Found 52 product(s) that are

Limited Stock

in the

Jazz Music

genre in

Product Reviews

Results Per Page
Viewing 1 - 20 of 52 Products
Herbie Hancock - Thrust Product No: CAFZ 223 SA
Available: LimitedStock
Category: Hybrid Multichannel SACD
Label: Audio Fidelity

Awesome

5 Stars
Posted Tuesday, June 5, 2018 by Anonymous Great release of a great album


Ike Quebec - Soul Samba Bossa Nova Product No: CBNJ 84114 SA
Available: LimitedStock
Category: Hybrid Stereo SACD
Label: Analogue Productions (Blue Note)

5 Stars
Posted Thursday, March 8, 2018 by Anonymous


Dizzy Gillespie - Dizzy's Big 4 Product No: AJAZ 2310-719
Available: LimitedStock
Category: 45 RPM Vinyl Record
Label: Analogue Productions (Fantasy)

2 Stars
Posted Tuesday, July 25, 2017 by Anonymous


Lyn Stanley - The Moonlight Sessions: Volume One Product No: AATM 3105A
Available: LimitedStock
Category: 45 RPM Vinyl Record
Label: A.T. Music

Lyn Stanley's latest is outstanding!

5 Stars
Posted Tuesday, June 20, 2017 by zach I've just played Lyn Stanley's latest jazz vocal, Moonlight Sessions vol.1, on 180g 45 rpm vinyl. It is outstanding from both a musical and sonic perspective. If I had to describe Stanley's musical approach in one word, that word would be intimate. I found myself imagining a smoky after-hours club where I sat nursing a drink and wounded feelings while being consoled by a torch singer who made me believe I was the only person she was singing to - and that she understood. Her intonation is precise, her pitch perfect, and her technique is always appropriate for the emotion she seeks to convey. So far, my favorites include Willow Weep for Me, Moonlight Serenade, My Funny Valentine, How Insensitive, and In the Wee Small Hours. The sonics are spectacular, as you would expect from recording engineer Al Schmitt and mastering engineer Bernie Grundman. The "one step" pressing process cuts two generations out of the pressing process, and it shows!


Ella Fitzgerald - Ella Fitzgerald Sings The Cole Porter Song Book Product No: ANASP 07
Available: LimitedStock
Category: Vinyl Box Sets
Label: Analog Spark

Excellent

5 Stars
Posted Friday, January 27, 2017 by Anonymous How good is this reissue? Very good indeed. Does it beat the Kevin Gray remastering of a few years ago? In my opinion, yes.

I'm a big fan of Kevin Gray's mastering work, and I buy with confidence anything with his name on it. His remastering of this title is excellent. His EQ choices differ a little. Ella's voice is spotlit, rounder, with more of a tubey glow. On the Analog Spark reissue, Ella's voice sounds flatter and less midrangey, and the whole recording is a bit brighter.

However, the Analog Spark reissue is clearer and more detailed. As others have said, you can actually hear each instrument in the orchestra. No previous issue of this title has had such clarity. I think this justifies AS's decision to spread it over three LPs rather than two.

So if you have KG's remaster, do you need this one? If you love this tile as much as I do, yes. The difference is by no means night and day. As I said, both are excellent. But the AS remaster is the one I'll listen to.


Lyn Stanley - Interludes Product No: CATM 3104 SA
Available: LimitedStock
Category: Hybrid Stereo SACD
Label: A.T. Music

Pasionless

1 Stars
Posted Monday, March 21, 2016 by Cal Liedtke While the studio mastering and the individual artists that Stanley surrounds herself with are all outstanding it is Lyn Stanley herself that is a huge disappointment. Indeed, Stanley is the most passionless vocalist I have ever heard.


Eddie Higgins Quintet - It's Magic Product No: CVEN 0051 SA
Available: LimitedStock
Category: Single Layer Stereo SACD
Label: Venus

Recommended.

