Found 30 product(s) in the

Classical Music

genre from the

Analogue Productions (RCA Living Stereo)

label in

Product Reviews

Results Per Page
Viewing 1 - 20 of 30 Products
Sir Malcolm Sargent - Bruch: Scottish Fantasy/ Vieuxtemps: Concerto No. 5/ Heifetz, violin Product No: AAPC 2603
Available: InStock
Category: 200 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Analogue Productions (RCA Living Stereo)

Sumptuous!

5 Stars
Posted Sunday, April 14, 2019 by Anonymous I didn't realize before I got this album that I am a big Heifetz fan, but I am! His playing is quite masterful, with exquisite sensitivity and nuance. Audio quality is the finest, as we now expect from AP.


Charles Munch, Boston Symphony Orchestra - The French Touch Product No: AAPC 2292
Available: InStock
Category: 200 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Analogue Productions (RCA Living Stereo)

Great new reissue

5 Stars
Posted Saturday, September 15, 2018 by EricL Analogue Productions has just released this 1959 recording with Charles Munch and the Boston Symphony Orchestra, one of the LS discs never issued by Classic Records. In terms of string tone, this was lauded as one of the top Living Stereos. As usual, the performance with Munch leading the BSO is wonderfully refined with very warm sound. AP did a superb job here mastered at Sterling. I don't have an original to compare, but I can't imagine it could be much better. The pressing is perfect, flat, centered and quiet with no ticks or pops on my copy. I think AP is running a streak here. Also the thick cardboard tip-on cover is beautifully reproduced and quite striking. Jonathan Valin's entry in the Living Stereo catalogue comments about a "weakish bass"on the original, but perhaps the reissue has improved things for I thought it was quite adequate. The Socerer's Apprentice on side one is perhaps the highlight though Ravel's Mother Goose suite on side one is also wonderful.


Charles Munch, Boston Symphony Orchestra - Ravel: Bolero Product No: AAPC 1984
Available: InStock
Category: 200 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Analogue Productions (RCA Living Stereo)

Wonderful Living Stereo

5 Stars
Posted Friday, August 10, 2018 by EricL Analogue Productions just released this Living Stereo reissue, one that was not done by Classic Records. This is really a worthy release with terrific sound. The recording was made from 1955-1957. Performance- wise, this has been praised many times. It's still amazing to me that these engineers, at the very dawn of the stereo era, could have made recordings that more than 60 years later, sound so wonderful and better than many contemporary recordings. No multiple mikes, no huge mixing boards, just very competent and knowledgeable and dedicated technicians that knew what they were doing.

The pressings here done by Quality Record Pressings were perfect, the vinyl quiet, flat and centered.


Stanislaw Skrowaczewski - Chopin: Concerto No. 1/ Rubinstein Product No: AAPC 2575
Available: BackOrdered
Category: 200 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Analogue Productions (RCA Living Stereo)

Great

5 Stars
Posted Sunday, June 24, 2018 by Anonymous AP just keeps on rolling on. No ticks,pops, scratches to speak of. Great transfer to vinyl . Please do all the great Decca recordings. This is perfection. Thank You.


Walter Hendl Chicago Symphony - Prokofieff: Concerto No. 3 / MacDowell:Concerto No. 2/ Van Cliburn Product No: CAPC 2507 SA
Available: PreOrder
Category: Hybrid Stereo SACD
Label: Analogue Productions (RCA Living Stereo)

Maybe Cliburn's Best Recording

5 Stars
Posted Wednesday, March 28, 2018 by Richard Schneider An enlightened choice. One of the best engineered piano concerto recordings ever made, so much so that it even sounded great on cassette! It's like you're there in the best seat in the house. It's also one of Cliburn's best recordings, and an absolutely top drawer performance of the Prokofiev. The MacDowell I'm not so crazy about this piece, but Cliburn and Hendl make a great case for it, and the sound is of the same demonstration quality. Other ideal piano concerto recordings from this period include Beethoven 3 with Gary Graffman, Hendl/CSO, and the Brahms 2nd Piano Concerto with Sviatislaw Richter, Leinsdorf, and the CSO. I can hardly wait for this pre-order to be available. Don't let it take all year!


