Carriers are reporting longer-than-normal shipping times. Acoustic Sounds is not responsible for in-transit delays.

Found 179 product(s) in the

Classical Music

genre in

Product Reviews

Results Per Page
Viewing 1 - 20 of 179 Products
Kyung Chung Wha - Vivaldi: The Four Seasons Product No: AWCL 673380
Available: InStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Warner Classics

Great Sound

5 Stars
Posted Friday, April 15, 2022 by Steve Johnson This Vinyl has some noise, ticks and pops, but the Music is beautiful anyway. I am glad i bought this !!


Fritz Reiner - Moussorgsky/Ravel: Pictures At An Exhibition Product No: CAPCG 2201
Available: LimitedStock
Category: Gold CD
Label: Analogue Productions (RCA Living Stereo)

Buy It

4 Stars
Posted Saturday, February 19, 2022 by John F. in MD Very nice job by Analogue Productions. This GOLD CD is big, bold, dynamic, and melodic. Solid performance and sonics. 4 stars as some of my 5 star reference CD's are: Janis Ian's Breaking Silence (Analogue Productions GOLD); Shawn Colvin's Steady On debut and Tracy Chapman's debut aluminum CD's.


Monteux, Boston Symphony Orchestra - Stravinsky: Petrouchka Product No: AAPC 2376
Available: InStock
Category: 200 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Analogue Productions (RCA Living Stereo)

Top notch

5 Stars
Posted Monday, January 31, 2022 by Anonymous Was nervous buying all these re-releases of Mercury living presence titles for the price… but… sounds amazing!!! What a great release. Guess it shows when people put the work in the results pay off to a timeless collectors version.


Kubelik, Chicago Symphony Orchestra - Mussorgsky: Pictures At An Exhibition Product No: AMER 52190
Available: InStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Mercury Living Presence

Wow

5 Stars
Posted Monday, January 31, 2022 by Anonymous Wow great work here. Quiet/dynamic. Remarkable work from the analog tape. Takes me back in time. Amazing this was recorded with one mono u47.


Daniel Shafran and Lydia Pecherskaya - Shostakovich: Cello Sonata/ Schubert: ''Arpeggione Sonata'' Product No: AAPC 2553
Available: InStock
Category: 200 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Analogue Productions (RCA Living Stereo)

Fantastic

5 Stars
Posted Wednesday, January 5, 2022 by E Really nice pressing and performance


Janos Starker - Dvorak: Violincello Concerto/Bruch: Kol Nidrei Product No: AAPC 90303-45
Available: InStock
Category: 45 RPM Vinyl Record
Label: Analogue Productions

5 Stars
Posted Thursday, December 30, 2021 by Anonymous


Scott Hamilton & Andrea Pozza - Who Cares? Product No: CFON 140 SA
Available: InStock
Category: Hybrid Stereo SACD
Label: Fone

Very good recording of acoustic jazz duo

4 Stars
Posted Wednesday, October 27, 2021 by Jimmy James Both are excellent musicians. Minimalist recording because that is all that is required here. Their readings of Airegin, On a Misty Night and Old Devil Moon are the standout tracks. Very enjoyable and highly recommended.


Itzhak Perlman - Bach: Sonatas & Partitas For Solo Violin Product No: AWCL 514809
Available: InStock
Category: Vinyl Record
Label: Warner Classics

Fairly Quiet Pressing

4 Stars
Posted Thursday, October 7, 2021 by Brian VanPelt The pressing is at issue here. I ordered 2 of this album, and all 6 disks had visible surface issues. 2 of the disks have medium scratches, but all 6 disks have faint scratches throughout the entire sides of all 6 disks. My guess is these are the marks that happen when a record is produced conveyor-belt style, but I do not know the record business. These micro scratches are almost never audible, but there are more light clicks than should happen on a record that absolutely needs to be dead quiet. After all, this this music has only 1 violin as the only sound.

