Found 39 product(s) in the

SACD

category that are

Limited Stock

in

Product Reviews

Results Per Page
Viewing 1 - 20 of 39 Products
Herbie Hancock - Thrust Product No: CAFZ 223 SA
Available: LimitedStock
Category: Hybrid Multichannel SACD
Label: Audio Fidelity

Awesome

5 Stars
Posted Tuesday, June 5, 2018 by Anonymous Great release of a great album


Carly Simon - Carly Simon Product No: CMOB 2165 SA
Available: LimitedStock
Category: Hybrid Stereo SACD
Label: Mobile Fidelity

Good for SACD, but not great

3 Stars
Posted Friday, April 20, 2018 by Anonymous I purchased this title after being really impressed with the Mobile Fidelity SACD release of Carly Simon's "No Secrets," which sounds great. This SACD sounds a bit better than a good sounding CD release, but not great. It is relatively veiled - lacking clarity or depth. It really holds some of the songs back from being magic - "Dan, My Fling" in particular which would be amazing with great quality sound. It very well could be the original recording or degradation of the master tape over time (although I've heard older recordings sound much better.) The music itself is often good, but not as consistently good as No Secrets. If you already like the album this may be as good as it gets. It just isn't up to the sound standards of a great SACD.


Carly Simon - Anticipation Product No: CMOB 2166 SA
Available: LimitedStock
Category: Hybrid Stereo SACD
Label: Mobile Fidelity

A good, but not great SACD release

4 Stars
Posted Friday, April 20, 2018 by Anonymous I purchased this title after being really impressed with the Mobile Fidelity SACD release of Carly Simon's "No Secrets," which sounds great. Actually, I purchased "Carly Simon" (released in 1971), Anticipation (released in later 1971), and No Secrets (released in 1972) all on SACD. I mention this because the SACD of Carly Simon sounds decent, this SACD (Anticipation) sounds better, and then "No Secrets" sounds the best.

This SACD sounds notably better than a good sounding CD release, just not great. It is somewhat veiled - lacking some of the clarity and depth of a great SACD release. It very well could be the original recording or degradation of the master tape over time. The music itself contains several classics. If you already like the album this SACD is probably as good as it gets.


Ike Quebec - Soul Samba Bossa Nova Product No: CBNJ 84114 SA
Available: LimitedStock
Category: Hybrid Stereo SACD
Label: Analogue Productions (Blue Note)

5 Stars
Posted Thursday, March 8, 2018 by Anonymous


Analogue Productions - Deluxe Blue Note Sacd Box Product No: P BOX SACD B1
Available: LimitedStock
Category: Box For SACD Series
Label: Equipment

collectional item

5 Stars
Posted Tuesday, June 27, 2017 by Anonymous very nice box to store and display for all that loves Blue Note label and the music and the artist. Historical pictures outside.


Santana - Lotus Product No: CAFZ 247 SA
Available: LimitedStock
Category: Hybrid Stereo SACD
Label: Audio Fidelity

A Must Have!

5 Stars
Posted Thursday, March 9, 2017 by Stephen Bieth This has been one of my favourite live album for years. This was originally a Japanese release only then in '91 it was released here. The '91 CD had some issues with distortion. However it doesn't here. The mastering on this SACD is great. I have to be honest I was thinking that this was not going to sound very good. Based solely on what I thought the master tapes might be like. Well I was wrong and very happy to admit it. This, hopefullly will show there is a market for Jazz/Rock fusion SACD's . I would love to hear the four CD set of Miles At The Fillmore on SACD!


Miles Davis - Filles De Kilimanjaro Product No: CMOB 2148 SA
Available: LimitedStock
Category: Hybrid Stereo SACD
Label: Mobile Fidelity

Laying back with Miles

5 Stars
Posted Thursday, September 8, 2016 by Terry Frankllin This is my favorite period for Miles. I pull out this SACD to listen to the drums pound and the cymbals crash. It just puts me there.


