Carriers are reporting longer-than-normal shipping times. Acoustic Sounds is not responsible for in-transit delays.

Found 12 product(s) in the

Hybrid 3-Channel Stereo SACD

category in

Product Reviews

Results Per Page
Viewing 1 - 12 of 12 Products
Sam Cooke - Night Beat Product No: CAPP 2709 SA
Available: InStock
Category: Hybrid 3-Channel Stereo SACD
Label: Analogue Productions

5 Stars
Posted Tuesday, August 24, 2021 by Anonymous


Various Artists - The Sound of Jazz Product No: CAPJ 111 SA
Available: InStock
Category: Hybrid 3-Channel Stereo SACD
Label: Analogue Productions

The Real Acoustic Sound of Great Jazz Artists!

5 Stars
Posted Saturday, July 28, 2018 by Anonymous It goes without saying that the musicians, songs and performances on this disc are all among the very best ever. I played clarinet in bands and orchestras during the 1950s and 60s. This is what real acoustic instruments sound like at an intimate jazz venue. This is the essence of Hi Fidelity listening. To me, it is far superior and more enjoyable than today's ubiquitous large, loud, sound reinforced events. I also prefer it to close miked sound booth recordings. 3-channel stereo SACDs take your listing experience to the ultimate level! The musicians stay put no matter where you are in your listening room, so invite your friends to enjoy the music with you because every listening seat is a sweet-spot!


Nat 'King' Cole - Just One of Those Things Product No: CAPP 903 SA
Available: LimitedStock
Category: Hybrid 3-Channel Stereo SACD
Label: Analogue Productions

5 Stars
Posted Friday, April 20, 2018 by Anonymous


Fritz Reiner - Moussorgsky/Ravel: Pictures At An Exhibition Product No: CAPC 2201 SA
Available: InStock
Category: Hybrid 3-Channel Stereo SACD
Label: Analogue Productions (RCA Living Stereo)

5 Stars
Posted Sunday, July 9, 2017 by Anonymous


Fritz Reiner - Rimsky-Korsakoff: Scheherazade Product No: CAPC 2446 SA
Available: InStock
Category: Hybrid 3-Channel Stereo SACD
Label: Analogue Productions (RCA Living Stereo)

Five stars +++++

5 Stars
Posted Monday, July 3, 2017 by My2cents Classical music is a relatively new (and limited) exploration for me so I cannot speak with authority concerning the music itself but it doesn't need me to as it certainly speaks for itself. Suffice it to say that I love this music even though it is new to these ears. But I can speak to the quality of this reissue because I have been purchasing music for over half a century and I've experienced all of the highs and lows that go with this lifelong endeavor. It seems that I am always in search of the "definitive" version of albums that I love and this was one of those rare times when you know that you could not have done any better and likely never will. I purchased the vinyl edition first and loved it so much that I also purchased the SACD for those times when a disc is more convenient. I cannot recommend this more strongly or more highly. If you are a fan of this title (or a novice such as myself), then purchase this with confidence. A huge "thank you" to all responsible.


Charles Munch - A Stereo Spectacular: Saint-Saens Symphony No.3 Product No: CAPC 2341 SA
Available: InStock
Category: Hybrid 3-Channel Stereo SACD
Label: Analogue Productions (RCA Living Stereo)

Major Disappointment

2 Stars
Posted Wednesday, December 21, 2016 by David W Munch, BSO, Zamkochian all brilliant. Recording is not. Strings are shrill and lack definition. Overall there is no depth or warmth. Seems like many parts of the recording were highly oversaturated and could not be rescued by this remaster. Sections that are mezzopiano or mezzo forte actually sound quite good, furthering the disappointment in those sections that are louder, Quite a shame especially when compared with the Living Stereo recording of Reiner - Alexander Nevsky from just one year later, a recording with elegant balance, tone and accuracy. Get this one for the historical performance but don't expect to be wowed by the acoustics. You won't be. A real shame.


