Found 267 product(s) in the

Classical Music

genre in

Product Reviews

Results Per Page
Viewing 1 - 20 of 267 Products
Ruth Palmer - Bach: Sonata & Partita Product No: ABMS 1816
Available: InStock
Category: D2D Vinyl Record
Label: Berliner Meister Schallplatten

Fantastic recording.

5 Stars
Posted Friday, November 20, 2020 by Mike R. Thank you so much. Continue the cycle please.


Dietrich Fischer-Dieskau - Schubert: Winterreise D911 Product No: CDGJ 9039 SA
Available: InStock
Category: SHM Single Layer SACDs
Label: Deutsche Grammophon

The greatest performance and the most outstanding recording/remastering SACD sound.

5 Stars
Posted Monday, October 12, 2020 by John Fang When I was a child, I heard the simplified version of the Der Lindenbaum. I was so attracted to it’s beautiful melody and it’s sweet-sour feeling that says “Come here to me,friend, here you will find your rest”. Later on I realized it is a lied from Schubert’s Winterreise. I was so astonished how artistic it is, with the contrasting middle section and the beautiful peaceful ending. Since then I started to collect many LP/Cassettes/CD in order to have a “perfect” one. I have 5 of his CD, from 1955 to 1985, including the CD version of this 1972 recording. The early one (1955) is very outstanding..However the recording is old, and the piano part is not well recorded. This 1972 SACD is totally different. The sound is so grandiose in both piano and vocal, as in cathedral, for hymn-like last two songs (21 & 23). It gives the Winterreise a deeper meaning, the life and destiny.


Nathan Milstein - Masterpieces For Violin And Orchestra/ Susskind Product No: AAPC 8528
Available: InStock
Category: 200 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Analogue Productions

Stunning!

5 Stars
Posted Thursday, September 17, 2020 by Mark This is one of the lesser-known jewels in the AP crown of fine classical reissues. Milstein is standing right in front of you. There were many superb Capitol classical issues, both musically and sonically, but I have never found a decent original pressing. So it's wonderful to have this exemplary reissue. More please......!!!!


Stokowski And Wagner, Symphony Of The Air Chorus - The Sound Of Stokowski And Wagner Product No: AAPC 2555
Available: InStock
Category: 200 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Analogue Productions (RCA Living Stereo)

Stokowski Magic!

5 Stars
Posted Thursday, September 17, 2020 by Mark One of the lesser-known Living Stereos, but in this stellar reissue the Stokowski magic comes to life. This is a stunning recording, beautifully enhanced in this immaculate reissue. When the chorus steals in during the Tannhauser Venusberg music it is breathtaking. Buy it!


Jean Martinon - Borodin: Symphony No. 2/Rimsky-Korsakov: Capriccio Espagnole Product No: AAPC 2298
Available: InStock
Category: 200 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Analogue Productions (RCA/DECCA Living Stereo)

Excellent Borodin and Korsakoff.

5 Stars
Posted Tuesday, July 28, 2020 by Anthony Interpretations are excellent with Jean Martinon leading LSO. I especially loved Rimsky Korsakoff's Capriccio Espagnole. The recording is excellent and very quiet. Definitely worth purchasing.


Yo-Yo Ma, Stuart Duncan, Edgar Meyer, and Chris Thile - Not Our First Goat Rodeo Product No: AMWS 38551
Available: InStock
Category: Vinyl Record
Label: Masterworks

5 Stars
Posted Wednesday, July 1, 2020 by Anonymous First thing this is not a classical recording, its experimental, avant garde folk music. Not particularly my cup of tea. Its a mediocre pressing that seems to have been done in someone's garage. The jacket is a particularly cheap excuse. Its unfortunate since the musicians are of extraordinary caliber. If you want a wonderful classical music recording which also happens to be an excellent LP by Yo-Yo and Chris buy the Bach Trios album. If you are interested in this musical genre buy the digital version, the LP quite frankly sucks.


Michael Tilson Thomas - Bernstein: West Side Story Product No: CSFS 59 SA
Available: LimitedStock
Category: Hybrid Stereo SACD
Label: San Francisco Symphony

No brainer

5 Stars
Posted Friday, June 12, 2020 by Peter.S. If you like the music from west side story than this multi channel sacd is for you.Its true to the original recording it sounds just like the old one but with much better sonic,s than the original recording this sacd is a no brainer buy it buy it buy it that,s all i could say


Oivin Fjeldstad - Sibelius: Violin Concerto/ Tchaikovsky: Sérénade Mélancolique Product No: ADEC 2077
Available: InStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Speakers Corner (Decca)

Avoid

3 Stars
Posted Sunday, May 24, 2020 by PWH This is one of the rare Speakers Corners' reissues to avoid. Cut at a low level. Just very odd. Get the Heifetz reissue or if you want this recording pick up an old Treasury London/Decca made in England pressing.


David Abel/ Julie Steinberg - Debussy/Brahms/Bartok: Sonatas For Violin And Piano Product No: AAPC 8722
Available: InStock
Category: 200 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Analogue Productions (Wilson Audiophile)

Great performance

5 Stars
Posted Thursday, May 14, 2020 by Mike I give this 5 stars for performance, timbre and enormous dynamics. I wish it had a little less background noise (even if it is an analogue recording) or is this surface noise, hence only 4 stars on hardware. My copy has a lot of statics also. But performance actually makes you ignore these side effects.


