Carriers are reporting longer-than-normal shipping times. Acoustic Sounds is not responsible for in-transit delays.

Found 43 product(s) in the

SACD

category in the

Jazz Music

genre in

Product Reviews

Results Per Page
Viewing 1 - 20 of 43 Products
Patricia Barber - Clique Product No: CIMX 8323 SA
Available: InStock
Category: Hybrid Multichannel SACD
Label: Impex

Not as good to these ears as Cafe Blue or Modern Cool

3 Stars
Posted Tuesday, October 5, 2021 by Jimmy James Just doesnt have the depth or soul of the others. I dont think the recording is as good. Enjoying Eden Atwood WAVES more and I bought them at the same time. I like Eden's vocals in the center channel. The sound on WAVES is just spectacular.


Charles Mingus - Mingus Ah Um Product No: CMOB 2208 SA
Available: InStock
Category: Hybrid Stereo SACD
Label: Mobile Fidelity

Very Nice

5 Stars
Posted Tuesday, October 5, 2021 by Brian VanPelt Everything is very clear on this SACD. All of the instruments sound true. There is no discernible distortion of any kind, nor is there any tape hiss. Even so, the top end seems right, so I don't suspect any issues with rolling off the high end.

All in all, everything sounds correct and natural, and the soundstage seems appropriate wide, with good depth.


Kenny Dorham - Matador Product No: CIMX 8321 SA
Available: InStock
Category: Hybrid Stereo SACD
Label: Impex

Awesome

5 Stars
Posted Sunday, September 26, 2021 by Brian This sound here is wonderful. There are no distortions of any kind, no tape hiss, nothing. The sound is very strong and it sounds very natural. Kenny hits notes that I don't think would play on a record player. Generally, his trumpet plays out of the left and, on at least one occasion, his notes could be eye- squintingly piercing. I take that as essentially perfect reproduction of his sound.

Overall, all of the instruments were easy to point out. The piano sounded vibrant and well-recorded. Actually, I could say that for all of the instruments. Perfect pitch, timbre, or whatever you call it. Additionally, you really feel like you are not just in the studio, but amongst the musicians.

Excellent on all accounts.


Bob James - One Product No: CEVO 569 SA
Available: InStock
Category: Hybrid Stereo SACD
Label: Evosound

Stereo, Not Multichannel

4 Stars
Posted Wednesday, August 4, 2021 by Jeff Evosound made a mistake in the marketing of this SACD. This is a hybrid stereo SACD, not hybrid multichannel.


Eric Dolphy - Out To Lunch Product No: CBLJ 9020 SA
Available: InStock
Category: SHM Single Layer SACDs
Label: Blue Note

Wow!

5 Stars
Posted Sunday, May 9, 2021 by E. Smith If you like abstract music, this is a must have. First the recording quality is absolutely outstanding on this sacd. The composition and performance are nothing short of amazing. This is a jazz masterpiece. Truly unparalleled. The first track “hat and beard” took my breath away. Dolphy was without a doubt a musical genius. I bought this knowing nothing about him and now I can’t get enough. Thank you acoustic sounds, without you I would never have found this gem.


Miles Davis - Sketches Of Spain Product No: CMOB 2086 SA
Available: InStock
Category: Hybrid Stereo SACD
Label: Mobile Fidelity

Highly Recommended

5 Stars
Posted Wednesday, March 3, 2021 by Anonymous A stunning collaboration between master arranger Gil Evans and Miles Davis, plus some of his band and other outstanding jazz players. Davis' playing is unsurpassed in its creativity, tone, and subtlety of phrasing. All rendered in outstanding sound that captures the emotional impact and wide range of colors and rhythm of the music.


