Found 27 product(s) from the

Geffen

label in

Product Reviews

Results Per Page
Viewing 1 - 20 of 27 Products
Nirvana - MTV Unplugged In New York Product No: AGEF 51201
Available: InStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Geffen

5 Stars
Posted Friday, November 8, 2019 by Anonymous This is a legitimate audiophile pressing of a classic. I'm very surprised this quality was put out by Geffen, without signifying it as anything special other than "remastered" (which these days, often means worse!). Normally you don't get this level of realism without marketing it as an audiophile pressing. I thought the previous, single disc pressing, done at Pallas in Europe, was amazing, and aside from some minor surface defects, I thought my pressing really felt like it placed you with the band. This new remaster/pressing makes it even more like you are in the room with the band, and you feel the whole room. It's a bit bizarre... we all know it is no longer possible to watch Nirvana live, and we know Kurt Cobain is dead, but as I listened to it I felt like I got to be physically present with the band performing in front of me. This is some kind of time warp. It is one of the most lifelike recordings I have. And this pressing is dead quiet.


Eagles - Hell Freezes Over Product No: AGEF 7718985
Available: InStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Geffen

We have a winner

5 Stars
Posted Wednesday, March 13, 2019 by JV Amazing sound quality. Way better than any CD or XRCD version. The records are flat and dead quiet. This one is a winner.


The Who - Who's Next Product No: XUNI46006F96
Available: InStock
Category: FLAC 96kHz/24bit Download
Label: Geffen

Mixed badly

1 Stars
Posted Friday, May 18, 2018 by Grant See the reviews of the non-deluxe edition; the same applies here. Mixed badly – uncompelling, dull, flat sound. Certain important instruments are barely there.


John Lennon and Yoko Ono - Double Fantasy Product No: CGEJ 9650 SA
Available: InStock
Category: SHM Single Layer SACDs
Label: Geffen

Very good sounding SACD of this album

4 Stars
Posted Friday, April 20, 2018 by Anonymous This SACD is likely as good as this album will ever sound. If you, like me have a personal affinity for this recording it is worth owning in this release The recording itself does not sound to be of the very highest quality, such as what you will hear on some SACDs. But it sounds dramatically better than the Imagine SACD release by SHM. Of the John Lennon songs, "I'm Losing You" sounds the best. Songs like "(Just Like) Starting Over" and "Watching the Wheels" suffer a bit in terms of audio quality because of the heavier production and Lennon's love of effects on his voice.

Yoko Ono continues to be absolutely horrible, perhaps the worst thing I've ever heard in the field referred to as "music" which is a questionable term in the context of her performances. Just awful. But, if you want to hear horrible singing in high resolution, this is is probably your new reference disc...


Tom Petty & The Heartbreakers - Damn The Torpedoes Product No: AGEF 58302
Available: InStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Geffen

Saved rock n roll

5 Stars
Posted Saturday, March 3, 2018 by Ken Trexler After several years of punk and new wave Petty and company made rock music relevant again with the release of this album. The album opens with Refugee 3:25 of brass knuckled take no prisoners RR and from then on this Band was my horse even if they never won another race. Great sounding record flat,quite and explosive. The heartbreakers are more than a match for the “E street Band”. This album kick started Petty’s golden twang era don’t pass it up.


Tom Petty - Full Moon Fever Product No: AGEF 58593
Available: InStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Geffen

Outstanding

5 Stars
Posted Wednesday, February 28, 2018 by Ken Trexler Flat,quite and centered. Sounds amazing. The acoustic guitars shimmer and the low end has punch. I really cranked it and it was not the least bit fatiguing.


Tom Petty & The Heartbreakers - Let Me Up (I've Had Enough) Product No: AGEF 58562
Available: InStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Geffen

5-Stars For Pressing/Remaster

5 Stars
Posted Thursday, June 8, 2017 by audiofan Released at a time when CD was really starting to gain traction, this QRP-pressed re-issue is stunning in it's transparency, detail, dynamics, and soundstage width & depth. While I do not have an original copy to compare with this re-release, it is hard to imagine any version could top this. If you've only heard the digital (CD) of this album, this vinyl version will open your eyes to the advantages of analog, which are even more apparent with albums of this time period, when CD sounded harsh and brittle in comparison. The QRP pressing, as usual, is flawless. Bravo!


Beck - Sea Change Product No: AGEF 34905
Available: InStock
Category: 140 / 150 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Geffen

Excellent sound, great record!

