Found 5670 product(s) in

Product Reviews

Results Per Page
Viewing 1 - 20 of 5670 Products

Jeff Beck - Loud Hailer

+ Download Code
Jeff Beck - Loud Hailer Product No: ARHI 555546
Available: In Stock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Rhino

Best Beck In Years

5 Stars
Posted 4 days ago by audiofan

Jeff Beck just continues to astound - don't expect "Wired" or "Blow By Blow"- like instrumentals here...this is (for the most part) a rock and roll record, with a fantastic, aggressive guitar sound beautifully recorded & mixed. Vocalist Rosie Bones is a talented singer and her delivery fits the music perfectly. The bass & drums are balanced with plenty of "slam & impact". Turn it up & this record sounds in-the-room "live." The 'Atco/Rhino' label almost made me consider buying the CD (sorry, no disrespect, but I'm not that enthused about Joe R's remastering on some of their titles). That would have been a mistake - this LP was perfectly flat & without defect - the music jumps from the speakers from a totally black background and the result is a very warm, engaging sonic portrait of a man (and his new band) at the peak of his powers.


Peter Gabriel - So

Numbered Limited Edition Half-Speed Remaster + Download
Peter Gabriel - So Product No: ARWL 800434
Available: In Stock
Category: 45 RPM Vinyl Record
Label: Real World

"So" Confounds With Digital-To-Analog

5 Stars
Posted 4 days ago by audiofan

Gabriel was one of the first artists to record totally in digital, which makes the astonishing "analog-like" sound here (and on "Us" & "Up" as well) so startling. Gabriel's website doesn't say exactly where these were pressed - only "in the EU", but this LP was dead-quiet, even during the quietest moments and between tracks. The sense of "air", transparency, and sheer detail in these grooves surpass any version I've yet heard. They trounce the SACD & CD versions I own. Though some (few, I suspect) will digress, to my old ears these LPs are a stunning achievement considering they really don't sound "digital" - just warm & involving. Bravo to Gabriel & 'Real World' - highly recommended.


The Rolling Stones - Sticky Fingers

Limited Deluxe Edition with Zipper
The Rolling Stones - Sticky Fingers Product No: AUNI 48443
Available: Limited Stock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Universal Records

Excellent new rendition of the original work

5 Stars
Posted 6 days ago by JM

I have several first pressings of the original Sticky Fingers: a USA Monarch (MO) and a Richmond (RI) as well as an early 1970's German pressing from the UK and an early 70's Record Club of America pressing. All of the old ones sound awesome and just slightly different from each other. This new version sounds excellent! The complaints that claim it is "too compressed" are just closed minded snob appeal in my view. This record sounds great. You could spend about $100 or more on a clean original from the 1970's (and good luck finding it) or you can enjoy the new one. Mine is pressed flat and sounds very musical.


Rush - Grace Under Pressure Product No: XUNI606808F48
Available: In Stock
Category: FLAC 48kHz/24Bit Download
Label: Mercury

Upsampled - It was originally recorded at 16 bit / 44.1kHz !!

1 Stars
Posted 7 days ago by Richard

All of the music released by Rush after Moving Pictures, until 1993, was originally recorded at low-resolution 16 bit/44.1kHz. So ANY format that states a higher resolution for that time period is a lie as it HAS TO BE upsampled. In 1993 they recorded in 16 bit/48kHz. In 1994 they recorded in 24 bit/48kHz. 24 bit/96kHz was not even possible until 1996.

It states "from original analog masters"... one HUGE problem.... Rush did not ever have multitrack analog of their recordings after Moving Pictures. Even the bass and drums, recorded in analog, were later converted to low-resolution digital for the mix-down!!


Genesis - A Trick Of The Tail Product No: AATL 187964
Available: In Stock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Atlantic

Not bad for a re-master!

4 Stars
Posted 7 days ago by joey1127

I've read some bad reviews about this re-issue, but I have to say it's not that bad. I have an original ATCO U.S. pressing...and I think the remaster is a lot more open sounding. Yes, it sounds different, but it is a remaster and to be honest, I think the original was a bit compressed sounding as far as the U.S. ATCO version goes. I will say the Mo- Fi release from the early 1980's was amazing...but if you don't have an original, and don't want to pay the crazy high price for a decent Mo-Fi copy, this re-master is really worth a listen. It's not that bad! Also, this re-issue includes a reproduction of the original textured cover.


