Found 29 product(s) that are

Back Ordered

in the

Classical Music

genre in

Product Reviews

Results Per Page
Viewing 1 - 20 of 29 Products
Rocco Filippini - Chopin: Sonata Op. 65-Gran Duo Concertant Product No: AFON 085
Available: BackOrdered
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Fone

Nice LP

5 Stars
Posted Thursday, October 17, 2019 by Anonymous ...but occasional pressing defects.


Edo De Waart - Grieg: Peer Gynt/ Elly Ameling Product No: CDEC 90205 SA
Available: BackOrdered
Category: Hybrid Stereo SACD
Label: Esoteric (Decca)

Excellent sound but has vocals

2 Stars
Posted Saturday, October 12, 2019 by Frank Didn't notice it had vocals until I had already opened the packaging although it does mention Elly Ameling, Soprano on the back of the digipak. Had to eject the disk when Solveigs Song came on due to the loud vocalist I'll probably be selling mine in the future. Also the word Philips was removed from the album cover and even from the picture included inside even though it states front cover image is from the original LP 6514 378. How strange. Not recommended at all.


David Abel/ Julie Steinberg - Beethoven: Violin Sonata Op.96 & Enescu: Op. 25 Product No: RRAP 0011
Available: BackOrdered
Category: 1/4 Inch - 15 IPS Tape
Label: Analogue Productions (Wilson Audiophile)

Incredible!

5 Stars
Posted Sunday, August 5, 2018 by tjn Based om experience with the vinyl edt. and the differences between tape and other sources from other titles I had high expectations on this. My expectations were exceeded. Instead of repeat myself from other tape reviews here on AS I just say that this is the best I have ever heard from a piano/violin recording, or all recordings... You will never come closer having a Steinway in your living room than this. Then you have to buy one. Mr. K, I will very much like to see the Debussy/Brahms/Bartok album on tape also. Thanks folks, my listening sessions have reach another level after these AP tapes came to house...


Robert Silverman - Chopin's Last Waltz Product No: AISM 5606
Available: BackOrdered
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: IsoMike

Pure artistry and pure recording.

5 Stars
Posted Friday, January 12, 2018 by Anonymous Fantastic. Such a beautiful, heartfelt window into this music. The performance, the recording, and the pressing are so clean, and warm.


Al Di Meola, John McLaughlin & Paco DeLucia - Friday Night In San Francisco Product No: CSON 9637 SA
Available: BackOrdered
Category: Hybrid Stereo SACD
Label: Sony Music Entertainment

Good album, excellent sound!

4 Stars
Posted Monday, September 4, 2017 by Stephen Bieth Yea I know this is sacrilege but I am not a huge fan of this record. I heard about it for years so I thought I would grab it while the SACD was still around. Remember me not being a huge fan is an opinion, most people consider this a legendary record. As for the SACD this sounds amazing. Nice full sound but no boomy bass or shrill highs. I don't have one negative comment about the mastering or transfer of this disc. If you are a fan of this album I don't see how you couldn't like it!


Fritz Reiner - Rimsky-Korsakoff: Scheherazade Product No: RRAP 0007
Available: BackOrdered
Category: 1/4 Inch - 15 IPS Tape
Label: Analogue Productions

My hair stood on end

5 Stars
Posted Saturday, April 29, 2017 by Adrian Wu This is the fifth tape of the series I received. I also have the complete first subscription of the Tape Project tapes, and more than 20 concerts I have recorded live of the Hong Kong Philharmonic and chamber concerts from the era of Edo de Waart. I thought nothing could compare to the session masters of live concerts, but I was wrong. This 54 year old recording really taught me what a concert recording should sound like. Of course, I would love to have the M49, M251, C12 and other classic mikes they had at their disposal. This tape has a realistic sound stage, and no hint of dynamic compression. It gives a sense of unlimited dynamic expansion in the last movement, something I have only encountered with true master tapes. The sound is absolutely natural, nothing hi fi about it. Just make sure your system can handle it. The only realistic way to fully reproduce this is to use compression drivers with horns.