Bob Dylan - Live 1964 Concert At Philharmonic Hall Product No: CAFZ 230 SA
Available: LimitedStock
Category: Hybrid Multichannel SACD
Label: Audio Fidelity

5 Stars
Posted Sunday, August 21, 2016 by Anonymous


Laura Nyro - Eli And The Thirteenth Confession Product No: CAFZ 237 SA
Available: LimitedStock
Category: Hybrid Multichannel SACD
Label: Audio Fidelity

Absolutely Stunning Remaster

5 Stars
Posted Saturday, June 25, 2016 by Anonymous Absolutely STUNNING. Sitting here listening for round 2 of this release in amazing QUAD surround. It's like hearing it all over again for the first time. Yeah, I am biased. I got this album upon it's initial release and I was a senior in high school. I still remember thinking - WOW - this woman is amazing. Nothing like I had ever heard. Sure I was aware of her writings thanks to the releases by Fifth Dimension and Three Dog Night. But to hear her sing - she had such power and passion! And her arrangement of Eli and the Thirteenth Confession blew Three Dogs Night right out the window. Raw emotions right there on vinyl for me to hear. When I saw this was going to be released in QUAD I immediately pre-ordered it. It is friggin' stellar. Great separation between Laura's vocals and the instruments on the multi channels. Overall, a balanced recording with Laura's voice front and center. And the instruments complement her vocals as opposed to competing for prominence.


Lyn Stanley - Interludes Product No: CATM 3104 SA
Available: LimitedStock
Category: Hybrid Stereo SACD
Label: A.T. Music

Pasionless

1 Stars
Posted Monday, March 21, 2016 by Cal Liedtke While the studio mastering and the individual artists that Stanley surrounds herself with are all outstanding it is Lyn Stanley herself that is a huge disappointment. Indeed, Stanley is the most passionless vocalist I have ever heard.


Eddie Higgins Quintet - It's Magic Product No: CVEN 0051 SA
Available: LimitedStock
Category: Single Layer Stereo SACD
Label: Venus

Recommended.

5 Stars
Posted Tuesday, January 19, 2016 by Fred Davidson This is a single-layer SACD on the Venus Label in Japan (also on regular CD, I believe) .

Unlike a lot of other Higgins releases, this is a quintet -- interestingly, with two tenor sax players: Hamilton and Peplowski. We also get clarinet work from Peplowski (wonderful! He's on my radar now, for clarinet-based recordings). It also features Jay Leonhart on bass and Ben Riley on drums.

I like the Venus mix -- very much in-the-room, very present. I envision a quiet bar/restaurant atop a hotel, overlooking Osaka, where the drinks and food are just fine, and the view is magnificent, and off to the side this group is winding its way through a bunch


John Coltrane - John Coltrane Quartet Plays Product No: CIPJ 85 SA
Available: LimitedStock
Category: Hybrid Stereo SACD
Label: Analogue Productions (Impulse)

Wonderful!

5 Stars
Posted Thursday, November 26, 2015 by Joe Johnson Analogue productions has done it again. This is night and day superior to other digital versions. Let's hope there are more of these Coltrane/Impulse releases to come.


Bob Dylan - Bob Dylan Product No: CMOB 2122 SA
Available: LimitedStock
Category: Hybrid Stereo SACD
Label: Mobile Fidelity

True Stereo

5 Stars
Posted Tuesday, May 19, 2015 by Tony S We now have 3 versions regular CD, Mono CD and this...the mono CD should be kept and played if your an audiofile because it's different than the SACD release and regular CD. The SACD release is essential and great because you can hear the guitar playing clear as day if your in dream land you would really think he's in the room with you. The vocals are basically on the left and it does sound real. I guess that's the idea of paying 29.99$ for these releases as opposed 5-10$ for the CDs the sound is much fuller much warmer and as a positive consequence more real more life like in sound. I recommend this release I think it was done very nicely and if you really love Bob Dylan's music you'll surely love this release.


Bob Dylan - Blood on the Tracks Product No: CMOB 2098 SA
Available: LimitedStock
Category: Hybrid Stereo SACD
Label: Mobile Fidelity

Brilliant & Compelling.

