Found 55 product(s) in the

SACDs

category in the

Jazz Music

genre in

Product Reviews

Results Per Page
Viewing 1 - 20 of 55 Products
Shelly Manne and Friends - My Fair Lady Product No: CCONC 499 SA
Available: InStock
Category: Hybrid Stereo SACD
Label: Concord Craft Recordings

Excellent

5 Stars
Posted Wednesday, November 15, 2023 by Andy Anderson I just got this in the mail today and was blown away about the sound! Absolutely gorgeous highly recommended!


Charles Mingus - Blues & Roots Product No: CAPA 001 SA
Available: InStock
Category: Hybrid Stereo SACD
Label: Analogue Productions (Atlantic 75 Series)

If this is the way they are starting

5 Stars
Posted Friday, October 13, 2023 by Ed Hilston My first SACD of the Atlantic 75 series and it is fantastic. You will want to turn up the volume, no compression here. It all sounds great and if you are even considering it, pull the trigger.


Lou Donaldson - Sunny Side Up Product No: CBNJ 84036 SA
Available: LimitedStock
Category: Hybrid Stereo SACD
Label: Analogue Productions (Blue Note)

Fabulous

5 Stars
Posted Thursday, April 13, 2023 by Andy Anderson This is an excellent recording highly recommended


McCoy Tyner - Nights Of Ballads And Blues Product No: CIPJ 39 SA
Available: BackOrdered
Category: Hybrid Stereo SACD
Label: Analogue Productions (Impulse)

Very relaxing music

5 Stars
Posted Tuesday, March 14, 2023 by Andy Anderson Excellent sound you won’t be disappointed!


Eric Dolphy - Out There Product No: CPRJ 8252 SA
Available: LimitedStock
Category: Hybrid Stereo SACD
Label: Analogue Productions (Prestige)

Outstanding

5 Stars
Posted Sunday, March 12, 2023 by Brian VanPelt Every instrument comes through loudly and with visceral force. It feels like the players are in the room with you, but then there is a little reverb, so the room feels bigger.

Eric Dolphy plays several instruments and comes out of the left channel, clear as a bell. The bass seems to be in the middle, while the cello and drums are in the right channel; although I think on one song the cello was in the left channel with Dolphy. You can feel the bass plucks in your gut. The drums can have powerful thwacks, with good cymbal decay. The cello can be gloriously searing.

There is no distortion, no tape hiss, just great sound. Just about a perfect SACD.


Pat Metheny - Bright Size Life Product No: CECMJ 9061 SA
Available: LimitedStock
Category: SHM Single Layer SACDs
Label: ECM

The single greatest recording of 1975

5 Stars
Posted Sunday, March 12, 2023 by Jimmy James Was blown away upon hearing this album back in 1977 and I'm still blown away in 2023. I think I bought this SACD last year but had misplaced in my collection. Found it on a rainy day and rejoiced. This recording is just sublime. Pat and Jaco were just the perfect pairing at the perfect time. Think what could have been had they remained together (and alive in Jaco's case) to have been creating this kind of music for almost 50 years. The world would be a different place. In case of this SACD treatment, the price of entry is a tough pill to swallow but it's totally worth it. There is truely more there, there. A whole lot more depth to the instruments. Jaco's bass has a much fuller, bolder sound. I always thought the original ECM cd sounded terrible but the music was too good for that to matter too much. Well, here that veilled, thin sound is gone thank goodness. Rejoice!


Miles Davis - Sorcerer Product No: CMOB 2145 SA
Available: InStock
Category: Hybrid Stereo SACD
Label: Mobile Fidelity

Fabulous

5 Stars
Posted Saturday, February 18, 2023 by Andy Anderson This album sounds fantastic highly recommended


Johnny Hartman - The Voice That Is Product No: CIPJ 74 SA
Available: InStock
Category: Hybrid Stereo SACD
Label: Analogue Productions (Impulse)

I love the voice of Johnny Hartman

5 Stars
Posted Monday, September 26, 2022 by Anonymous The voice that is the antidote to modern day stress. A lazy boy chair a glass of wine and Johnny Hartman voice and the rest is audiophile history. I have all of his SACD in my collection i recommend that you begin the process today.


Di Meola, McLaughlin, De Lucia - Saturday Night In San Francisco Product No: CIMX 8324 SA
Available: InStock
Category: Hybrid Stereo SACD
Label: Impex

Somehow disappointed.