Krystian Zimerman - Chopin: Piano Concertos Nos. 1 & 2 Product No: ADGR 4796871
Available: BackOrdered
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Deutsche Grammophon

Superb - DG at its very best

5 Stars
Posted Friday, March 10, 2017 by Jonathan DG's vinyl reissues of older recordings over the last couple of years have been of a uniformly high calibre, but this one takes things to a new level in the value of money stakes if nothing else. This is a beautifully presented gatefold double LP consisting of both Chopin piano concertos, exceeding 80 minutes of playing time. The late 1990s digital recording is truly excellent and ought to please even the most fastidious "analogphiles" - a testament to what digital recording was capable of even 18 years ago so long as you had a world-class classical engineer at the helm (Rainer Maillard). The performances are superb with the orchestra at the time specially chosen for the occasion by way of individual auditions of the players - all of them very high calibre musicians.

At just under $35 for this title, acquisition of this title should be a no-brainer for any classical vinyl collector and most particularly if you do not already possess performances of these works.


Alexander Gibson - Gounod: Faust - Ballet Music / Bizet: Carmen - Suite Product No: AAPC 2449
Available: BackOrdered
Category: 200 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Analogue Productions (RCA/DECCA Living Stereo)

Musical nirvana

5 Stars
Posted Friday, July 1, 2016 by Anonymous Just received the repress. Dead quiet, amazing sonics, beautiful performance. Far better than my classic records 45 set. A must buy. Thank you Chad! Jeff


Munch, Boston Symphony Orchestra - Debussy: La Mer (The Sea) / Ibert:  Port Of Call Product No: AAPC 2111
Available: BackOrdered
Category: 200 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Analogue Productions (RCA Living Stereo)

5 Stars
Posted Monday, May 23, 2016 by Anonymous


Bruno Walter - Beethoven: Symphony No. 6 in F Major, Op. 68 Product No: AAPC 077
Available: BackOrdered
Category: 200 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Analogue Productions

Great reissue

5 Stars
Posted Saturday, February 27, 2016 by Dave Dead-quiet vinyl. Wonderful analog sound. Highly recommended.


Salvatore Accardo - Beethoven: Concerto Per Violino E Orchestra in Re Magg Op.61 Product No: AFON 073
Available: BackOrdered
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Fone

Don’t waste your money.

1 Stars
Posted Wednesday, January 27, 2016 by Anonymous This is my second version of this record, the first one had some residue from the factory on it. This one too has some fine scratches which are audible through multiple clicks and some groove damage. The quality of the record is mediocre, to say the least. The recording is mediocre as well. One can argue about the speed and interpretation of Beethovens Violin Concerto, which is in the eye of the beholder. But not about the sound quality. I don’t like it at all. It has a small soundstage and the sound is somehow muffled. I don’t know what happened here. Fone made some really superb recordings in the past. This is not one of them.


Yo-Yo Ma, Stuart Duncan, Edgar Meyer & Chris Thile - The Goat Rodeo Sessions Product No: AMWS 25913
Available: BackOrdered
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Masterworks

Deserves better

2 Stars
Posted Saturday, January 16, 2016 by CD Music is great. Pressing is crap.


Charles Munch - Mendelssohn: Concerto in E Minor/ Prokofiev: Concerto No. 2 in G Minor - Jascha Heifetz, violin Product No: AAPC 2314
Available: BackOrdered
Category: 200 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Analogue Productions (RCA Living Stereo)

Superb!

5 Stars
Posted Wednesday, December 23, 2015 by Joe Johnson At last this great recording is given the mastering it always deserved. I've listened to it in various iterations for over fifty years, but never dreamed it could sound this good. Clean, transparent, uncongested, yet warm, rich and detailed in the most natural way possible. It would be hard to find a performance of the Prokofiev that surpasses this one, though many are competitive, but it's probably impossible to find a record as beautifully mastered as this one. I couldn't help but think that at long last I was finally being allowed to hear the sound RCA captured on its master tapes so long ago.