Fritz Reiner - Moussorgsky/Ravel: Pictures At An Exhibition Product No: CAPC 2201 SA
Available: InStock
Category: Hybrid 3-Channel Stereo SACD
Label: Analogue Productions (RCA Living Stereo)

5 Stars
Posted Sunday, July 9, 2017 by Anonymous


Fritz Reiner - Rimsky-Korsakoff: Scheherazade Product No: CAPC 2446 SA
Available: InStock
Category: Hybrid 3-Channel Stereo SACD
Label: Analogue Productions (RCA Living Stereo)

Five stars +++++

5 Stars
Posted Monday, July 3, 2017 by My2cents Classical music is a relatively new (and limited) exploration for me so I cannot speak with authority concerning the music itself but it doesn't need me to as it certainly speaks for itself. Suffice it to say that I love this music even though it is new to these ears. But I can speak to the quality of this reissue because I have been purchasing music for over half a century and I've experienced all of the highs and lows that go with this lifelong endeavor. It seems that I am always in search of the "definitive" version of albums that I love and this was one of those rare times when you know that you could not have done any better and likely never will. I purchased the vinyl edition first and loved it so much that I also purchased the SACD for those times when a disc is more convenient. I cannot recommend this more strongly or more highly. If you are a fan of this title (or a novice such as myself), then purchase this with confidence. A huge "thank you" to all responsible.


Fritz Reiner - Richard Strauss: Also Sprach Zarathustra Product No: CAPC 1806 SA
Available: InStock
Category: Hybrid Stereo SACD
Label: Analogue Productions (RCA Living Stereo)

Astonishing for its time ... or any time.

5 Stars
Posted Thursday, January 5, 2017 by F. P. Walter The SACD version is marvelous -- airy, luminous, faultlessly spread, and not a rough edge on the most rambunctious fffs! What's more, AP's remastering adds a delightful fillip: tr. 9 lets the tape roll on after the whole take is over ... so at 04:38 you can actually catch John Pfeiffer saying: "It sounds very good, Dr. Reiner." I guarantee you'll agree.


Charles Munch - A Stereo Spectacular: Saint-Saens Symphony No.3 Product No: CAPC 2341 SA
Available: InStock
Category: Hybrid 3-Channel Stereo SACD
Label: Analogue Productions (RCA Living Stereo)

Major Disappointment

2 Stars
Posted Wednesday, December 21, 2016 by David W Munch, BSO, Zamkochian all brilliant. Recording is not. Strings are shrill and lack definition. Overall there is no depth or warmth. Seems like many parts of the recording were highly oversaturated and could not be rescued by this remaster. Sections that are mezzopiano or mezzo forte actually sound quite good, furthering the disappointment in those sections that are louder, Quite a shame especially when compared with the Living Stereo recording of Reiner - Alexander Nevsky from just one year later, a recording with elegant balance, tone and accuracy. Get this one for the historical performance but don't expect to be wowed by the acoustics. You won't be. A real shame.


Munch, Boston Symphony Orchestra - Debussy: La Mer (The Sea) / Ibert:  Port Of Call Product No: AAPC 2111
Available: InStock
Category: 200 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Analogue Productions (RCA Living Stereo)

5 Stars
Posted Monday, May 23, 2016 by Anonymous


Fritz Reiner - Brahms: Violin Concerto/ Jascha Heifetz, violin Product No: AAPC 1903
Available: InStock
Category: 200 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Analogue Productions (RCA Living Stereo)

Excellent remastering of early Living Stereo

4 Stars
Posted Monday, March 14, 2016 by Jonathan I've heard quite a number of reissues of this recording over the last few decades. I'd never really considered this to be one of the great RCAs in technical terms - most remasterings have been a little too plump, subdued and warm sounding, lacking in inner detail and hall ambience as a result. I don't think the 2-track master really helps as compared to the 3 track recordings - you can still hear the "hole" in the middle even in this reissue where the sound is relatively diffuse. This reissue nevertheless sounds quite different to all the others - the top end, though perhaps a little metallic and brittle at times, has noticeably more energy and clarity than other reissues and as a result, the performance presents itself afresh with a "drive" lacking in other reissues. I think this particular reissue - more than any of the others in the series apart from the Rozsa / Benjamin disc also recently released - diverts more off the beaten path in technical terms, but in an advantageous way.


Charles Munch - Mendelssohn: Concerto in E Minor/ Prokofiev: Concerto No. 2 in G Minor - Jascha Heifetz, violin Product No: AAPC 2314
Available: InStock
Category: 200 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Analogue Productions (RCA Living Stereo)

Superb!

5 Stars
Posted Wednesday, December 23, 2015 by Joe Johnson At last this great recording is given the mastering it always deserved. I've listened to it in various iterations for over fifty years, but never dreamed it could sound this good. Clean, transparent, uncongested, yet warm, rich and detailed in the most natural way possible. It would be hard to find a performance of the Prokofiev that surpasses this one, though many are competitive, but it's probably impossible to find a record as beautifully mastered as this one. I couldn't help but think that at long last I was finally being allowed to hear the sound RCA captured on its master tapes so long ago.


