Found 34 product(s) in the

SACD

category that are

Limited Stock

in

Product Reviews

Results Per Page
Viewing 1 - 20 of 34 Products
The Rolling Stones - Let It Bleed Product No: CABJ 9578 SA
Available: LimitedStock
Category: SHM Single Layer SACDs
Label: Abkco

Classic Stones

4 Stars
Posted Sunday, July 19, 2020 by Mike I have both SHM discs, Let It Bleed & Exile On Main Street. Both are much warmer than any other version I've heard. That being said, both have a ton of air & smoothness to them, which to my ears translates to warmth. I think would match perfectly with brighter systems. Still, very non fatigued sound All depends on sound preference.. A bit too warm for my system, but hey, it's The Stones.


Carly Simon - Carly Simon Product No: CMOB 2165 SA
Available: LimitedStock
Category: Hybrid Stereo SACD
Label: Mobile Fidelity

Good for SACD, but not great

3 Stars
Posted Friday, April 20, 2018 by Anonymous I purchased this title after being really impressed with the Mobile Fidelity SACD release of Carly Simon's "No Secrets," which sounds great. This SACD sounds a bit better than a good sounding CD release, but not great. It is relatively veiled - lacking clarity or depth. It really holds some of the songs back from being magic - "Dan, My Fling" in particular which would be amazing with great quality sound. It very well could be the original recording or degradation of the master tape over time (although I've heard older recordings sound much better.) The music itself is often good, but not as consistently good as No Secrets. If you already like the album this may be as good as it gets. It just isn't up to the sound standards of a great SACD.


Santana - Lotus Product No: CAFZ 247 SA
Available: LimitedStock
Category: Hybrid Stereo SACD
Label: Audio Fidelity

A Must Have!

5 Stars
Posted Thursday, March 9, 2017 by Stephen Bieth This has been one of my favourite live album for years. This was originally a Japanese release only then in '91 it was released here. The '91 CD had some issues with distortion. However it doesn't here. The mastering on this SACD is great. I have to be honest I was thinking that this was not going to sound very good. Based solely on what I thought the master tapes might be like. Well I was wrong and very happy to admit it. This, hopefullly will show there is a market for Jazz/Rock fusion SACD's . I would love to hear the four CD set of Miles At The Fillmore on SACD!


Bob Dylan - Live 1964 Concert At Philharmonic Hall Product No: CAFZ 230 SA
Available: LimitedStock
Category: Hybrid Multichannel SACD
Label: Audio Fidelity

5 Stars
Posted Sunday, August 21, 2016 by Anonymous


Laura Nyro - Eli And The Thirteenth Confession Product No: CAFZ 237 SA
Available: LimitedStock
Category: Hybrid Multichannel SACD
Label: Audio Fidelity

Absolutely Stunning Remaster

5 Stars
Posted Saturday, June 25, 2016 by Anonymous Absolutely STUNNING. Sitting here listening for round 2 of this release in amazing QUAD surround. It's like hearing it all over again for the first time. Yeah, I am biased. I got this album upon it's initial release and I was a senior in high school. I still remember thinking - WOW - this woman is amazing. Nothing like I had ever heard. Sure I was aware of her writings thanks to the releases by Fifth Dimension and Three Dog Night. But to hear her sing - she had such power and passion! And her arrangement of Eli and the Thirteenth Confession blew Three Dogs Night right out the window. Raw emotions right there on vinyl for me to hear. When I saw this was going to be released in QUAD I immediately pre-ordered it. It is friggin' stellar. Great separation between Laura's vocals and the instruments on the multi channels. Overall, a balanced recording with Laura's voice front and center. And the instruments complement her vocals as opposed to competing for prominence.


Lyn Stanley - Interludes Product No: CATM 3104 SA
Available: LimitedStock
Category: Hybrid Stereo SACD
Label: A.T. Music

Pasionless

1 Stars
Posted Monday, March 21, 2016 by Cal Liedtke While the studio mastering and the individual artists that Stanley surrounds herself with are all outstanding it is Lyn Stanley herself that is a huge disappointment. Indeed, Stanley is the most passionless vocalist I have ever heard.