Ben Webster Quintet - Soulville Product No: CVRJ 8274 SA
Available: BackOrdered
Category: Hybrid Mono SACD
Label: Analogue Productions (Verve)

5 Stars
Posted Tuesday, December 15, 2020 by Anonymous


Duke Ellington and Johnny Hodges - Side By Side Product No: CVRJ 6109 SA
Available: InStock
Category: Hybrid Stereo SACD
Label: Analogue Productions (Verve)

5 Stars
Posted Thursday, November 19, 2020 by Anonymous


Ben Webster and Harry 'Sweets' Edison - Wanted To Do One Together Product No: CORG 0117 SA
Available: InStock
Category: Hybrid Stereo SACD
Label: ORG - Original Recordings Group

This is a Must Own!!

5 Stars
Posted Wednesday, November 11, 2020 by Nat X I have many albums that I love...and they stay that way...and so often I think that I won't find another one that can come close to any position on that list of the great ones. There are many reasons I love them...some were played during certain times....some I heard out of nowhere and had to own. But...I keep buying albums...always searching...always chasing the dragon. From the first note on this album I was hooked. I'm not saying it's the greatest album of all time...but if you love music...you need to own this. Phenomenal....peaceful...powerful. You'll dig it.


Arnett Cobb - Party Time Product No: CPRJ 7165 SA
Available: InStock
Category: Hybrid Stereo SACD
Label: Analogue Productions (Prestige)

Superb

5 Stars
Posted Friday, June 26, 2020 by Erich Excellent recording and performance. Kevin Gray's master is fantastic on this SACD with superb sound. Very enjoyable...I'm playing it over and over.


Various Artists - The Sound of Jazz Product No: CAPJ 111 SA
Available: InStock
Category: Hybrid 3-Channel Stereo SACD
Label: Analogue Productions

The Real Acoustic Sound of Great Jazz Artists!

5 Stars
Posted Saturday, July 28, 2018 by Anonymous It goes without saying that the musicians, songs and performances on this disc are all among the very best ever. I played clarinet in bands and orchestras during the 1950s and 60s. This is what real acoustic instruments sound like at an intimate jazz venue. This is the essence of Hi Fidelity listening. To me, it is far superior and more enjoyable than today's ubiquitous large, loud, sound reinforced events. I also prefer it to close miked sound booth recordings. 3-channel stereo SACDs take your listing experience to the ultimate level! The musicians stay put no matter where you are in your listening room, so invite your friends to enjoy the music with you because every listening seat is a sweet-spot!


Nat 'King' Cole - Just One of Those Things Product No: CAPP 903 SA
Available: LimitedStock
Category: Hybrid 3-Channel Stereo SACD
Label: Analogue Productions

5 Stars
Posted Friday, April 20, 2018 by Anonymous


Archie Shepp Quartet - Deja Vu Product No: CVEN 0013 SA
Available: BackOrdered
Category: Single Layer Stereo SACD
Label: Venus

Fantastic Jazz album from Venus Records Japan

5 Stars
Posted Tuesday, February 13, 2018 by john whitaker Archie Shepp in a beautiful soul full mood Harold Mabern excellent on piano Super Quartet recording Wonderful sound reproduction from Venus Records of Japan Top notch sound stage


Duke Ellington - Masterpieces By Ellington Product No: CAPJ 4418 SA
Available: InStock
Category: Hybrid Mono SACD
Label: Analogue Productions

Beautiful sound and now improved packaging.

5 Stars
Posted Sunday, January 29, 2017 by CJ Feeney This is a fantastic sounding disc given the age of the recording. Beauiful sounding solo instruements and the group arrangements really sing.

My original review reads as follows:

"I felt I had to deduct a star as the overall package is thin on information. Titles, composers, vocal credit to "Yvonne" but no other musician credits. Date of album recording, but not recording of bonus tracks. No recording venue stated. No explanatory notes of this albums place in Jazz history, no detail on the modern clean up and mastering."

To my surprise, a few months later Analogue Productions sent me an email asking. "If we sent you an improved set of packaging, would you re-review it?"

Wow, yes please.

