Found 204 product(s) in the

Vinyl Record

category in the

Classical Music

genre in

Product Reviews

Results Per Page
Viewing 1 - 20 of 204 Products
Rocco Filippini - Chopin: Sonata Op. 65-Gran Duo Concertant Product No: AFON 085
Available: InStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Fone

Nice LP

5 Stars
Posted Thursday, October 17, 2019 by Anonymous ...but occasional pressing defects.


Smoke & Mirrors Percussion Ensemble - Smoke & Mirrors Percussion Ensemble Product No: AYAR 2522-45
Available: InStock
Category: 45 RPM Vinyl Record
Label: Yarlung

Impressive but too noisy

4 Stars
Posted Friday, September 6, 2019 by Mike Very nice performance, very dynamic and full of fine timbre! Surface or other noise too pronounced nothing I would have expected from such a modern analogue recording.


Interpreti Veneziani - Vivaldi In Venice Product No: ACTD 008
Available: InStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Chasing The Dragon

A classical no brainer press

5 Stars
Posted Friday, September 6, 2019 by Mike Amazing recording! Chasing the Dragon together with Impex are the leaders in vinyl at the moment. This record delivers all and more of the music. Crank it up and enjoy!


Pavel Kogan - Rimsky-Korsakov: Scheherazade Product No: ACCS 2002Q
Available: LimitedStock
Category: 200 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Classic Records

5 Stars
Posted Saturday, August 31, 2019 by Anonymous


Erich Kunzel - Tchaikovsky: 1812 Overture Product No: ATEL 00009
Available: InStock
Category: Vinyl Record
Label: Telarc

Absolutely unplayable - bad press!?

1 Stars
Posted Monday, August 19, 2019 by Mike I know this record very well and have had it in my collection before and played on much lower quality system what I have now (top Kuzma and Soundsmith). I know the cannons part on 1812 demands a lot of a system but it can't even be played at lower volumes as well as all tracks are totally distorted and unplayable. Wonder how many discs were pressed per stamp? So disappointed!


Interpreti Veneziani - Vivaldi: Four Seasons Product No: ACTD 001
Available: InStock
Category: D2D Vinyl Record
Label: Chasing The Dragon

Top notch

5 Stars
Posted Monday, August 19, 2019 by Mike This smaller ensemble delivers the music in great style and recording just top SQ!


Ernest Ansermet - The Royal Ballet Gala Performances Product No: AAPC 6065-45
Available: InStock
Category: Vinyl Box Sets
Label: Analogue Productions

5 Stars
Posted Friday, August 2, 2019 by Anonymous


Sir Simon Rattle - Beethoven: Symphonien 1-9 Product No: ABPH 160092
Available: BackOrdered
Category: Vinyl Box Sets
Label: Berlin Phil Media

A great box set

5 Stars
Posted Wednesday, May 8, 2019 by Anonymous Superb sonics.


Sir Malcolm Sargent - Bruch: Scottish Fantasy/ Vieuxtemps: Concerto No. 5/ Heifetz, violin Product No: AAPC 2603
Available: InStock
Category: 200 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Analogue Productions (RCA Living Stereo)

Sumptuous!

5 Stars
Posted Sunday, April 14, 2019 by Anonymous I didn't realize before I got this album that I am a big Heifetz fan, but I am! His playing is quite masterful, with exquisite sensitivity and nuance. Audio quality is the finest, as we now expect from AP.


Bruno Walter - Beethoven: Symphonies Nos. 4 & 5 Product No: ACOL 6055
Available: InStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Speakers Corner (Columbia)

Disappointed

1 Stars
Posted Friday, April 5, 2019 by Carlos E. Bauza The remaster has a huge Bass boost and apparent artificial reverberation. Midrange, such as Oboe sound is occasionally brittle. This is not saved by musical values because the interpretation is slow and plodding. Quite disappointed.


Kurt Sanderling - Shostakovich: Symphony No. 5 Product No: ABER 300749
Available: BackOrdered
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Berlin Classics

Bad Pressing!!!

2 Stars
Posted Sunday, March 31, 2019 by TLR I returned the first pressing I purchased due to noise and the replacement isn't any better at all - in fact it might be worse. Regretful as I really love this work, Sanderling's rendition, and a very good recording. Really disappointing and infuriating! Shameful!


Charles Munch, Boston Symphony Orchestra - The French Touch Product No: AAPC 2292
Available: InStock
Category: 200 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Analogue Productions (RCA Living Stereo)

Great new reissue

5 Stars
Posted Saturday, September 15, 2018 by EricL Analogue Productions has just released this 1959 recording with Charles Munch and the Boston Symphony Orchestra, one of the LS discs never issued by Classic Records. In terms of string tone, this was lauded as one of the top Living Stereos. As usual, the performance with Munch leading the BSO is wonderfully refined with very warm sound. AP did a superb job here mastered at Sterling. I don't have an original to compare, but I can't imagine it could be much better. The pressing is perfect, flat, centered and quiet with no ticks or pops on my copy. I think AP is running a streak here. Also the thick cardboard tip-on cover is beautifully reproduced and quite striking. Jonathan Valin's entry in the Living Stereo catalogue comments about a "weakish bass"on the original, but perhaps the reissue has improved things for I thought it was quite adequate. The Socerer's Apprentice on side one is perhaps the highlight though Ravel's Mother Goose suite on side one is also wonderful.