Another issue is something that might not bother those with headphones. On my stereo, I cannot locate, in space, where the sound of the violin is coming from - it is nebulous.

Overall, I'd say that the music is great, the recording is great - Perlman must have been in a cavernous room when he recorded this. The vinyl looks nasty up close, but is generally quiet.


Eiji Oue - Stravinsky: The Rite Of Spring Product No: AREF 1515
Available: InStock
Category: 45 RPM Vinyl Record
Label: Reference Recordings

such promise, until the needle hits the groove

1 Stars
Posted Thursday, August 19, 2021 by scott baxter I had such hopes, but this is a very noisy record. Far too many pops and audible grit throughout both disks. I always wash a brand new record, and re-washing made no difference. The record was put through a degritter cleaner and it made no difference. I bought a second lp set and it sounded just the same. This is wasted money. I have a near 40 year old Antal Dorati/London Symphony recording by London Digital and it is so much more quiet.

Apart from the abysmal surface, this 'read' of the score is rather more relaxed than I think it should be, but we're now talking about matters of taste. Overall, it's too languid, lacking attack on certain passages that should literally shock the listener. Both the Bernstein and Dorati led recordings do a better job in this respect.

Overall I'd say this is a very problematic recording that had superb potential, but that is squandered by the rash of artifacts scattered across the surface of both disks.


Michael Stern - Saint-Saens: Symphony No. 3 'Organ' Product No: CREF 136 SA
Available: InStock
Category: Hybrid Multichannel SACD
Label: Reference Recordings

SACD Stereo Mix - Ho Hum

3 Stars
Posted Wednesday, August 11, 2021 by Anonymous I listened to the CD layer and then the SACD stereo mix layer. Honestly not that much of a difference. If this was the first SACD I was exposed to honestly I'd be a tad disappointed. It does sound good, but not really altogether different than redbook.


Eugene Fodor & Alexander Peskanov - Tchaikovsky: 1812 Overture Product No: CTEL 60541 SA
Available: InStock
Category: Hybrid Multichannel SACD
Label: Telarc

4 Stars
Posted Wednesday, July 7, 2021 by Anonymous


Jacqueline Du Pre - 5 Legendary Recordings Product No: AWCL 565178
Available: InStock
Category: Vinyl Box Sets
Label: Warner Classics

All Digital Remasters

3 Stars
Posted Saturday, May 22, 2021 by Joseph Somsel There was no warning that all five of these discs are digital remasters - none are directly from the master tapes. One of the discs is not even of the original issue but of a rehearsal. Nice enough packaging though and the performances are exceptional and justly renowned.

That said they are clear and detailed but lack the analogue warmth and body I hoped for and expected.

For sound quality, I might have been better off buying the Testament reissue of the Elgar or even a clean, used "dog in postage stamp" LP.

Overall, a disappointing purchase.


Sir Adrian Boult - Holst: The Planets Product No: AWCL 525374
Available: InStock
Category: Vinyl Record
Label: Warner Classics

Decent pressing, prefer the Ozawa/BSO version

4 Stars
Posted Saturday, April 24, 2021 by ETKirsch This is a solid enough vinyl pressing. Some background cackling that's occasionally audible, but overall not bad. Imaging and sound stage are decent.

Personally, I prefer the Ozawa/BSO performance on Philips, but Boult is pretty synonymous with 20th Century English music, so I'm probably in the minority on that one.


Claudio Abbado - Mozart: Piano Concertos Nos. 20 & 21/ Friedrich Gulda, pianist Product No: ADGR 2530548
Available: BackOrdered
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Speakers Corner (Deutsche Grammophon)

Fantastic Pressing

5 Stars
Posted Friday, April 23, 2021 by ETKirsch I put this release on immediately after listening to another DG record and was really struck by the superiority of this release. Which got me wondering "why is this DG release so much better than the other DG release?" The answer: this is a third party reissue of a DG recording by Speakers Corner and boy, do they nail it.

