Found 5699 product(s) in

Product Reviews

Results Per Page
Viewing 1 - 20 of 5699 Products
The Doors - Strange Days Product No: XAPP74014D64
Available: In Stock
Category: DSD (Single Rate) 2.8MHz/64fs Download
Label: Analogue Productions

Not so great a sound.

1 Stars
Posted 3 days ago by Anonymous

Normaly I hear an improvement at the DSD version, but not in this case. Thin & un-dynamic sound! Not worth the investment!


Samantha Crain - Under Branch & Thorn & Tree

+ Download Code and Exclusive Bonus Song
Samantha Crain - Under Branch & Thorn & Tree Product No: ARAM 19842
Available: In Stock
Category: 200 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Ramseur Records

100% Analog... Killer

5 Stars
Posted 5 days ago by Jim M

I don't yet own this album, but listening to it on Napster / Rhapsody to check it out after reading a mention of it. Great music. I mentioned to my wife... "listen to this... it just sounds so analog, so nice, and great music..." Then to search it out on Acoustic Sounds and see it was a "100% analog project; mastered by Bernie Grundman".

Take my money. I'll fight you for the tubes... "Killer" indeed...


Eric Dolphy - Out There Product No: APRJ 8252
Available: In Stock
Category: 200 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Analogue Productions (Prestige)

I hear ghosts!

5 Stars
Posted 5 days ago by Jeff R.

The recording and pressing are absolutely stellar. Listening to my gear, the recording sounds incredibly real, but then I have to remind myself... I hear ghosts!


Talking Heads - Remain In Light Product No: XWAR940936F96
Available: In Stock
Category: FLAC 96kHz/24bit Download
Label: Rhino/Warner Bros.

Different Mix-But It Sounds Pretty Amazing

5 Stars
Posted 6 days ago by AS

This mix is radically different from the original LP and apparently different from the Rhino 2006 remix.

The lead vocals sound almost like different versions without any processing and sound more natural.

Overall the mix is more spacey with dub style panning on Adrian Belew's guitar parts. The soundstage is very wide and deep.

This mix sounds like a real band playing together and at times almost sounds like Fela and Africa 70 with their poly-rhythmic jams.

I enjoyed listening to this and I was glad that I bought it, but those expecting the original mix might be disappointed.


Dave Brubeck Quartet - Time Out Product No: AAPJ 8192-45
Available: In Stock
Category: 45 RPM Vinyl Record
Label: Analogue Productions

QUALITY RECORDS PRESSING DOES IT AGAIN

5 Stars
Posted 9 days ago by BEN S.

I have the Classic Records pressing of this jazz classic. This QRP version beats it hands down.

The frequency response is solid. The vinyl is quiet, and the full sound is well balanced. The jacket and packaging are very well made. This is the vinyl experience at its finest. Very well done, QRP!

I will treasure this record for many years to come.


Miles Davis - Kind Of Blue

Numbered Limited Edition
Miles Davis - Kind Of Blue Product No: AMOB 45011
Available: In Stock
Category: Vinyl Box Sets
Label: Mobile Fidelity

NOT THE MOFI OF THE PAST

1 Stars
Posted 9 days ago by Ben S.

I was excited to purchase this extraordinary classic. The music is absolutely timeless and extraordinary.

Too bad MoFi has failed to reach the heights of Miles Davis' giant talent. Poor manufacturing of the vinyl discs in this set was really a disappointment. A scratch (click, clikc, click, etc.) and pops/cracks that cleaning on a VPI RCM could not cure.

Didn't have time to return the album set, so I have one that's far less than what it should be.

I've experienced similar problems with other MoFi releases. It seems like you have a 50/50 chance of getting a bad one.

Considering what these records cost, they should be much better. I won't buy any more of these poorly manufactured MoFi releases. The glory days for MoFi are long gone!


Shorty Rogers - The Wizard Of Oz Product No: ALSP 1997
Available: Limited Stock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Speakers Corner (RCA Living Stereo)

Classic, fun album with horrible mastering!!

1 Stars
Posted 10 days ago by Rudy (at Record Collector Guide)

I will warn you right now that the mastering on this sonic turd is deplorable. The cover is emblazoned with the Living Stereo logo, yet the record inside is frickin' mono! I own both the original mono and Living Stereo pressings of this on RCA, along with a CD release by RCA Spain, and let me tell you that this is the absolute worst I've ever heard it. The high frequencies are a dead giveaway that something is amiss--to me, it sounds as though the stereo were folded down to mono using a misaligned tape head; the highs suffer from classic azimuth alignment issues. The RCA mono is clear as a bell. The stereo is the same, yet has that wonderful Living Stereo spread that graces other RCAs from that era. The music is a blast, though--Rogers puts his West Coast arrangements to a side of Wizard of Oz tunes, with another side of Harold Arlen tunes. (And how often do you hear a contrabass sax in a big band??) Cool music. Too bad it is ruined by the label's awful mastering.


