Found 42 product(s) in the

SACD

category in the

Classical Music

genre in

Product Reviews

Results Per Page
Viewing 1 - 20 of 42 Products
Edo De Waart - Grieg: Peer Gynt/ Elly Ameling Product No: CDEC 90205 SA
Available: InStock
Category: Hybrid Stereo SACD
Label: Esoteric (Decca)

Excellent sound but has vocals

2 Stars
Posted Saturday, October 12, 2019 by Frank Didn't notice it had vocals until I had already opened the packaging although it does mention Elly Ameling, Soprano on the back of the digipak. Had to eject the disk when Solveigs Song came on due to the loud vocalist I'll probably be selling mine in the future. Also the word Philips was removed from the album cover and even from the picture included inside even though it states front cover image is from the original LP 6514 378. How strange. Not recommended at all.


Yo-Yo Ma - Plays The Music Of Ennio Morricone Product No: CSON M676225 SA
Available: InStock
Category: Hybrid Multichannel SACD
Label: Sony

A must have!

5 Stars
Posted Saturday, May 25, 2019 by Anonymous Ennio's music is captivating and Yo-Yo Ma's performance is filled with warmth and beauty. A great recording!


Walter Hendl Chicago Symphony - Prokofieff: Concerto No. 3 / MacDowell:Concerto No. 2/ Van Cliburn Product No: CAPC 2507 SA
Available: PreOrder
Category: Hybrid Stereo SACD
Label: Analogue Productions (RCA Living Stereo)

Maybe Cliburn's Best Recording

5 Stars
Posted Wednesday, March 28, 2018 by Richard Schneider An enlightened choice. One of the best engineered piano concerto recordings ever made, so much so that it even sounded great on cassette! It's like you're there in the best seat in the house. It's also one of Cliburn's best recordings, and an absolutely top drawer performance of the Prokofiev. The MacDowell I'm not so crazy about this piece, but Cliburn and Hendl make a great case for it, and the sound is of the same demonstration quality. Other ideal piano concerto recordings from this period include Beethoven 3 with Gary Graffman, Hendl/CSO, and the Brahms 2nd Piano Concerto with Sviatislaw Richter, Leinsdorf, and the CSO. I can hardly wait for this pre-order to be available. Don't let it take all year!


Ernest Ansermet - The Royal Ballet Gala Performances Product No: CAPC 6065 SA
Available: InStock
Category: SACD Box Set
Label: Analogue Productions (RCA/DECCA Living Stereo)

5 Stars
Posted Friday, September 29, 2017 by John Just listened to Disc 1 (SACD, stereo) and the sound is beautiful. Great job!


Al Di Meola, John McLaughlin & Paco DeLucia - Friday Night In San Francisco Product No: CSON 9637 SA
Available: InStock
Category: Hybrid Stereo SACD
Label: Sony Music Entertainment

Good album, excellent sound!

4 Stars
Posted Monday, September 4, 2017 by Stephen Bieth Yea I know this is sacrilege but I am not a huge fan of this record. I heard about it for years so I thought I would grab it while the SACD was still around. Remember me not being a huge fan is an opinion, most people consider this a legendary record. As for the SACD this sounds amazing. Nice full sound but no boomy bass or shrill highs. I don't have one negative comment about the mastering or transfer of this disc. If you are a fan of this album I don't see how you couldn't like it!


Fritz Reiner - Moussorgsky/Ravel: Pictures At An Exhibition Product No: CAPC 2201 SA
Available: InStock
Category: Hybrid 3-Channel Stereo SACD
Label: Analogue Productions (RCA Living Stereo)

5 Stars
Posted Sunday, July 9, 2017 by Anonymous


Fritz Reiner - Rimsky-Korsakoff: Scheherazade Product No: CAPC 2446 SA
Available: InStock
Category: Hybrid 3-Channel Stereo SACD
Label: Analogue Productions (RCA Living Stereo)

Five stars +++++

5 Stars
Posted Monday, July 3, 2017 by My2cents Classical music is a relatively new (and limited) exploration for me so I cannot speak with authority concerning the music itself but it doesn't need me to as it certainly speaks for itself. Suffice it to say that I love this music even though it is new to these ears. But I can speak to the quality of this reissue because I have been purchasing music for over half a century and I've experienced all of the highs and lows that go with this lifelong endeavor. It seems that I am always in search of the "definitive" version of albums that I love and this was one of those rare times when you know that you could not have done any better and likely never will. I purchased the vinyl edition first and loved it so much that I also purchased the SACD for those times when a disc is more convenient. I cannot recommend this more strongly or more highly. If you are a fan of this title (or a novice such as myself), then purchase this with confidence. A huge "thank you" to all responsible.


