and maybe a trumpet was on the left. The bass lingers somewhere in the back.

This is a seriously dynamic album. All of the instruments sound correct, and they were all played with vigor. To use classical music speak, the whole album is played in allegro; there is no slow down ever. As far as the music is concerned, this is really high on my list of Tone Poet releases. It is toe-tapping and head bobbing, and it's not even like you have a choice.

Freedom of surface noise affords this l


Joe Henderson - State Of The Tenor Part 1 Product No: ABLU 57801
Available: InStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Blue Note (Tone Poet)

A Live Tone Poet

4 Stars
Posted Monday, June 7, 2021 by Brian VanPelt This was recorded live, and the way it is mic'd suggests the 3 musicians were in close proximity when this was recorded. It's almost like a mono record. The musicians seem stacked front-to-back. I guess the sax is up front and the drums are in the back. The bass is back there somewhere. Now, it is a stereo album, but the sonic image is clustered close to the middle, and the sax stays in the middle - it's the obvious attraction (and holy cow can Joe Henderson play). I am used to the musicians being spread out from speaker-to-speaker, so I give 4 stars because I would have enjoyed it more if the 3 musicians were spread across my speakers. Otherwise, the recording is stellar, albeit not as loudly cut as the other Tone Poet releases that I've reviewed so far.

Every instrument is well-defined, and the drums can sometimes be intense - I could feel them like I was there - that guy is a maniac. I don't know how the bass guy can keep up, but his fingers are up to t


Henry Mancini - Peter Gunn Product No: AAPP 1956-45
Available: InStock
Category: 45 RPM Vinyl Record
Label: Analogue Productions

5 Stars
Posted Thursday, June 3, 2021 by Anonymous


Andrew Hill - Passing Ships Product No: ABLU 87401
Available: InStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Blue Note (Tone Poet)

Another Tone Poet near perfection

5 Stars
Posted Thursday, June 3, 2021 by Brian VanPelt When I say near perfection, it is essentially perfect except for maybe 2 light surface noises during the whole album. It's evident that these Tone Poet offerings are about as good as it gets. The records are dead silent - far more quiet than the latest one-step record.

Everything was perfectly clear. Brass was generally on the left, with some appearing in the middle with the keyboard/piano player. The bass player was somewhere centered in the back and the drummer was always on the right. Each instrument was easily discernible with enough air around them so each could define its own sonic space. Image stability was superb. Occasionally, a flute would join in the middle. The dynamic range was strong - the record is cut fairly loudly - but not the loudest I've heard.

If there is a fault with this album, not the record, it's that when the drums are pounded, the original source tape distorted a little. But that was only one tune, wherein it was done twice.


McCoy Tyner - Tender Moments Product No: ABLU 11001
Available: InStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Blue Note (Tone Poet)

Separation of instruments

5 Stars
Posted Thursday, June 3, 2021 by Brian VanPelt By now, I have come to trust that these Tone Poet records are essentially flawless from a sonic perspective. This record did have some strange scuff marks like I see regularly on the Series 80 reissues, but none of those marks had any sonic effect.

This album has a wonderful dynamic range - another hallmark of this Tone Poet series. When the band kicks into full gear, it is potent, but you can still pinpoint and name every instrument if you try. I just laid back and let it hammer me. Everything is so clear, and the vinyl so quiet, you can really just relax and enjoy without the fear of annoying surface noise.

This album occasionally just explodes forth from the speakers. Mr. Tyner apparently didn't mind having sudden bursts of all 9 players going at once. Every instrument sounds completely natural.

I wish somebody like Deutsche Grammaphon would undertake a Tone Poet - like series of classical records - they are literally as quiet as any records I've ever owned.


John Coltrane - Ole Coltrane Product No: AORM 1086-45
Available: InStock
Category: 45 RPM Vinyl Record
Label: ORG Music

4 Stars
Posted Wednesday, June 2, 2021 by Anonymous



Viewing 1 - 20 of 398 Products