3 Stars
Posted Thursday, August 18, 2022 by Ruben Torres The sound is even better than the original Friday night in S. F. Al Dimeola, the less gifted player of the 3, produce the album. He made his usual circus act, and the other two play as good as usual, but somehow it lacks the magic of the first album. Anyways, if you are the kind of listener who thinks that Jazz at the Pawnshop is good jazz, this one in comparation is a masterpiece. 5 stars for the production, 3 stars for the music.


Tsuyoshi Yamamoto Trio - The Look Of Love - Live At Jazz Is 2nd Set Product No: CVEN 0356 SA
Available: InStock
Category: Single Layer Stereo SACD
Label: Venus

At the club

5 Stars
Posted Monday, April 4, 2022 by Brian VanPelt It is like being at the club. All the instruments sound very real. Basically, you have an upfront seat to this event. As such, all of the instruments have tremendous presence in the room. If you've ever sat near a piano at a club, you can feel a lot of the music it makes. Same goes for the drums and bass. Additionally, there is some clapping between tunes as well as some background chatter when the music is quiet. There is background rumble which is evident on track 4 if you blast the music. I had the music blasted much louder than normal. This is not as evident on the other tracks. Track 4 is completely a bass/cello solo (playing a very cool version of Somewhere Over the Rainbow).

If you keep levels loud, but not overwhelming, then you will experience no distortion or tape hiss (although this might have been recorded digitally).

The playing is very spirited with the piano left of center, the drums centered and the bass between.


Freddie Hubbard - The Artistry Of Freddie Hubbard Product No: CIPJ 27 SA
Available: InStock
Category: Hybrid Stereo SACD
Label: Analogue Productions (Impulse)

Wow

5 Stars
Posted Wednesday, March 30, 2022 by Brian VanPelt These Impulse/Analogue Productions collaborations are all insanely good. This release is no exception.

First of all, everything sounds so clear, with lots of air around instruments. The drums and cymbals are crystalline, and any brass sounds very realistic. I noticed that the pianos are slightly softened when other musicians are soloing, and then accentuated when it's time for the piano solo.

The presentation feels like it preserves the placements of the musicians, and all of the instruments sound realistic and of the right size (no cadillac sized piano for example). There is no tape hiss at all. Freddie's horn is usually in the left channel and it's well- represented. Everything sounds just right. The drums and sax are in the right channel.

I suspect that I will buy every Impulse/Analogue Productions SACD.


Myra Taylor - My Night To Dream Product No: CAPO 2017 SA
Available: LimitedStock
Category: Hybrid Stereo SACD
Label: APO Records

Wow great value

5 Stars
Posted Wednesday, March 9, 2022 by Mark I bought this for $5 and listened on my Mark Levinson setup. It was amazing. Spider and a fly, still blue water, and sunny side of the street were oddly familiar and highly enjoyable as was the broader introduction to 40s era blues.


Charles Mingus - Tijuana Moods Product No: CORG 0174 SA
Available: BackOrdered
Category: Hybrid Stereo SACD
Label: ORG - Original Recordings Group

3 Stars
Posted Thursday, March 3, 2022 by Anonymous


Hank Mobley - Soul Station Product No: CBLJ 9022 SA
Available: BackOrdered
Category: SHM Single Layer SACDs
Label: Blue Note

Sounds Excellent

5 Stars
Posted Saturday, February 12, 2022 by Brian VanPelt I didn't detect any tape hiss, and all of the instruments sound lively and vivid. The recording is excellent.

When Hank Mobley solos alone, I can detect a slight echo to his sax - he appears on the left. The piano is in the middle and the drums are on the left. Each instrument is loud enough to hear clearly, but not so loud as to drown out the others.

I have the Classic Vinyl Reissue of this same album, and I like this quite a bit better. The vinyl version features some tape distortion when Mobley hits loud high notes; while this SACD features no distortion at all. Not only that, this SACD sounds transparent to the analog source. The sound is very focused and sharp. There are times when you can hear Mobley yelp as he's getting into the music.

The soundstage stretches from the left speaker to the right speaker, and it feels like the piano is placed further back, but in the middle.

This is just fantastic. I give it a 5+.


Cannonball Adderley - Somethin' Else Product No: CBNJ 81595 SA
Available: InStock
Category: Hybrid Stereo SACD
Label: Analogue Productions (Blue Note)

Just like the record

5 Stars
Posted Wednesday, January 19, 2022 by Brian VanPelt All of the instruments are very clear. The drums are on the right, the piano in the middle, and the trumpet and sax are on the left. The bass seems to be in the back, somewhere between the drums and the piano. The piano, while clear, is also a little soft, while all of the other instruments are quite vivid/sharp. The underwhelming piano is something that I believe all Rudy Van Gelder recordings had. This is the same situation with the record as well. It's not that big of a deal and, if you listen to enough Blue Note albums, you get used to it.