Fritz Reiner - Richard Strauss: Also Sprach Zarathustra Product No: CAPC 1806 SA
Available: InStock
Category: Hybrid Stereo SACD
Label: Analogue Productions (RCA Living Stereo)

Astonishing for its time ... or any time.

5 Stars
Posted Thursday, January 5, 2017 by F. P. Walter The SACD version is marvelous -- airy, luminous, faultlessly spread, and not a rough edge on the most rambunctious fffs! What's more, AP's remastering adds a delightful fillip: tr. 9 lets the tape roll on after the whole take is over ... so at 04:38 you can actually catch John Pfeiffer saying: "It sounds very good, Dr. Reiner." I guarantee you'll agree.


Charles Munch - A Stereo Spectacular: Saint-Saens Symphony No.3 Product No: CAPC 2341 SA
Available: InStock
Category: Hybrid 3-Channel Stereo SACD
Label: Analogue Productions (RCA Living Stereo)

Major Disappointment

2 Stars
Posted Wednesday, December 21, 2016 by David W Munch, BSO, Zamkochian all brilliant. Recording is not. Strings are shrill and lack definition. Overall there is no depth or warmth. Seems like many parts of the recording were highly oversaturated and could not be rescued by this remaster. Sections that are mezzopiano or mezzo forte actually sound quite good, furthering the disappointment in those sections that are louder, Quite a shame especially when compared with the Living Stereo recording of Reiner - Alexander Nevsky from just one year later, a recording with elegant balance, tone and accuracy. Get this one for the historical performance but don't expect to be wowed by the acoustics. You won't be. A real shame.


Zubin Mehta - Mahler: Symphony No. 3 In D Minor/ Forrester Product No: CAPC 117 SA
Available: InStock
Category: Hybrid Stereo SACD
Label: Analogue Productions (Decca)

Rich, warm,

5 Stars
Posted Sunday, December 18, 2016 by David W From the opening moments it hits you that this is a strikingly well recorded and remastered performance with elegant balance. No harshness, no distortion, nothing out of place. Very very good. Highly recommended.


David Oistrakh - Bruch: Scottish Fantasia / Hindemith: Violin Concerto (1939) Product No: CAPC 6035 SA
Available: InStock
Category: Hybrid Stereo SACD
Label: Analogue Productions (Decca)

One of the greatest violin recordings ever

5 Stars
Posted Thursday, November 12, 2015 by Kevin Callahan What an awesome performance!! The great David Oistrakh, playing the larger than life Conte de Fontana Stradivarius, in two masterpieces of the violin repertoire-- one romantic, one twentieth century, with Hindemith himself conducting. And in sound surpassing the excellent xrcd cd in spaciousness and subtlety. Credit to Analogue Productions for a great mastering and to the original engineers in 1962 for a brilliant recording. The playing is beyond description. Do not miss this performance!


Rubinstein/Reiner/Jorda - Rachmaninoff: Rhapsody on a Theme of Paganini/ Falla: Nights in the Gardens of Spain Product No: CAPC 2430 SA
Available: InStock
Category: Hybrid 3-Channel Stereo SACD
Label: Analogue Productions (RCA Living Stereo)

Disappointing layout

3 Stars
Posted Saturday, September 19, 2015 by M. Mitchell The sound is great. That's not the disappointing part. The entire release has just two tracks; one track for the 24 Variations, and one track for the three movements of Nights in the Gardens of Spain. If you listen with no video output you may not mind -- until you try to find the famous 18th Variation. Good luck with that. If this were re-released with proper encoding I would buy it again.


Esa-Pekka Salonen - La Sacre Du Printemps Product No: CDGJ 9004 SA
Available: InStock
Category: SHM Single Layer SACDs
Label: Deutsche Grammophon

Erratum :...,

5 Stars
Posted Sunday, November 2, 2014 by Barleyps ...In french sacre is masculin. So the exact title is Le sacre du Printemps. Includes Night on bald mountain/Mussorgsky&The miraculous mandarin/Bartók. Watch out the percussions' quality/ fidelity here !


