Found 319 product(s) in the

Vinyl Record

category in the

Jazz Music

genre in

Product Reviews

Results Per Page
Viewing 1 - 20 of 319 Products
John Coltrane - Blue World Product No: AIMP 15801
Available: InStock
Category: 140 / 150 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Impulse

A Must For Trane-ists

5 Stars
Posted Monday, November 4, 2019 by Anthony Ok, let's get this out of the way-the "newly discovered, previously unreleased" music on this album has all been recorded before on other Coltrane releases. Still it's nice to have another Coltrane record on the shelf, and I never get tired of hearing Naima. This music was performed for the French film, Le chat dans le sac, a beautiful film in its own right. and are freshly done. Blue World is a nicely produced effort and has great sound quality. I recommend both the movie and the album.


Sonny Rollins - Volume 1 Product No: ABLU 73058
Available: InStock
Category: Vinyl Record
Label: Blue Note

Master at peak

4 Stars
Posted Wednesday, October 30, 2019 by Anonymous The product description is right. Sonny's other releases on Blue Note are better. This is a good session, but volume 2 is superior. Rollin's tone and phrasing are excellent.


Wayne Shorter - Etcetera Product No: ABLU 35701
Available: InStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Blue Note (Tone Poet)

5 Stars
Posted Tuesday, October 29, 2019 by Anonymous


Hugh Masekela - Hope Product No: AAPJ 117-45
Available: InStock
Category: Vinyl Box Sets
Label: Analogue Productions

Amazing live gig

5 Stars
Posted Sunday, October 27, 2019 by Anonymous I've got the original AP45 and this just gives me more amazing music from Hugh to listen to. Dynamics and sound stage is incredible. A++


John Coltrane - Coltrane's Sound Product No: AATL 1419
Available: InStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Atlantic

buy this

5 Stars
Posted Wednesday, October 23, 2019 by will only $16?? this sounds amazing compared to the tidal version. The vinyl is much more full and realistic. buy this before time runs out


John Coltrane - Ascension Product No: AIMP 5362684
Available: InStock
Category: Vinyl Record
Label: Impulse

Sorry Acoustic, the vinyl on these new Impulse records is bad!

1 Stars
Posted Monday, October 21, 2019 by Cliff This is the third record I have bought as part of this new 'wave' of European records, and they are horrible. I returned the other two, Gil Evans out of the Cool and Oliver Nelson. The vinyl is soft, it comes warped, scratched, with blemishes from the vinyl not properly cooling, and the sound is horrible. I have returned all three AIMP series records of recent. I don't recommend these Czech or Holland made records.. Very disappointing. I've heard the same from other buyers and stores. Need a better vinyl formula, a little harder and better supply chain. Not to mention sound quality.


Chick Corea - Now He Sings, Now He Sobs Product No: ABLU 36301
Available: InStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Blue Note (Tone Poet)

5 Stars
Posted Friday, September 27, 2019 by Anonymous


Herbie Hancock - Head Hunters Product No: AAPJ 084-45
Available: InStock
Category: 45 RPM Vinyl Record
Label: Analogue Productions

5 Stars
Posted Sunday, September 8, 2019 by Anonymous


Al Di Meola, John McLaughlin & Paco DeLucia - Friday Night In San Francisco Product No: AIMX 6029
Available: InStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Impex

5 Stars
Posted Friday, September 6, 2019 by Anonymous


Michel Legrand - Legrand Jazz Product No: AIMX 6030-45
Available: InStock
Category: 45 RPM Vinyl Record
Label: Impex

Just buy it!

5 Stars
Posted Monday, August 26, 2019 by Mike Outstanding! Great music, great delivery. Impex has no competition at the moment! 45 rpm adds that little extra flow and separation compared 331/3 rpm!


Barney Kessel, Ray Brown, Shelly Manne - The Poll Winners Product No: AOJC 156
Available: InStock
Category: Vinyl Record
Label: Original Jazz Classics

4 Stars Relative to the 45 RPM, otherwise 5

4 Stars
Posted Thursday, August 22, 2019 by watchnerd Let me be clear:

In the context of 33 RPM jazz releases, especially at the budget OJC price, this is a 5 star recommendation.

