Found 2486 product(s) in

Product Reviews

Results Per Page
Viewing 1 - 20 of 2486 Products
Rick Wakeman - Six Wives Of Henry VIII Product No: CMER 62383
Available: InStock
Category: DVD & CD
Label: Mercury

Needle drop source!

3 Stars
Posted 9 days ago by Nedo

The Quadraphonic portion of this release is sourced from an SQ needle drop.


Sonny Clark - Cool Struttin' Product No: AMMJ 81588
Available: LimitedStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Music Matters (Blue Note)

5 Stars
Posted by Anonymous


Herbie Hancock - Thrust Product No: CAFZ 223 SA
Available: LimitedStock
Category: Hybrid Multichannel SACD
Label: Audio Fidelity

Awesome

5 Stars
Posted 20 days ago by Anonymous

Great release of a great album


Sarah Jarosz - Undercurrent Product No: ASUG 39113
Available: InStock
Category: Vinyl Record
Label: Sugar Hill Records

Superlative

5 Stars
Posted 29 days ago by Mike

Young genius at work. Song writing and musicianship are nothing short of wonderful. Brilliant production offers sublime sound.


Amanda Martinez - Amor Product No: XNAX306676F352
Available: InStock
Category: FLAC 352kHz/24bit DXD Download
Label: 2xHD

Essential For Any High Def Collection

5 Stars
Posted 29 days ago by Jon

Listen to the clips and if they even remotely interest you then you absolutely won't be disappointed with this album's sound. It is precise, all encompassing, and makes for a very lively and fun experience. I purchased the DSD version previously and it was excellent. I've found the DXD format to be superior so I re-purchased it in DXD and it takes the album to a whole new level!


Tom Waits And Crystal Gayle - One From The Heart Product No: AMOB 448
Available: InStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Mobile Fidelity

excellent recording

5 Stars
Posted 1 month ago by Anonymous

clearly one of the best recorded Tom Waits records. a "Super LP" n the list of great ups from The Absolute Sound. Deserved. nice contrast between the two voices.


London Grammar - If You Wait Product No: ACOL 39921
Available: InStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Columbia

STUNNING RECORDING

5 Stars
Posted 1 month ago by Anonymous

wow what can i say - stunning recording. first heard it at RMAF in Denver. depth, dark background, deep bass. On The Absolute Sound's Super LP List - which is rare for newer bands. Recommended.


The Who - Who's Next Product No: XUNI46006F96
Available: InStock
Category: FLAC 96kHz/24bit Download
Label: Geffen

Mixed badly

1 Stars
Posted 1 month ago by Grant

See the reviews of the non-deluxe edition; the same applies here. Mixed badly – uncompelling, dull, flat sound. Certain important instruments are barely there.


Slim Harpo - The Original King Bee Product No: AAPB 114
Available: InStock
Category: 200 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Analogue Productions

Baby, Scratch My Back....

5 Stars
Posted 1 month ago by Chris O.

Yeah...This LP is the real deal....Slim Harpo's classic tracks done up right by AP and pressed by Quality Record Pressing....Flat, quiet vinyl, and sound as good as these tracks can possibly sound. Are you a fan of The Stones Exile on Main Street? Real, subtle blues and/or just great music? GET THIS LP and enjoy....


Gerry Mulligan & Ben Webster - Gerry Mulligan Meets Ben Webster Product No: AVRJ 6104
Available: InStock
Category: 200 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Analogue Productions (Verve)

Outstanding!

5 Stars
Posted 1 month ago by Anonymous

Two greats! Recording is RVG good! You will not be disappointed. QRP is the best, dead quiet, top notch quality pressing and jacket!


Fleetwood Mac - Peter Green's Fleetwood Mac Product No: AMOV 339
Available: BackOrdered
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Music On Vinyl

pressing is good, but not the source

5 Stars
Posted by JE WARD

the pressing is good, but not the source, the high res digital audio files 96 KHZ / 24 BIT of the original masters (Epic / Sony Music Entertainment)


Queen - Greatest Hits I Product No: AHOL 49501
Available: InStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Hollywood

Outstanding quality

5 Stars
Posted by Anil

Queen never sounded so good on vinyl. Bohemian Rhapsody was surreal. Highly recommended.


Billy Squier - Don't Say No Product No: CITV 07 SA
Available: InStock
Category: Hybrid Stereo SACD
Label: Intervention Records

Great sound

5 Stars
Posted by Larry

Anything that Kevin Gray masters sounds fantastic. He's the best.


VPI - RCM Vacuum Tubes/ 33 RPM M0025 Product No: S VPI 33 TUBE
Available: InStock
Category: Accessories for Record Cleaning Machines
Label: Equipment

THE TUBES ARE PERFECTLY FINE...