Kleiber/Vienna Philharmonic Orch. - Beethoven: Symphonies Nos. 5 & 7 Product No: CDGJ 9006 SA
Available: InStock
Category: SHM Single Layer SACDs
Label: Deutsche Grammophon

2 Stars
Posted Monday, September 15, 2014 by Anonymous


Reiner, Chicago Symphony Orchestra - Prokofiev: Alexander Nevsky Product No: CAPC 2395 SA
Available: InStock
Category: Hybrid 3-Channel Stereo SACD
Label: Analogue Productions (RCA Living Stereo)

Another preview

5 Stars
Posted Tuesday, June 17, 2014 by Richard Schneider This is one of only two orchestra/choral recordings made with Reiner and the CSO during the Living Stereo era, the other was Beethoven's 9th and each one featured the newly formed Chicago Symphony Chorus. Neither one has had the full-on audiophile treatment, so the planned summer release of Nevsky on vinyl and SACD will be a very special audiophile debut. RCA's original vinyl issue was quite good for it's time, decent quality surfaces, with convincing lively dynamics. The miking managed to capture the daunting orchestral array, the width and depth of the chorus, and a feel for the venue. Great natural presence - nothing "in your face." The Reiner Beethoven 9th would be equally deserving of the audiophile treatment, a magnificent performance in a very natural production, notable for the solo vocal quartet, a perfect non-diva ensemble heard not up front, but from the chorus. Let this not fall through the cracks of recording history.


Fritz Reiner - The Reiner Sound Product No: CAPC 2183 SA
Available: InStock
Category: Hybrid 3-Channel Stereo SACD
Label: Analogue Productions (RCA Living Stereo)

PREview not a REview

5 Stars
Posted Friday, June 13, 2014 by Richard Schneider For some, the most iconic of the Reiner Living Stereo series, has had multiple iterations on independent audiophile vinyl, but never made the cut for RCA's own SACD series, despite many requests. So now SACD fans will have a chance to hear these amazing performances. By the way, has anyone considered Hovhaness/Stravinsky Mysterious Mountain/Fairy's Kiss? That happens to be the only purely orchestral Reiner/CSO recording to remain active in the full-price Red Seal catalog and never downgraded to mid-price through to the end of RCA's lp era. Must be a reason for that. And it did well when issued on CD. It's time for this classic to get the full bore audiophile treatment on vinyl and SACD.


Martha Argerich - Prokofiev: Piano Concerto No.3 - Ravel: Piano Concerto Product No: CDGJ 9025 SA
Available: InStock
Category: SHM Single Layer SACDs
Label: Deutsche Grammophon

Outstanding

5 Stars
Posted Friday, August 9, 2013 by Anonymous Outstanding, my 5 year old son even gets entranced.


Akiko Suwanai - Sibelius & Walton: Violin Concertos Product No: CDEJ 9007 SA
Available: InStock
Category: SHM Single Layer SACDs
Label: Decca

Fantastic!

5 Stars
Posted Thursday, October 4, 2012 by chasmanchu This is a must have the music and sound are both superb!


Charles Munch and the Boston Symphony - Ravel: Bolero/  La Valse/ Rapsodie Espagnole/ Debussy: Images Product No: CRCA 66374 SA
Available: InStock
Category: Hybrid Multichannel SACD
Label: RCA Living Stereo

Crystal Clear

5 Stars
Posted Saturday, April 7, 2012 by Anonymous This was my first Classical SACD and I was impressed. The clarity of the orchestra was better than expected. I will certainly check out others in the Living Stereo collection.


Salvatore Accardo - Vivaldi: The Four Seasons Product No: CFON 065 SA
Available: InStock
Category: Hybrid Stereo SACD
Label: Fone

Stunning sound and (to me) great performance

5 Stars
Posted Tuesday, May 24, 2011 by Muzza I have two different versions of The Four Seasons and now this one. In a less than perfect room and in 2x channel mode I was blown away by the sound. The bite of the bows, the depth of the sound stage, the ambience of the hall, but most of all the recording allowed me to hear for the first time the real interplay between the musicians and their instruments.

I was blown away.



Viewing 1 - 20 of 42 Products