Eva Cassidy - Simply Eva Product No: ABLX 10199
Available: In Stock
Category: 45 RPM Vinyl Record
Label: Blix Street Records

An acoustic delight!

5 Stars
Posted 7 days ago by joey1127

This is a MUST HAVE for any Eva fan. The fidelity of this pressing is outstanding and the quality is equally outstanding. If you have other Eva recordings or are new to Eva, this is one that you don't want to pass up. An acoustic delight!


Bob Dylan - Live 1964 Concert At Philharmonic Hall

Numbered Limited Edition + Booklet
Bob Dylan - Live 1964 Concert At Philharmonic Hall Product No: CAFZ 230 SA
Available: In Stock
Category: Hybrid Multichannel SACD
Label: Audio Fidelity

Concert is Trimmed/Censored

3 Stars
Posted 8 days ago by Anonymous

The Pros: Wonderful mastering is a significant improvement over the original Columbia release. Includes the surround mix - at long last!

The Cons: Some of the banter/discussion between Bob Dylan and the audience has been removed. To hear the complete performance, you will need the original Columbia release. Poor packaging quality compared to original Columbia release with reduced book size that leads to slipcase damage.

Main reason for 3 star rating is because complete performance is not included on these discs.


Art Blakey & The Jazz Messengers - Moanin' Product No: ABNJ 84003
Available: In Stock
Category: 45 RPM Vinyl Record
Label: Analogue Productions (Blue Note)

Now that's drumming

5 Stars
Posted 10 days ago by LD100

I bought the 45 rpm set and they are flat as a pancake. No surface noise either. Very happy with selection.


AudioQuest - DRAGONFLY USB Digital-Audio Converter Product No: W DRAGONFLYRED
Available: In Stock
Category: D/A Converter or Processor
Label: Equipment

WOW

5 Stars
Posted 10 days ago by Mike

I use Grado Rs1's Headphones that are a perfect match at 32ohm's. I thought everything was great but WOW. This Drangonfly USB DAC (Red) has warmth I never thought possible. I am listening to my digital collection like it was the first time.


Dave Brubeck Quartet - Time Out Product No: CAPJ 8192 SA
Available: In Stock
Category: Hybrid 3-Channel Stereo SACD
Label: Analogue Productions

Drums were amplified, too much

1 Stars
Posted 14 days ago by Anonymous

In their extreme quest for clarity, and making all instruments easily heard, the seem to have used normalization as is customary now days. The result? The drums (especially the cymbals) are so loud that its hard to listen to the Piano. Sorry, but no matter how good the drummer is (and he is), Mr. Brubeck should have been in front like in past issues. Its not as bad as those compressed cds where the dynamic range is lost, but it still makes this sacd useless to me and I regret the purchase.


Heart - Little Queen

Colored Vinyl
Heart - Little Queen Product No: AFRM 347990
Available: In Stock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Friday Music

Verry Poor

1 Stars
Posted 16 days ago by Anonymous

Its a clean peace of vinyl, but embedded in the tracks there is a huge amount of noise (pops and crackle). Pulled out my 39 year old copy, and had less noise even though its been played numerous time in the last 4 decades.There is no noise when transitioning from track to track. I think it is a very poor job of remastering. Disappointed!!!


Duke Ellington - Blues In Orbit Product No: AAPJ 056
Available: In Stock
Category: 200 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Analogue Productions

Best sounding LP in my collection

5 Stars
Posted 19 days ago by Isaac

I have many outstanding LPs in my collection, but this record is, by far, the best sounding of the lot. The resolution is impressive, but the sense of space and 3D imaging is really jaw-dropping. Never mind the music and performance are fantastic, the sonics are just out of this world! My hat if off for Chad and his team for yet another superb reissue!


Rogue Audio - Sphinx V2 Hybrid Integrated Amplifier with Remote Product No: M SPHINXS
Available: In Stock
Category: Integrated Amplifiers
Label: Equipment

Nice Sounding Amp.

5 Stars
Posted 19 days ago by Anonymous

I upgraded to this amp from a Yamaha AS-500, which was no slouch considering its price. This amp delivers more detail and dynamics than the Yamaha, but with a slight loss of rhythm on fast paced songs. Acoustical recordings is where this amp really shines. The onboard phono preamp is good but I think my Parasound Z-Phono would prove close in performance. It's possibly even better than the Sphinx, but like the Yamaha, the Z-phono "punches well above it's weight." I have the Rogue paired with some Monitor Audio Silver 8s (4 ohm) and it drives them well. My only complaint about the Rogue is the cheap feeling "skeleton" remote and subpar binding posts, but they get the job done. Apparently this is where they chose to cut costs, better than skimping on the circuitry. Thanks to Chad Stelly for recommending this great piece of gear.