5 Stars
Posted by Cris Yarborough

I don't know why people are complaining about the life of the tubes. I bought my 16.5 back in 2006 and still have the same tubes (I bought a total of 4 initially. I have changed the felt on them but they tubes have never broken or failed in any way. I rinse the tubes after each cleaning. If the record is a dirty thrift store find, I use a two tube method. One for initial debris, mold etc removal with a green dishwashing soap and distilled water mix. Next I use a different tube with Disc Doctor's Miracle Record Cleaner. Then a distilled water rinse. I can't imagine how people are breaking their tubes. Here is a YouTube video of what I do:

https://youtu.be/aCIVuy8KTAU


Chet Atkins - Chet Atkins' Workshop Product No: AMHA 8064
Available: InStock
Category: Vinyl Record
Label: Modern Harmonic

What a shame!

2 Stars
Posted by Coventrykid

Five stars for the sound but, what were they thinking? Modern Harmonic/Sundazed appear to have used the wrong tape! The lead guitar parts would seem to be those Chet recorded first as demos to guide his backing musicians. He likely then took this tape home to record more polished versions of his leads for the final release. Some of the tracks are virtually indistinguishable (e.g. "Tammy"), others are only slightly different (e.g. "Lullaby of Birdland"), but a few are decidedly inferior (e.g. "Lambeth Walk"). Interesting as a source of "alternate takes", but it's not the album I've known & loved since 1961 (and I have 3 copies, UK mono LP, US stereo LP, and CD). It's a decided shock when you hear this record for the first time if you already have a copy!


case/lang/veirs - Self-Titled Product No: AANT 87473
Available: InStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Anti

Great music/rough pressing

3 Stars
Posted by Anonymous

This record is full of 5 star worthy great music, but the copy I have is full of "pops" and "ticks" Zerostat made no difference and VPI record cleaner improved it only marginally. Played it on a few different decks with same results. It's too bad; the play quality of this record really distracts from the beautiful music.


Michael Jackson - Bad Product No: XSON32827F96
Available: InStock
Category: FLAC 96kHz/24bit Download
Label: Epic/Legacy

Fake 96 Khz

4 Stars
Posted by Anonymous

Look at the spectrogramme and we can see lost frequency after 48 khz. So it is a True 48 khz - 24 bits version with a HiRes quality.

It's from Remastered edition with a Dynamic Range of 8 db.


Marvin Gaye - Let's Get It On Product No: CMOT 6846
Available: InStock
Category: Blu-ray Audio
Label: Motown

Good, but not great

4 Stars
Posted by Anonymous

This is a review, for now only about the stereo mix - I have not listened to the multi-channel mix yet.

This sounds good, but not great for the Blu Ray Audio format. It is not on the quality level of Songs in the Key of Life, or Bob Marley's Legend Blu Ray releases as an example. It sounds good, but the release does not have the same depth and separation. It is not clear to me whether this release or the SACD would be better as I haven't done an A/B on those two versions.


The Who - Who's Next Product No: CPLJ 9596 SA
Available: InStock
Category: SHM Single Layer SACDs
Label: Polydor

Great album, not a great SACD

4 Stars
Posted by Anonymous

The Who is my favorite rock band, and this is perhaps their greatest studio album (excepting Live at Leeds which is stunning).

The music here is great. If you don't have this album in a format you love already, then this SACD is worth considering.

The problem with this SHM-SACD is similar to about 70% of the other SHM-SACD releases I've purchased. It just sounds flat. This is not what this album sounds like. It is The Who at their most explosive. Even the video of the recording of Baba O'Reily on "The Kids are Alright" Blu Ray sounds better than this. It is almost as if there is a level of compression here that holds the sound back from it's normal impact. The Dynamic Range Database puts this SACD at between 9 (not great) and 11 (also not great.) There are recordings of The Who from earlier years such as Tommy and Quadrophonia, which both sound better. Anyway, this is a great album, but the sound of this SACD is less than optimal.


John Lennon and Yoko Ono - Double Fantasy Product No: CGEJ 9650 SA
Available: InStock
Category: SHM Single Layer SACDs
Label: Geffen

Very good sounding SACD of this album

4 Stars
Posted by Anonymous

This SACD is likely as good as this album will ever sound. If you, like me have a personal affinity for this recording it is worth owning in this release The recording itself does not sound to be of the very highest quality, such as what you will hear on some SACDs. But it sounds dramatically better than the Imagine SACD release by SHM. Of the John Lennon songs, "I'm Losing You" sounds the best. Songs like "(Just Like) Starting Over" and "Watching the Wheels" suffer a bit in terms of audio quality because of the heavier production and Lennon's love of effects on his voice.

Yoko Ono continues to be absolutely horrible, perhaps the worst thing I've ever heard in the field referred to as "music" which is a questionable term in the context of her performances. Just awful. But, if you want to hear horrible singing in high resolution, this is is probably your new reference disc...



Viewing 1 - 20 of 2486 Products