Rubinstein/Reiner/Jorda - Rachmaninoff: Rhapsody on a Theme of Paganini/ Falla: Nights in the Gardens of Spain Product No: CAPC 2430 SA
Available: InStock
Category: Hybrid 3-Channel Stereo SACD
Label: Analogue Productions (RCA Living Stereo)

Disappointing layout

3 Stars
Posted Saturday, September 19, 2015 by M. Mitchell The sound is great. That's not the disappointing part. The entire release has just two tracks; one track for the 24 Variations, and one track for the three movements of Nights in the Gardens of Spain. If you listen with no video output you may not mind -- until you try to find the famous 18th Variation. Good luck with that. If this were re-released with proper encoding I would buy it again.


Reiner, Chicago Symphony Orchestra - Prokofiev: Alexander Nevsky Product No: CAPC 2395 SA
Available: InStock
Category: Hybrid 3-Channel Stereo SACD
Label: Analogue Productions (RCA Living Stereo)

Another preview

5 Stars
Posted Tuesday, June 17, 2014 by Richard Schneider This is one of only two orchestra/choral recordings made with Reiner and the CSO during the Living Stereo era, the other was Beethoven's 9th and each one featured the newly formed Chicago Symphony Chorus. Neither one has had the full-on audiophile treatment, so the planned summer release of Nevsky on vinyl and SACD will be a very special audiophile debut. RCA's original vinyl issue was quite good for it's time, decent quality surfaces, with convincing lively dynamics. The miking managed to capture the daunting orchestral array, the width and depth of the chorus, and a feel for the venue. Great natural presence - nothing "in your face." The Reiner Beethoven 9th would be equally deserving of the audiophile treatment, a magnificent performance in a very natural production, notable for the solo vocal quartet, a perfect non-diva ensemble heard not up front, but from the chorus. Let this not fall through the cracks of recording history.


Fritz Reiner - The Reiner Sound Product No: CAPC 2183 SA
Available: InStock
Category: Hybrid 3-Channel Stereo SACD
Label: Analogue Productions (RCA Living Stereo)

PREview not a REview

5 Stars
Posted Friday, June 13, 2014 by Richard Schneider For some, the most iconic of the Reiner Living Stereo series, has had multiple iterations on independent audiophile vinyl, but never made the cut for RCA's own SACD series, despite many requests. So now SACD fans will have a chance to hear these amazing performances. By the way, has anyone considered Hovhaness/Stravinsky Mysterious Mountain/Fairy's Kiss? That happens to be the only purely orchestral Reiner/CSO recording to remain active in the full-price Red Seal catalog and never downgraded to mid-price through to the end of RCA's lp era. Must be a reason for that. And it did well when issued on CD. It's time for this classic to get the full bore audiophile treatment on vinyl and SACD.


Ray Charles - Ray Charles and Betty Carter Product No: CAPP 385 SA
Available: LimitedStock
Category: Hybrid 3-Channel Stereo SACD
Label: Analogue Productions

5 Stars
Posted Wednesday, July 11, 2012 by Anonymous


Nat 'King' Cole - The Nat King Cole Story Product No: CAPP 1613 SA
Available: LimitedStock
Category: Hybrid 3-Channel Stereo SACD
Label: Analogue Productions

5 Stars
Posted Tuesday, November 22, 2011 by Anonymous


Nat 'King' Cole - St. Louis Blues Product No: CAPP 993 SA
Available: InStock
Category: Hybrid 3-Channel Stereo SACD
Label: Analogue Productions

perhaps his greatest album

5 Stars
Posted Tuesday, February 2, 2010 by Anonymous This is a pre-release review. I know that Steve Hoffman & his associates have done an outstanding job when it comes to the quality of the sound. How do I know? Because Hoffman's previous NKC releases are the best out there.

Anyway, I'm just going to say a few words about the album itself. I'm a huge Nat King Cole fan, but I think this is probably my favorite of all of his albums. It's an amazing mixture of songs written by one of the fathers of the blues (WC Handy), fantastic orchestration by Nelson Riddle, and wonderful vocals by NKC. It's an amazing album from start to finish. It's kind of his Sgt. Peppers, if that makes any sense. For some reason this album is not as famous as some of the others, but it's just as good. If you like Nat King Cole at all you'll be doing yourself a favor by ordering this album.



Viewing 1 - 12 of 12 Products