Peter, Paul & Mary - Album 1700 Product No: CAPF 1700 SA
Available: LimitedStock
Category: Hybrid Stereo SACD
Label: Analogue Productions

The Best Version of A Classic, Favorite Album

5 Stars
Posted Thursday, March 10, 2016 by Jeffrey Fritz "Album 1700" is, by far, my favorite Peter, Paul & Mary album. I own the original LP and the Warner Brothers CD.

So how does the SACD sound? In a word "fantastic!" The vocals are clean and clear. Dick Kniss' upright acoustic bass is amazing on "Weep for Jamie" and "Whatshername." Clear, clean, strong and powerful-- much more so than on either the LP or CD. You can hear every string on the bass as it's played. The rest of the instruments come through sounding natural and real.

Kevin Gray has somehow figured out how to tame Mary Travers vocals. Mary had a powerful voice that could overload just about any microphone used to record her. How Kevin Gray overcame that is a mystery--but I'm glad that he did.

Tape hiss is audible during the quiet passages. I think that's a good thing because it may mean that processing was kept to a minimum in the remaster.

Kevin Gray's remaster lets me hear what happened in the recording studio back in 1967--and that


John Coltrane - John Coltrane Quartet Plays Product No: CIPJ 85 SA
Available: LimitedStock
Category: Hybrid Stereo SACD
Label: Analogue Productions (Impulse)

Wonderful!

5 Stars
Posted Thursday, November 26, 2015 by Joe Johnson Analogue productions has done it again. This is night and day superior to other digital versions. Let's hope there are more of these Coltrane/Impulse releases to come.


Foreigner - Foreigner Product No: CMOB 2050 SA
Available: LimitedStock
Category: Hybrid Stereo SACD
Label: Mobile Fidelity

5 Stars
Posted Friday, October 24, 2014 by Anonymous


Elvis Presley - King Creole Product No: CAFZ 160 SA
Available: LimitedStock
Category: Hybrid Mono SACD
Label: Audio Fidelity

Not a Great Advert for Hybrid SACD

1 Stars
Posted Thursday, August 22, 2013 by FJC U.K. Now don't get me wrong, I'm a real Fan of Audio Fidelity and their latest batch of Hybrid SACDs and for the most part the ones I have are all pretty much near Reference quality.....but this Elvis disc is a stinker from start to finish I'm afraid - poor resolution, muddy sound, poor seperation of the vocals...etc. etc. - if you really want to hear this album at it's best either purchase (or keep hold of) the Sony Legacy release from the late 90's...play them 'A to B' aginst each other and if you didn't know any better you'd expect the Sony release to be the freshly minted disc.....oh well, never mind!


Foreigner - 4 Product No: CMOB 2053 SA
Available: LimitedStock
Category: Hybrid Stereo SACD
Label: Mobile Fidelity

Worth The Wait!!

5 Stars
Posted Thursday, June 13, 2013 by Rockstar2112 Mobile Fidelity's version of F4 has finally been released on sacd & I can only say that it is superb. This album has been a fave of mine since 1981 & it has never sounded better to these ears. The drums especially sound more pronounced & life like on one of my desert island classics. I had almost given up hope that F4 would ever be released by MoFi but the extremely long wait was well worth it & my patience paid off! Foreigner's debut album is available on sacd from MoFi & is excellent also.


Harry Belafonte - Calypso Product No: CAFZ 138 SA
Available: LimitedStock
Category: Hybrid Mono SACD
Label: Audio Fidelity

Harry Belafonte's

5 Stars
Posted Sunday, April 28, 2013 by Michael "Bear" Arlt This is the first time hearing Harry Belafonte's "Calypso" without loud pops, surface noise from ground in dirt, crackle, inner-groove distortion, and groove damage at loud peaks caused by those clunky medievil 1950's hi-fi tonearms that double as phonograph record torture devices. Halfway though the third track, all I kept saying to myself is "wow!" No surface noise or distortion, I can hear fingers sliding on the guitar strings and a ride cymbal, this disc is amazing.

The SACD sounds better than my 2S/1S LP, and it doesn't have the audio problems of the 57 year old wax. This disc sounds more open and sweeter than the 2S vinyl and a 1956 Japanese Victor LP I own. When I found the Japanese LP, I was expecting a sonic miracle but the Japanese LP is pretty noisy and sounds a few tape generations down from the original tape.