The new insert includes the full band line up for each piece, more accurate recording session details and an impressive essay on the history of each piece in the years between composition in the 1930s onwards up to the 1950/51 LP recordings.

Excellent work. Fifth star well earned.


Eddie Higgins - You Don't Know What Love Is Product No: CVEN 0009 SA
Available: BackOrdered
Category: Single Layer Stereo SACD
Label: Venus

4 Stars
Posted Monday, May 9, 2016 by Denver Reviewer Performance very charming, particularly "Again" - straightforward but lively. I was disappointed in the way the piano was miked for the performance however - very loud, and while that's warm, it was a bit muddy.


Lyn Stanley - Interludes Product No: CATM 3104 SA
Available: LimitedStock
Category: Hybrid Stereo SACD
Label: A.T. Music

Pasionless

1 Stars
Posted Monday, March 21, 2016 by Cal Liedtke While the studio mastering and the individual artists that Stanley surrounds herself with are all outstanding it is Lyn Stanley herself that is a huge disappointment. Indeed, Stanley is the most passionless vocalist I have ever heard.


John Coltrane - A Love Supreme Product No: CIPJ 77 SA
Available: InStock
Category: Hybrid Stereo SACD
Label: Analogue Productions (Impulse)

Fabulous!

5 Stars
Posted Thursday, November 26, 2015 by Joe Johnson The Analogue Productions mastering is the SACD version of this to own -- clearly and obviously superior to older CD and SACD versions. For once the sound is open, uncompressed, and natural rather than processed sounding. Please give us the rest of the Impulse Coltrane canon, Chad!


Miles Davis - Kind of Blue Product No: CMOB 2085 SA
Available: BackOrdered
Category: Hybrid Stereo SACD
Label: Mobile Fidelity

Another big win for MFSL

5 Stars
Posted Friday, June 12, 2015 by Jeff Just got this and compared to DSD from AS, the Columbia SACD, the K2, and all the other versions i own. This is the best. At least until the vinyl. This is the most realistic sounding, best separation, soundstage, etc. A great job on a classic deserving of a great job.


John Coltrane - Lush Life Product No: CPRJ 7188 SA
Available: InStock
Category: Hybrid Mono SACD
Label: Analogue Productions (Prestige)

John Coltrane - Lush Life Hybrid SACD MONO

5 Stars
Posted Thursday, November 6, 2014 by Mark Powers I will preface all my jazz reviews that I am a newcomer to jazz and easily impressed. I am having great fun with these 2014 AP Prestige series discs. John Coltrane does not disappoint. I immediately got to know him on the opening track, Like Someone in Love, as his sax is very prominent with a subtle bass groove and even more subtle drums with brushes. Tracks 1,2,3 are a trio and tracks 4&5 a quartet with added piano. The mono is superb, I want to say very well balanced but it is mono so I will just say great clarity, depth, good bass, and lovely to listen to. Packaging is heavy cardboard gate fold with liner notes by Joe Goldberg. Very glad to have this 2014 reissue of a great 1957 recording.


Sonny Rollins - Saxophone Colossus Product No: CPRJ 7079 SA
Available: InStock
Category: Hybrid Mono SACD
Label: Analogue Productions (Prestige)

Sonny Rollins - Saxophone Colossus Hybrid SACD Mono 2014

5 Stars
Posted Sunday, November 2, 2014 by Mark Powers As I continue into my jazz listening experimentation, again I am not dissapointed. A 1956 mono recording brought to life in this 2014 reissue. This performance was a sleepy, calming trip for me, leaving me very relaxed and in a good mood. The AP mono reissue was stunning to my baby ears as I have nothing to compare it to. I loved the drumming by Max Roach and the smooth saxophone, strong piano, and great bass. When I listened I could really feel the vibe of the recording studio and the way they had to record, less mics, very quiet, everybody at total professionalism to do there part. Colossus is an understatement.



Viewing 1 - 20 of 43 Products