5 Stars
Posted Thursday, February 5, 2015 by Anonymous Everytime I play this I'm just amazed how fresh and intimate it sounds after all these years. The MFSL team did a really marvelous job - every detail just right....No doubt this one will inspire and energize for years to come. Strongly recommend.


The Band - The Last Waltz Product No: CMOB 2139 SA
Available: LimitedStock
Category: Hybrid Stereo SACD
Label: Mobile Fidelity

Finally, A Version Worth Listening To....

4 Stars
Posted Friday, January 23, 2015 by Steve K Finallly a version worth a listen! I'm a big fan of the Band. I bought the vinyl back in the day, played it once and put it away. Same with the Cd version. I haven't heard the download version but don't hesitate to buy the MoFi sacd version. Great performances. The recording quality isnt quite up to Rock Of Ages but its stellar compared to other versions of album. Way to go, MOFi!


Lyn Stanley - Potions (From The 50's) Product No: CATM 3103 SA
Available: LimitedStock
Category: Hybrid Stereo SACD
Label: A.T. Music

hmm

4 Stars
Posted Tuesday, November 25, 2014 by Anonymous for all the over the top reviews...while it's good...it's not perfect...maybe the vinyl is better than the SACD? It's worth buying..but I'd give it 4 of 5 stars on recording quality


Elvis Presley - King Creole Product No: CAFZ 160 SA
Available: LimitedStock
Category: Hybrid Mono SACD
Label: Audio Fidelity

Not a Great Advert for Hybrid SACD

1 Stars
Posted Thursday, August 22, 2013 by FJC U.K. Now don't get me wrong, I'm a real Fan of Audio Fidelity and their latest batch of Hybrid SACDs and for the most part the ones I have are all pretty much near Reference quality.....but this Elvis disc is a stinker from start to finish I'm afraid - poor resolution, muddy sound, poor seperation of the vocals...etc. etc. - if you really want to hear this album at it's best either purchase (or keep hold of) the Sony Legacy release from the late 90's...play them 'A to B' aginst each other and if you didn't know any better you'd expect the Sony release to be the freshly minted disc.....oh well, never mind!


Harry Belafonte - Calypso Product No: CAFZ 138 SA
Available: LimitedStock
Category: Hybrid Mono SACD
Label: Audio Fidelity

Harry Belafonte's

5 Stars
Posted Sunday, April 28, 2013 by Michael "Bear" Arlt This is the first time hearing Harry Belafonte's "Calypso" without loud pops, surface noise from ground in dirt, crackle, inner-groove distortion, and groove damage at loud peaks caused by those clunky medievil 1950's hi-fi tonearms that double as phonograph record torture devices. Halfway though the third track, all I kept saying to myself is "wow!" No surface noise or distortion, I can hear fingers sliding on the guitar strings and a ride cymbal, this disc is amazing.

The SACD sounds better than my 2S/1S LP, and it doesn't have the audio problems of the 57 year old wax. This disc sounds more open and sweeter than the 2S vinyl and a 1956 Japanese Victor LP I own. When I found the Japanese LP, I was expecting a sonic miracle but the Japanese LP is pretty noisy and sounds a few tape generations down from the original tape.

The two LP's are now heading to Goodwill.

The SACD is the sonic miracle I was waiting for. Thanks to Kevin Gray for a great mastering job, and to Audio Fidelity for putting out this wonderful disc.


Lynyrd Skynyrd - Second Helping Product No: CISJ 9633 SA
Available: LimitedStock
Category: SHM Single Layer SACDs
Label: Island

Excellent release

5 Stars
Posted Sunday, January 20, 2013 by Anonymous Best sounding release of this recording I have heard.


Seigen Ono Ensemble - Septet 2003 Live Product No: CSDA 1025 SA
Available: LimitedStock
Category: Hybrid Multichannel SACD
Label: Saidera Records

Good Jazz Performance

4 Stars
Posted Tuesday, January 1, 2013 by Anonymous I listened to Mr Ono's Septet for the first time in this SACD. Very interesting approach to Jazz and a very decent live sound. I like it.



Viewing 1 - 20 of 39 Products