The two LP's are now heading to Goodwill.

The SACD is the sonic miracle I was waiting for. Thanks to Kevin Gray for a great mastering job, and to Audio Fidelity for putting out this wonderful disc.


Seigen Ono Ensemble - Septet 2003 Live Product No: CSDA 1025 SA
Available: LimitedStock
Category: Hybrid Multichannel SACD
Label: Saidera Records

Good Jazz Performance

4 Stars
Posted Tuesday, January 1, 2013 by Anonymous I listened to Mr Ono's Septet for the first time in this SACD. Very interesting approach to Jazz and a very decent live sound. I like it.


Ray Charles - Ray Charles and Betty Carter Product No: CAPP 385 SA
Available: LimitedStock
Category: Hybrid 3-Channel Stereo SACD
Label: Analogue Productions

5 Stars
Posted Wednesday, July 11, 2012 by Anonymous


Ray Charles - Live In Concert Product No: CAPP 500 SA
Available: LimitedStock
Category: Hybrid Stereo SACD
Label: Analogue Productions

R.C. Live, as good as it gets.

5 Stars
Posted Wednesday, July 11, 2012 by Anonymous For anyone lucky enough to have seen Ray live, this will bring back memories. Excellent audio quality.


Ray Charles - Genius+Soul=Jazz Product No: CAPP 2 SA
Available: LimitedStock
Category: Hybrid Stereo SACD
Label: Analogue Productions

Another jazz classic

5 Stars
Posted Wednesday, July 11, 2012 by Anonymous More jazz than R&B, this is another must-have disc. Excellent audio quality.


Billie Holiday - Songs For Distingue Lovers Product No: CVRJ 6021 SA
Available: LimitedStock
Category: Hybrid Stereo SACD
Label: Analogue Productions (Verve)

A new reference

5 Stars
Posted Friday, May 25, 2012 by pvk This is my third version of this recording and now probably my favorite. In prior versions, the remastering jobs have all been strong, with Ms. Holiday's voice coming out large and in front of the band. But with this release, she takes a few steps back, her voice now appropriately "head-sized, and takes her place with a great band that previously was over-shadowed. The overall presentation is now one of you sitting right in the front row of an intimate session. Excellent!


Ben Webster - Ben Webster Meets Oscar Peterson Product No: CVRJ 6114 SA
Available: LimitedStock
Category: Hybrid Stereo SACD
Label: Analogue Productions (Verve)

Realizes the potential of SACD

5 Stars
Posted Monday, April 9, 2012 by Stevie D This is an excellent, natural-sounding transfer that emphasizes the music, realizing the potential of the SACD format.

Great playing by all, with a wonderfully sensitive musical interaction and vibe that clearly comes through in the listening.


Billie Holiday - Body And Soul Product No: CVRJ 8197 SA
Available: LimitedStock
Category: Hybrid Mono SACD
Label: Analogue Productions (Verve)

Mono sounds awesome

5 Stars
Posted Monday, February 6, 2012 by Steve Short and sweet, I will be buying the complete set. The mono recording is so clear, it really sounds like a live concert. I am running this direct DSD through an Oppo BDP 83 SE, but the non SACD layer is also excellent. It is amazing what modern technology can do for these master tapes. As an audiophile and jazz lover, I really appreciate that Analogue Productions is reproducing these classics for lucky listeners.


Palladian Ensemble - Held By The Ears Product No: CLIN 168 SA
Available: LimitedStock
Category: Hybrid Stereo SACD
Label: Linn

Great introduction to SACD

5 Stars
Posted Sunday, January 22, 2012 by dannho There was one factor when I purchased this SACD. The low price. I knew nothing about the group or the music they play. I wanted a pretty cheap introduction to the world of SACDs. That said, I must say this is a fantastic recording. It sounds wonderful on my entry level system (Onkyo C-S5VL SACD player, Jolida JD102CRC Integrated Tube Stereo Amp and Pioneer SP-BS41-LR speakers). I felt like my apartment had been turned into a small concert hall and I had the best seats in the house. I have played the CD several times and I am amazed by the sound.



Viewing 1 - 20 of 34 Products