Carriers are reporting longer-than-normal shipping times. Acoustic Sounds is not responsible for in-transit delays.

Found 49 product(s) in the

Alternative Music

genre in

Product Reviews

Results Per Page
Viewing 1 - 20 of 49 Products
R.E.M. - Reckoning Product No: AA&M 1302901
Available: InStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: A&M

Great sound, weak pressing

2 Stars
Posted Friday, March 26, 2021 by etkirsch Of all the albums I’ve sampled so far, this is easily the most confounding. Sonically, the repressing is excellent – great imaging, a full sound stage, very clear vocals and instrumentation, BUT . . . every once in awhile there is a nasty pop and (holy moly!) there’s actually a full bore groove jump in Harborcoat. You’re sailing along and then, out of nowhere, WHAM! you’re on to the next groove.

Honestly, I can’t figure it out -- the vinyl sounds great most of the time, but the pressing is definitely a problem. If you hold the vinyl up to a bright light, you can see numerous inconsistencies in the luster and even a few nicks. Maybe I just ended up with a bum pressing.

All in all, just a frustrating record to review. Sonically great, but the vinyl quality is poor and then there are those random awful pops and of course, the Harborcoat groove jump.


Smashing Pumpkins - Pisces Iscariot Product No: AVIR 64254
Available: BackOrdered
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Virgin

Great Album

5 Stars
Posted Monday, February 8, 2021 by derek Early Smashing Pumpkins deserves the sonic treatment only vinyl can deliver. I've read some mixed reviews on the pressings of this album, but it sounds fantastic. This is my first order from Acoustic Sounds and it was delivered promptly and packaged immaculately.


London Grammar - If You Wait Product No: ACOL 39921
Available: BackOrdered
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Columbia

STUNNING RECORDING

5 Stars
Posted Monday, May 21, 2018 by Anonymous wow what can i say - stunning recording. first heard it at RMAF in Denver. depth, dark background, deep bass. On The Absolute Sound's Super LP List - which is rare for newer bands. Recommended.


case/lang/veirs - Self-Titled Product No: AANT 87473
Available: InStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Anti

Great music/rough pressing

3 Stars
Posted Thursday, April 26, 2018 by Anonymous This record is full of 5 star worthy great music, but the copy I have is full of "pops" and "ticks" Zerostat made no difference and VPI record cleaner improved it only marginally. Played it on a few different decks with same results. It's too bad; the play quality of this record really distracts from the beautiful music.


Imelda May - Life. Love. Flesh. Blood Product No: AVER 38901
Available: BackOrdered
Category: Vinyl Record
Label: Verve

5/5 For Stellar LP & Pressing

5 Stars
Posted Saturday, May 6, 2017 by audiofan My copy had a "Made In Germany" sticker (the LP jacket simply says "Made In The EU". This ground-breaking album shows May heading in a new direction; no rockabilly here. The songs are mostly mid-tempo and the vinyl is as quiet on my copy as any pressed anywhere - the music emerges from a totally silent, jet-black background, with no warp or surface noise of any kind. A stunning collection of songs and a fantastic pressing. Superb!


The Lumineers - Cleopatra Product No: ADUA 1738
Available: BackOrdered
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Dualtone

I really like this album

5 Stars
Posted Tuesday, November 8, 2016 by Anonymous Probably won't get as much radio play as the first album, but I think this one's better than the first. Really top notch song writing. Pretty good quality of pressing too.


Wilco - Schmilco Product No: AANT 87259
Available: InStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Anti

10/10/10 For Music/Sonics/Pressing

5 Stars
Posted Thursday, September 8, 2016 by audiofan This basically sounds like Wico "Unplugged" live in your living room. Produced by Jeff Tweedy and Tom Schick (who also engineered), and mastered by the legendary Bob Ludwig at Gateway Mastering, this gorgeous-sounding LP is warm, involving, and organic - and easily rates as one of the best-recorded/sounding LPs in my collection. As usual, QRP's vinyl pressing is flat and dead-quiet, with totally black backgrounds...this is demo-disc territory! I find the musical content beautiful & superbly written and played by the band; of course, that's all subjective. What isn't subjective is the stunning, lifelike, immersive mix and soundfield contained in these grooves. This is an all-out fantastic record! Bravo!


