Carriers are reporting longer-than-normal shipping times. Acoustic Sounds is not responsible for in-transit delays.

Found 1452 product(s) in the

Vinyl Record

category in

Product Reviews

Results Per Page
Viewing 1 - 20 of 1452 Products
Leon Bridges - Good Thing Product No: ACOL 30351
Available: InStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Columbia

Nice recording and pretty quiet vinyl

4 Stars
Posted Tuesday, April 13, 2021 by Brian VanPelt The pressing is pretty nice, but I did notice some inner groove distortion on the very last song. I though the dynamic range was pretty strong, but the soundstage seemed a little shrunken, in that I didn't feel that the music extended all the way from speaker-to-speaker.

The vinyl was fairly quiet. In fact, I don't remember any loud noises (crackles or pops) anywhere on the record. But there are some light clicks and such throughout the album, not bothersome. Overall, a clean record.

The recording seems pretty good, but there's nothing unusually great about it. The album is well-produced, and any singing seems to come from the middle of the back wall.


Boz Scaggs - Boz Scaggs Product No: AATL 19166
Available: InStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Speakers Corner (Atlantic)

Essential Boz

5 Stars
Posted Monday, April 12, 2021 by motoraway The remaster of this LP took it to another level and this release is a prime example of quality engineering. Sound is superb for this often overlooked Boz Skaggs gem. Good stuff!


Bill Withers - Bill Withers' Greatest Hits Product No: ALEG 67414
Available: InStock
Category: Vinyl Record
Label: Legacy

Very Clean and Smooth

5 Stars
Posted Sunday, April 11, 2021 by Brian VanPelt The music is super smooth, and the vinyl is super clean. There are essentially no surface noises to speak of - aside from the occasional light click here and there. There is nothing especially expensive about this record, but the vinyl sounds as good as any I've heard.

If that's not enough, the music is almost perfectly presented. For example, during the Ain't No Sunshine song, it starts off with Withers' voice centered/high, with only a guitar for a little bit, but then the rest of the band floods the room, and the transition feels like a warm flood. That describes much of the album. The soundstage is wide and 3D - the instruments are in the left/right forground, while Withers' voice is centered further back. Some other instruments fill the space from left-to-right.

This has got to be one of those albums you can use to relax after a hard day. The sound is topnotch, the record mostly clean and quiet, and it's not priced like an audiophile special.


Chet Baker - It Could Happen To You Product No: ACONC 357
Available: InStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Concord Craft Recordings

Unique and warm and soft. Relaxing

4 Stars
Posted Saturday, April 10, 2021 by Anonymous Relaxing music. Interesting unique voice. I appreciate Craft for offering this selection. The cover is solid + anti static inner sleeve and is a step up from the flimsy Blue Note Classic Series covers that come with a paper inner. My pressing is mostly flat and with minimal defects and quiet. Looks quality. Happy bout this. The sound on my system when compared to others comes across on the warmer side, smooth, and soft, lacking a measure of bite and snap, sparkle. The trumpet sound imaging and projection is pretty good. Chet’s voice is a bit soft on the edges and has a measure of being muffled at times but does form a center position well. I have a number vocal-driven recordings from the ‘50s and early ‘60s original LP and those are remarkably clear, realistic. The sound on this has some air but IMO is a little 2 dimensional. I don’t know if all these are because of the master tape, the mastering or both as I don’t have another copy for comparison. Overall, enjoyable


ABBA - Arrival Product No: APLD 2734650
Available: InStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Polydor

Best Album Shipping Package, Ever!

5 Stars
Posted Friday, April 9, 2021 by Jeff I bought this for my daughter's 19th birthday, so I'm can't really comment on the quality of the album itself.

However, the package that they shipped the album in was the best, most protective album-shipping box I've ever seen.

High recommended for anyone that cares about how well protected their album will be during shipping!


Neil Young - Young Shakespeare Product No: AREP 643593
Available: InStock
Category: Vinyl Record
Label: Reprise

Fantastic

5 Stars
Posted Friday, April 9, 2021 by Matthew Just Neil and his guitar. Loved every minute of it. It feels like you are there with him in the crowd.


Ben Webster - Gentle Ben Product No: AAPJ 040-45
Available: InStock
Category: 45 RPM Vinyl Record
Label: Analogue Productions

IT'S A SHOW STEALER, LADIES AND GENTLEBEN

5 Stars
Posted Thursday, April 8, 2021 by S. Madon Gentle Ben serves up some of his most deeply felt blues and ballads, very gently supported by the Tete Montoliu (great pianist) Trio. Recorded in Barcelona in Nov 1972, just 10 months before Ben's death. This is simply a beautiful record. Listen to the two numbers by Gershwin that Ben plays with a heart as big as his breathy style on the reeds. Freaking choked me up in parts, I must say. His playing on the tenor sax was so expressive on Gershwin's "How Long Has This Been Going On" that I swear I could hear him singing the words to that song. And so I repeat that old cliche, "They don't make players like this anymore!" Ben was greatly respected amongst his peers and like many such artists in the mid- 60s moved to Denmark where he developed a huge following and played at the amazing Montmarte club, often with Tete's trio. Tete's amazing piano work is prominently featured here too. Treat yourself to a gentle evening with this Gentle Ben.


