Tom Petty - Full Moon Fever





Product No.:
AGEF 58593
UPC: 602547658593
In Stock

180 Gram Vinyl Record

180 Gram LP


or Add to Wishlist

Also available on:
FLAC 96kHz/24bit Download
2015 Remaster

180-gram vinyl

Tom Petty and the Heartbreakers are releasing stand-alone 180-gram vinyl reissues, all but one included as part of The Complete Studio Albums Volume 1 (1976-1991) released last year to commemorate the 40th anniversary of the band's self-titled debut album.

Each LP includes full replica artwork.

Tom Petty's first solo album, Full Moon Fever blurs the distinction between "solo" and "Heartbreakers" because Full Moon Fever is essentially in the same style as the Heartbreakers albums; Mike Campbell co-wrote two songs and co-produced the record, and he, along with Benmont Tench and Howie Epstein, all play on the album.

"However, the album sounds different from any Heartbreakers record due to the presence of former Electric Light Orchestra leader Jeff Lynne. Petty co-wrote the lion's share of the album with Lynne, who also is the record's main producer. In his hands, Petty's roots rock becomes clean and glossy, layered with shimmering vocal harmonies, keyboards, and acoustic guitars. It's a friendly, radio-ready sound, and if it has dated somewhat over the years, the craft is still admirable and appealing.

"But the real reason Full Moon Fever became Petty's biggest hit is that it boasted a selection of songs that rivaled Damn the Torpedoes. Full Moon Fever didn't have a weak track; even if a few weren't quite as strong as others, the album was filled with highlights: 'I Won't Back Down,' the wistful 'Face in the Crowd,' the rockabilly throwaways 'Yer So Bad' and 'A Mind with a Heart of Its Own,' the Byrds cover 'Whole Lot Better,' the charging 'Runnin' Down a Dream,' and 'Free Fallin',' a coming-of-age ballad that could be Petty's best song. Full Moon Fever might have been meant as a...detour, but it turned into a minor masterpiece." — AllMusic

1. Free Fallin'
2. I Won't Back Down
3. Love Is A Long Road
4. A Face In The Crowd
5. Runnin' Down A Dream
6. Feel A Whole Lot Better
7. Yer So Bad
8. Depending On You
9. The Apartment Song
10. Alright For Now
11. A Mind With A Heart Of Its Own
12. Zombie Zoo

Customer Reviews (5.00 Stars) 1 person(s) rated this product.


posted on 02/28/2018
5 Stars
Reviewer: Ken Trexler
Flat,quite and centered. Sounds amazing. The acoustic guitars shimmer and the low end has punch. I really cranked it and it was not the least bit fatiguing.

Write a review and let people know what you think of this product OR just rate it.