Found 24 product(s) in the

SACD

category that are

Back Ordered

in

Product Reviews

Results Per Page
Viewing 1 - 20 of 24 Products
Donald Fagen - The Nightfly Product No: CWARJ 14170 SA
Available: BackOrdered
Category: Hybrid Multichannel SACD
Label: Warner Bros. (Japan)

excellent.

5 Stars
Posted Monday, June 5, 2017 by phil as good as it gets.


Don McLean - American Pie Product No: CUNI 8206 SA
Available: BackOrdered
Category: Hybrid Stereo SACD
Label: Universal Records

1 Stars
Posted Tuesday, September 20, 2016 by Anonymous Poor sound quality, save your money.


Bryan Ferry - The Ultimate Collection Product No: CUNI 8204 SA
Available: BackOrdered
Category: Hybrid Stereo SACD
Label: Universal Records

What a shame

2 Stars
Posted Monday, September 12, 2016 by Steve B I was very pumped when I saw this coming out. I love Ferry and Roxy and have a number of SACD's for both. I thought this would be a favourite but unfortunately no. The sound on this very's a lot. Tracks like Dance away sound good but Tokyo Joe actually has distortion on it. Then some other tracks thin out all together. I know these songs have been collected from different sources (albums) so there would be some difference but this is too much! I listened to it the day I received and just put it on again this weekend and I turned it off 4 tracks in. What a drag


The Cars - The Cars Product No: CMOB 2162 SA
Available: BackOrdered
Category: Hybrid Stereo SACD
Label: Mobile Fidelity

Superb!!

5 Stars
Posted Monday, May 16, 2016 by Anonymous I've always loved this album, the DCC gold cd WAS my go to copy. When I saw that MoFi was releasing a sacd version I knew that I had to hear it. My opinion: this new sacd is a revelation, a very wide soundstage & great clarity with lots of detail. IMHO this sacd beats the DCC hands down. This may even be THE best sacd from MoFi so far! Five stars & my highest recommendation! I can't wait for Heartbeat City on sacd from MoFi.


John Coltrane - A Love Supreme Product No: CIPJ 77 SA
Available: BackOrdered
Category: Hybrid Stereo SACD
Label: Analogue Productions (Impulse)

Fabulous!

5 Stars
Posted Thursday, November 26, 2015 by Joe Johnson The Analogue Productions mastering is the SACD version of this to own -- clearly and obviously superior to older CD and SACD versions. For once the sound is open, uncompressed, and natural rather than processed sounding. Please give us the rest of the Impulse Coltrane canon, Chad!


Bill Withers - Live At Carnegie Hall Product No: CMOB 2156 SA
Available: BackOrdered
Category: Hybrid Stereo SACD
Label: Mobile Fidelity

Bill Withers - Live At Carnegie Hall Hybrid SACD 2014

5 Stars
Posted Saturday, November 15, 2014 by Mark Powers I am not a big R&B person but this recording is now in my top 10 of live performances and I have been listening to music for quite awhile, a must purchase. Bill Withers voice is a pure and very strong true R&B voice. The band during this recording is perfect. It all comes together with a very enthusiastic live audience that you can hear throughout. Packaging is good with good liner notes. There are some issues here and there with the sonic quality's of the recording, some drops, announcer's mic doesn't seem to be on same board, sometimes the audience can get a little loud, very little things. The performance is so strong it blows away imperfections in the sonic quality. I am going to listen again, right now. If you are looking for a disc to take you out of your normal genre, this is it.


Fairport Convention - Unhalfbricking Product No: CISJ 9548 SA
Available: BackOrdered
Category: SHM Single Layer SACDs
Label: Island

Worth buying the SMH compared to Hannibal's release?

5 Stars
Posted Tuesday, September 9, 2014 by Anonymous Before I ordered this single-layer I listened to the Hannibal CD release -- hmm, I thought, do I really need an expensive SMH? The song I really cared about, "A Sailor's Life" -- a tour de force of folk rock -- sounded great.