Terrific imaging and sound stage, very little background noise, a great example of how beautiful vinyl can sound when properly manufactured. Also love Gulda's performance. Highly recommended.


Herbert von Karajan - Strauss: Eine Alpensinfonie Product No: CDGR 90240 SA
Available: InStock
Category: Hybrid Stereo SACD
Label: Esoteric (Deutsche Grammophon)

Eine Alpensinfone/Karajan come full circle!

5 Stars
Posted Monday, March 22, 2021 by Ronald H. This was the first Classical cd that I bought in late 1982, when the cd format was first introduced. Historically, Eine Alpensinfone/Karajan was the first classical title to be mastered to cd along with Abba's The Visitors, at Polygram's Hanover W Germany cd plant. There has only been one other major remaster of this title. Esoteric, in cooperation with Universal Music, which owns this title, have remastered the recording using there own proprietary equipment. When it comes to music reproduction, I'm a minimalist. I have listened to this hybrid sacd on a Sony D-303 flagship portable cd player from 1991, mated with Sony MDR-E484B flagship earphones from 1990. My takeaway is, this version is the pinnacle of warmth and definition that was missing from previous editions. So, imagine how nice it will sound with sacd equipment. As a bonus, in addition to the title composition, Strauss's Metamorphosen, is included. Highly recommended!


Pablo Casals - Bach: The Cello Suites Product No: AWCL 573806
Available: BackOrdered
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Warner Classics

The real thing!

5 Stars
Posted Monday, March 8, 2021 by Anonymous Pablo Casals was an amazing musician and it shows in this historic recording! Pressings are dead quiet and the sound is amazing for such an early recording. Highly recommended.


Vikingur Olafsson - Bach: Piano Works & Reworks Product No: ADGR 89301
Available: BackOrdered
Category: Vinyl Record
Label: Deutsche Grammophon

Fine vinyl and nice interpretations

5 Stars
Posted Sunday, March 7, 2021 by O.D. Jones I have had some trepidation in ordering a recent DG record due to the Carlos Kleiber Beethoven 5th reissue being dirty and noisy right out of the sleeve. I can report that both records here are heavy and flat and, even before a wet vacuum cleaning, are quiet and perfectly fine. I have no idea who pressed the Kleiber reissue, but this current crop of DG vinyl is good quality. The sonics of this recording are open and atmospheric, and the performances worth delving into. One interesting note is the fact this pianist included performances of two pieces, the Busoni transcriptions, that the tragically short-lived Dinu Lipatti recorded in supernatural and sublime fashion in the early fifties. The Lipatti records are worth searching out as I don't think they've ever been out of print since they were first released, along with an astonishing Ravel piece recorded in I believe 1936 on shellac. This Vikingur Olafsson record is highly recommended and I would like to hear his Glass LP next.


Leonard Bernstein - Ode an die Freiheit/Ode to freedom - Beethoven: Symphony No. 9 in D Minor, Op. 125 Product No: ADGR 4837443
Available: InStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Deutsche Grammophon

Very poor audio quality

2 Stars
Posted Monday, January 11, 2021 by Mark The performance is wonderful, however, this digital pressing does not even rank on the James A. Mitchell audio stereo fidelity scale. The quality is muddy and muffled. I was sorely disappointed


Claudio Abbado - Mahler: Symphony No. 1 Product No: ADGR 4837266
Available: InStock
Category: Vinyl Record
Label: Deutsche Grammophon

Very Good play no good vinyl

1 Stars
Posted Monday, November 23, 2020 by Gundalp It have many tuk tuk noise.

I'm disappointed vinyl quality.

Not recommend it.


Ruth Palmer - Bach: Sonata & Partita Product No: ABMS 1816
Available: LimitedStock
Category: D2D Vinyl Record
Label: Berliner Meister Schallplatten

Fantastic recording.

5 Stars
Posted Friday, November 20, 2020 by Mike R. Thank you so much. Continue the cycle please.



Viewing 1 - 20 of 179 Products