Found 306 product(s) that are

In Stock

in the

Jazz Music

genre in

Product Reviews

Results Per Page
Viewing 1 - 20 of 306 Products
Shorty Rogers and His Giants - Jazz Waltz Product No: APPR 60600
Available: InStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Pure Pleasure Records (Reprise)

Surprise

5 Stars
Posted Thursday, February 7, 2019 by Anonymous Pure Pleasure puts out consistently good releases, but the sound quality of this LP is astonishing. Piano in particular. If there is any knock, the stereo separation is a little extreme. I’m enjoying the hell out of this.


Nicki Parrott feat. Byron Stripling - Stompin' At The Savoy: Tribute to Ella & Louis Product No: AVEN 0141
Available: InStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Venus

Perfection!

5 Stars
Posted Sunday, January 27, 2019 by Chris If you love Louis and Ella you need this album. Sit back and enjoy perfection.


Sonny Rollins - Way Out West Product No: AOJC 337
Available: InStock
Category: Vinyl Record
Label: Original Jazz Classics

WOW, does this sound good

5 Stars
Posted Saturday, January 12, 2019 by Anonymous The sax just leaps out of the speaker. The music speaks for itself, I needn't review that here. What a great pressing.


Nina Simone - Little Girl Blue Product No: AAPJ 083-45
Available: InStock
Category: 45 RPM Vinyl Record
Label: Analogue Productions

Wow! Just WOW!

5 Stars
Posted Friday, August 17, 2018 by Raymon Fundora Little Girl Blue has never sounded better. It’s clear, and sound separation is spectacular. Just stunning.


Hugh Masekela - Hope Product No: AAPJ 117
Available: InStock
Category: 200 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Analogue Productions

5 Stars
Posted Monday, August 6, 2018 by Anonymous


Various Artists - The Sound of Jazz Product No: CAPJ 111 SA
Available: InStock
Category: Hybrid 3-Channel Stereo SACD
Label: Analogue Productions

The Real Acoustic Sound of Great Jazz Artists!

5 Stars
Posted Saturday, July 28, 2018 by Anonymous It goes without saying that the musicians, songs and performances on this disc are all among the very best ever. I played clarinet in bands and orchestras during the 1950s and 60s. This is what real acoustic instruments sound like at an intimate jazz venue. This is the essence of Hi Fidelity listening. To me, it is far superior and more enjoyable than today's ubiquitous large, loud, sound reinforced events. I also prefer it to close miked sound booth recordings. 3-channel stereo SACDs take your listing experience to the ultimate level! The musicians stay put no matter where you are in your listening room, so invite your friends to enjoy the music with you because every listening seat is a sweet-spot!


Louis Armstrong - Satchmo Plays King Oliver Product No: AAPJ 5930
Available: InStock
Category: 200 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Analogue Productions

Great!

5 Stars
Posted Friday, July 20, 2018 by Chris Step back in time and have Louis right there with you...a great experience!


Julie London - Julie Is Her Name Vol. 2 Product No: AAPP 7100-45
Available: InStock
Category: 45 RPM Vinyl Record
Label: Analogue Productions

Nice with too much bass

3 Stars
Posted Thursday, July 12, 2018 by Chris No offense to Red Mitchell but to me this album would have been so much better with just the quitar. It took away the intimacy. Nice pressing, packaging and beautiful voice.


John Coltrane - Both Directions At Once: The Lost Album Product No: AVER 31701
Available: InStock
Category: 140 / 150 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Verve

Pseudostereo

1 Stars
Posted Monday, July 9, 2018 by Anonymous Source is mono tapes. Cut: pseudostereo with identical channels. Significant information sellers skip.


Gerry Mulligan & Ben Webster - Gerry Mulligan Meets Ben Webster Product No: AVRJ 6104
Available: InStock
Category: 200 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Analogue Productions (Verve)

Outstanding!

5 Stars
Posted Tuesday, May 8, 2018 by Anonymous Two greats! Recording is RVG good! You will not be disappointed. QRP is the best, dead quiet, top notch quality pressing and jacket!


Chet Atkins - Chet Atkins' Workshop Product No: AMHA 8064
Available: InStock
Category: Vinyl Record
Label: Modern Harmonic

What a shame!

2 Stars
Posted Friday, April 27, 2018 by Coventrykid Five stars for the sound but, what were they thinking? Modern Harmonic/Sundazed appear to have used the wrong tape! The lead guitar parts would seem to be those Chet recorded first as demos to guide his backing musicians. He likely then took this tape home to record more polished versions of his leads for the final release. Some of the tracks are virtually indistinguishable (e.g. "Tammy"), others are only slightly different (e.g. "Lullaby of Birdland"), but a few are decidedly inferior (e.g. "Lambeth Walk"). Interesting as a source of "alternate takes", but it's not the album I've known & loved since 1961 (and I have 3 copies, UK mono LP, US stereo LP, and CD). It's a decided shock when you hear this record for the first time if you already have a copy!