Diana Krall - The Look Of Love

Numbered Limited Edition
Diana Krall - The Look Of Love Product No: AORG 004-45
Available: In Stock
Category: 45 RPM Vinyl Record
Label: ORG - Original Recordings Group

Lush!

5 Stars
Posted 10 days ago by Rudy (at Record Collector Guide)

I admit to not being a huge fan of Diana Krall's albums (which sometimes have a bit of sameness to them), but there was something magical about this record that I first heard on CD, and then SACD, many years ago. Was it Claus Ogerman's notoriously lush orchestrations? The understated backing music? The selection of torch songs? Krall's smokey late-night voice whispering in my ears? Whatever is in the secret sauce, I dug it then and now. And to hear it on well-pressed 45RPM vinyl is a real treat, being even more smooth and lush than the SACD. (Although the album in surround sound wraps the listener in a warm fuzzy blanket!) The only thing I question is this was pressed from presumably analog tapes, and I would have thought this was purely a digital recording. Not that it takes anything away from the sonics (this is a wonderful sounding release!), but makes me wonder about the source. Regardless, I'd grab this ORG pressing before it sells out if you are a fan of Diana Krall's.


Diana Krall - Live In Paris Product No: AORG 003-45
Available: Back Ordered
Category: 45 RPM Vinyl Record
Label: ORG - Original Recordings Group

My Favorite Krall

5 Stars
Posted 10 days ago by Art R

Wonderful recording. One of my favorite albums.... period. Vocals and accompaniment are fantastic. The blu ray video is just amazing as well.


Antonio Carlos Jobim - Stone Flower Product No: ACTI 6002
Available: In Stock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Speakers Corner (CTI)

Great album; horrible mastering.

5 Stars
Posted 10 days ago by Rudy (at Record Collector Guide)

I only discovered this album just over a dozen years ago, having already known his other two CTi albums "Wave" and "Tide" (back from CTi's years under A&M's wing). While I found "Tide" to be a throwaway (short, and repeating some of "Wave's" thematic ideas), "Stone Flower" turned out to surpass even "Wave." It is darker, a bit moodier, a bit quieter and more complex...and a rewarding listen. (Astute listeners will find the title track was copped by Santana for his Caravanserai album.) Musically the album is a keeper. But sonically, this Speaker's Corner mastering is horrible. I do not know what they used for a source tape or in the mastering chain, but the entire album is plagued with some kind of compression. (Not brick-walled compression, though.) It suffers from a lot of "pumping and pulsing" in the volume level. Which is a shame since the record itself is pressed flat and quiet. Avoid this and get the ORG pressing for a few dollars more.


Antonio Carlos Jobim - Stone Flower Product No: AORM 47141-45
Available: In Stock
Category: 45 RPM Vinyl Record
Label: ORG Music

An underrated Jobim gem

5 Stars
Posted 10 days ago by Rudy (at Record Collector Guide)

I only discovered this album just over a dozen years ago, having already known his other two CTi albums "Wave" and "Tide" (back from CTi's years under A&M's wing). While I found "Tide" to be a throwaway (short, and repeating some of "Wave's" thematic ideas), "Stone Flower" turned out to surpass even "Wave." It is darker, a bit moodier, a bit quieter and more complex...and a rewarding listen. (Astute listeners will find the title track was copped by Santana for his Caravanserai album.) I first owned this on CD, and then came across the horribly mastered Speaker's Corner edition before I discovered the ORG pressing. This one is the keeper. This is a typically muddy CTi Van Gelder recording, and this vinyl mastering (by Bernie Grundman) opens up the sonics and reveals some of what is hidden in the murk. As with the other ORG records in my collection, this one is pressed flawlessly. This is a must-have if you are a fan of Jobim and especially of this


Rosemary Clooney & Perez Prado - A Touch Of Tabasco Product No: AORG 132-45
Available: In Stock
Category: 45 RPM Vinyl Record
Label: ORG - Original Recordings Group

Fun!

5 Stars
Posted 10 days ago by Rudy (at Record Collector Guide)

As a longtime fan of Prado, I did not imagine a pairing with Rosemary Clooney might work out so well. Would Prado's sometimes overbearing orchestra (and oversized ego) get in the way? Thankfully not. The resulting album turns into a mambo- fueled workout for both Clooney and Prado. Their version of "Corazon de Melon" was a major hit in South America, and the rest of the recording is no less a delight. Prado's ace lineup of well known West Coast studio musicians plays like the well-oiled unit that it was. The sonics are typical RCA Living Stereo--clean, clear and well-separated. The 45RPM mastering of this beautifully ORG pressing is essential, given the biting, clustered brass lines and bright percussion, keeping the mids clear for Clooney's voice. While there are other Prado LPs I might have picked for remastering, this one is a pleasant surprise. Grab it if you are a fan of either artist!


