Found 83 product(s) that are

Back Ordered

in the

Jazz Music

genre in

Product Reviews

Results Per Page
Viewing 1 - 20 of 83 Products
Bill Evans with Jim Hall - Undercurrent Product No: AJKP 107
Available: BackOrdered
Category: Vinyl Record
Label: Jackpot

Mission accomplished

5 Stars
Posted Friday, February 16, 2024 by William Taylor I had heard that the sonics of previous releases of this album were disappointing so I waited to purchase it----Kevin Gray did a fine job with this pressing. There is some surface noise on my copy, but it's tolerable, and most importantly, it sounds good. I'm pleased with my purchase.


Tsuyoshi Yamamoto Trio - Speak Low Product No: AVEN 0266
Available: BackOrdered
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Venus

Great Performance

5 Stars
Posted Sunday, January 7, 2024 by RS I love the Tsuyoshi Yamamoto Trio and this is of no surprise. Great performance, recording and very silent vinyl. Get this while you can. You will not be disappointed.


Jerome Sabbagh - Vintage Product No: ASSC 1698
Available: BackOrdered
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Sunnyside Communications

Slap me and call me Susan.

5 Stars
Posted Thursday, January 4, 2024 by Michael Renwick Excellent.

Music is great. Pressing is great. Gotta Groove does great work, QRP, RTI level pressing. The presentation of the instruments is great, sounds amazing. A must own imo. So happy this arrived today, flat and extremely quiet. Music is new but has an older vibe while being fresh. Top notch players. Looking forward to more from this group. Jazz is alive and well!


Kenny Wheeler - Gnu High Product No: AECM 4505346
Available: BackOrdered
Category: Vinyl Record
Label: ECM (Luminessence Series)

Something Old, Something Gnu

5 Stars
Posted Monday, June 5, 2023 by Dave A. Wow. ECM really kicked off their new series well with this set from 1975. The pressing is so clean - not a pop nor a tic. The sound has great instrument separation and a three dimensionality. It's a gas to hear these four legends bouncing off each others ideas, carrying on a exploratory musical dialogue. The packaging is uniquely first rate - the vinyl is not packed inside the sleeve, but rather in the center of the gatefold. I've gotten plenty of used lps this way but this is a first for a new record from the factory. I like it! I'm hoping this sets a trend. I will definitely be keeping my ear tuned to this series.


McCoy Tyner - Nights Of Ballads And Blues Product No: CIPJ 39 SA
Available: BackOrdered
Category: Hybrid Stereo SACD
Label: Analogue Productions (Impulse)

Very relaxing music

5 Stars
Posted Tuesday, March 14, 2023 by Andy Anderson Excellent sound you won’t be disappointed!


Dexter Gordon - Both Sides Of Midnight Product No: AORM 1062
Available: BackOrdered
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: ORG Music (Black Lion)

Just About Perfect

5 Stars
Posted Wednesday, October 26, 2022 by Brian VanPelt Quiet vinyl, good recording. Very happy with this. This is on par with those Tone Poet releases. Pallas pressing.

The music is very well recorded. Dexter's sax is sharply focused in the middle. The drums are incredibly well-captured, almost as if they have a space around them - their vividness is astonishing. The piano is in the right channel and sounds softened, like a Rudy van Gelder recording. The bass is deep, a little bloated and tubby, comes from somewhere in the back.

The music stretches from left to right nicely. Overall, this is a pretty stunning release. This has the quality of a Tone Poet, but for about $9 less. In fact, go and check out ORG music, as they have a lot of albums of this quality, from a variety of musicians - all priced like this album.


Rava/Fresu/Bollani/Pietropaoli/Gatto - Shades Of Chet Product No: AFON 127
Available: BackOrdered
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Fone

Great sounding

5 Stars
Posted Monday, September 19, 2022 by Anonymous very nice recording very three dimensional highly recommended


Bill Evans - You Must Believe In Spring Product No: ACONC 455
Available: BackOrdered
Category: 45 RPM Vinyl Record
Label: Concord Craft Recordings

4 Great Sides of Bill Evans - $40= No Brainer

5 Stars
Posted Wednesday, June 8, 2022 by Anonymous Yes....Just sat down and listened to all 4 sides of this gem today. Like many, I have been digging the original WB pressing mastered by Doug Sax for many years, it's a classic for both sound and music. Flat and quiet pressing and this new 45 rpm version is clearer and both the bass and piano both sound more natural to my ears on my system. At $40 this is a Solid-Gold-Blue-Chip release, kids. Don't even THINK about complaining that Side 4 has only 1 song...It's the Theme from M*A*S*H* (aka Suicide Is Painless) and it's 5 min and change of the most beautiful sound you'll ever hear...Yeah...buy this now...