5 Stars
Posted Thursday, March 9, 2017 by Michael H Thanks to QRP for getting this title out on vinyl - the pressing is excellent, and it's wonderful to have this Nigel Godrich produced album where we can listen to it in analog. This is an amazing album!


Neil Diamond - Gold (Live At The Troubadour/1970) Product No: XUNI179187F192
Available: InStock
Category: FLAC 192kHz/24bit Download
Label: Geffen

Diamond At His Best!

5 Stars
Posted Saturday, October 29, 2016 by RockStar2005 This Hi-Res 24/96 album captures Diamond at his rawest and most explosive! Every song on here is a winner, each sounding arguably better than its studio album counterpart. I compared this to the CD (previous remaster) and it was clear that this 24/96 version was BETTER! The sound is more full on this release.

The guitar on "Solitary Man" (my personal favorite Diamond song) has a real "Doors" vibe to it........which gives the track a more chilling "psychadelic/hypnotic" feel vs. the album version (also note the absence of the horn section, which only serves to give the song a harder edge). There's not one weak song to be found on here.

If you wanna really hear Neil ROCK, this is the album to buy! Highly recommended!!

Other reviews:

http://sweetcaroline.com/all-videos/893lidwien-de- bruijn/video/216-neil-diamond-gold-live-at-the-troubadour-full- album


Neil Diamond - Gold (Live At The Troubadour/1970) Product No: XUNI179170F96
Available: InStock
Category: FLAC 96kHz/24bit Download
Label: Geffen

Diamond At His Best!

5 Stars
Posted Saturday, October 29, 2016 by RockStar2005 This Hi-Res 24/96 album captures Diamond at his rawest and most explosive! Every song on here is a winner, each sounding arguably better than its studio album counterpart. I compared this to the CD (previous remaster) and it was clear that this 24/96 version was BETTER! The sound is more full on this release.

The guitar on "Solitary Man" (my personal favorite Diamond song) has a real "Doors" vibe to it........which gives the track a more chilling "psychadelic/hypnotic" feel vs. the album version (also note the absence of the horn section, which only serves to give the song a harder edge). There's not one weak song to be found on here.

If you wanna really hear Neil ROCK, this is the album to buy! Highly recommended!!

Other reviews:

http://sweetcaroline.com/all-videos/893lidwien-de- bruijn/video/216-neil-diamond-gold-live-at-the-troubadour-full- album


Tom Petty & The Heartbreakers - Greatest Hits Product No: AGEF 58708
Available: InStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Geffen

A Neccessity!

5 Stars
Posted Tuesday, August 2, 2016 by Anonymous If you are a Tom Petty fan, this album is a must have! I purchased the original incarnation of it back in '93 on CD and this just smokes it in every way possible. Better dynamics and a sense of space, whereas the CD was just flat and kind of blah sounding. One of the best releases for 2016!


Basil Poledouris - Conan The Barbarian Product No: XUNI479556F96
Available: InStock
Category: FLAC 96kHz/24bit Download
Label: Geffen

Conan the Barbarian 96K version

2 Stars
Posted Monday, March 21, 2016 by James Burt A very disappointing release. I'm beginning to think many of the older titles are not worth the expense for high res transfers. This release sounds very dull and muffled, like a third generation tape transfer. Not the fault of Acoustic Sounds but the source they are given. The recent Intrada 2 CD release at 44.1 sounds 3x better than the quality of this transfer at 96k. Recommended only for the music, not for this transfer.


Nirvana - Nirvana Product No: AGEF 89483
Available: BackOrdered
Category: 45 RPM Vinyl Record
Label: Geffen

Nirvana never sounded sooooo good

5 Stars
Posted Wednesday, January 6, 2016 by Lou Nice to have all my favorite Nirvana tunes on one nicely packaged, great sounding LP


Tom Petty & The Heartbreakers - Hard Promises Product No: XUNI55075F96
Available: InStock
Category: FLAC 96kHz/24bit Download
Label: Geffen

As good as it gets

5 Stars
Posted Tuesday, August 4, 2015 by Dane I'm a Petty fan, but that isn't why I give these files a solid A. I already have the "standard" CD and the high res LP. They both sound great on my listening equipment which easily points out a bad recordings, analog or digital. These files add depth and clarity you can easily hear. They bring you closer to being there by 20%. Meaning you can hear the extra bits.

Tom and the boys are masters of their craft indeed. Have you ever noticed the sound equipment in the background on a Petty concert DVD? Top shelf stuff. The cool thing about Tom is he makes sure the sound he's worked so hard to make, makes it's way to the end product no matter the format. Buy it...