Miles Davis - Someday My Prince Will Come Product No: XAPJ8456D64
Available: In Stock
Category: DSD (Single Rate) 2.8MHz/64fs Download
Label: Analogue Productions

A case could be made for this sounding better than KOB

5 Stars
Posted 10 days ago by AS

This album is recorded very upfront and louder and more in your face than Kind of Blue. Jimmy Cobb's drumming is superb and you can really hear his stickwork and the nuances of his cymbal playing on this recording.

Kind of Blue is an impressionistic watercolor painting compared to Someday My Prince Will Come which is a well lit photo taken with a large format camera.

The tunes are excellent and the playing is tight.

From an audiophile perspective, this is one of the best sounding Miles Davis records. I've owned the 45 rpm version and the Japanese "orange square" pressing and the DSD captures the analogue warmth and detail.

Preview the title track and you will hear my point.


The Beach Boys - Little Deuce Coupe Product No: XAPP061D64
Available: In Stock
Category: DSD (Single Rate) 2.8MHz/64fs Download
Label: Analogue Productions

Very Good

4 Stars
Posted 10 days ago by Anonymous

This isn't going to have the "punch" of a recent high quality DSD recording but I can't imagine a Beach Boys recording sounding better than this.


Roy Orbison - In Dreams Product No: XAPP337626D64
Available: In Stock
Category: DSD (Single Rate) 2.8MHz/64fs Download
Label: Legacy

Just OK

3 Stars
Posted 10 days ago by Anonymous

This sounds somewhat washed out. Maybe the tapes have faded over the years or the recording equipment quality wasn't there back then. I'm comparing this recording to my ripped CD.


The Cars - Heartbeat City Product No: XWAR879045F192
Available: In Stock
Category: FLAC 192kHz/24bit Download
Label: Rhino/Elektra

A hi-def "Hit"

5 Stars
Posted 10 days ago by Anonymous

In the world of hi-def hits (crisp, clean, depth) and misses (washed out and flat) this is a hit. This is second only to the DSD Thriller for my mainstream pop rock downloads though I'm judging from a field of less than a dozen in that category.


Love - Forever Changes

Numbered Limited Edition
Love - Forever Changes Product No: AMOB 402-45
Available: In Stock
Category: 45 RPM Vinyl Record
Label: Mobile Fidelity

Love LOVE.

5 Stars
Posted 12 days ago by SS

This is the best vinyl release of this classic 1967 album that I have ever heard. If you love records and LOVE then don't wait and order it today!


Stevie Ray Vaughan & Double Trouble - Soul To Soul Product No: ASUN 5305
Available: In Stock
Category: Vinyl Record
Label: Sundazed

Lazy Quality For A Well Deserved Artist

1 Stars
Posted 12 days ago by Tim Graley

All of my SRV albums, with the exception of Soul To Soul, are the best quality with an album that is crystal clear. However, Sundazed Productions is the poorest representation I have seen.

When you pick up any album, you can feel and see a good quality album and vinyl. Sundazed took the lazy route by spending money on a cheap album cover.

The vinyl is ok, but it's not even close to Analogue Production's standards due to surface noise. Sundazed did not try, they failed where any other production company would put forth the effort to provide the best quality for the money spent.

Thank you Chad and Analogue Productions for finally releasing Soul To Soul, In Step, Family Style, and The Sky Is Crying. These are the albums I have been waiting years to purchase.


Bob Dylan - Highway 61 Revisited

Numbered Limited Edition
Bob Dylan - Highway 61 Revisited Product No: AMOB 422
Available: In Stock
Category: 45 RPM Vinyl Record
Label: Mobile Fidelity

Best analogue version of this LP

5 Stars
Posted 13 days ago by Frank

Absolutely stunning release again from mofi. Beautiful bass organs just like you had dylan in your front room . Just one tip this lps need to be broken into make sure you clean before use beautiful playback just buy


Piazzolla/Romero/Passarella - I Musici Confluencia Product No: AFON 087
Available: In Stock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Fone

Very Disappointing

2 Stars
Posted 13 days ago by Jerome

This was my first purchase from Fone and it will be my last. The problems began from the moment the stylus dropped into the run-in groove. This is a noisy record with lots of pops and clicks. And since most of side one is filled with relatively quiet violin passages this really was insufferable. Equally insufferable was the music itself. In a word it was boring. Slow-paced violin noodling that doesn't really say anything of interest musically is how I would describe side 1. I was so bored to tears and discouraged by the poor quality pressing that I never even made it to side two. I am not familiar with these composers and made my buying decision solely on the video about this release, which I thought sounded interesting and engaging. Maybe that is on side 2. But even if it is, I expected a lot more for the relatively high price of this release.



Viewing 1 - 20 of 5699 Products