Various Artists - The Originals: Legendary Recordings From The Deutsche Grammophon Catalogue Product No: ADGR 93760
Available: BackOrdered
Category: Vinyl Box Sets
Label: Deutsche Grammophon

Outstanding sound!

5 Stars
Posted Saturday, April 4, 2015 by Alan Lawrence I was a bit hesitant to buy this set given the age of the recordings, but wow. I just listened to R. Strauss: Also sprach Zarathustra and was blown away. I've never heard it this way. Gorgeous performance and the sound is fantastic. Nice, quiet pressing, too.


Kleiber/Vienna Philharmonic Orch. - Beethoven: Symphonies Nos. 5 & 7 Product No: CDGJ 9006 SA
Available: BackOrdered
Category: SHM Single Layer SACDs
Label: Deutsche Grammophon

2 Stars
Posted Monday, September 15, 2014 by Anonymous


Fritz Reiner - Moussorgsky/Ravel: Pictures At An Exhibition Product No: AAPC 2201
Available: BackOrdered
Category: 200 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Analogue Productions (RCA Living Stereo)

Best Records Ever Printed

5 Stars
Posted Monday, December 16, 2013 by Anonymous I have all of the originals and reissues, and these new LP's are something special!


Gould & Bernstein - Beethoven: Concerto No. 4 In G Major Product No: AIMX 6011
Available: BackOrdered
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Impex

Beethoven • Piano Concerto No.4 in G major

5 Stars
Posted Wednesday, April 24, 2013 by Anonymous http://www.theaudiobeat.com/music/beethoven_gould_lp.htm


Pierre Monteux - Ravel: Daphnis Et Chloe Product No: AORG 0105-45
Available: BackOrdered
Category: 45 RPM Vinyl Record
Label: ORG - Original Recordings Group

Compared to original pressings = A+

5 Stars
Posted Friday, November 23, 2012 by Anonymous We compared the ORG 45 of this excellent Decca recording with a copy of the original London Blueback and an original UK Decca. The Blueback and the UK Decca are deservedly highly regarded. But the ORG at 45 rpm leaves you with a firmer floor in the bass, generally greater clarity in soundstaging and better control when the full orchestra is fully engaged (a point of potential congestion with almost any medium). In terms of pure listening pleasure, this was an A+. After finding the ORG Midsummer Night's Dream to be the same, I'll be acquiring a lot of these superb releases.


Wilhelm Furtwangler - Berliner Philharmoniker Product No: AAUD 87101
Available: BackOrdered
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Audite

A CLASSIC COLLECTORS' EDITION

5 Stars
Posted Saturday, August 25, 2012 by DR JOHN DANIELS This is an expensive set but the cost of not having it is even greater, at least for those who want to hear this great conductor as though he were in your living room. The fantastic sound quality does make a significant difference in terms of the capacity to appreciate the great man and the works he performs for us. I have a large collection of his recordings on shellac,vinyl and on CD. Conductorial details and musical architecture emerge from these recordings in ways that I would not have anticipated. This is the first time that the performances have been tranferred from the original 76cm/sec tapes and earlier iterations, good as some of them were, do not match these. I do not want to make too much issue about the exemplary sound quality, the main point is that the music is revealed in ways that admirers of this conductor ought not to be without. The CD set is excellent but the vinyl set is the one to have.


Frederick Fennell - Pomp & Pipes! - Paul Riedo, organist Product No: CREF 58
Available: BackOrdered
Category: HDCD CD
Label: Reference Recordings

made my house shake!

5 Stars
Posted Thursday, May 26, 2011 by andy so good i thought we were having an earthquake!



Viewing 1 - 20 of 29 Products