5 Stars
Posted Tuesday, January 19, 2016 by Fred Davidson This is a single-layer SACD on the Venus Label in Japan (also on regular CD, I believe) .

Unlike a lot of other Higgins releases, this is a quintet -- interestingly, with two tenor sax players: Hamilton and Peplowski. We also get clarinet work from Peplowski (wonderful! He's on my radar now, for clarinet-based recordings). It also features Jay Leonhart on bass and Ben Riley on drums.

I like the Venus mix -- very much in-the-room, very present. I envision a quiet bar/restaurant atop a hotel, overlooking Osaka, where the drinks and food are just fine, and the view is magnificent, and off to the side this group is winding its way through a bunch


Lyn Stanley - Interludes Product No: AATM 3104
Available: LimitedStock
Category: 45 RPM Vinyl Record
Label: A.T. Music

Magnificent

5 Stars
Posted Monday, December 14, 2015 by Al Iossi Her third album is in one word Magnificent. We played other top rated vinyl then played this one everyone in the room said WOW at the first notes. The engineering on her records is the best this QRP pressing is heavenly detailed from the plating to the heavy vinyl and the cover. QRP lp's are magnificent and surely this will be one of the demo discs at the upcoming Audio Shows for 2016 it will be one of ours see you there. Don't miss out AL


John Coltrane - John Coltrane Quartet Plays Product No: CIPJ 85 SA
Available: LimitedStock
Category: Hybrid Stereo SACD
Label: Analogue Productions (Impulse)

Wonderful!

5 Stars
Posted Thursday, November 26, 2015 by Joe Johnson Analogue productions has done it again. This is night and day superior to other digital versions. Let's hope there are more of these Coltrane/Impulse releases to come.


Michel Legrand - Le Grand Jazz Product No: APHI 7373
Available: LimitedStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Speakers Corner (Philips)

Sorry I bought this

1 Stars
Posted Monday, October 26, 2015 by DanG A rare exception, I'm usually very pleased by the reissues I purchase here. But this recording sounds horrible, despite its all-star cast. Some research yielded an article by Michael Fremer noting this Speakers Corner reissue is electronically reprocessed for stereo. Avoid.


Randy Weston - Blue Moses Product No: ACTI 6016
Available: LimitedStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Speakers Corner (CTI)

5 Stars
Posted Sunday, October 25, 2015 by Anthony First, I have to admit that although I have collected and owned most of the CTI catalog and attended several CTI jazz events as well, I had not heard of this offering nor was I familiar with Randy Weston. This LP was a very pleasant surprise. Recorded in 1972, the music is still very relevant and blends American jazz with exotic beats from North Africa. Weston has a nice touch on piano and the horn section of Hubert Laws, Freddie Hubbard, and Grover Washington is, as expected, superb. The percussionists will tax your playback equipment, this music was very well recorded at Rudy Van Gelder's studio with a wide, expansive sound stage and black background. Another winner from Creed Taylor and Don Sebesky.


Herbie Hancock - Empyrean Isles Product No: AMMJ 84175
Available: LimitedStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Music Matters (Blue Note)

wpw

5 Stars
Posted Tuesday, March 31, 2015 by rr it's outstanding! this is my 6th music matter's blue note. best yet.


Bill Henderson - Send In The Clowns Product No: AJPL 0779-33/45C
Available: LimitedStock
Category: 200 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Classic Records (Jazz Planet)

A terrific YOU ARE THERE recording

5 Stars
Posted Saturday, January 24, 2015 by Cal This recording is a MUST for EVERY audiophile's collection without regard for musical taste or genre. This recording is that good. Bill's voice is so well mic(ed) making his presence clear and distinct in your listening room. No kidding -- it is spooky real. I belong to the Los Angeles Orange County Audiophile Society and nearly everyone I know in the society owns this recording. You should buy it too.