Walter Hendl - Sibelius: Violin Concerto in D Minor/ Jascha Heifetz, violin Product No: AAPC 2435
Available: InStock
Category: 200 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Analogue Productions (RCA Living Stereo)

5 Stars how about 7 stars

5 Stars
Posted Sunday, December 13, 2015 by Anonymous Spectacular, It doesn't get any better than this. Dead quiet transfer.


Fritz Reiner - Moussorgsky/Ravel: Pictures At An Exhibition Product No: XAPC2201D64
Available: InStock
Category: DSD (Single Rate) 2.8MHz/64fs Download
Label: Analogue Productions (RCA Living Stereo)

Not as good as the Classic Records 45rpm

1 Stars
Posted Saturday, December 12, 2015 by Rudy This is one of my favorite compositions, especially the RCA Living Stereo LSC 2201. I compared this DSD version to my Classic Records 45rpm reissue and in my opinion the Classic Records reissue beats it hands down. I don’t know what they did to the digital recording but it lacks soundstage, clarity and presents. This has nothing todo with vinyl vs. digital. The remastering of this DSD is, in my opinion, just not as good. There are digital recordings like Kind Of Blue or Time Out which are as good if not even better than the vinyl version. This is not one of them. It sounds rather veiled and the soundstage seams to be pushed back.


Fritz Reiner - Debussy: Iberia/ Ravel: Alborado Product No: AAPC 2222
Available: InStock
Category: 200 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Analogue Productions (RCA Living Stereo)

Another winner for AP

5 Stars
Posted Sunday, November 15, 2015 by Len Cronin One of my favorite shaded dogs that sounds about as close to a live performance as a recording can get. Do not pass this one up.


Fritz Reiner - Tchaikovsky: Violin Concerto/ Heifetz, violin Product No: AAPC 2129
Available: InStock
Category: 200 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Analogue Productions (RCA Living Stereo)

Best transfer ever.

5 Stars
Posted Monday, September 21, 2015 by Jerry Sullivan I've heard this performance since I was a kid, and have now purchased it a minimum of 5 times, including the Red Seal CD issues. But, from the moment the stylus engaged the groove, I knew it was something special. Not a click, bump, bit of noise anywhere...I doubt if any transfer of this could be better. I literally wanted applaud when the record finished. So many thanks!


Rubinstein/Reiner/Jorda - Rachmaninoff: Rhapsody on a Theme of Paganini/ Falla: Nights in the Gardens of Spain Product No: CAPC 2430 SA
Available: InStock
Category: Hybrid 3-Channel Stereo SACD
Label: Analogue Productions (RCA Living Stereo)

Disappointing layout

3 Stars
Posted Saturday, September 19, 2015 by M. Mitchell The sound is great. That's not the disappointing part. The entire release has just two tracks; one track for the 24 Variations, and one track for the three movements of Nights in the Gardens of Spain. If you listen with no video output you may not mind -- until you try to find the famous 18th Variation. Good luck with that. If this were re-released with proper encoding I would buy it again.


Fritz Reiner - Prokofiev: Lieutenant Kije/ Stravinsky: Song of the Nightingale Product No: AAPC 2150
Available: InStock
Category: 200 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Analogue Productions (RCA Living Stereo)

One of the great Living Stereo's

5 Stars
Posted Sunday, July 26, 2015 by Len Cronin This is one of the gems of the Living Stereo catalogue. This reissue is not to be missed. The Stravinsky is worth the price of admission. Quiet vinyl, top notch remastering along with a great performance, do not pass on this recording.


Fritz Reiner - Festival Product No: AAPC 2423
Available: InStock
Category: 200 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Analogue Productions (RCA Living Stereo)

Top Notch

5 Stars
Posted Sunday, June 28, 2015 by Vic It's great to see Chad tackle these Living Stereos. There's not a ton of money in classical music, which proves his commitment to his craft. All of these are superb pressings, and a great deal for the price. I have lots of originals, and love the dynamics of these reissues. Plus, many of those old pressings can be noisy. I bet it has something to do with that static spray they advertised. I can't deal with noisy classical records, so that alone makes these better to me.


Fritz Reiner - Richard Strauss: Also Sprach Zarathustra Product No: AAPC 1806
Available: InStock
Category: 200 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Analogue Productions (RCA Living Stereo)

5 Stars
Posted Saturday, February 21, 2015 by Anonymous



Viewing 1 - 20 of 30 Products