Shoji Yokouchi Trio - Greensleeves Product No: AIMX 6026
Available: InStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Impex

Superb Album

5 Stars
Posted Wednesday, April 4, 2018 by Eric L Audiophiles can celebrate with this great 1978 reissue on Three Blind Mice, the Japanese label. This is a terrific session. I'm not familiar with any of the musicians but they're truly a talented bunch. Anyone fearing this is just an audiophile disc with no substance need not worry. This is the real thing. The sound is as clear and palpable as I've ever heard on vinyl. The soundstaging is to die for. A particular standout for me is Yuri Tashiro on the Hammond organ- just the right touch.

The RTI pressing is immaculate and centered, the jacket is a tip-on. See the rave review from Positive Feedback.


Nina Simone - A Very Rare Evening Product No: ATWM 01
Available: InStock
Category: Vinyl Record
Label: Tidal Waves Music

A waste of $

1 Stars
Posted Saturday, March 24, 2018 by Phil Dade Poor sound quality beause it sounds muffled but tinny, not open and clear. The song selection is weak and does nothing to really show off her great voice. No wonder is is a very rare evening. I just opened it, played it and will not waste my time again. I am a big Nina fan.


Diana Krall - When I Look In Your Eyes Product No: AVER 77043
Available: InStock
Category: Vinyl Record
Label: Verve

The product is sub-stantard

2 Stars
Posted Friday, March 2, 2018 by Dawn I have two criticisms. Firstly the review spoke of 13 tracks but the vinyl album does not come with the bonus track. Second is the pressing quality. Quality lacks in how the double album is packed into a single pocket. Both records are distorted. It was not a listening pleasure


Archie Shepp Quartet - Deja Vu Product No: CVEN 0013 SA
Available: InStock
Category: Single Layer Stereo SACD
Label: Venus

Fantastic Jazz album from Venus Records Japan

5 Stars
Posted Tuesday, February 13, 2018 by john whitaker Archie Shepp in a beautiful soul full mood Harold Mabern excellent on piano Super Quartet recording Wonderful sound reproduction from Venus Records of Japan Top notch sound stage


Tony Bennett - Bill Evans - The Tony Bennett/Bill Evans Album Product No: AOJC 439
Available: InStock
Category: Vinyl Record
Label: Original Jazz Classics

shame...

3 Stars
Posted Sunday, January 14, 2018 by Anonymous Was hoping for better but for this price, guess it was wishful thinking. One of the dirtiest pressings (Fantasy) I have ever seen, vinyl shreds on edge abound. After 3 cleanings with okki nokki (guess I'll try an ultrasonic machine), there's still clicks. Great songs list, through Mr. Bennett seems to be singing in a different key than what I'm used to, which threw me off a bit. Mr. Evans is rock solid sublime as usual...


Sarah Vaughan - Snowbound Product No: APPR 52091
Available: InStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Pure Pleasure Records

WOULD GIVE IT 5 STARS IF IT WERE STEREO!

4 Stars
Posted Saturday, January 6, 2018 by Paul M. Mock Although not advertised here as such, this Pure Pleasure LP is listed as being in "stereo" on other sites. I am quite disappointed to announce to all here that this reissue is indeed MONAURAL!

While that is not a terrible thing, these sweepingly lush Don Costa string arrangements (ala "Sinatra & Strings" from the same period) just begto be heard in full STEREO!

So, buyer beware on this one. It ain't what it coulda been!!!


Coleman Hawkins - Encounters Ben Webster Product No: XUNI38663F96
Available: InStock
Category: FLAC 96kHz/24bit Download
Label: Verve

Coleman Hawkins Encounters Ben Webster

4 Stars
Posted Thursday, January 4, 2018 by Anonymous Awesome sound as expected. Very vintage and open in the treble while maintaining a solid midrange and bass response. Hawkins’ sax is just as full and dynamic as some of the other recordings he made in the era. Hiss is apparent throughout and the piano is mixed to the left while the drums and guitar are panned to the right. The bass and the saxophones are panned roughly in the middle making for a decent stereo image on headphones. Recommended.


Bill Charlap Trio - Uptown, Downtown Product No: XUNI805444F96
Available: InStock
Category: FLAC 96kHz/24bit Download
Label: Impulse

Sonically too compressed

2 Stars
Posted Thursday, January 4, 2018 by Anonymous The Bill Charlap Trio’s Uptown, Downton is one of the loudest jazz albums I’ve ever heard. It sounds nothing like a vintage recording in the era of tube microphones and mixing consoles. The sound of the album is rather hard, with a general lack of dynamics. Charlaps’s piano dominates while the drums and especially the acoustic bass take a backseat in the mix. The piano’s high registers also are noticeably grainy and rather fatiguing on my Sennheiser HD650 headphones. The performance of the musicians on this record is excellent (and would make a great background album for a cocktail party) but I cannot recommend it due to the compressed and unnatural sound.


Sarah Vaughan - After Hours With Sarah Vaughan Product No: APPR 660
Available: InStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Pure Pleasure Records (Columbia)

Incomparable Voice

5 Stars
Posted Tuesday, December 12, 2017 by Bob Hudgins This compilation from her Columbia years is even better than I had expected it to be. Music emerges from dead silence and her voice is as good as I've heard it. I have been collecting her titles on old mono records, which are in good shape, but I decided to splurge for this one and it was worth it. I'm in the market for more redo's like this one.



Viewing 1 - 20 of 306 Products