Lyn Stanley - Potions (From The 50's) Product No: CATM 3103 SA
Available: LimitedStock
Category: Hybrid Stereo SACD
Label: A.T. Music

hmm

4 Stars
Posted Tuesday, November 25, 2014 by Anonymous for all the over the top reviews...while it's good...it's not perfect...maybe the vinyl is better than the SACD? It's worth buying..but I'd give it 4 of 5 stars on recording quality


Lyn Stanley - Potions (From The 50's) Product No: AATM 3103A
Available: LimitedStock
Category: 45 RPM Vinyl Record
Label: A.T. Music

Reference grade

5 Stars
Posted Saturday, November 15, 2014 by Mike from NJ. Magnificent album. Sonically AAA+++, Lyn Stanley has a expressive style with great range, the songs are old classics. This is a top shelf album.


Horace Parlan - Happy Frame Of Mind Product No: AMMJ 4134
Available: LimitedStock
Category: 45 RPM Vinyl Record
Label: Music Matters (Blue Note)

I'm beyond happy!

5 Stars
Posted Wednesday, November 13, 2013 by Emmanuel I bought my fist Music Matters title (Empyrean Isles) 2 yrs. ago and I didn't play the record until this year. Since then I've not been able get enough of these wonderful Blue Note reissues. I just finished listening to this record and it did not disappoint. From the opening track "Home is Africa" to the closing title track the entire album sparkles. The Grant Green solos stand out particularly in this album. As usual the sonics are tremendous, the music is first class and the jacket is gorgeous. What more can a music lover want? More Music Matters Blue Note reissues, that's what I want?


Shorty Rogers - The Wizard Of Oz Product No: ALSP 1997
Available: LimitedStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Speakers Corner (RCA Living Stereo)

Fun record

5 Stars
Posted Monday, September 9, 2013 by JeffB I knew the name of Shorty Rogers, but not his music. I went to another site to hear some samples and decided to take a chance on this. It's a lot of fun with some really good big band arrangements. Plus the pressing and mastering is really good too. If you're looking for a jazz album with a different flavor to it, give this one a try.


Hank Mobley - Workout Product No: ABNJ 84080
Available: LimitedStock
Category: 45 RPM Vinyl Record
Label: Analogue Productions (Blue Note)

5 Stars
Posted Saturday, July 6, 2013 by Anthony Another stellar re-issue from the Blue Note vault by Analogue Productions. Is it worth the asking price and the effort to get up every ten minutes or so? ABSOLUTELY!


Johnny Griffin - The Kerry Dancers and Other Swinging Folk Product No: AJAZ 9420
Available: LimitedStock
Category: 45 RPM Vinyl Record
Label: Analogue Productions (Fantasy)

Watch out for this soundbomb !

5 Stars
Posted Thursday, June 13, 2013 by Michel V With some luck I had the oppertunity to buy 25 albums in 45rpm format. I bought some Griffins as well, I did not know how good the album was.. it was just a lucky shot. But wow the music is great to my ears and not only the songs! I have about 150 albums (45rpm) and this is one of the best sounding albums. Pure Magic !


Thelonious Monk - Underground Product No: AMOV 477
Available: LimitedStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Music On Vinyl

This is just a CD On Vinyl

3 Stars
Posted Wednesday, March 27, 2013 by Emmanuel I hope you all believe me when I say I really dig the musical taste of those folks down at MOV. I sincerely do. It's just that I question their judgement on audiophile matters. I have this record on CD and it's my favorite Monk album. I was really thrilled when I saw that MOV is reissuing it from the master tapes on vinyl, "Music On Vinyl is especially proud to announce that this recording has been specially re-mastered in the US for this vinyl edition from the original tapes". The above description is only half true. Sure a remastering was done from the original tapes; however, MOV cut this reissue from a high resolution file of the original tapes.(re:192KHz/24bit)

Naturally, this begs the question why didn't they just cut it from the remastered original? I don't know. If anyone knows please be kind and share this wisdom with me. What I do know is that I now own two CD copies of this wonderful album, one on vinyl and one on compact disc.



Viewing 1 - 20 of 52 Products