Found 165 product(s) in the

Classical Music

genre in

Product Reviews

Results Per Page
Viewing 1 - 20 of 165 Products
Michael Stern - Saint-Saens: Symphony No. 3 'Organ' Product No: AREF 1514
Available: BackOrdered
Category: 45 RPM Vinyl Record
Label: Reference Recordings

5 Stars
Posted Saturday, September 30, 2023 by Anonymous Very good fidelity, quiet surface, and and moving performance. My SVS sub shakes the room with the pedal notes; didn't know vinyl had such low, powerful frequencies! Highly recommended if you like this music. One needs a good low frequency system to appreciate the power of this performance. Otherwise, just a good, clean, orchestration and balanced organ. Again, recommended!


Hyperion Knight - Beethoven/Stravinsky: Hyperion Knight/ Sonata In C Major, Op. 53 Product No: AAPC 8313
Available: InStock
Category: 200 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Analogue Productions (Wilson Audiophile)

Great performance but...

4 Stars
Posted Friday, September 8, 2023 by Mike Love this, and can understand the TAS grading but at least on my record there is a distorted/compressed sound in passages when the keys are a bit more forcefully hit.


Julian Bream - Guitar Concertos Product No: AAPC 2487
Available: InStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Analogue Productions (RCA Living Stereo)

5 Stars
Posted Thursday, August 10, 2023 by Anonymous


Berliner Philharmoniker - Beethoven: Klavierkonzerte 1-5/Uchida/Rattle Product No: ABPH 180242
Available: InStock
Category: Vinyl Box Sets
Label: Berlin Phil Media

5 Stars
Posted Tuesday, June 20, 2023 by E Great sounding set, a touch of surface noise but overall very nice and solid performances.


Leopold Stokowski - Rimsky-Korsakov: Scheherazade/Tchikovsky: Marche Slave Product No: CTOP 9019 SA
Available: InStock
Category: Hybrid Stereo SACD
Label: Top Music International

Amazing! Red Blooded "Scheherazade" Do not miss!

5 Stars
Posted Tuesday, February 21, 2023 by RJ Gonzalez At long last, this phenomenal Stokowski recording gets High Resolution SACD! The London Symphony Orchestra play like they are possessed by the magical conductor! I have bought this recording on the original Phase-4 pressing, then CD, and now, this lovely remastering!

Passion flows over, on this disc!

Do not miss!


Walter Hendl - Sibelius: Violin Concerto in D Minor/ Jascha Heifetz, violin Product No: RRAP 0017
Available: InStock
Category: 1/4 Inch - 15 IPS Tape
Label: Analogue Productions

Great performance and recording

5 Stars
Posted Thursday, February 9, 2023 by Anonymous RCA at it best to capture soloist and orchestra. The 2 tapes edition of 25 min concerto is a questionable solution. 2 more than half empty tapes that needs spool and rewind after 12 min first movement ?


Henryk Szeryng - The Unreleased Berlin Studio Recordings Product No: ATLRE 2203040
Available: InStock
Category: 45 RPM Vinyl Record
Label: The Lost Recordings

Lovely

5 Stars
Posted Sunday, January 29, 2023 by Ian C This is really nice album. First, the pressing is absolutely silent. I mean silent. I don't know who they used to press it, but I want to buy all my LPs there!

The music is of course, mostly Bach, and played in a slow, deliberate manner but beautiful.

The same label also put out a solo Bach cello LP which I'm also about to review (spoiler: 5 stars!)


Sir George Solti - Die Walkure Product No: ADEC 98601
Available: BackOrdered
Category: Vinyl Box Sets
Label: Decca

Fantastic

5 Stars
Posted Friday, January 13, 2023 by Jim W I will confine my comments to the sound. I have both vintage 60 year + discs as well as new pressings and new reissues. This recording is noticeably superior in all aspects than any other in my collection (except other releases in this ring series). The vocals are even clearer than when I last listened to a live performance of this opera at the NY Met. BUT, at least the first side of disc one was full of cereal noise until I put it through my vacuum cleaner after which there was but one soft click. I am very glad I jumped on the preorder early.