M. Ward - More Rain Product No: AMRG 505331
Available: LimitedStock
Category: Vinyl Record
Label: Merge Records

M. Ward Shines

5 Stars
Posted Saturday, April 30, 2016 by audiofan Classic Ward here - despite the contributions of several other artists of note - the sonic signature so typical of past Ward albums remains largely intact, but this release seems a bit cleaner, with the mix and production being quite well-balanced and natural - revealing (on decent systems, of course - everythings relative, after all) a pleasing, organic sound that radiates analog vinyl. There are a few mellow numbers as well as a several up-tempo tracks with the rest falling somewhere in between. My copy was pressed on red vinyl and shows no trace of groove noise or, for that matter, any defect at all. A very well-pressed and great-sounding LP...and perhaps my new favorite M.W. album.


Cage The Elephant - Tell Me I'm Pretty Product No: ARCA 41701
Available: BackOrdered
Category: Vinyl Record
Label: RCA

Auerbach In The Cage

5 Stars
Posted Wednesday, December 23, 2015 by audiofan Dan Auerbach's fingerprints are all over this recording (he produces and contributes guitar & vocals) and CTE are much the better for it. Give the band credit for the change in direction - they had gone about as far as they could with the sound & style of their first three albums. Black Keys fans will hear the influence, and this is a different CTE than heard on their previous releases; the songwriting is more mature and melodic, and yes, more on the mellow side. The copy I received initially concerned me - it appeared slightly scuffed in places. However, the vinyl was without fault; totally flat & quiet, with no surface noise whatsoever. A great sounding LP from RCA and a different but positive direction for Cage The Elephant.


Dot Hacker - How's Your Process? (Work) Product No: AORM 47093
Available: LimitedStock
Category: Vinyl Record
Label: ORG Music

DH on LP

5 Stars
Posted Monday, December 7, 2015 by audiofan If you are into ambient dream-rock (sorry - it's the best I can describe this unique-sounding band) you'll find it beautifully presented on this LP. There is no indication where this title was pressed, and it appears to be standard 120-gram vinyl, but it was defect-free with dead-silent backgrounds and no surface noise. However, it may be closer to an EP than a LP - the six tracks barely total 31 minutes, but what's there sounds lush and involving.


Pixies - Come on Pilgrim Product No: A4AD 70709
Available: InStock
Category: Vinyl Record
Label: 4AD

5 Stars
Posted Sunday, November 8, 2015 by Anonymous


Mad Season - Above Product No: ALEG 44170
Available: InStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Legacy

A MUST HAVE!!!

5 Stars
Posted Tuesday, April 14, 2015 by Stan Any Alice in Chains fan must have this record! What a Supergroup! It's so sad that half the band is gone now. But, the magic they produced is amazing. Such a waste of talent because of the toll drugs took on this kind of creativity. Or, did the drugs cause this creativity? A question to ponder! This record is not grunge. It's bluesy rock! It certainly ranks up there with Stones and Zeppelin to me! The record is super quiet and well recorded with exquisite balance of bass, mid and treble. Plays well on any system I'm sure. I'd give it 10 stars if I could!!!


Lorde - Pure Heroine Product No: ARPB 92540
Available: BackOrdered
Category: Vinyl Record
Label: Republic Records

Phenomenal vinyl sound

5 Stars
Posted Saturday, November 1, 2014 by Brian VanPelt I love the sound of this record. All those words that describe the ideal vinyl sound: lush, wide, deep, detailed but velvety, etc., are all true of this record. The production is absolutely first rate.