Sure, it also has "Who Knows Where the Time Goes," but did that justify buying the SMH for those two songs? Compared to later recordings by the band, the whole album is a bit proto-folk and a bit of a crude throw-back to the album before it.

Well, I took the plunge, and can say: YES! Not only is "A Sailor's Life" more present and clearer, but parts of the Hannibal release that sounded a bit hissy or distant are totally absent on this disk: high quality from start to finish!

I'll still only really listen to it for "A Sailor's Life" and "Who Knows Where the Time Goes," but I feel they are the best audio versions available! And that's worth it.


Dire Straits - Brothers In Arms Product No: CMOB 2099 SA
Available: BackOrdered
Category: Hybrid Stereo SACD
Label: Mobile Fidelity

Sounds amazing

5 Stars
Posted Wednesday, August 21, 2013 by Anonymous Don't hesitate on this one, get it before its gone...great sound and finally I can dump my 3-4 vinyl copies. I had no idea this record was edited down to fit the LP, so I finally get a chance to hear this record in its entirely.


The Doors - L.A. Woman Product No: CAPP 75011 SA
Available: BackOrdered
Category: Hybrid Multichannel SACD
Label: Analogue Productions

Great surround mix!

5 Stars
Posted Thursday, March 21, 2013 by Tim Casey I'm just focusing on the surround mix here; I already have an excellent DCC Gold stereo CD of this album which I'm quite happy with. But this surround mix is incredible! It's apparently an old mix, sourced from a previous Doors boxed set on DVD-audio (I think). So if you own the box, you already have this mix. If not, once you hear "Riders On The Storm" in 5.1, you'll be glad you bought this SACD.

Another cool thing about this mix is that the mixing engineer leaves tracks on that weren't in the original stereo mixes. At the time, the band probably nit-picked everything, turning down this or that guitar riff, intro, etc.; but forty years later, nobody remembers what was rejected from the multitracks and you get to hear extra little bits of stuff all over the place.

I've only purchased their debut album on SACD along with this one. I may eventually get them all, but it'd be GREAT to have a "greatest hits" surround SACD as well (hint, hint).....


Holly Cole Trio - Don't Smoke In Bed Product No: CAPP 049 SA
Available: BackOrdered
Category: Hybrid Stereo SACD
Label: Analogue Productions

Holly Cole is never better

5 Stars
Posted Monday, November 26, 2012 by Carl Mabee This probably rates as one of the top 10, all time Jazz albums. She treats a multitude of genres with sophistication and simplicity. The people behind her are top notch. The arrangements...wow! Performance...a zinger. And the quality of the recording doesn't get any better.


Akiko Suwanai - Sibelius & Walton: Violin Concertos Product No: CDEJ 9007 SA
Available: BackOrdered
Category: SHM Single Layer SACDs
Label: Decca

Fantastic!

5 Stars
Posted Thursday, October 4, 2012 by chasmanchu This is a must have the music and sound are both superb!


Ella Fitzgerald and Louis Armstrong - Ella And Louis Again Product No: CVRJ 4017 SA
Available: BackOrdered
Category: Hybrid Mono SACD
Label: Analogue Productions (Verve)

5 Stars
Posted Saturday, June 16, 2012 by Anonymous


Muddy Waters - Folk Singer Product No: CAPB 1483 SA
Available: BackOrdered
Category: Hybrid Stereo SACD
Label: Analogue Productions

Absolutely the best

5 Stars
Posted Friday, June 1, 2012 by dancehallAudio.com Young guy discovering quality music before my time. Muddy Waters is one of my favorite SACDs. Everything about this SACD is perfect. The production quality, the music, the lyrics. Certainly a must-have in your SACD collection.


