Found 7 product(s) that are

Pre Order

in

Product Reviews

Results Per Page
Viewing 1 - 7 of 7 Products
Gene Clark - No Other Product No: A4AD 7109
Available: PreOrder
Category: Multi-Format Box Sets
Label: 4AD

Overkill?

5 Stars
Posted Friday, September 13, 2019 by Herbert Frei, Zurich 'The Guardian' calls this "one of the greatest rock albums ever". In any case, this is an album of great complexity and beauty, in the beginning greatly underrated, if not ignored, but now considered to be Gene Clark's greatest achievement. So this reissue is to be greatly applauded. You can have the album as single CD or double CD or as an expensive multi-format package. Yet, why not issue the original album also as a single SACD (or, perhaps, as a SHM-SACD)? Why do I have to buy this expensive package just to get the SACD? I'm neither interested in vinyl (sold mine 30 years ago) nor in alternate takes. I hope the producers consider a more consumer-friendly alternative.


Walter Hendl Chicago Symphony - Prokofieff: Concerto No. 3 / MacDowell:Concerto No. 2/ Van Cliburn Product No: CAPC 2507 SA
Available: PreOrder
Category: Hybrid Stereo SACD
Label: Analogue Productions (RCA Living Stereo)

Maybe Cliburn's Best Recording

5 Stars
Posted Wednesday, March 28, 2018 by Richard Schneider An enlightened choice. One of the best engineered piano concerto recordings ever made, so much so that it even sounded great on cassette! It's like you're there in the best seat in the house. It's also one of Cliburn's best recordings, and an absolutely top drawer performance of the Prokofiev. The MacDowell I'm not so crazy about this piece, but Cliburn and Hendl make a great case for it, and the sound is of the same demonstration quality. Other ideal piano concerto recordings from this period include Beethoven 3 with Gary Graffman, Hendl/CSO, and the Brahms 2nd Piano Concerto with Sviatislaw Richter, Leinsdorf, and the CSO. I can hardly wait for this pre-order to be available. Don't let it take all year!


Various Artists - The Three Blind Mice Product No: AIMX 6022-45
Available: PreOrder
Category: Vinyl Box Sets
Label: Impex

6 Stars for Sonics

5 Stars
Posted Wednesday, July 8, 2015 by Cold Shot I bought the original Three Blind Mice CD years ago. I had never heard a Redbook CD sound this good. I decided to buy the vinyl box set based on the sound quality of that CD. The sonics on these 45rpm vinyl pressings are off the charts! I'm not a huge jazz fan but the sonics are so compelling I keep playing them over & over. These are Japanese Jazz All-Stars - not Coltrane/Monk/Davis but the music is upbeat and certainly qualifies as top flight jazz composition. Sonics (6 Stars) Music (4 Stars)


Norah Jones - Come Away With Me Product No: CAPP 042 SA
Available: PreOrder
Category: Hybrid Multichannel SACD
Label: Analogue Productions

5 Stars
Posted Friday, May 10, 2013 by Anonymous


Melody Gardot - The Absence Product No: AVER 3700328
Available: PreOrder
Category: Vinyl Record
Label: Verve

5 Stars
Posted Wednesday, September 12, 2012 by Anonymous


Tom Petty - Highway Companion Product No: AAME 44285
Available: PreOrder
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: American Recordings

5 Stars
Posted Friday, February 23, 2007 by Anonymous


Kenny Burrell - The Cats Product No: AOJC 079
Available: PreOrder
Category: Vinyl Record
Label: Original Jazz Classics

Great band

5 Stars
Posted Friday, November 25, 2005 by Bret Miller Kenny Burrell sounds great on this, similar to the Coltrane and Burrell album of just thir names. Tommy Flanagan and others also swing. Good bop and good sound. The grooves are not pressed deeply, though, and I had a couple of mistracks untill I adjusted my tonearm a little. When the nice vinyl is all over priced, it is good to get a bargain for $10.



Viewing 1 - 7 of 7 Products