Paul Simon - Over the Bridge of Time: A Paul Simon Retrospective (1964-2011) Product No: XSON049216F96
Available: In Stock
Category: FLAC 96kHz/24bit Download
Label: Legacy

Missing Tracks

3 Stars
Posted 20 days ago by Anonymous

Sounds amazing, but my download was missing the first 6 tracks (which were actually the ones I was most looking forward to).


Norah Jones - Live From Austin TX Product No: AWST 5017
Available: Back Ordered
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: New West

Great music, great sound!

5 Stars
Posted 20 days ago by Anonymous

Loving this album. Music is great, and I have no idea what the other reviewers here are experiencing such that they find the sound "hot" or "distorted" in the vocals. While my system isn't the last word in high-end audiophilia, it is pretty accurate and revealing (Vpi Classic 3, Fosgate Signature phono stage, McIntosh 2275 amp, and Evolution Acoustics speakers). I don't hear anything like the critical reviews here are describing. I hear the instruments portrayed with depth, space, and timbre and the vocals sound incredibly warm and realistic. Granted, there are a lot of tubes in my system, so perhaps the negative reviewers' equipment was quite different from mine.

I took the time to write this because I almost didn't buy this because several reviews here were so negative about the sound quality. Glad that I bought it and listened for myself!


Peter Gabriel - Us

Numbered Limited Edition Half-Speed Remaster With Etching + Download
Peter Gabriel - Us Product No: ARWL 800438
Available: In Stock
Category: 45 RPM Vinyl Record
Label: Real World

5-Star Sonics

5 Stars
Posted 20 days ago by audiofan

This is demo-quality sound & pressing quality on my copy of this LP. Gabriel's web-site does not tell where it was pressed, but it's up there with Pallas or QRP. All 5 sides (the 6th side is an etching) were flawless. The dead-quiet background allows the voices & instruments to emerge with startling impact & clarity. It was almost as if hearing for the first time - such was the detail retrieval, clarity, and soundfield mix. Very highly recommended!


The Alan Parsons Project  - I Robot Product No: XSON11503D64
Available: In Stock
Category: DSD (Single Rate) 2.8MHz/64fs Download
Label: Arista

Soft

4 Stars
Posted 20 days ago by Robert O

So like the other reviewer stated....it is a bit soft. I can hear more texture with less tape hiss with the HDAD version. But this version is still great especially if you can't get the HDAD version. It is interesting that this has more tape hiss and less texture.....one would think that if you are getting more hiss the recording is getting more of whats on the tape.


Black Sabbath - Sabotage

Limited Edition Translucent Purple Colored Vinyl
Black Sabbath - Sabotage Product No: ARHI 28220
Available: In Stock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Rhino

Could Be Better

4 Stars
Posted 21 days ago by audiofan

Rhino got QRP to press Sabbath's first four albums, and those are typically superb examples of quiet vinyl. This title (pressed by ?... Rhino's web-site doesn't say) is the exact same remaster as previous reissues on that label (which their web-site does say), but this version suffers from ticks and other surface noise on several tracks. It's not terrible, just not QRP-quality. "Sabbath Bloody Sabbath" was worse, at least on my copy - you may have better luck.


Black Sabbath - Sabbath Bloody Sabbath

Limited Edition Red/Orange Colored Vinyl
Black Sabbath - Sabbath Bloody Sabbath Product No: ARHI 26950
Available: In Stock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Rhino

Somewhat Noisy Pressing

3 Stars
Posted 21 days ago by audiofan

The "3-stars" are because there were several places on this LP with a crackling sound, as well as other defects. Same story with "Sabotage". The first four titles, pressed here at QRP, were all very quiet and defect-free, which just made me wonder why all these titles weren't pressed here. "Sabotage" wasn't as bad as this title, but still had a few "ticks & pops"... the QRP-pressed titles (all four of them) were totally silent. The remaster is the same as previous Rhino re-issues, according to their "offical" web site.


Black Sabbath - Vol. 4

Limited Edition Orange Colored Vinyl
Black Sabbath - Vol. 4 Product No: ARHI 26020
Available: In Stock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Rhino

5-Star Pressing

5 Stars
Posted 21 days ago by audiofan

See my review of the debut LP for details - those comments also apply here.



Viewing 1 - 20 of 5670 Products