P.S. Thanks to Seth at Acoustic Sounds for accommodating us listeners who use Linux and VLC. The producers are a bit behind the times as to how us users are going to listen, but Seth is on the ball.


Alan Parker - Jaws 3-D Product No: XUNI431028F96
Available: InStock
Category: FLAC 96kHz/24bit Download
Label: Geffen

Overly cleaned-up tape transfer

2 Stars
Posted Saturday, July 18, 2015 by James Burt Not a terrible score but not in the same league as John Williams. Unfortunately someone has decided this apparent tape source needed a cleanup, probably to remove tape hiss and give it a more pristine appearance for its 96K transfer. Bad decision in my opinion. The artifacts caused by this choice has completely changed the character of the orchestra, especially in the high strings and woodwinds and made it, for me, difficult to listen to. Hopefully this is not going to be a trend in transfers for older analog titles to hi-def sound because I would much rather listen to a CD (or cassette tape) than a 96K version that sounds like this one does.


The Who - Who's Next Product No: AGEF 56146
Available: InStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Geffen

NO BARGAIN HERE

1 Stars
Posted Saturday, May 16, 2015 by Tail Drager Its really a shame that in this vinyl revival ,that we still have record companies putting out subpar vinyl as such.I couldnt get past the first 2 tracks.It sounds like about a third or fourth generation transfer from low rez digital. It was muffled lifeless ,no attack rolled off highs and mushy bass.to compare and contrast, I A and Bd it with a MCA masterphile from about thirty years ago . It wins hands down rich and full of life ,plenty of attack just like the who should sound.Out side of that the mofi gold cd is an out standing option if you can find it. I really wanted to love thisone.Sadly the best i can say is you get a beautifull cover for 25.00 dollars


The Who - Sell Out Product No: AGEF 56092
Available: InStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Geffen

silas stingy was in charge of manufacturing the new WHO record jackets for these reissues

4 Stars
Posted Saturday, April 4, 2015 by Anonymous just got my new who album the who sell out and it sounds great, I do not have an original to compare it to but as I said it sounds great, the labels look just like the original track UK pressings and it comes with a poster like the originals, the record jackets are ok but it would have been nice if the jackets were of higher quality.....say a Stoughton tip on record jacket, the vinyl itself is spotless and flat as a pancake..... great quality from quality record pressings.....anyway I am happy with my purchase and will be buying the others.....I would have given 5 stars but my opinion on the record jacket stopped me.


The Who - Who's Next Product No: XUNI43723F96
Available: InStock
Category: FLAC 96kHz/24bit Download
Label: Geffen

Sounds like garbage

1 Stars
Posted Friday, December 19, 2014 by Anonymous I bought all of The Who remastered CDs and they sound pretty darn good. I couldn't wait for the hi-res files to be released because they will sound even better, right? Wrong. I don't know what they did, but the treble is muted and they all sound distorted and muffled with no details. I'll file this mistake away on my hard drive and go back to listening to the CD rips. It's a shame we finally have the technology to get high resolution music in an easy to get format and the money hungry record companies want to ruin it by releasing crap like this.


Bing Crosby - Merry Christmas Product No: AGEF 95244
Available: BackOrdered
Category: Vinyl Record
Label: Geffen

It's Christmas here in San Francisco!

5 Stars
Posted Wednesday, November 12, 2014 by johovey Excellent reissue. Vocals are clean and clear. And there's a good even balance between vocals and orchestrations. Bing's voice is rich and full across the entire LP. Rate this right up there with my NM 50's MONO Decca label original vinyl - that has always been my go-to even though I own several variations in both vinyl and CD. No info on who remastered but there is Mastered by Capitol in the deadwax. But whomever did it - did a good job. And most surprising - for a GEFFEN reissue - dead quiet vinyl. No ticks. No pops! I did clean it before playing as there was alot of static and "white" debris from the inner sleeve. Overall, very happy with this reissue, and enjoying the richness of Bing's voice on this iconic Christmas LP.


Guns N' Roses - Appetite For Destruction Product No: AGEF 24148
Available: InStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Geffen

Uninvolving

2 Stars
Posted Sunday, June 15, 2014 by aging rocker The vinyl was quiet but the presentation veiled, as if listening to them playing in the next room. Found an original Japan pressing and it was completely alive and involving. Strangely the original was also by Geffen.



Viewing 1 - 20 of 27 Products