Zubin Mehta & the Los Angeles Philharmonic - Holst: The Planets Product No: CAPC 6529 SA
Available: InStock
Category: Hybrid Stereo SACD
Label: Analogue Productions (Decca)

Incredible!

5 Stars
Posted Wednesday, May 13, 2020 by Anonymous This is a fantastic listening experience. If you are a fan of Holst: The Planets and have an SACD player, buy this now! The extreme audio dynamics of this piece (ex: brass stinging notes loudly) exploits DSD/SACD capability of fully resolving the audio better than most classical music. This is a great disc to demonstrate the comparison of vinyl, reel to reel, and CD vs DSD/SACD. Vinyl, reel to reel, and CD are dead! Long live the new king, DSD/SACD!


Pfeiffer, Chase & Heifetz - Rozsa: Violin Concerto/ Benjamin: Romantic Fantasy/ Heifetz, violin Product No: AAPC 2767
Available: InStock
Category: 200 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Analogue Productions (RCA Living Stereo)

Wow

5 Stars
Posted Saturday, April 25, 2020 by Anonymous This is a heroic performance from Heifetz, it may be somewhat overlooked because of the repertoire but the sound and performance are every bit as impressive as his Sibelius or Brahms concerto.


Ferenc Fricsay - Dvorak: Sym. No. 9/Smetana: Moldau/Lizst: Les Preludes Product No: CUNI 91082
Available: LimitedStock
Category: Blu-ray Audio
Label: Universal Records

No 5.1 mix

4 Stars
Posted Wednesday, April 22, 2020 by Anonymous Although this is a great sounding album with a great performance of 2 of my favorite classical pieces, there is no 5.1 mix on the album, which is why I bought. I


Gary Graffman - The Virtuoso Liszt Product No: AAPC 2443
Available: InStock
Category: 200 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Analogue Productions (RCA Living Stereo)

Great piano disc

5 Stars
Posted Wednesday, April 8, 2020 by EricL Graffman’s treatment of Liszt’s pieces are extremely well played. The sound here is some of the best piano sound that RCA produced. I wish the Rubinstein discs were this good. The piano truly seems like it’s in the room. Highly recommended.


Rubinstein and Szeryng - Beethoven: Sonatas No. 8, Op. 30, No. 3 / Brahms: No. 1, Op. 78 Product No: AAPC 2620
Available: InStock
Category: 200 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Analogue Productions (RCA Living Stereo)

A very fine record.

5 Stars
Posted Thursday, March 26, 2020 by Anonymous Beautifully played Beethoven and Brahms chamber works. This is a very immediate (and intimate) sounding recording.

The LP has a very quiet surface (par for the course for Quality Record Pressings and Analogue Productions).


Viktoria Mullova - Mendelssohn: Violin Concertos/ Sir Neville Mariner Product No: APHI 43136
Available: InStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Analogphonic (Philips)

Wonderful Mullova recording

5 Stars
Posted Wednesday, February 26, 2020 by EricL This is the first release on vinyl of this recording of Mendelssohn's two violin concerts. Mullova recorded these with Sir Neville Marriner in 1990 in London. Though the recording is digital, it has plenty of warmth. If fact, it's one of the best sounding recordings of these works that I possess. Mullova's violin sound, very prominent , but not overbearing, is wonderfully wrought. So too is the sound of the orchestra. Though the highlight here is obviously the E minor concerto which Mullova skillfully executes, so too, is the D Minor Concerto enjoyable, one written by the composer at age 13! And the sound here is even more involving with Mullova slightly left of center and the lower strings on the right playing their hearts out.

The German pressing is flat, centered and perfectly quiet. When I listened to this recording late last night, I marveled that there were times like this that vinyl can sound so entrancing, so lovely and so believable


Janos Starker - Bach: Suites For Unaccompanied Cello Complete Product No: AAPC 3-9016-45
Available: InStock
Category: Vinyl Box Sets
Label: Analogue Productions

Joy Joy Joy

5 Stars
Posted Tuesday, February 18, 2020 by Anonymous Expensive yes; but worth every penny. The performance is incredible and the recording just as impeccable. Vinyl at its best! Music from a maestro. The moment the needle hits the record such wonderful music began playing. I have other cello high quality recordings but this one is superior by far.


Zubin Mehta - Mahler: Symphony No. 2/ Resurrection Product No: ADEC 83024
Available: InStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Decca (Pro-Ject Audio)

Great

5 Stars
Posted Monday, January 27, 2020 by Anonymous Buy it before its gone.


Heifetz & Bay - Beethoven: Sonatas Nos. 8 and 10 Product No: AIMX 6013
Available: BackOrdered
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Impex

5 Stars
Posted Friday, December 13, 2019 by Anonymous


Respighi/Renier - Pines Of Rome/Fountains Of Rome Product No: AAPC 2436-45
Available: InStock
Category: 45 RPM Vinyl Record
Label: Analogue Productions (RCA Living Stereo)

Best version

5 Stars
Posted Friday, December 13, 2019 by Mike The 45 rpm version pulls that extra out of the material to make it so much better than the 33 version.


Societa Corelli - Vivaldi: The Four Seasons Product No: AAPC 2424
Available: BackOrdered
Category: 200 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Analogue Productions (RCA Living Stereo)

5 Stars
Posted Sunday, December 8, 2019 by Anonymous



Viewing 1 - 20 of 267 Products