Found 101 product(s) in the

Hybrid Stereo SACD

category in

Product Reviews

Results Per Page
Viewing 1 - 20 of 101 Products
Edo De Waart - Grieg: Peer Gynt/ Elly Ameling Product No: CDEC 90205 SA
Available: InStock
Category: Hybrid Stereo SACD
Label: Esoteric (Decca)

Excellent sound but has vocals

2 Stars
Posted Saturday, October 12, 2019 by Frank Didn't notice it had vocals until I had already opened the packaging although it does mention Elly Ameling, Soprano on the back of the digipak. Had to eject the disk when Solveigs Song came on due to the loud vocalist I'll probably be selling mine in the future. Also the word Philips was removed from the album cover and even from the picture included inside even though it states front cover image is from the original LP 6514 378. How strange. Not recommended at all.


Dean Martin - Dream With Dean - The Intimate Dean Martin Product No: CAPP 076 SA
Available: InStock
Category: Hybrid Stereo SACD
Label: Analogue Productions

Terrific Listening Experience!

5 Stars
Posted Tuesday, July 2, 2019 by Michael C. Just received my SACD copy today along with two other selections. This one was the first I listened to and it is awesome!! I know this is almost trite but it was like Dean and his backup quartet (guitar, bass,piano, and drums) were in the room with me. At one point you could actually hear Deane take a small breath, and the subtle nuances of the various instruments were clearly present. To think that this music was recorded in 1964 and it still sounds like this is truly extraordinary!! Highly recommended!


Henry Mancini - Hatari! - Music from the Paramount Motion Picture Score Product No: CAPP 2559 SA
Available: InStock
Category: Hybrid Stereo SACD
Label: Analogue Productions

3 Stars
Posted Saturday, January 12, 2019 by Anonymous


Simon & Garfunkel - Parsley, Sage, Rosemary And Thyme Product No: CMOB 2199 SA
Available: InStock
Category: Hybrid Stereo SACD
Label: Mobile Fidelity

Superb.

5 Stars
Posted Friday, November 9, 2018 by Gibbsy This is a simply superb mix. Detail, depth, soundstage are all there. Instruments are so well placed and the percussion is beautiful. Vocals are never buried and you'll hear nuances that simply aren't there on the RBs.

A must for every Simon and Garfunkel fan.


The Jimi Hendrix Experience - Axis: Bold As Love Product No: CAPP 19792 SA
Available: InStock
Category: Hybrid Stereo SACD
Label: Analogue Productions

Awesome!

5 Stars
Posted Tuesday, September 25, 2018 by Grateful Not much that you can say about Hendrix that hasn't already been written but I don't think it is an exaggeration to say that hearing him for the first time (Are You Experienced) was life altering. I had simply never heard anything like it and I was an immediate convert. Jimi changed everything. I honestly can't recall exactly how many copies of this title that I have purchased over the years but I am old enough to have started with the original vinyl issue here in the U.S. in 1968. I have "upgraded" with various imports and every remaster (CD & vinyl) over the years and now I have pulled the trigger once again with the latest SACD from Analogue Productions. I believe that I can now downsize by getting rid of all of the other CD copies that I currently own of Axis because this is the best of the bunch. It brought a smile to my heart to hear this in it's best-ever incarnation. Highly recommended! I can't wait for the vinyl to be unleashed!

Many thanks to all involved!


Various Artists - The Wonderful Sounds of Female Vocals Product No: CAPP 122 SA
Available: InStock
Category: Hybrid Stereo SACD
Label: Analogue Productions

Wow, just wow

5 Stars
Posted Monday, August 6, 2018 by Dan Awesome audio quality on every track, and wonderful vocals to boot. Something for everybody here, its just a fabulous collection.


Billy Squier - Don't Say No Product No: CITV 07 SA
Available: InStock
Category: Hybrid Stereo SACD
Label: Intervention Records

Great sound

5 Stars
Posted Sunday, April 29, 2018 by Larry Anything that Kevin Gray masters sounds fantastic. He's the best.


Carly Simon - Carly Simon Product No: CMOB 2165 SA
Available: LimitedStock
Category: Hybrid Stereo SACD
Label: Mobile Fidelity

Good for SACD, but not great

3 Stars
Posted Friday, April 20, 2018 by Anonymous I purchased this title after being really impressed with the Mobile Fidelity SACD release of Carly Simon's "No Secrets," which sounds great. This SACD sounds a bit better than a good sounding CD release, but not great. It is relatively veiled - lacking clarity or depth. It really holds some of the songs back from being magic - "Dan, My Fling" in particular which would be amazing with great quality sound. It very well could be the original recording or degradation of the master tape over time (although I've heard older recordings sound much better.) The music itself is often good, but not as consistently good as No Secrets. If you already like the album this may be as good as it gets. It just isn't up to the sound standards of a great SACD.


Carly Simon - Anticipation Product No: CMOB 2166 SA
Available: LimitedStock
Category: Hybrid Stereo SACD
Label: Mobile Fidelity

A good, but not great SACD release

4 Stars
Posted Friday, April 20, 2018 by Anonymous I purchased this title after being really impressed with the Mobile Fidelity SACD release of Carly Simon's "No Secrets," which sounds great. Actually, I purchased "Carly Simon" (released in 1971), Anticipation (released in later 1971), and No Secrets (released in 1972) all on SACD. I mention this because the SACD of Carly Simon sounds decent, this SACD (Anticipation) sounds better, and then "No Secrets" sounds the best.

This SACD sounds notably better than a good sounding CD release, just not great. It is somewhat veiled - lacking some of the clarity and depth of a great SACD release. It very well could be the original recording or degradation of the master tape over time. The music itself contains several classics. If you already like the album this SACD is probably as good as it gets.