First, Lorde's voice is perfectly centered and placed high, as if she's literally on a pedestal. She has a mixture of girlishness and sultriness - maybe too much for a girl her age. Anyway, her voice perfectly compliments the music that flows beneath (and outward) from her voice.

The instrumentation is all electronic, as far as I can tell. But everything is so well-executed. For example, the bass is thumpy where it should be, but many times it's very deep and wide (I mean real bass). The sound stage spread farther than my speakers, and some of the effects where quite successful.

I know that Lorde is getting all the attention here, and she deserves to become a star. But for me, the real star here is the producer - a guy by the name of Joel Little - Wiki him to find out more.


Johnny Marr - Playland Product No: ANVO 9741
Available: InStock
Category: Vinyl Record
Label: New Voodoo Records

Every Track is Solid

5 Stars
Posted Saturday, October 11, 2014 by Rick I never purchased his first solo, so I can't make a comparison. This LP on it's own merits is excellent and worth owning on vinyl. You will find something inviting and catchy on every track. I cant stop listening to it and have now started humming melodies.


Jack White - Lazaretto Product No: ATMR 271
Available: BackOrdered
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Third Man Records

Sketchy Vinyl

3 Stars
Posted Wednesday, July 16, 2014 by audiofan Despite the innovative gimmicks employed in the manufacture and playback options, they forgot about vinyl quality. The copy I received had quite a bit of surface noise - the disc played OK, but there were numerous clicks, pops, and, in general, the disc just isn't pressed well. The surface noise does not make the record unlistenable, and it never skipped, it's just a shame it wasn't pressed at QRP, Pallas, or some other premium facility.


Ray LaMontagne - Supernova Product No: ARCA 54551
Available: LimitedStock
Category: Vinyl Record
Label: RCA

Great Sound

4 Stars
Posted Saturday, June 7, 2014 by John C I'm a big Ray Lamontagne fan. This may not be my favorite album of his- I particularly detest the song "Suprnova". I do like the "sixties-retro" sound on a number of songs- I wish there was more of it. But content aside, this is an amazing sounding album and a very clean, quiet pressing. For that I am almost willing to give this five stars.


Pixies - Doolittle Product No: A4AD 70905
Available: InStock
Category: Vinyl Record
Label: 4AD

Doolittle - The Pixies

5 Stars
Posted Saturday, October 19, 2013 by Anonymous


Giant Sand - Blurry Blue Mountain Product No: AFIR 161
Available: LimitedStock
Category: Vinyl Record
Label: Fire Records

Nothing "Blurry" About This Title

5 Stars
Posted Wednesday, August 28, 2013 by audiofan The "product description" for this pressing is non-existent, but the copy I purchased (from another online vendor; Acoustic Sounds did not offer it at the time) was 140 gram blue vinyl. The blue vinyl pressing was flawless, with dead-silent backgrounds and not a single tick or pop. The music, which is extremely well-recorded, is simply demo quality. I have since purchased several other Fire Records titles, and apparently they have excellent quality-control; they have all been completely without noise or defects. If you are a fan of Howe Gelb (and if you can find it), check out "Alegrias", by Howe Gelb & A Band of Gypsies, also on Fire Records. The pressing I own is stunning.


Weezer - Pinkerton Product No: AMOB 393
Available: BackOrdered
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Mobile Fidelity

Great Release

5 Stars
Posted Thursday, July 18, 2013 by Anonymous Fantastic sound for one of the 90's essentials


Counting Crows - August And Everything After Product No: CAPP 24528 SA
Available: BackOrdered
Category: Hybrid Stereo SACD
Label: Analogue Productions

Counting Crows

5 Stars
Posted Monday, February 18, 2013 by Bruce Great sounding SACD.This SACD is a lot nicer sounding than the CD and the xtra money is well spent for a great sounding SACD.



Viewing 1 - 20 of 49 Products