The Who - Tommy

 (Half-Speed Master)





Product No.:
AGEF 3559988
UPC: 602435599885
In Stock

Vinyl Record

No. of Discs: 2

Limited edition reissue

Mastered by long-time Who engineer Jon Astley at Close To the Edge

Cut for vinyl by Miles Showell at Abbey Road Studios at half-speed for superior sound

Packaged in a reproduced original jacket with obi strips and an Abbey Road Studios Half-Speed Mastering Certificate

The Who's Tommy 1969 concept album is a full-blown rock opera about a deaf, dumb and blind boy that launched the band to international superstardom — and recognizing them as a serious "albums band." It regularly turns up on lists of the most influential albums of all time.

Originally banned by the BBC and by some U.S. radio stations, the underlying child abuse and molestation theme in the tale of the "deaf, dumb and blind" Tommy Walker was a startling, darker side to the former mod-rockers from Shepherds Bush. The album peaked at No. 4 on the Billboard chart. Townshend proved to himself and the world he could still attempt such libretto and still rock. It spawned such Who staples as "Pinball Wizard," "The Acid Queen," "I'm Free" and "We're Not Gonna Take It/See Me, Feel Me."

Side A
1. Overture
2. It's a Boy
3. 1921
4. Amazing Journey
5. Sparks
6. Eyesight for the Blind (The Hawker)

Side B
1. Christmas
2. Cousin Kevin
3. The Acid Queen
4. Underture

Side C
1. Do You Think It's Alright?
2. Fiddle About
3. Pinball Wizard
4. There's a Doctor
5. Go to the Mirror!
6. Tommy, Can You Hear Me?
7. Smash the Mirror
8. Sensation

Side D
1. Miracle Cure
2. Sally Simpson
3. I'm Free
4. Welcome
5. Tommy's Holiday Camp
6. We're Not Gonna Take It

(5 Stars) 1 person(s) rated this product.
Write a review and let people know what you think of this product OR just rate it.