Hilary Hahn - Eclipse Product No: ADGR 9601
Available: InStock
Category: Vinyl Record
Label: Deutsche Grammophon

Speaking to the Ginastera

5 Stars
Posted Monday, October 17, 2022 by Mike I had only hoped she would release the Ginastera

someday. I was so happy when this album was

announced. Now that it is on my turntable I can say that

it is superlative, transcendent. Technically perfect while

still being infused with energy. It sounds fantastic on my

system. I could not be happier.

The Sarasate is playful and brilliant. It is a showcase for

Hahn’s mastery. The sound is equally wonderful to the

Ginastera. The Dvorak doesnt speak to me so much.

The Ginastera just keeps blowing my mind.


Fritz Reiner - Rimsky-Korsakoff: Scheherazade Product No: AAPC 2446-45
Available: InStock
Category: 45 RPM Vinyl Record
Label: Analogue Productions (RCA Living Stereo)

Yeah...I own the 33rpm too, and have no regrets buying this

5 Stars
Posted Sunday, October 2, 2022 by David Scherzer How many copies of a single recording is too many? Like so many others, I've been enchanted by this work and this performance for a long time. Long enough to have purchased my fair share of formats of this exact recording. Over the years, to date, I've purchased the following versions of this recording: 1) JVC XRCD2, 2) Analogue Productions SACD, 3) Chesky 33rpm, 4) Analogue Productions 33rpm, 5) the Analogue Productions 45rpm reviewed here.

I'll save you some reading and just summarize here: This is the clearest, most dynamic, and most "present" version of this recording I've yet heard. Granted, I haven't heard the 1/4" reel to reel nor an original shaded dog. But I REALLY struggle to imagine a better sounding version than this will ever be pressed on vinyl again.

So do I have any regrets buying this as my 5th version of the same recording? Not in the least!


John Eliot Gardiner - Bach: St. Matthew Passion Product No: ADGR 4838452
Available: InStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Deutsche Grammophon

poorly engineered

3 Stars
Posted Friday, August 12, 2022 by Anonymous The album could've been a wonderful reproduction of a great performance, and the voices are very clear; however, the engineers botched this one by placing the grooves too close together, consequently there is a post-echo in every track of a recitative (in the left channel, with the post echo in the right channel), which is very audible and very disturbing. The post-echo also shows up every time the first chorus (in the left channel) sings.


Leibowitz, Royal Philharmonic Orchestra - Moussorgsky: The Power Of The Orchestra Product No: AAPC 2659
Available: InStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Analogue Productions (RCA Living Stereo)

Worth the wait for the repress!!

5 Stars
Posted Saturday, July 9, 2022 by A. Wint A truly worthwhile audiophile classic and great performances of these Classical favorites. Analogue Productions is at the top of their game...the pressing is almost mastertape quiet and flat! The quality of presentation is on par with Impex and Intervention. Keep 'em coming. Pick this up before it goes out of stock again!


Jean Morel - Albeniz: Iberia (complete)/ Ravel: Rapsodie Espagnole Product No: CAPC 6094 SA
Available: LimitedStock
Category: Hybrid Stereo SACD
Label: Analogue Productions (RCA/DECCA Living Stereo)

All Wrongs Righted! GRAB this while you can!

5 Stars
Posted Thursday, June 16, 2022 by Dace Gisclard I gave the Australian Eloquence CD's of the Albeniz and Ravel a rave review on AMAZON, only to be dismayed when another reviewer pointed out that the stereo channels of the tracks played by the Paris Conservatoire were REVERSED! Thankfully, that problem has been corrected here, and the remastered sound is terrific. The only remaining fly in the ointment is that these Analogue Productions SACD's retain the incorrect ordering of the movements as it was on the RCA LP's--a relatively minor issue--that's what the programming feature is for!