Linda Ronstadt - Heart Like A Wheel Product No: CMOB 2190 SA
Available: InStock
Category: Hybrid Stereo SACD
Label: Mobile Fidelity

Very good sounding SACD

4 Stars
Posted Friday, April 20, 2018 by Anonymous This is a very good sounding SACD of this album. Clearly superior to the CD release. Clean with good instrument depth and separation. If there is anything holding this release back it is a limited frequency range / clarity on the vocals. This is less notable on some songs like "When Will I be Loved." Rondstadt and her band were in prime form for this album and there are lots of great songs here. If you like the music this is worth buying.


The Beach Boys - Surfin' USA Product No: CAPP 059 SA
Available: InStock
Category: Hybrid Stereo SACD
Label: Analogue Productions

5 Stars
Posted Wednesday, April 18, 2018 by Anonymous


Walter Hendl Chicago Symphony - Prokofieff: Concerto No. 3 / MacDowell:Concerto No. 2/ Van Cliburn Product No: CAPC 2507 SA
Available: PreOrder
Category: Hybrid Stereo SACD
Label: Analogue Productions (RCA Living Stereo)

Maybe Cliburn's Best Recording

5 Stars
Posted Wednesday, March 28, 2018 by Richard Schneider An enlightened choice. One of the best engineered piano concerto recordings ever made, so much so that it even sounded great on cassette! It's like you're there in the best seat in the house. It's also one of Cliburn's best recordings, and an absolutely top drawer performance of the Prokofiev. The MacDowell I'm not so crazy about this piece, but Cliburn and Hendl make a great case for it, and the sound is of the same demonstration quality. Other ideal piano concerto recordings from this period include Beethoven 3 with Gary Graffman, Hendl/CSO, and the Brahms 2nd Piano Concerto with Sviatislaw Richter, Leinsdorf, and the CSO. I can hardly wait for this pre-order to be available. Don't let it take all year!


Ike Quebec - Soul Samba Bossa Nova Product No: CBNJ 84114 SA
Available: LimitedStock
Category: Hybrid Stereo SACD
Label: Analogue Productions (Blue Note)

5 Stars
Posted Thursday, March 8, 2018 by Anonymous


The Beach Boys - Pet Sounds Product No: CAPP 067 SA
Available: InStock
Category: Hybrid Stereo SACD
Label: Analogue Productions

5 Stars
Posted Monday, November 13, 2017 by Anonymous


Al Di Meola, John McLaughlin & Paco DeLucia - Friday Night In San Francisco Product No: CSON 9637 SA
Available: InStock
Category: Hybrid Stereo SACD
Label: Sony Music Entertainment

Good album, excellent sound!

4 Stars
Posted Monday, September 4, 2017 by Stephen Bieth Yea I know this is sacrilege but I am not a huge fan of this record. I heard about it for years so I thought I would grab it while the SACD was still around. Remember me not being a huge fan is an opinion, most people consider this a legendary record. As for the SACD this sounds amazing. Nice full sound but no boomy bass or shrill highs. I don't have one negative comment about the mastering or transfer of this disc. If you are a fan of this album I don't see how you couldn't like it!


Sarah McLachlan - Mirrorball Product No: CAPP 053 SA
Available: InStock
Category: Hybrid Stereo SACD
Label: Analogue Productions

The Audience Comes Alive!

4 Stars
Posted Sunday, July 30, 2017 by Anonymous I don't have a multi-channel system but this SACD mix really brings out the live concert experience. In addition to all the fine detail of the instruments, you really feel like you are at the concert! While Sarah sounds great, it's not only about her voice with this SACD.


The Allman Brothers Band - Live At The Fillmore East Product No: CMOB 2143 SA
Available: InStock
Category: Hybrid Stereo SACD
Label: Mobile Fidelity

5 Stars
Posted Wednesday, April 5, 2017 by Anonymous Possibly the greatest jam band gig ever recorded. Greg Allman's rich B3 sound cannot be played too loud, neither can Duane's brilliant screaming guitar. I was looking for rich DSD sound on a SACD release of this classic, and this wonderful Mofi offering delivers.


Janis Ian - Breaking Silence Product No: CAPP 027 SA
Available: InStock
Category: Hybrid Stereo SACD
Label: Analogue Productions

Just one word - WOW!

5 Stars
Posted Thursday, March 16, 2017 by Birdland The mastering of this album by Analogue Productions is just amazing. I did not listen to the CD layer. The SACD layer is just so real. A lot of dynamics and smooth in a good way. This is best I've ever heard this album in a digital medium.


Santana - Lotus Product No: CAFZ 247 SA
Available: LimitedStock
Category: Hybrid Stereo SACD
Label: Audio Fidelity

A Must Have!

5 Stars
Posted Thursday, March 9, 2017 by Stephen Bieth This has been one of my favourite live album for years. This was originally a Japanese release only then in '91 it was released here. The '91 CD had some issues with distortion. However it doesn't here. The mastering on this SACD is great. I have to be honest I was thinking that this was not going to sound very good. Based solely on what I thought the master tapes might be like. Well I was wrong and very happy to admit it. This, hopefullly will show there is a market for Jazz/Rock fusion SACD's . I would love to hear the four CD set of Miles At The Fillmore on SACD!


The Beach Boys - The Beach Boys' Party! Product No: CAPP 066 SA
Available: InStock
Category: Hybrid Stereo SACD
Label: Analogue Productions

5 Stars
Posted Wednesday, March 1, 2017 by Anonymous



Viewing 1 - 20 of 101 Products