Found 11 product(s) in the

Classical Music

genre from the

Reference Recordings

label in

Product Reviews

Results Per Page
Viewing 1 - 11 of 11 Products
Eiji Oue - Exotic Dances From The Opera Product No: XREF71D64
Available: InStock
Category: DSD (Single Rate) 2.8MHz/64fs Download
Label: Reference Recordings

Excellent!

5 Stars
Posted Monday, October 27, 2014 by Brad I am a metal-head who happens to like some classical. This recording is absolutely wonderful, full of dynamics and emotion. Excellent to relax to and enjoy a beer, gives my audio equipment a full workout!


Dallas Wind Symphony - Playing With Fire Product No: XREF127D64
Available: InStock
Category: DSD (Single Rate) 2.8MHz/64fs Download
Label: Reference Recordings

Deserves 10+ Stars

5 Stars
Posted Wednesday, June 4, 2014 by Thomas I puirchased the DSD download. Where do I begin? There aren't enough superlatives to describe how excellent the sound is on this album. I have some Reference Recordings CD's and SACD's and have been happy with all of them, but this takes things to a whole new level. The accuracy, soundstage and dynamics of this recording are beyond superlative. Quite frankly the best recording I have ever heard and quite honestly surpasses most live music performances I have attended, which is quite a few.


Michael Stern - Elgar: Enigma Variations/ Vaughn Williams: The Wasps/ Greensleeves Product No: AREF 2508
Available: InStock
Category: 45 RPM Vinyl Record
Label: Reference Recordings

Underwhelming

2 Stars
Posted Thursday, February 6, 2014 by MVBC It is remarkable that in the 1950s and 1960s sound engineers knew how to record a symphonic orchestra. Obviously in the XXI century, they don't. This recording is a sonic soup. It is not precised on what speakers this bouillon was mixed, but I can guarantee they were not JBL professional studio monitors! These guys should embark on a Mercury Living Presence experience for ear opening. Do not believe the grandiose reviews from the media. As for the musical value, riding on a famous name does not cut it: it's anemic. I truly feel that I wasted $50 on the half speed mastered 45 RPM version.


Eiji Oue - Respighi: Belkis, Queen Of Sheba Suite, Pines Of Rome Product No: AREF 1509
Available: InStock
Category: 200 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Reference Recordings

Another brilliant RR release

5 Stars
Posted Thursday, January 30, 2014 by Jonathan I have waited decades for a recorded performance of Belkis with true, audiophile pretensions. The only other LP I have heard of this work was an early era digital Chandos release from the 80s, but this new RR release was well worth the wait. This new RR LP release retains all the hallmarks of this label - a monumental dynamic range and as true a depiction of true concert hall sound and perspective as possible. This recording in particular will torture even the most esoteric LP playback chains to the limit, since apart from anything else there is quite simply no option other than to have the playback level set to emulate the same sound pressure levels as heard at a live performance - such is the extreme dynamic range inherent in these two Respighi works. So far as the Belkis work is concerned, if you are unfamiliar with it, I am not sure what will astonish you more - the fact that it is so seldom heard or performed, or the excellence of both the performance itself and the recording.


Eiji Oue - Exotic Dances From The Opera Product No: AREF 1505
Available: InStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Reference Recordings

The Perfect

5 Stars
Posted Thursday, November 8, 2012 by Jonathan As vinyl lovers we always dream of that "perfect" record. Perfect sound, perfect packaging, a perfect pressing and a great performance. This recording has all of these qualities and even writing as a very pedantic audiophile, I don't hesitate to give it 10/10 for everything.

This is the closest recorded sound to what I hear in a real concert hall and the pressing is flawless. Even notwithstanding the demand for realistic high volume listening (due to the extreme dynamic range), the noise levels on account of the vinyl medium are still sufficiently low as to be all but inaudible. You really might as well be in the concert hall since there is virtually nothing at all to give away the fact that you are actually listening to a vinyl record at home.

Given the high price of audiophile vinyl these days, to think this is so reasonably priced simply adds the icing onto an already very tasty cake. I certaintly won't hesitate to purchase future classical titles in this range.


Eiji Oue - Rachmaninoff: Symphonic Dances; Vocalise Product No: AREF 1504
Available: InStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Reference Recordings

Perfect

5 Stars
Posted Monday, April 9, 2012 by Anonymous


Eiji Oue - Stravinsky: The Firebird Suite/ The Song of the Nightingale Product No: AREF 1502
Available: InStock
Category: 200 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Reference Recordings

Better Than Ever!

5 Stars
Posted Tuesday, October 11, 2011 by Scott Wilson Though the spectacular first release from Quality Records, Cat Steven's "Tea For The Tillerman" grabbed most of the attention this month, the news that Reference Recordings has teamed up with Quality Records for it's new series of vinyl releases is just as exciting. If the first Reference Masrercut is any indicator, we are going to be spoiled superb 200gm pressings of recordings from the great Reference Recordings catalog. This has quickly become one of my favorite recordings of Stravinsky's masterpiece "The Firebird", and is right up there with Dorati's on Mercury. The sound is incredible, the pressing is perfect. Definitely recommended!


Frederick Fennell - Pomp & Pipes! - Paul Riedo, organist Product No: CREF 58
Available: InStock
Category: HDCD CD
Label: Reference Recordings

made my house shake!

5 Stars
Posted Thursday, May 26, 2011 by andy so good i thought we were having an earthquake!


Jerry Junkin - Crown Imperial Product No: CREF 112
Available: InStock
Category: HDCD CD
Label: Reference Recordings

RR 'Crown' Jewel

5 Stars
Posted Sunday, February 24, 2008 by Robert Bethune Truly impressive both musically and sonically. From the most delicate pianissimo to a thunderous triple forte, the team at RR has captured the sound of a wind orchestra and an organ with characteristic fidelity. An amazing recording that is a must have.


Jerry Junkin - Strictly Sousa Product No: CREF 94
Available: LimitedStock
Category: HDCD CD
Label: Reference Recordings

Another reason not to buy vinyl!

5 Stars
Posted Tuesday, May 9, 2006 by elge s spalding Absolutely natural sounding recording . . . plenty of dynamics and air . . . a joy to listen to . . . thanks to Prof. Johnson.


John Balka - The Great Organ at St. Mary's Cathedral Product No: CREF 98
Available: LimitedStock
Category: HDCD CD
Label: Reference Recordings

Just like being there!

5 Stars
Posted Thursday, June 16, 2005 by Anonymous Unbelievable sound stage, detail, warmth, fidelity... and an ecclectic program too.



Viewing 1 - 11 of 11 Products