Found 36 product(s) in the

SACD

category that are

Limited Stock

in

Product Reviews

Results Per Page
Viewing 1 - 20 of 36 Products
The Mahavishnu Orchestra - Birds Of Fire Product No: CAFZ 212 SA
Available: LimitedStock
Category: Hybrid Multichannel SACD
Label: Audio Fidelity

Best sounding version yet!

5 Stars
Posted Saturday, January 26, 2019 by John T. I don't think there have been many remasterings of this title but I have the original LP and the Friday Music 180g LP which sounds clearer with more presence and bottom end than the original LP. But this Audio Fidelity SACD is better yet. The drums really stand out in the mix as they should being played by Billy Cobham. Way better clarity, bass, depth, and less harsh highs than the original with a bit more dynamics than the Friday Music LP. The track "Hope" will rattle the floor if you have a dynamic system. Fortunately I bought it when it was still $29.99.


Herbie Hancock - Thrust Product No: CAFZ 223 SA
Available: LimitedStock
Category: Hybrid Multichannel SACD
Label: Audio Fidelity

Awesome

5 Stars
Posted Tuesday, June 5, 2018 by Anonymous Great release of a great album


Carly Simon - Carly Simon Product No: CMOB 2165 SA
Available: LimitedStock
Category: Hybrid Stereo SACD
Label: Mobile Fidelity

Good for SACD, but not great

3 Stars
Posted Friday, April 20, 2018 by Anonymous I purchased this title after being really impressed with the Mobile Fidelity SACD release of Carly Simon's "No Secrets," which sounds great. This SACD sounds a bit better than a good sounding CD release, but not great. It is relatively veiled - lacking clarity or depth. It really holds some of the songs back from being magic - "Dan, My Fling" in particular which would be amazing with great quality sound. It very well could be the original recording or degradation of the master tape over time (although I've heard older recordings sound much better.) The music itself is often good, but not as consistently good as No Secrets. If you already like the album this may be as good as it gets. It just isn't up to the sound standards of a great SACD.


Ike Quebec - Soul Samba Bossa Nova Product No: CBNJ 84114 SA
Available: LimitedStock
Category: Hybrid Stereo SACD
Label: Analogue Productions (Blue Note)

5 Stars
Posted Thursday, March 8, 2018 by Anonymous


Analogue Productions - Deluxe Blue Note Sacd Box Product No: P BOX SACD B1
Available: LimitedStock
Category: Box For SACD Series
Label: Equipment

collectional item

5 Stars
Posted Tuesday, June 27, 2017 by Anonymous very nice box to store and display for all that loves Blue Note label and the music and the artist. Historical pictures outside.


Santana - Lotus Product No: CAFZ 247 SA
Available: LimitedStock
Category: Hybrid Stereo SACD
Label: Audio Fidelity

A Must Have!

5 Stars
Posted Thursday, March 9, 2017 by Stephen Bieth This has been one of my favourite live album for years. This was originally a Japanese release only then in '91 it was released here. The '91 CD had some issues with distortion. However it doesn't here. The mastering on this SACD is great. I have to be honest I was thinking that this was not going to sound very good. Based solely on what I thought the master tapes might be like. Well I was wrong and very happy to admit it. This, hopefullly will show there is a market for Jazz/Rock fusion SACD's . I would love to hear the four CD set of Miles At The Fillmore on SACD!


Blue Oyster Cult - Secret Treaties Product No: CAFZ 246 SA
Available: LimitedStock
Category: Hybrid Multichannel SACD
Label: Audio Fidelity

Excellent

5 Stars
Posted Monday, January 9, 2017 by Anonymous A BOC masterpiece in surround sound. Surround mix enhances the recording in a natural way without overemphasizing the surround effect. Not over equalized like a lot of surround mixes are. Only real issue is that it could have been just a little louder. Have to turn the volume up a good bit louder than most SACDs. If you like this album and have a good sounding surround system, this is a must have. Would love to have more early BOC titles in surround format.


