Found 39 product(s) in the

Vinyl Record

category in the

R&B/Soul Music

genre in

Product Reviews

Results Per Page
Viewing 1 - 20 of 39 Products
Dr. John - Dr. John's Gumbo Product No: AAPP 093
Available: InStock
Category: 200 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Analogue Productions

Excellent!

5 Stars
Posted Friday, September 11, 2020 by Jon Excellent sounding album. Drums and bass sound incredible and the vinyl is completely flat and dead silent. Couldn’t ask for better.


Ann Peebles - Straight From The Heart Product No: AHIR 32065
Available: BackOrdered
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Speakers Corner (Hi)

Great

5 Stars
Posted Friday, August 7, 2020 by Garz This record is so much fun. A nearly perfect product from Speaker’s Corner. Only improvement that I would prefer is a gatefold (which was probably not true of the original). Recommended highly


Marvin Gaye - Every Great Motown Hit Of Marvin Gaye: 15 Spectacular Performances Product No: AMOT 49701
Available: InStock
Category: Vinyl Record
Label: Motown

Horrible

1 Stars
Posted Tuesday, July 21, 2020 by Anonymous Don't waste your $. Terrible quality and sound. Ktel sound. Very disappointed.


Quincy Jones - Body Heat Product No: ALMLR 782937
Available: InStock
Category: 140 / 150 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: LMLR

Flawed pressing

3 Stars
Posted Thursday, July 2, 2020 by Anonymous Great music and fidelity, but listening experience weakened by several hitches in the giddyup: both sides had several stylus stick points.


The Isley Brothers - The Heat Is On Product No: ACOL 33536
Available: InStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Speakers Corner (Columbia)

Great sound

5 Stars
Posted Friday, October 11, 2019 by Anonymous Compared this to CD release Sony Legacy 2001, this LP sounds smoother.The cymbals not as harsh and bright also Ernie's guitar sounds nice and smooth.

Also compared to original LP release. This new release has a bit more volume but not over done. There is more detail in the music. Cymbals are more present along with other instruments but at the perfect mix.


Vanessa Fernandez - Use Me Product No: AGRN 1050-45
Available: InStock
Category: 45 RPM Vinyl Record
Label: Groove Note

5 Stars
Posted Tuesday, March 5, 2019 by Anthony This is a very good "audiophile quality" recording. The vinyl is perfectly flat and quiet, the music is dynamic, the song choices both listenable and enjoyable. Vanessa has a distinct voice and delivery and sprinkled within is her own brand of soulfulness that could be described as perpendicular to, rather than parallel to the music. (The pimped-out Cadillacs had diamond shaped rear windows, not "diamondS in the back".) Overall, a successful endeavor.


Aretha Franklin - The Atlantic Singles Collection 1967-1970 Product No: AATL 571351
Available: InStock
Category: Vinyl Record
Label: Atlantic

PUNCHY MONO BASS

5 Stars
Posted Saturday, September 29, 2018 by Anonymous Both LPs are flat and quiet. I’m not sure if this is all analog although it sounds like it. This mono remaster is superb and bass has plenty of punch but no distortion.


Stevie Wonder - The Original Musiquarium I Product No: AMOT 36101
Available: InStock
Category: Vinyl Record
Label: Motown

Terrible sound

2 Stars
Posted Tuesday, September 12, 2017 by Anonymous Sounds very thin and compressed. Why would anyone remaster something as badly as this and believe it was acceptable?

2 stars is a gift, put a minus in front for my true rating. stick to a used copy until it is done correctly.


Otis Redding - Otis Blue Product No: AAPP 095-45
Available: InStock
Category: 45 RPM Vinyl Record
Label: Analogue Productions

Otis at his best!

5 Stars
Posted Tuesday, June 21, 2016 by Jonathan Tinn This Otis Redding album has one hit after another. I can't get enough of this.

Great pressing, great performance, great musician!


Funkadelic - America Eats Its Young Product No: A4MB 1791
Available: LimitedStock
Category: Vinyl Record
Label: 4 Men with Beards

Grammar?

5 Stars
Posted Thursday, October 29, 2015 by Anonymous Why do you guys add an apostrophe to the word 'its' in the title of this album?


Ray Charles - The Genius of Ray Charles Product No: AATL 1312
Available: LimitedStock
Category: Vinyl Record
Label: Atlantic

Incredible let down

1 Stars
Posted Wednesday, August 19, 2015 by DeRosa Let me start by saying I am a huge fan of the Rhino re-issue program, I have many satisfying records by these fine folks, but this just isn't one of them. It's horrible. I had to look up some other references to find out why this classic record sounds so awful and distorted, and came across Steve Hoffman's comments on his challenges of remastering this great music. The overload and distortion is on the original tapes. Envision meters pegged into the red. Ray's voice frequently distorts, you'll keep turning the volume down, it sounds like your speakers are blown. There is no getting around the fact it's just the way it is. I'd skip this one, even at a low price it only make it more maddening these great performances sound terrible on this record.