Tsuyoshi Yamamoto Trio - Misty Product No: AIMX 30-45
Available: InStock
Category: 45 RPM Vinyl Record
Label: Impex

THIS ONE PLAYS MISTY FOR ME

5 Stars
Posted Thursday, April 8, 2021 by S. Madon Thoroughly enjoyed this top-notch recording. It sounds as fresh, original and innovative today as it did back in the 1970s when it was recorded. The TYT offer up a veritable variety of jazz tunes, plus an original Blues composition, played with great emotional depth and maturity. The recording quality is superlative, pure audiophile level, reflective of the high standards now expected from the original Three Blind Mice (TBM) and this Impex Records label. A+++ Buy it before it's gone! Seriously....do it! You need this record to correctly show off your music system.


Dick Schory's New Percussion Ensemble - Music For Bang, Baaroom, And Harp Product No: AAPP 1866
Available: InStock
Category: 200 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Analogue Productions

Baaroom Indeed!

5 Stars
Posted Saturday, April 3, 2021 by DavidL This pressing from Analog Productions is a home run! The dynamic range and soundstage will blow you away. You will feel like you have a front row seat during its recording in the Chicago Orchestra Hall. Yes, the music is whimsical and kitschy. But if you like percussion focused performances, this is the one to own. Every time you listen to this pressing, your ears will pick up something you hadn't noticed before. Last time my audiophile nerd group got together for an afternoon listening session, I played this record for them. They chuckled at the silliness of the music at first, but then the surprise of the dynamic nature of this recording took over. Everyone agreed that I needed to bring this record to every future group gathering to use as a reference recording on our systems. This is one of the best reissues Analog Productions has released. It deserves far more attention than it has received. I highly recommend grabbing a copy of this amazing recording.


Jack Johnson - Brushfire Fairytales Product No: AEVR 120
Available: InStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Everloving

Back To The Beginning

5 Stars
Posted Saturday, April 3, 2021 by DavidL My daughter turned me on to Jack Johnson's laid back acoustical sound and I have enjoyed some of his more recent releases over the years. So when I saw a 20th Anniversary Reissue of his first album, Brushfire Fairytales, would be available on vinyl, I decided to check it out. Everloving Records did everything right. Start with some great music, have Bernie Grundman remaster the tracks, press the album at RTI, and WOW! Quality gatefold packaging and dead quiet pressing. This is mostly a trio of acoustic guitar, bass, and drums. Vocals and instruments share the sound stage with beautiful balance and clarity. Of his many albums, this first release has got to be one of the best as far as instrument sound and arrangements. This album will receive heavy rotation amongst my collection!


Charles Mingus - Tijuana Moods Product No: ARCA 2533
Available: InStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Speakers Corner (RCA)

Holy Cow

5 Stars
Posted Friday, April 2, 2021 by Brian VanPelt The vinyl is almost perfectly quiet, as clean sounding as you can get. I don't remember anything louder than a light tick at one time.

The sound quality is amazing. It is up close and in your face. If I closed my eyes, I could hear some of the performers almost immediately to my left and to my right - horn players of some sort. They felt almost within arm's reach of me. Further back and around the back of my wall, and along it, were other performers like the drummer. There are some points when everyone is playing at once, an you feel like you are almost inside of the chaos. At one point, the castanets sounded like they came from behind me.

Extraordinary sound, huge dynamics and soundstage, complete with an essentially perfect playing surface - it has all of these things. This was the first time I've heard this album, but it will definitely not be my last.


Tony Joe White - Black And White Product No: AAPP 129
Available: InStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Analogue Productions

Oh Yes!

5 Stars
Posted Thursday, April 1, 2021 by Mills Swampy greatness from the master! So we all know the music is spectacular, but how is the pressing? Pretty spectacular! I don't have an original or anything like that to compare it to. But it pretty much delivered in all of the ways we want music to be delivered to us via whatever medium we are listening to. Vocals are superb! Bass is a tad tubby (still, very presentable), but I'll bet a ton that's in the original. I'm a little bit of a stickler for bass though so I might be overly sensitive to that. Five stars easy, very highly recommended.