Bob Dylan - Live 1964 Concert At Philharmonic Hall Product No: CAFZ 230 SA
Available: LimitedStock
Category: Hybrid Multichannel SACD
Label: Audio Fidelity

5 Stars
Posted Sunday, August 21, 2016 by Anonymous


Laura Nyro - Eli And The Thirteenth Confession Product No: CAFZ 237 SA
Available: LimitedStock
Category: Hybrid Multichannel SACD
Label: Audio Fidelity

Absolutely Stunning Remaster

5 Stars
Posted Saturday, June 25, 2016 by Anonymous Absolutely STUNNING. Sitting here listening for round 2 of this release in amazing QUAD surround. It's like hearing it all over again for the first time. Yeah, I am biased. I got this album upon it's initial release and I was a senior in high school. I still remember thinking - WOW - this woman is amazing. Nothing like I had ever heard. Sure I was aware of her writings thanks to the releases by Fifth Dimension and Three Dog Night. But to hear her sing - she had such power and passion! And her arrangement of Eli and the Thirteenth Confession blew Three Dogs Night right out the window. Raw emotions right there on vinyl for me to hear. When I saw this was going to be released in QUAD I immediately pre-ordered it. It is friggin' stellar. Great separation between Laura's vocals and the instruments on the multi channels. Overall, a balanced recording with Laura's voice front and center. And the instruments complement her vocals as opposed to competing for prominence.


John Williams - Close Encounters Of The Third Kind Product No: CAFZ 226 SA
Available: LimitedStock
Category: Hybrid Stereo SACD
Label: Audio Fidelity

Another Steve Hoffman master

5 Stars
Posted Sunday, November 29, 2015 by Cal John Williams' movie soundtrack work is largely under appreciated by audiophiles perhaps because it is "just a film score". But it you watch Raiders of the Lost Ark, Star Wars, or Close Encounters and either pay close attention to the score OR omit it altogether then you will come to value William's brilliant work. This SACD version of Close Encounters deserves such recognition. The brass instruments are clean and specific across the sound stage. The quite passages are dark and riddled with tension.

But what brings this SACD version to the forefront of audiophile glory is that it was mastered by legend STEVE HOFFMAN at Stephen Marsh Mastering. Vinyl collectors know how prized Hoffman's master of Williams' Raiders of the Lost Ark on the DCC lable is. A M- copy can't be bought today for under $150.00. So, this SACD is a fitting nod to William's Close Encounters. Two legendary masters coming together a second time.


Lyn Stanley - Potions (From The 50's) Product No: CATM 3103 SA
Available: LimitedStock
Category: Hybrid Stereo SACD
Label: A.T. Music

hmm

4 Stars
Posted Tuesday, November 25, 2014 by Anonymous for all the over the top reviews...while it's good...it's not perfect...maybe the vinyl is better than the SACD? It's worth buying..but I'd give it 4 of 5 stars on recording quality


Sly & The Family Stone - There's a Riot Goin' On Product No: CORM 1079 SA
Available: LimitedStock
Category: Hybrid Stereo SACD
Label: ORG Music

5 Stars
Posted Monday, November 3, 2014 by Anonymous


Elvis Presley - King Creole Product No: CAFZ 160 SA
Available: LimitedStock
Category: Hybrid Mono SACD
Label: Audio Fidelity

Not a Great Advert for Hybrid SACD

1 Stars
Posted Thursday, August 22, 2013 by FJC U.K. Now don't get me wrong, I'm a real Fan of Audio Fidelity and their latest batch of Hybrid SACDs and for the most part the ones I have are all pretty much near Reference quality.....but this Elvis disc is a stinker from start to finish I'm afraid - poor resolution, muddy sound, poor seperation of the vocals...etc. etc. - if you really want to hear this album at it's best either purchase (or keep hold of) the Sony Legacy release from the late 90's...play them 'A to B' aginst each other and if you didn't know any better you'd expect the Sony release to be the freshly minted disc.....oh well, never mind!