The flawed Eloquence CD's have been discontinued, and are now (6/16/22) selling for astronomical prices. An inquiry to Eloquence yielded the information that their set is OOP, and they have no intention of issuing corrected copies. At present, this AP set is a collector's best bet for this much-sought-after legendary recording, and is likely to remain so. GRAB it while the price is still reasonable.


Kyung Chung Wha - Vivaldi: The Four Seasons Product No: AWCL 673380
Available: InStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Warner Classics

Great Sound

5 Stars
Posted Friday, April 15, 2022 by Steve Johnson This Vinyl has some noise, ticks and pops, but the Music is beautiful anyway. I am glad i bought this !!


Fritz Reiner - Moussorgsky/Ravel: Pictures At An Exhibition Product No: CAPCG 2201
Available: LimitedStock
Category: Gold CD
Label: Analogue Productions (RCA Living Stereo)

Buy It

4 Stars
Posted Saturday, February 19, 2022 by John F. in MD Very nice job by Analogue Productions. This GOLD CD is big, bold, dynamic, and melodic. Solid performance and sonics. 4 stars as some of my 5 star reference CD's are: Janis Ian's Breaking Silence (Analogue Productions GOLD); Shawn Colvin's Steady On debut and Tracy Chapman's debut aluminum CD's.


Kubelik, Chicago Symphony Orchestra - Mussorgsky: Pictures At An Exhibition Product No: AMER 52190
Available: InStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Mercury Living Presence

Wow

5 Stars
Posted Monday, January 31, 2022 by Anonymous Wow great work here. Quiet/dynamic. Remarkable work from the analog tape. Takes me back in time. Amazing this was recorded with one mono u47.


Monteux, Boston Symphony Orchestra - Stravinsky: Petrouchka Product No: AAPC 2376
Available: InStock
Category: 200 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Analogue Productions (RCA Living Stereo)

Top notch

5 Stars
Posted Monday, January 31, 2022 by Anonymous Was nervous buying all these re-releases of Mercury living presence titles for the price… but… sounds amazing!!! What a great release. Guess it shows when people put the work in the results pay off to a timeless collectors version.


Daniel Shafran and Lydia Pecherskaya - Shostakovich: Cello Sonata/ Schubert: 'Arpeggione Sonata' Product No: AAPC 2553
Available: InStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Analogue Productions (RCA Living Stereo)

Fantastic

5 Stars
Posted Wednesday, January 5, 2022 by E Really nice pressing and performance


Janos Starker - Dvorak: Violincello Concerto/Bruch: Kol Nidrei Product No: AAPC 90303-45
Available: InStock
Category: 45 RPM Vinyl Record
Label: Analogue Productions

5 Stars
Posted Thursday, December 30, 2021 by Anonymous


Itzhak Perlman - Bach: Sonatas & Partitas For Solo Violin Product No: AWCL 514809
Available: InStock
Category: Vinyl Record
Label: Warner Classics

Fairly Quiet Pressing

4 Stars
Posted Thursday, October 7, 2021 by Brian VanPelt The pressing is at issue here. I ordered 2 of this album, and all 6 disks had visible surface issues. 2 of the disks have medium scratches, but all 6 disks have faint scratches throughout the entire sides of all 6 disks. My guess is these are the marks that happen when a record is produced conveyor-belt style, but I do not know the record business. These micro scratches are almost never audible, but there are more light clicks than should happen on a record that absolutely needs to be dead quiet. After all, this this music has only 1 violin as the only sound.

Another issue is something that might not bother those with headphones. On my stereo, I cannot locate, in space, where the sound of the violin is coming from - it is nebulous.

Overall, I'd say that the music is great, the recording is great - Perlman must have been in a cavernous room when he recorded this. The vinyl looks nasty up close, but is generally quiet.



Viewing 1 - 20 of 165 Products