If you know the record, then you know what it sounds like - now imagine that without surface noise. I don't remember for sure about the record, but on this SACD the soundstage is quite spacious and 3-dimensional. The piano seems further back, while the brass and drums seem quite forward. There were times when the music seemed to stretch beyond my speakers.

Pick this up quick as they sell out fast.


Keith Jarrett Trio - Koln Concert Product No: CECMJ 9059 SA
Available: InStock
Category: Single Layer Stereo SACD
Label: ECM

Just like the record

5 Stars
Posted Thursday, January 6, 2022 by Brian VanPelt I immediately was able to tell that this SACD sounds exactly the same as the record, minus the surface noise, as I've listened to the album a lot. Of course, zero surface noise means you can turn it up as loudly as you want.

Keith Jarrett's piano occupies mostly the right/middle of the soundstage, It seems like you are sitting on the stage with him. The piano is so well-recorded, you can easily hear every note, and you can hear Jarrett's hands gong up and down the piano keys. Of course, that also means you can hear Jarrett's vocal sounds quite clearly - but if you are a fan a this man, you already know he makes noise while he plays (it seems he gets into some place in his head, and he is able to concentrate intensely as if there is no audience).

This is an amazingly relaxing album. It's incredible to hear someone create music on the fly. You can listen as Keith Jarrett plays note after note until he hits a melody he likes, and then he embellishes on the fly.


Wynton Kelly Trio and Wes Montgomery - Smokin' At The Half Note Product No: CVRJ 8633 SA
Available: InStock
Category: Hybrid Stereo SACD
Label: Analogue Productions (Verve)

Crystal Clear

5 Stars
Posted Sunday, December 26, 2021 by Brian VanPelt All of the instruments are well recorded and, even though this was a live show, it seems almost like a studio recording. The soundstage is spacious and has good depth.

Each instrument is sharply defined, and on the piano, I could trace (in my mental image) Kelly's fingers going up and down the piano's keyboard. Every pluck of Montgomery's guitar is easily heard, as well as every drum or cymbal strike. Even the bass stands out as very well-defined. Whatever tape they used to master this had to be in perfect condition - there are no harmful sonic artifacts from worn-out tapes.

This recording is ridiculously good. The audience is not intrusive at all, and you do have the feeling of being there. The general layout is guitar on the left, drums on the right, and piano in the middle but further back.

This is exceptional in every way. I have the 45 rpm Analogue Productions version of this album, and between that and this SACD, I call a sonic draw.

Grade: 5+


Patricia Barber - Clique Product No: CIMX 8323 SA
Available: InStock
Category: Hybrid Multichannel SACD
Label: Impex

Not as good to these ears as Cafe Blue or Modern Cool

3 Stars
Posted Tuesday, October 5, 2021 by Jimmy James Just doesnt have the depth or soul of the others. I dont think the recording is as good. Enjoying Eden Atwood WAVES more and I bought them at the same time. I like Eden's vocals in the center channel. The sound on WAVES is just spectacular.


Kenny Dorham - Matador Product No: CIMX 8321 SA
Available: InStock
Category: Hybrid Stereo SACD
Label: Impex

Awesome

5 Stars
Posted Sunday, September 26, 2021 by Brian This sound here is wonderful. There are no distortions of any kind, no tape hiss, nothing. The sound is very strong and it sounds very natural. Kenny hits notes that I don't think would play on a record player. Generally, his trumpet plays out of the left and, on at least one occasion, his notes could be eye- squintingly piercing. I take that as essentially perfect reproduction of his sound.

Overall, all of the instruments were easy to point out. The piano sounded vibrant and well-recorded. Actually, I could say that for all of the instruments. Perfect pitch, timbre, or whatever you call it. Additionally, you really feel like you are not just in the studio, but amongst the musicians.

Excellent on all accounts.


Bob James - One Product No: CEVO 569 SA
Available: InStock
Category: Hybrid Stereo SACD
Label: Evosound

Stereo, Not Multichannel

4 Stars
Posted Wednesday, August 4, 2021 by Jeff Evosound made a mistake in the marketing of this SACD. This is a hybrid stereo SACD, not hybrid multichannel.



Viewing 1 - 20 of 55 Products