It's only because the 45 RPM version is even better that I have to give it 4 stars.

Highly recommended, amazing value, a classic among classics


Bruce Katz Band - Crescent Crawl Product No: ASLH 1012
Available: InStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Sledgehammer Blues

Great album

5 Stars
Posted Monday, August 19, 2019 by Mike An old favorite that delivers! A bit too much surface noice! Cleaned twice on Audio desk system but still noisy.


The Monty Alexander Trio - Live! At The Montreaux Festival Product No: AMPS 210986
Available: BackOrdered
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: MPS

AAA mastering that swings and grooves

5 Stars
Posted Tuesday, August 6, 2019 by watchnerd Analog mastering from the analog master tapes. If you're an analog purist (confession -- I'm not), this definitely deserves a listen for what a pure analog disc can achieve. And even if you're not, get it anyway because it's a great live album that grooves with an infectious energy. The comparison to Oscar Peterson are apt...this is a romping piano session that is just fun, especially the Battle Hymn of the Republic finale.


Lee Morgan - Cornbread Product No: ABLU 91101
Available: InStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Blue Note (Tone Poet)

Outstanding

5 Stars
Posted Tuesday, July 16, 2019 by Len This is why we buy records. Top notch engineering and pressing, terrific music and Lee Morgan and company in great form. Don't pass this up.


Miles Davis - The Complete Birth Of The Cool Product No: ABLU 46801
Available: InStock
Category: Vinyl Record
Label: Blue Note

I had wanted to belive AS vinyl offerings were curated

1 Stars
Posted Sunday, July 7, 2019 by Anonymous I did not order this record. I was going to, but then paused to find an online review.

AS often themselves posting Michael Fremer's positive reviews of other albums. So in that spirit...

"UMe's Birth of the Cool Is A Sonic Abortion And a Reissue Disgrace", Michael Fremer Jul 2, 2019.

"After the Outrage: UMe's Birth of the Cool Reissue Reconsidered", Michael Fremer, Jul 6, 2019. "After calming down following the original Birth of the Cool review I took a deep breath and listened again... As I wrote, I'm not taking back a word of what I originally wrote. It was not an overreaction. It was the truth."


Bobby Jaspar - Bobby Jaspar Product No: ASAM 15
Available: InStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Sam Records

Absolutely First Rate

5 Stars
Posted Sunday, July 7, 2019 by Tom The music is gorgeous. The sound quality is excellent, and a beautiful example of what the best analogue recordings are about. The pressing was done by Pallas and is lively, dynamic, centered, flat and quiet.


Freddie Hubbard - Open Sesame Product No: ABLU 7745066
Available: InStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Blue Note

Actually 4.5 stars

5 Stars
Posted Monday, July 1, 2019 by Len I want you to understand that I love this record, but compared to 'Cornbread' (review to follow) it falls just short of 5 stars. The vinyl is flat with no noise, ticks or pops. However, the Tone Poet and MMJ 33 series set a pretty high sonic bar and this just misses that lofty standard. I want to emphasize that this is a really first rate recording and that I will be purchasing more of the BN 80 series in the future.


Bill Evans - At The Montreux Jazz Festival Product No: AAPJ 8762
Available: InStock
Category: 200 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Analogue Productions

5 Stars
Posted Wednesday, June 19, 2019 by Anonymous


Nathan Davis - Live In Paris with Georges Arvanitas Trio: The ORTF Recordings 1966/67 Product No: ASAM 20
Available: InStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Sam Records

5 Stars
Posted Tuesday, June 11, 2019 by Anonymous


Hank Mobley - Peckin' Time Product No: ABNJ 81574
Available: InStock
Category: 45 RPM Vinyl Record
Label: Analogue Productions (Blue Note)

Perfection!

5 Stars
Posted Friday, May 31, 2019 by Chris This has to be one of the best jazz recordings I have ever heard. The balance between each instrument is perfect. Morgan and Mobley have never sounded better and the rest are phenomenal! The pressing is perfect. There are critics out there that say "you can never match the original Blue Note sound"...well...this is awfully close!



Viewing 1 - 20 of 319 Products