Found 19 product(s) in the

Vinyl Record

category that are

Back Ordered

in the

Classical Music

genre in

Product Reviews

Results Per Page
Viewing 1 - 19 of 19 Products
Sir Simon Rattle - Beethoven: Symphonien 1-9 Product No: ABPH 160092
Available: BackOrdered
Category: Vinyl Box Sets
Label: Berlin Phil Media

A great box set

5 Stars
Posted Wednesday, May 8, 2019 by Anonymous Superb sonics.


Robert Silverman - Chopin's Last Waltz Product No: AISM 5606
Available: BackOrdered
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: IsoMike

Pure artistry and pure recording.

5 Stars
Posted Friday, January 12, 2018 by Anonymous Fantastic. Such a beautiful, heartfelt window into this music. The performance, the recording, and the pressing are so clean, and warm.


Krystian Zimerman - Chopin: Piano Concertos Nos. 1 & 2 Product No: ADGR 4796871
Available: BackOrdered
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Deutsche Grammophon

Superb - DG at its very best

5 Stars
Posted Friday, March 10, 2017 by Jonathan DG's vinyl reissues of older recordings over the last couple of years have been of a uniformly high calibre, but this one takes things to a new level in the value of money stakes if nothing else. This is a beautifully presented gatefold double LP consisting of both Chopin piano concertos, exceeding 80 minutes of playing time. The late 1990s digital recording is truly excellent and ought to please even the most fastidious "analogphiles" - a testament to what digital recording was capable of even 18 years ago so long as you had a world-class classical engineer at the helm (Rainer Maillard). The performances are superb with the orchestra at the time specially chosen for the occasion by way of individual auditions of the players - all of them very high calibre musicians.

At just under $35 for this title, acquisition of this title should be a no-brainer for any classical vinyl collector and most particularly if you do not already possess performances of these works.


Alexander Gibson - Gounod: Faust - Ballet Music / Bizet: Carmen - Suite Product No: AAPC 2449
Available: BackOrdered
Category: 200 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Analogue Productions (RCA/DECCA Living Stereo)

Musical nirvana

5 Stars
Posted Friday, July 1, 2016 by Anonymous Just received the repress. Dead quiet, amazing sonics, beautiful performance. Far better than my classic records 45 set. A must buy. Thank you Chad! Jeff


Ferenc Fricsay - Mozart: Serenade In G, K.525 'Eine kleine Nachtmusik' / Beethoven: Music To Goethe's Tragedy 'Egmont', Op.84 / Smetana: The Moldau, JB 1:112 / Liszt: Les Preludes,S.97 Product No: ADGR 85101
Available: BackOrdered
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Deutsche Grammophon

Another brilliant hi-res sourced LP

5 Stars
Posted Saturday, June 4, 2016 by Jonathan DG ought to be applauded for their commitment to vinyl reissues. I have never failed to be highly impressed with any of these reissues and the sound, even though they are sourced from 24 bit, 96 kHz masters (in turn created from the original analogue tapes), is always superb - far better than when these were re-issued onto CD. The pressing are also of an uniformly high standard - equal to be very best.

Although this particular re-issue reveals an odd inconsistent left / right balance / panning problem in the Egmont at the end of side 1 (also audible in the accompanying digital download), it is not too much of a distraction from what is an extremely entertaining near-hour of eclectic music-making.

I can only hope that these "budget-priced" (in relative terms) titles continue to sell well because of all the modern classical vinyl reissues available these days, these count as the best on a per-dollar basis - not only as regards the sound but obviously also the legendary performances


Munch, Boston Symphony Orchestra - Debussy: La Mer (The Sea) / Ibert:  Port Of Call Product No: AAPC 2111
Available: BackOrdered
Category: 200 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Analogue Productions (RCA Living Stereo)

5 Stars
Posted Monday, May 23, 2016 by Anonymous


Carlos Kleiber - Brahms: Symphony No. 4 In E Minor, Op. 98 Product No: ADGR 31911
Available: BackOrdered
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Deutsche Grammophon

Great Performance,not so great reissue

2 Stars
Posted Saturday, November 28, 2015 by Anonymous Congested and two dimensional like many 1981 digital recordings.Can't believe I'm saying this but I wish I had spent the money on the CD


Various Artists - The Originals: Legendary Recordings From The Deutsche Grammophon Catalogue Product No: ADGR 93760
Available: BackOrdered
Category: Vinyl Box Sets
Label: Deutsche Grammophon

Outstanding sound!

