Carriers are reporting longer-than-normal shipping times. Acoustic Sounds is not responsible for in-transit delays.

Found 351 product(s) in the

Vinyl Record

category in the

Jazz Music

genre in

Product Reviews

Results Per Page
Viewing 1 - 20 of 351 Products
Bill Evans - Trio '64 Product No: AVER 12301
Available: InStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Verve (Acoustic Sounds Series)

Don't hesitate!

5 Stars
Posted Tuesday, September 7, 2021 by Grateful I can't say that I was familiar with this particular title when I ordered it so wasn't sure what to expect. But after receiving it and listening to it multiple times I wanted to take the time to give it a very enthusiastic recommendation. Wonderful sound, excellent soundstage, daed quiet vinyl, beautiful cover. If you were on the fence about purchasing this I would encourage you to buy with confidence. It takes a lot of love, sweat and dedication from everyone involved to produce products of this quality and I am so thankful for these luxuries. I have been gushing about Acoustic Sounds from the beginning and I thank them for never giving me a reason not to. This is a fabulous time for those who love music and exceptional sound quality. I hope that everyone is enjoying this ride as much as I am.

Heartfelt thanks to all!


Wes Montgomery - Back On Indiana Avenue: The Carroll DeCamp Recordings Product No: ARES 9036
Available: InStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Resonance Records

Great music, wildly uneven quality

3 Stars
Posted Sunday, September 5, 2021 by Matt This is a tough one to review. If you like this style of guitar jazz (I do), it’s great. But I keep getting up to check out my stylus— it’s fine. Some tracks are sonically very good, while others are muted and muffled. I put on another record and it’s fine, I go back to this one and the same thing happens.

These were recorded at different times and places so maybe some of the recording engineers weren’t so good, or Bernie had an intern doing some of these tracks. This is the only record I have that’s so sonically inconsistent.


Grant Green - Idle Moments Product No: ABLU 3579910
Available: InStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Blue Note/Blue Note Classic Vinyl Series

Better pressing

5 Stars
Posted Saturday, September 4, 2021 by Mark No need to review the music on this album because it is very good.Its the far superior pressing of this reissue then the previous reissue, not necessarily the mastering but the sound and quieter vinyl and quality is outstanding.


Isao Suzuki Trio - Blow Up Product No: AIMX 15-45
Available: BackOrdered
Category: 45 RPM Vinyl Record
Label: Impex

simply amazing

5 Stars
Posted Thursday, September 2, 2021 by Juan This has got to be the most amazing sounding record I've got, it is miles and miles ahead of everything I've got, the quality of the pressing is simply outstanding, plus the printing of the sleeve and the outer record sleeve, which by the way would love to buy aparte for my other records, complete a much better package compared to my MOFI Kind of Blue which came scratched, I now want more impel records.


Art Blakey & The Jazz Messengers - Keystone 3 Product No: APUR 008
Available: LimitedStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Pure Audiophile

Magnificent

5 Stars
Posted Monday, August 30, 2021 by Brian VanPelt The record is so clear and detailed, that I'm not sure I know of another album that sounds better on vinyl. You can hear every, single, last, itty bitty detail. There is almost no surface noise other than light clicks every so often. Additionally, the sound is so open, you feel like you are part of the audience - a la Sunday at the Village Vanguard.

I am going to compare this to a Tone Poet album to help understand. While I absolutely love the Tone Poet series, on this album the piano sounds more realistic, the drums are right in the middle and every tap is brilliantly rendered. The horns and everything else is as sharp as anything I've heard anywhere.

I am surprised this album is not sold out. I was able to get my copy for $50. You get 2 red, translucent records. The performance is great, with a lot of energy and drive, with some ballads thrown in as well. My records both looked perfect. The openness, detail and vibrancy remind me of those Chesky recordi


Chet Baker - Cool Cat Product No: ATWM 71
Available: PreOrder
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Tidal Waves Music

Poor pressing

3 Stars
Posted Sunday, August 15, 2021 by Anonymous Great music, great sound quality. Unfortunately also with a lot of pops and clicks. Poor pressing


Diana Krall - The Girl In The Other Room Product No: AVER 76923
Available: InStock
Category: Vinyl Record
Label: Verve

Excellent!

5 Stars
Posted Tuesday, August 10, 2021 by elementsig A very nice and quiet pressing enhances the beautiful music on this album.


Diana Krall - From This Moment On Product No: AVER 76893
Available: InStock
Category: Vinyl Record
Label: Verve

Worth it!

5 Stars
Posted Tuesday, August 10, 2021 by elementsig Very good pressing on double LP. Superb SQ!


The Count Basie Orchestra - High Voltage Product No: AMPS 211545
Available: InStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: MPS

I love this album

5 Stars
Posted Saturday, August 7, 2021 by Big-J This is the only Basie album I have (I will be looking for more). I picked this up for the great price and a friend recommended it. First, the vinyl is flat and silent. Second, the songs are engaging and well recorded. It is just a fun album that sounds awesome! Since it arrived a week or so ago, I have played it about 10 times. I highly recommend it.


