Carriers are reporting longer-than-normal shipping times. Acoustic Sounds is not responsible for in-transit delays.

Found 14 product(s) that are

Pre Order

in

Product Reviews

Results Per Page
Viewing 1 - 14 of 14 Products
Paul Simon - Still Crazy After All These Years Product No: AMOBUD 014
Available: PreOrder
Category: Vinyl Box Sets
Label: Mobile Fidelity

Loud and Clear

5 Stars
Posted Thursday, June 3, 2021 by Brian VanPelt First, I'll start with the bad. I've never gotten a flawless-looking one-step record yet. This one has a faint scratch and some light Rorschach marks on disk 1 - none of these had any sonic effects. Next, the vinyl is not dead quiet. There are light clicks throughout, but they are sparse. I also counted 2 light pops.

Aside from those observations, the album is otherwise perfect. These records are cut very loudly - akin to the Speakers Corner version of Goodbye Yellow Brick Road, or Dave Brubeck's album Time In. Needless to say, the dynamics are astounding. If there are any clicks during the songs, you'll most likely not hear them. In addition, the beat of the bass drum is propulsive. Everything is perfectly balanced - the instruments sound proportionally correct..

The sonic image is laser tight. It's easy to pick out every instrument in space. Paul Simon's voice is perfectly centered and focused. You can hear the complete decay of every tone. Grade: 4.5


Miles Davis - Kind of Blue Product No: AUHQR 0004
Available: PreOrder
Category: UHQR Vinyl Record
Label: Analogue Productions

5 Stars
Posted Tuesday, June 1, 2021 by Anonymous


Dexter Gordon - One Flight Up Product No: ABLU 87101
Available: PreOrder
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Blue Note (Tone Poet)

Almost perfect. Wow.

5 Stars
Posted Thursday, May 20, 2021 by Brian VanPelt I'll try to contain the hyperbole. On the entire album, I heard 2 light clicks - other than that, dead black silence. The instruments were as lifelike as anything I've ever heard. The detail and resolution were astonishing. You could hear even the lightest cymbal tap. The sax's and horns are shocking when they first come on. No tape distortion at all.

Generally speaking, there was a sax and bass on the left, and on the right you had the piano, drums and either a sax or a horn. Each instrument was clearly defined in its space. There really wasn't any center fill at all. The last tune featured a freaky gimmick wherein the horn on the right side went from ground level to the rafters, and then back down again. When he's up in the rafters, you definitely need to be in the sweet spot to enjoy.

I want to make special note to the drums. The way this guy pounds on the drums could be visceral and jarring if need be - nowhere have I heard a drum so potent. This record is cut hot. 5+


Donald Byrd - Byrd In Paris Product No: ASAM 10
Available: PreOrder
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Sam Records

Outstanding performance and recording

5 Stars
Posted Monday, March 15, 2021 by Evan After seeing the rave reviews on SAM records I took a chance on this. I couldn't be happier. The sonics are fantastic and more importantly the playing and music are delightful. Highly recommended.


Dire Straits - Communique Product No: AMOB 467
Available: PreOrder
Category: 45 RPM Vinyl Record
Label: Mobile Fidelity

5 Stars
Posted Saturday, March 28, 2020 by Anonymous


The Monty Alexander Trio - Live! At The Montreaux Festival Product No: AMPS 210986
Available: PreOrder
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: MPS

AAA mastering that swings and grooves

5 Stars
Posted Tuesday, August 6, 2019 by watchnerd Analog mastering from the analog master tapes. If you're an analog purist (confession -- I'm not), this definitely deserves a listen for what a pure analog disc can achieve. And even if you're not, get it anyway because it's a great live album that grooves with an infectious energy. The comparison to Oscar Peterson are apt...this is a romping piano session that is just fun, especially the Battle Hymn of the Republic finale.