Harry Belafonte - Calypso Product No: CAFZ 138 SA
Available: LimitedStock
Category: Hybrid Mono SACD
Label: Audio Fidelity

Harry Belafonte's

5 Stars
Posted Sunday, April 28, 2013 by Michael "Bear" Arlt This is the first time hearing Harry Belafonte's "Calypso" without loud pops, surface noise from ground in dirt, crackle, inner-groove distortion, and groove damage at loud peaks caused by those clunky medievil 1950's hi-fi tonearms that double as phonograph record torture devices. Halfway though the third track, all I kept saying to myself is "wow!" No surface noise or distortion, I can hear fingers sliding on the guitar strings and a ride cymbal, this disc is amazing.

The SACD sounds better than my 2S/1S LP, and it doesn't have the audio problems of the 57 year old wax. This disc sounds more open and sweeter than the 2S vinyl and a 1956 Japanese Victor LP I own. When I found the Japanese LP, I was expecting a sonic miracle but the Japanese LP is pretty noisy and sounds a few tape generations down from the original tape.

The two LP's are now heading to Goodwill.

The SACD is the sonic miracle I was waiting for. Thanks to Kevin Gray for a great mastering job, and to Audio Fidelity for putting out this wonderful disc.


Bob Dylan And The Band - The Basement Tapes Product No: CMOB 2082 SA
Available: LimitedStock
Category: Hybrid Stereo SACD
Label: Mobile Fidelity

honest to god this disc is fun!

5 Stars
Posted Saturday, March 23, 2013 by Anonymous between all who play on this record there's not one thing that isn't full of musicianship and relaxed performance. they seem to be having the best time with each other.


Seigen Ono Ensemble - Septet 2003 Live Product No: CSDA 1025 SA
Available: LimitedStock
Category: Hybrid Multichannel SACD
Label: Saidera Records

Good Jazz Performance

4 Stars
Posted Tuesday, January 1, 2013 by Anonymous I listened to Mr Ono's Septet for the first time in this SACD. Very interesting approach to Jazz and a very decent live sound. I like it.


Ray Charles - Genius+Soul=Jazz Product No: CAPP 2 SA
Available: LimitedStock
Category: Hybrid Stereo SACD
Label: Analogue Productions

Another jazz classic

5 Stars
Posted Wednesday, July 11, 2012 by Anonymous More jazz than R&B, this is another must-have disc. Excellent audio quality.


Ray Charles - Ray Charles and Betty Carter Product No: CAPP 385 SA
Available: LimitedStock
Category: Hybrid 3-Channel Stereo SACD
Label: Analogue Productions

5 Stars
Posted Wednesday, July 11, 2012 by Anonymous


Ray Charles - Live In Concert Product No: CAPP 500 SA
Available: LimitedStock
Category: Hybrid Stereo SACD
Label: Analogue Productions

R.C. Live, as good as it gets.

5 Stars
Posted Wednesday, July 11, 2012 by Anonymous For anyone lucky enough to have seen Ray live, this will bring back memories. Excellent audio quality.


Billie Holiday - Songs For Distingue Lovers Product No: CVRJ 6021 SA
Available: LimitedStock
Category: Hybrid Stereo SACD
Label: Analogue Productions (Verve)

A new reference

5 Stars
Posted Friday, May 25, 2012 by pvk This is my third version of this recording and now probably my favorite. In prior versions, the remastering jobs have all been strong, with Ms. Holiday's voice coming out large and in front of the band. But with this release, she takes a few steps back, her voice now appropriately "head-sized, and takes her place with a great band that previously was over-shadowed. The overall presentation is now one of you sitting right in the front row of an intimate session. Excellent!



Viewing 1 - 20 of 36 Products