Sonny Clark - Cool Struttin' Product No: ABLU 3579170
Available: InStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Blue Note/Blue Note Classic Vinyl Series

5 Stars
Posted Monday, July 26, 2021 by Anonymous


Dexter Gordon - Go! Product No: ABLU 3579907
Available: InStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Blue Note/Blue Note Classic Vinyl Series

Clean and very dynamic

5 Stars
Posted Thursday, July 22, 2021 by Brian VanPelt There was only one instance where I heard a light pop. Other than that, there was no surface noise. The record was cut loudly and it was easy to hear all of the instruments in their own space. If this album is representative of the Classic Reissue Series, then you can expect a lot from this series. Essentially, the quality of this album is a Tone Poet release, but without the fancy jacket, or the nice vinyl sleeves. Instead, you get a simple cardboard outer jacket and a paper inner sleeve with some sort of plastic lining glued to the insides.

Since I don't care about the outer jacket, this is perfect for me. The vinyl was almost perfectly quiet - and you can tell just by looking at it that it would be quiet - the surface looks super smooth. Furthermore, the record is 180 g, but it somehow felt more sturdy than that.

If this record is representative of the series, then I will try to buy every one of these records. Here, you get Tone Poet records, and they are


Freddie Hubbard - The Hub Of Hubbard Product No: AMPS 210991
Available: InStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: MPS

Highly Recommend

5 Stars
Posted Friday, July 16, 2021 by Sam AAA and pressed at Optimal. Decent quality gatefold. Highly recommended, especially for the price.


Oliver Nelson - Blues And The Abstract Truth Product No: AIMP 42801
Available: InStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Impulse (Acoustic Sounds Series)

5 Stars
Posted Saturday, July 3, 2021 by Anonymous


Bill Evans Trio - On A Friday Evening Product No: ACONC 301
Available: BackOrdered
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Concord Craft Recordings

Fantastic!

5 Stars
Posted Thursday, July 1, 2021 by Anonymous This is one great live performance! Very good recording as well as a flat quiet pressing. It’s been on my turntable for the last week!!!


Sonny Rollins - On Impulse Product No: AIMP 42701
Available: InStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Impulse (Acoustic Sounds Series)

Beautiful everything

5 Stars
Posted Wednesday, June 30, 2021 by David There are a handful of great reissue companies these days, but I can't think if a more consistently great company as Analogue Productions/Acoustic Sounds. This record sounds absolutely fantastic. The music I've already have loved, but the mastering, pressing and jacket are really well done. I wish this series never ended...


Grant Green - Born To Be Blue Product No: ABLU 48601
Available: BackOrdered
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Blue Note (Tone Poet)

5 Stars
Posted Monday, June 21, 2021 by Anonymous


Miles Davis - Milestones Product No: ALEG 48603
Available: BackOrdered
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Sony/Legacy

Love This Mono!

5 Stars
Posted Friday, June 18, 2021 by Rob Incredible quiet vinyl pressed at RTI. Ordered it just in time as I see it is now backordered. Mono sounds so full and centered and I couldn't be happier with this purchase!


Freddie Hubbard - Hub-Tones Product No: ABLU 7764742
Available: InStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Blue Note (Blue Note 80)

Almost Tone Poet quality

5 Stars
Posted Monday, June 14, 2021 by Brian VanPelt If you are familiar with the Blue Note Tone Poet records, then you are aware of the high standard they set for quality pressings. This record is just about as good. It sounds like it is cut about as loudly as a Tone Poet, but it is a little thin- sounding compared to a Tone Poet.

As for surface noise, there's not much. A click here or there is all I heard. The record itself looked visually perfect. The pressing is almost dead quiet, and all of the instruments have great detail and punch. The soundstage spans from left to right, with center fill. The cymbals are perfect and the horns will knock you for a loop.

Overall, excellent. I hope your copy is as good as mine.


Gil Evans - New Bottle, Old Wine Product No: ABLU 47301
Available: BackOrdered
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Blue Note (Tone Poet)

Very Dynamic

5 Stars
Posted Wednesday, June 9, 2021 by Brian VanPelt This Gil Evans records are cut very loud. The very first sound is a blasting horn, which will wake you right up. From that point on, the pace move briskly.

The sense of space was wonderful. You really feel like you are sitting amongst a group of musicians, except it's not an intimate venue. This band is big and encompasses, completely, the space from left-to-right between your speakers. The sharpness of the instruments is fantastic. Every instrument is completely sharp and hyper-dynamic. I don't know if I've ever heard a record this dynamic before. When the horns all play at once, they will knock you out of your seat. Each instrument is easy to point out in space, and there are a lot of instruments.

Several instruments get a chance to solo, but I don't remember which, other than the guitar. There are so many instruments that I lost track. This is the second Gil Evans record (after Out of the Cool) that featured tunes that just throw in everything at you,


Paul Chambers - Bass On Top Product No: ABLU 25901
Available: BackOrdered
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Blue Note (Tone Poet)

Standard Tone Poet Quality

5 Stars
Posted Tuesday, June 8, 2021 by Brian VanPelt It's nice to sit back and relax to a record for the first time, and genuinely not worry about surface noise. It's a freeing experience, like when I was a kid and put on a record for the first time. As usual for the Tone Poet series, there is little if any surface noise.

The setup has the bass player prominently on the right with the drums. Piano is in the middle, but a little further back. Finally, the electric guitar is on the left. Each instrument is afforded time to shine, and in most tunes that's the bass and the guitar, although one tune had a piano solo, and another tune had a drum solo.

The sound is softened, probably because the tape is old (1957), but much has been done with the tape. I suspect high frequencies needed to be trimmed a little, some of the higher frequencies might be a little muted. This has an older, tube-like sound to it.

By the way, the guitar solos are nothing short of stunning. Grade 4.5



Viewing 1 - 20 of 351 Products