Nathan Davis - Live In Paris with Georges Arvanitas Trio: The ORTF Recordings 1966/67 Product No: ASAM 20
Available: PreOrder
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Sam Records

5 Stars
Posted Tuesday, June 11, 2019 by Anonymous


Walter Hendl Chicago Symphony - Prokofieff: Concerto No. 3 / MacDowell:Concerto No. 2/ Van Cliburn Product No: CAPC 2507 SA
Available: PreOrder
Category: Hybrid Stereo SACD
Label: Analogue Productions (RCA Living Stereo)

Maybe Cliburn's Best Recording

5 Stars
Posted Wednesday, March 28, 2018 by Richard Schneider An enlightened choice. One of the best engineered piano concerto recordings ever made, so much so that it even sounded great on cassette! It's like you're there in the best seat in the house. It's also one of Cliburn's best recordings, and an absolutely top drawer performance of the Prokofiev. The MacDowell I'm not so crazy about this piece, but Cliburn and Hendl make a great case for it, and the sound is of the same demonstration quality. Other ideal piano concerto recordings from this period include Beethoven 3 with Gary Graffman, Hendl/CSO, and the Brahms 2nd Piano Concerto with Sviatislaw Richter, Leinsdorf, and the CSO. I can hardly wait for this pre-order to be available. Don't let it take all year!


Nina Simone - A Very Rare Evening Product No: ATWM 01
Available: PreOrder
Category: Vinyl Record
Label: Tidal Waves Music

A waste of $

1 Stars
Posted Saturday, March 24, 2018 by Phil Dade Poor sound quality beause it sounds muffled but tinny, not open and clear. The song selection is weak and does nothing to really show off her great voice. No wonder is is a very rare evening. I just opened it, played it and will not waste my time again. I am a big Nina fan.


Mark Murphy - Midnight Mood Product No: AMPS 212420
Available: PreOrder
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: MPS

Mark Murphy's Transcendent Late 60's 'Tour De Fource'

5 Stars
Posted Sunday, December 3, 2017 by Stephen Norvell Widely regarded as Murphy's best recording from his years living abroad in Europe, Midnight Mood is an album of great Historic Significance. Recorded in Cologne, the Audio Engineering of this Album was superior to the engineering of Murphy's earlier works on the Riverside Label. This LP from MPS does not disappoint. The Vinyl is quiet, allowing the magnificence of Murphy's Vocalese and the accompanying Kenny Clarke/Francy Boland Band to be fully appreciated. Midnight Mood would be the first recording in which Murphy's rich signature Baritone Voice would fully develop from the higher Baritone Voice of his Twenties, preceding his legendary 1972-1994 recording contract with Joe Fields' Muse Label. Mark Murphy is among the best of American Bossa Nova Jazz Singers. For more than a decade, Murphy's Concerts at the Birdland Jazz Club in NYC typically reserved the second set of the evening for Bossa Nova Jazz. Murphy's recording of Sconsoloto is exceptional! Encore!!!


Miles Davis - Ascenseur pour l'echafaud Product No: ASAM 013
Available: PreOrder
Category: 10 inch Vinyl Record
Label: Sam Records

Fantabuloso!

5 Stars
Posted Wednesday, April 19, 2017 by Jojo Isip You better grab one or two while you can, because when the word gets out on how fabulous sounding this 10 incher is, it will be gone before you can say... pffft! Packaging is first class all the way. The sound is glorious. Probably the finest sounding mono recording extant. Cue cut no. 3 side one and hold on to your socks, they're going to be blown off!


Chet Baker - Chet Baker Quartet Product No: ASAM 04
Available: PreOrder
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Sam Records

Move over Miles there's another horn in town

5 Stars
Posted Monday, December 31, 2012 by Anonymous Been a fan of Chet's all my life, owning several original pressings but not this one. What a great recording. The clarity is amazing, seems like he's in the room with you. A must have for the jazz aficionado.


The White Stripes - White Blood Cells Product No: ATMR 033
Available: PreOrder
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Third Man Records

My new reference for this recording.

4 Stars
Posted Wednesday, March 23, 2011 by Paul V K This is my first pressing by Third Man and will not be my last. Quiet pressing and great mastering job.


Kenny Burrell - The Cats Product No: AOJC 079
Available: PreOrder
Category: Vinyl Record
Label: Original Jazz Classics

Great band

5 Stars
Posted Friday, November 25, 2005 by Bret Miller Kenny Burrell sounds great on this, similar to the Coltrane and Burrell album of just thir names. Tommy Flanagan and others also swing. Good bop and good sound. The grooves are not pressed deeply, though, and I had a couple of mistracks untill I adjusted my tonearm a little. When the nice vinyl is all over priced, it is good to get a bargain for $10.



Viewing 1 - 14 of 14 Products