Charles Mingus - Tijuana Moods Product No: CORG 0174 SA
Available: BackOrdered
Category: Hybrid Stereo SACD
Label: ORG - Original Recordings Group

3 Stars
Posted Thursday, March 3, 2022 by Anonymous


Hank Mobley - Soul Station Product No: CBLJ 9022 SA
Available: BackOrdered
Category: SHM Single Layer SACDs
Label: Blue Note

Sounds Excellent

5 Stars
Posted Saturday, February 12, 2022 by Brian VanPelt I didn't detect any tape hiss, and all of the instruments sound lively and vivid. The recording is excellent.

When Hank Mobley solos alone, I can detect a slight echo to his sax - he appears on the left. The piano is in the middle and the drums are on the left. Each instrument is loud enough to hear clearly, but not so loud as to drown out the others.

I have the Classic Vinyl Reissue of this same album, and I like this quite a bit better. The vinyl version features some tape distortion when Mobley hits loud high notes; while this SACD features no distortion at all. Not only that, this SACD sounds transparent to the analog source. The sound is very focused and sharp. There are times when you can hear Mobley yelp as he's getting into the music.

The soundstage stretches from the left speaker to the right speaker, and it feels like the piano is placed further back, but in the middle.

This is just fantastic. I give it a 5+.


Curtis Amy and Dupree Bolton - Katanga Product No: ABLU 87701
Available: BackOrdered
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Blue Note (Tone Poet)

5 Stars
Posted Monday, October 11, 2021 by Anonymous


Elvin Jones Jazz Machine - At Onkel PO's Carnegie Hall Hamburg 1981 Product No: AJZLI 78041
Available: BackOrdered
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Jazzline/PO

Great album for the Elvin Jones fan!

5 Stars
Posted Wednesday, August 18, 2021 by Kenny I was privileged to see Elvin and the Jazz Machine live at Yoshi's in Oakland, CA back in 1999. I was sitting no farther than 30 feet from his bass drum; his playing felt like THUNDER! I bought this live album to recreate the memories I had of the concert I attended. Great album. Vinyl sounds great. No issues. Fast delivery from Acoustic Sounds. WARNING: the longest track is over 30 minutes!


Gil Evans - New Bottle, Old Wine Product No: ABLU 47301
Available: BackOrdered
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Blue Note (Tone Poet)

Very Dynamic

5 Stars
Posted Wednesday, June 9, 2021 by Brian VanPelt This Gil Evans records are cut very loud. The very first sound is a blasting horn, which will wake you right up. From that point on, the pace move briskly.

The sense of space was wonderful. You really feel like you are sitting amongst a group of musicians, except it's not an intimate venue. This band is big and encompasses, completely, the space from left-to-right between your speakers. The sharpness of the instruments is fantastic. Every instrument is completely sharp and hyper-dynamic. I don't know if I've ever heard a record this dynamic before. When the horns all play at once, they will knock you out of your seat. Each instrument is easy to point out in space, and there are a lot of instruments.

Several instruments get a chance to solo, but I don't remember which, other than the guitar. There are so many instruments that I lost track. This is the second Gil Evans record (after Out of the Cool) that featured tunes that just throw in everything at you,


Paul Chambers - Bass On Top Product No: ABLU 25901
Available: BackOrdered
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Blue Note (Tone Poet)

Standard Tone Poet Quality

5 Stars
Posted Tuesday, June 8, 2021 by Brian VanPelt It's nice to sit back and relax to a record for the first time, and genuinely not worry about surface noise. It's a freeing experience, like when I was a kid and put on a record for the first time. As usual for the Tone Poet series, there is little if any surface noise.

The setup has the bass player prominently on the right with the drums. Piano is in the middle, but a little further back. Finally, the electric guitar is on the left. Each instrument is afforded time to shine, and in most tunes that's the bass and the guitar, although one tune had a piano solo, and another tune had a drum solo.

The sound is softened, probably because the tape is old (1957), but much has been done with the tape. I suspect high frequencies needed to be trimmed a little, some of the higher frequencies might be a little muted. This has an older, tube-like sound to it.