George Harrison - Live in Japan Product No: CCAP 94665 SA
Available: BackOrdered
Category: Hybrid Multichannel SACD
Label: Capitol

Terrible sound

1 Stars
Posted Saturday, January 30, 2010 by Anonymous It is the worst sounding sacd I own. The disc's sound muddy and like george is singing in a cave. would not recommend.


John Coltrane - Blue Train Product No: CBNJ 81577 SA
Available: BackOrdered
Category: Hybrid Stereo SACD
Label: Analogue Productions (Blue Note)

The Definitive Digital Version...

5 Stars
Posted Friday, January 16, 2009 by Jamie Tate This is a beautifully mastered disc. It's absolutely the best digital version I've ever heard. The Classic Records HDAD was very good too but this version is even beyond that. It also and makes the more commonly available (and compressed, bright and mono-ized) RVG mastering obsolete.

There's something special here. The cymbals are finally tamed and the overall tonality is thick, deep, wide and rich. I can't say enough about this SACD. It's truly stunning!

Great job Kevin and Steve!


Various Artists - Mozart: Symphonies 38-41 Product No: CLIN 308 SA
Available: BackOrdered
Category: Hybrid Multichannel SACD
Label: Linn

Sparkling Mozart in Surround Sound

5 Stars
Posted Sunday, March 16, 2008 by XIC It is without question that the music on this recording is some of the most sublime in the classical music world, so a review in this case need only address sound and performance, both of which are truly excellent.

Using DSD technology, the SACD multichannel layer gives you a very realistic sound space, where you can almost visualize being inside the hall where it was recorded. The center, surround left and surround right speakers are used mostly for ambient, reverberant sound. While I normally prefer to hear the center speaker used as part of the orchestral soundstage, the feeling of natural hall acoustics that this recording gives makes up for that and works quite nicely.

As with all Hybrid SACDs, there is a multichannel and stereo SACD layer, and as a bonus, the regular CD layer is in HDCD, if your system can reproduce that. If not, it will read as a normal CD.

With four Mozart symphonies played tightly with enthusiasm and energy, this set is truly outstanding.


John Butt - Handel: The Messiah Product No: CLIN 285 SA
Available: BackOrdered
Category: Hybrid Multichannel SACD
Label: Linn

FANTASTIC !!

5 Stars
Posted Friday, June 22, 2007 by Rich L. What clarity on the vocals and horns! The Hallelujah Chorus on the 2nd disc is pure joy. Album as a whole is a tour-de-force, both in performance and recording excellence. Would make a great demo disc for SACD, it's that good.


Monty Alexander - My America Product No: CTEL 63552 SA
Available: BackOrdered
Category: Hybrid Multichannel SACD
Label: Telarc

superb

5 Stars
Posted Saturday, February 3, 2007 by Bal Arde down under This is one of the best multichannel sacd ive'd ever listen. you can clearly distinguise where the different sound of music coming from. left to right,to the center and left and right surround. it's unbelievevable, highly recommended.


Kleiber/Vienna Philharmonic Orch. - Beethoven: Symphonies Nos. 5 & 7 Product No: CDGR 471630 SA
Available: BackOrdered
Category: Hybrid Multichannel SACD
Label: Deutsche Grammophon

One of the great discs.A must have!

5 Stars
Posted Wednesday, June 21, 2006 by Anonymous It is really amazing how 30 year old recordings are brought to life on SACD. This wonderful performance just lights up in the SACD format. Do yourself a favor and get this one!


Diana Krall - The Girl In The Other Room Product No: CVER 229336 SA
Available: BackOrdered
Category: Hybrid Multichannel SACD
Label: Verve

Incredible Clarity

5 Stars
Posted Wednesday, April 19, 2006 by Anonymous The SACD version of this album has just amazing clarity. The sound is rich and warm with Diana's voice the focal point. Great for late night listening with the lights out. You will think she is in the room with you. Highly recommended.



Viewing 1 - 20 of 24 Products