Lauren Daigle - Look Up Child Product No: ACEN 13720
Available: LimitedStock
Category: 45 RPM Vinyl Record
Label: Centricity/12Tone Music

Great Sound - NOT Numbered

5 Stars
Posted Thursday, April 1, 2021 by Chris This is a great sounding record. Absolutely no complaints with that. The problem is I wanted to buy a numbered copy and there’s no number on my jacket to be found. I’ve looked online different forms and I have yet to see an answer or find an answer.


Ornette Coleman - The Shape Of Jazz To Come Product No: AATL 1317
Available: LimitedStock
Category: Vinyl Record
Label: Atlantic

5 Stars
Posted Tuesday, March 30, 2021 by Anonymous


Max Roach - The Max Roach Trio Featuring The Legendary Hasaan Product No: AATL 1435
Available: InStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Speakers Corner (Atlantic)

Historic

5 Stars
Posted Sunday, March 28, 2021 by Anonymous The legendary Hassan and Max Roach! Great music and sound.


Various Artists - The Sound Of Jazz Product No: APPR 1098
Available: InStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Pure Pleasure Records

Excellent

5 Stars
Posted Saturday, March 27, 2021 by Kevin Burke Now one of my favorites,Billie Holiday sound fantastic,I highly recommend this one.


R.E.M. - Reckoning Product No: AA&M 1302901
Available: InStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: A&M

Great sound, weak pressing

2 Stars
Posted Friday, March 26, 2021 by etkirsch Of all the albums I’ve sampled so far, this is easily the most confounding. Sonically, the repressing is excellent – great imaging, a full sound stage, very clear vocals and instrumentation, BUT . . . every once in awhile there is a nasty pop and (holy moly!) there’s actually a full bore groove jump in Harborcoat. You’re sailing along and then, out of nowhere, WHAM! you’re on to the next groove.

Honestly, I can’t figure it out -- the vinyl sounds great most of the time, but the pressing is definitely a problem. If you hold the vinyl up to a bright light, you can see numerous inconsistencies in the luster and even a few nicks. Maybe I just ended up with a bum pressing.

All in all, just a frustrating record to review. Sonically great, but the vinyl quality is poor and then there are those random awful pops and of course, the Harborcoat groove jump.


The Moody Blues - A Question Of Balance Product No: APLD 6722637
Available: InStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Polydor

Excellent pressing

5 Stars
Posted Friday, March 26, 2021 by etkirsch I recently purchased four reissues of albums by the Moody Blues. Two were pressed by Friday Music (In Search of the Lost Chord and Seventh Sojourn) and two were pressed by UMC/Polydor (To Our Children’s Children’s Children and A Question of Balance). This is my review of the two UMC/Polydor pressings.

Unlike the Friday Music pressings, the two UMC pressings appear to be straight reissues of the original mixes on 180g vinyl so this review is solely of the quality of the repressings.

The Question of Balance repressing is excellent. The vinyl is nearly pristine and the sound itself excellent. The sound stage, imaging and clarity is first rate. Plus, the packaging is a faithful reproduction of the original gatefold cover. Overall, really well done.


The Moody Blues - To Our Children's Children's Children Product No: APLD 6722636
Available: InStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Polydor

Very solid pressing

4 Stars
Posted Friday, March 26, 2021 by etkirsch I recently purchased four reissues of albums by the Moody Blues. Two were pressed by Friday Music (In Search of the Lost Chord and Seventh Sojourn) and two were pressed by UMC/Polydor (To Our Children’s Children’s Children and A Question of Balance). This is my review of the two UMC/Polydor pressings.

Unlike the Friday Music pressings, the two UMC pressings appear to be straight reissues of the original mixes on 180g vinyl so this review is solely of the quality of the repressings.

The TOCCC pressing is solid quality -- not great, but pretty good. The sonic quality is equal to that of Balance, but the pressing itself is marred by the occasional clicks and pops. Nothing dramatic – and decidedly better than the Friday Music pressings – but not the equal of the Balance pressing. Overall, solid.


Creedence Clearwater Revival - Cosmo's Factory Product No: ACONC 128
Available: BackOrdered
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Concord Craft Recordings

Clean and polite

4 Stars
Posted Wednesday, March 24, 2021 by Brian The vinyl is dead quiet and there are no pops to be heard anywhere on the record. The songs are well-engineered, but the ultimate resolution is missing. It seems that the remastering chief has filtered out the highest end so that there is no tape hiss - at all. But this provides a very clean sound.

Overall, the album seems slightly muted, and not as dynamic as it could be. I must admit, though, that I like listening to this record - over and over again. It's probably the cleanest Creedence you will ever hear.

I believe that the trade-off between the clarity of the highest frequencies, and perfectly clean songs has produced an album that I enjoy listening to, but which is overly polite. However, I am not sure that the mastering person had much of a choice as I do not know the quality of the tape used. So, this record is good rather than great.



Viewing 1 - 20 of 1452 Products