By the way, the guitar solos are nothing short of stunning. Grade 4.5


Hank Mobley - Soul Station Product No: ABLU 746554
Available: BackOrdered
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Blue Note/Blue Note Classic Vinyl Series

great quality at a good price

5 Stars
Posted Tuesday, June 8, 2021 by bobby this classic series is a must have ,, for 25 bucks you get a AAA record cut by kevin gray and pressed in germany,,,,you cant do much better than this,,grab while you can because when these go Out of Print,the cost will rise...


McCoy Tyner - Tender Moments Product No: ABLU 11001
Available: BackOrdered
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Blue Note (Tone Poet)

Separation of instruments

5 Stars
Posted Thursday, June 3, 2021 by Brian VanPelt By now, I have come to trust that these Tone Poet records are essentially flawless from a sonic perspective. This record did have some strange scuff marks like I see regularly on the Series 80 reissues, but none of those marks had any sonic effect.

This album has a wonderful dynamic range - another hallmark of this Tone Poet series. When the band kicks into full gear, it is potent, but you can still pinpoint and name every instrument if you try. I just laid back and let it hammer me. Everything is so clear, and the vinyl so quiet, you can really just relax and enjoy without the fear of annoying surface noise.

This album occasionally just explodes forth from the speakers. Mr. Tyner apparently didn't mind having sudden bursts of all 9 players going at once. Every instrument sounds completely natural.

I wish somebody like Deutsche Grammaphon would undertake a Tone Poet - like series of classical records - they are literally as quiet as any records I've ever owned.


Dexter Gordon - One Flight Up Product No: ABLU 87101
Available: BackOrdered
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Blue Note (Tone Poet)

Almost perfect. Wow.

5 Stars
Posted Thursday, May 20, 2021 by Brian VanPelt I'll try to contain the hyperbole. On the entire album, I heard 2 light clicks - other than that, dead black silence. The instruments were as lifelike as anything I've ever heard. The detail and resolution were astonishing. You could hear even the lightest cymbal tap. The sax's and horns are shocking when they first come on. No tape distortion at all.

Generally speaking, there was a sax and bass on the left, and on the right you had the piano, drums and either a sax or a horn. Each instrument was clearly defined in its space. There really wasn't any center fill at all. The last tune featured a freaky gimmick wherein the horn on the right side went from ground level to the rafters, and then back down again. When he's up in the rafters, you definitely need to be in the sweet spot to enjoy.

I want to make special note to the drums. The way this guy pounds on the drums could be visceral and jarring if need be - nowhere have I heard a drum so potent. This record is cut hot. 5+


Eric Dolphy - Out To Lunch Product No: CBLJ 9020 SA
Available: BackOrdered
Category: SHM Single Layer SACDs
Label: Blue Note

Wow!

5 Stars
Posted Sunday, May 9, 2021 by E. Smith If you like abstract music, this is a must have. First the recording quality is absolutely outstanding on this sacd. The composition and performance are nothing short of amazing. This is a jazz masterpiece. Truly unparalleled. The first track “hat and beard” took my breath away. Dolphy was without a doubt a musical genius. I bought this knowing nothing about him and now I can’t get enough. Thank you acoustic sounds, without you I would never have found this gem.


Chet Baker - It Could Happen To You Product No: ACONC 357
Available: BackOrdered
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Concord Craft Recordings

Unique and warm and soft. Relaxing

4 Stars
Posted Saturday, April 10, 2021 by Anonymous Relaxing music. Interesting unique voice. I appreciate Craft for offering this selection. The cover is solid + anti static inner sleeve and is a step up from the flimsy Blue Note Classic Series covers that come with a paper inner. My pressing is mostly flat and with minimal defects and quiet. Looks quality. Happy bout this. The sound on my system when compared to others comes across on the warmer side, smooth, and soft, lacking a measure of bite and snap, sparkle. The trumpet sound imaging and projection is pretty good. Chet’s voice is a bit soft on the edges and has a measure of being muffled at times but does form a center position well. I have a number vocal-driven recordings from the ‘50s and early ‘60s original LP and those are remarkably clear, realistic. The sound on this has some air but IMO is a little 2 dimensional. I don’t know if all these are because of the master tape, the mastering or both as I don’t have another copy for comparison. Overall, enjoyable


Ben Webster Quintet - Soulville Product No: CVRJ 8274 SA
Available: BackOrdered
Category: Hybrid Mono SACD
Label: Analogue Productions (Verve)

5 Stars
Posted Tuesday, December 15, 2020 by Anonymous



Viewing 1 - 20 of 83 Products