Bill Withers - Just As I Am Product No: ASUS 7006
Available: InStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Speakers Corner (Sussex)

Great Album / Good Remaster

4 Stars
Posted Friday, August 14, 2015 by TheSturt This is a great album and the remaster was as expected. Just plain ole good music to listen to and vinyl that was done with care. You won't go wrong by adding this to your collection.


Leon Bridges - Coming Home Product No: ACOL 91419
Available: InStock
Category: Vinyl Record
Label: Columbia

Great Soul Debut

4 Stars
Posted Tuesday, July 21, 2015 by audiofan It's amusing to see this listed as an "alternative" music selection; this is mid-60s soul all the way, like Sam & Otis used to make. The vinyl is quite well-done - there were no noise problems or defects with my copy. The mix is (purposefully) reminiscent of the era mined by the music - it has one foot in the past (and I mean that in a positive way) but manages to sound both dynamic and 'analog' at the same time. A great new artist and a very decent pressing!


Ray Charles - The Great Ray Charles Product No: AATL 1259
Available: LimitedStock
Category: Vinyl Record
Label: Atlantic

The Rhino release 1259

5 Stars
Posted Thursday, September 4, 2014 by Anonymous I was turned on this this album by a forum member who swore it was black and smack in the face when things picked up. I removed the album from orig packaging and did use the RCM just brushed it and played. Quiet and well engineered I loved it so much I bought for a buddy to add to his collection. For the $ you cant beat this Ray Charles album it was just done right!


Sam Cooke - The Best Of Sam Cooke Product No: AAPP 2625-45
Available: InStock
Category: 45 RPM Vinyl Record
Label: Analogue Productions

4 Stars
Posted Tuesday, December 3, 2013 by Anonymous


The Meters - The Meters Product No: AJOS 4010H
Available: BackOrdered
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Josie

Funky!

4 Stars
Posted Wednesday, October 16, 2013 by Jeff C - Australia Being half the price of most LPs these days I had reserved expectations. However the pressing quality is pretty good and the sound is very acceptable and given that this old school instrumental funk is the bomb, I have to say this album is well worth getting. Perhaps an original pressing may sound better or worst but without anything to compare to, I have no complaints about the sound quality on this one.


Booker T. - Sound The Alarm Product No: ASTA 34492
Available: LimitedStock
Category: Vinyl Record
Label: Stax

not the high energy music of the originals

2 Stars
Posted Tuesday, September 3, 2013 by old and lonely Sonics and recording--couldn't be better.

Modern soul music--not for me unfortunately

If you are expecting high-energy music as found on the original albums, which I love, this one is not for you.


Earth, Wind & Fire - That's The Way Of The World Product No: AIMX 6015
Available: BackOrdered
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Impex

4 Stars
Posted Saturday, August 31, 2013 by Anonymous Ok, first of all I'm a big fan of the Impex re-issues. When I saw this offering I jumped on it, thinking of 70's nirvana. While waiting for it to arrive, I pulled out my original and after a playing knew they would have their hands full with this one. The re-issue is an improvement in every way, they even lightened the cover artwork. The record is dead flat and completely void of ticks and pops but lacks all those audiophile attributes. I have to wonder why they picked this album for their catalog. I am certain that Impex did their best with the source they had to work with, but if I had to do it again I would gladly pass on this one, but your opinion may be different though I think the better your system the more you will be disappointed. Crank up the volume and party on......


D'Angelo - Voodoo Product No: AMCR 902
Available: BackOrdered
Category: Vinyl Record
Label: Modern Classics Recordings

A missed opportunity

3 Stars
Posted Sunday, July 28, 2013 by Emmanuel If you're a big fan of this album like me you were probably overjoyed to see it on vinyl after it disappeared for such a long time. Having listened to this reissue several times, I am now convinced that what I've been listening to is a 96K/24bit high res transfer. The compressed sound that's coming from my speakers does not lie. That's why this is a missed opportunity. Unlike most records of the 2000s that are digitally produced, Voodoo was originally etched on analog tape, and cuz of that reason I feel the producers of this vinyl missed an opportunity to cut this reissue from the original master tape. It's not a bad record but there's a vast room for improvement. My advice to anyone interested is to get this because it's the only version available, and until Mofi or Analog Productions put out another version this will have to do.


Isaac Hayes - Black Moses Product No: A4MB 222
Available: LimitedStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: 4 Men with Beards

So much soul in these 2 records

5 Stars
Posted Monday, January 14, 2013 by Anonymous Listening to this album as I write this. Sounds absolutely incredible. Would Highly recommend to anyone who likes to put a record on and chill out.



Viewing 1 - 20 of 39 Products