Charles Munch, Boston Symphony Orchestra - Ravel: Bolero Product No: AAPC 1984
Available: InStock
Category: 200 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Analogue Productions (RCA Living Stereo)

Wonderful Living Stereo

5 Stars
Posted Friday, August 10, 2018 by EricL Analogue Productions just released this Living Stereo reissue, one that was not done by Classic Records. This is really a worthy release with terrific sound. The recording was made from 1955-1957. Performance- wise, this has been praised many times. It's still amazing to me that these engineers, at the very dawn of the stereo era, could have made recordings that more than 60 years later, sound so wonderful and better than many contemporary recordings. No multiple mikes, no huge mixing boards, just very competent and knowledgeable and dedicated technicians that knew what they were doing.

The pressings here done by Quality Record Pressings were perfect, the vinyl quiet, flat and centered.


Paolo Conte - Concerti Product No: AFON 052
Available: LimitedStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Fone

Nice performances, awful sound

2 Stars
Posted Monday, July 16, 2018 by Anonymous For an all-analogue "audiophile" pressing, this album sounds ridiculously bright, shrill and unlistenable. I love Paolo Conte and was excited to get this on LP. A terrible disappointment--I got rid of it immediately.


Sir Eugene Goossens - Stravinsky: Le Sacre du Printemps Product No: AEVC 3047-45
Available: InStock
Category: 45 RPM Vinyl Record
Label: Classic Records (Everest)

Phenomenal

5 Stars
Posted Saturday, July 7, 2018 by Anonymous Listened to this on a pair of Wilson Sabrinas on Clearaudio Ovation (Cart uncertain of-I was auditioning Wilsons). Amazing. Pitch black background, record was super clean, QRP inner sleeves also seem to have upped their game (Thickness improved on the MoFi style inner sleeves used). Bernie Grundman, possibly the most well respected mastering engineer in the industry behind this reissue, which was mastering using Classic Records mastering chain before he greatly upgraded it for the ORG reissues, but still highly highly recommended for sound and music. Stravinsky is a master. Also highly rec the CR Stravinsky Firebird SVP 45s (3 discs), which you can purchase her on AS!


Stanislaw Skrowaczewski - Chopin: Concerto No. 1/ Rubinstein Product No: AAPC 2575
Available: BackOrdered
Category: 200 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Analogue Productions (RCA Living Stereo)

Great

5 Stars
Posted Sunday, June 24, 2018 by Anonymous AP just keeps on rolling on. No ticks,pops, scratches to speak of. Great transfer to vinyl . Please do all the great Decca recordings. This is perfection. Thank You.


Robert Silverman - Chopin's Last Waltz Product No: AISM 5606
Available: BackOrdered
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: IsoMike

Pure artistry and pure recording.

5 Stars
Posted Friday, January 12, 2018 by Anonymous Fantastic. Such a beautiful, heartfelt window into this music. The performance, the recording, and the pressing are so clean, and warm.


Anne-Sophie Mutter - Mendelssohn: Violin Concerto In E Minor Product No: ADGR 479220
Available: InStock
Category: Vinyl Record
Label: Deutsche Grammophon

A nostalgic look back at early 80s digital

4 Stars
Posted Friday, August 11, 2017 by Jonathan I bought this album on analogue cassette as a violin student back in the early 80s when it first came out. Over the next year I wore that cassette out on my Walkman. When I knew it was being reissued on LP I jumped at the chance to reacquaint myself with it, with the added bonus that with the large LP cover, I could finally discern the fine stitching on Mutter's dubiously coloured sweater! Time has not tarnished my opinion of the technically flawless performances which are very conservative both musically and in terms of tempi. At age 18, Mutter's mature musical personally was yet to emerge and thus there is a very distinctive difference in style between these performances and those of later years. The sound does suffer from its 16 bit origins and this is more noticeable in the Bruch than the Mendelssohn, though Gunter Hermanns did as good as job as anyone back in this early digital era. The sound is thus very good for early digital and certainly better than the old analogue cassette!


David Oistrakh - Sibelius:Violin Concerto/ Ormandy Product No: ACOL 6157
Available: InStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Speakers Corner (Columbia)

The jewel in the Speakers Corner Columbia crown

5 Stars
Posted Friday, June 2, 2017 by Jonathan The Columbia classical reissues from Speakers Corner have uniformly been excellent, but this reissue is extraordinary. The performances are of course top notch, but what stands out even more with this reissue is the sound quality. This is amongst the very best classical recordings I have ever heard, regardless of label, with soundstaging, focus, clarity and air in abundance. The sound of the first violin section, for example, often relatively rough and uncouth sounding in this repertoire, is detailed and clear with extended frequency response, but also smooth sounding. The presence of quite noticeable tape hiss suggests that we are listening to a record made with no "intervention" or "improvement" at any time right from the original recording session through to the pressing of this reissue 55 years later. It certainly puts to complete and utter shame previous efforts over the last few decades to put this recording onto CD.


Mstislav Rostropovich - Dvorak:Cello Concerto/Saint-Saens:Cello Concerto No. 1 Product No: AWCL 559864
Available: InStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Warner Classics

Superb remastering

5 Stars
Posted Friday, May 19, 2017 by Jonathan As someone who was never impressed with any EMI CD reissues over the last three decades, this is a real ear-opener. This recording has never sounded better. Expertly captured at 24/96, the sound is exceptionally clean,smooth, cavernous and detailed with absolutely none of the telltale, ham-fisted over-processing so evident in the vast majority of reissues from this label over the years. This release also represents extremely good monetary value, with the performances spanning two disks and with suitably upmarket (for the price) packaging.



Viewing 1 - 20 of 204 Products