5 Stars
Posted Saturday, April 4, 2015 by Alan Lawrence I was a bit hesitant to buy this set given the age of the recordings, but wow. I just listened to R. Strauss: Also sprach Zarathustra and was blown away. I've never heard it this way. Gorgeous performance and the sound is fantastic. Nice, quiet pressing, too.


Leonid Kogan - Beethoven: Violin Concerto Product No: ACOL 2386
Available: BackOrdered
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Testament (Columbia)

Hard to surpass.

5 Stars
Posted Sunday, February 22, 2015 by Arturo C. This is one of those performances that are for the ages. Kogan gives a reading with great depth and feeling. IMHO this is the best version ever recorded so far.


Interpreti Veneziani - Vivaldi Marais & Sarasate Live Concert Recording Product No: ACTD 500-45
Available: BackOrdered
Category: 45 RPM Vinyl Record
Label: Chasing The Dragon

Great sound.

5 Stars
Posted Saturday, February 21, 2015 by Arturo C This is a great "impress your friends" record. First class performance and superb recording. It does not have the presence of an original Sheffield D2D, but it will let you show off your stereo system.


Grigory Sokolov - The Salzburg Recital Product No: ADGR 943907
Available: BackOrdered
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Deutsche Grammophon

A GREAT RECORDING THAT WILL STAND THE TEST OF TIME

5 Stars
Posted Thursday, February 12, 2015 by DR JOHN DANIELS This recording has received numerous accolades and I would not be surprised if there are many more. I doubt that there will be a better classical release this year. This is pianism of pure genius, the kind that stands alongside Richter, Gilels, Rubinstein, Cortot, Gould, Sofronitsky and Lipatti. His Mozart is a real revelation. With incomparable ease, he conquers the obvious difficulties and those beneath the surface. So few can do that. In making that comment, I do not mean to downplay the rest of what is a spelling binding performance. The recording quality is outstanding and captures the beautiful tone of Sokolov's instrument which sounds like a pre 50's Steinway but may be a more modern keyboard. The vinyl is clearly of high quality and has very quiet backgrounds. There is none of the treble tizz that used to be an issue with DGG.

Classic records do not come along very often. This is one, there are likely to be many re-issues over the years.


Fritz Reiner - Moussorgsky/Ravel: Pictures At An Exhibition Product No: AAPC 2201
Available: BackOrdered
Category: 200 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Analogue Productions (RCA Living Stereo)

Best Records Ever Printed

5 Stars
Posted Monday, December 16, 2013 by Anonymous I have all of the originals and reissues, and these new LP's are something special!


Gould & Bernstein - Beethoven: Concerto No. 4 In G Major Product No: AIMX 6011
Available: BackOrdered
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Impex

Beethoven • Piano Concerto No.4 in G major

5 Stars
Posted Wednesday, April 24, 2013 by Anonymous http://www.theaudiobeat.com/music/beethoven_gould_lp.htm


Florin Paul, violin - Bach: Partitas Product No: ATAC L10
Available: BackOrdered
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Tacet

Well recorded

4 Stars
Posted Friday, October 19, 2012 by Anonymous This is well-recorded. The performance is not the most inspired I have ever heard but is not bad and the sound quality is lovely.


Wilhelm Furtwangler - Berliner Philharmoniker Product No: AAUD 87101
Available: BackOrdered
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Audite

A CLASSIC COLLECTORS' EDITION

5 Stars
Posted Saturday, August 25, 2012 by DR JOHN DANIELS This is an expensive set but the cost of not having it is even greater, at least for those who want to hear this great conductor as though he were in your living room. The fantastic sound quality does make a significant difference in terms of the capacity to appreciate the great man and the works he performs for us. I have a large collection of his recordings on shellac,vinyl and on CD. Conductorial details and musical architecture emerge from these recordings in ways that I would not have anticipated. This is the first time that the performances have been tranferred from the original 76cm/sec tapes and earlier iterations, good as some of them were, do not match these. I do not want to make too much issue about the exemplary sound quality, the main point is that the music is revealed in ways that admirers of this conductor ought not to be without. The CD set is excellent but the vinyl set is the one to have.


Sir Colin Davis - Mozart: Requiem Product No: APHI 802862
Available: BackOrdered
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Speakers Corner (Philips)

Surface noise galore!!

3 Stars
Posted Saturday, September 24, 2011 by Anonymous I was completely surprised by the amount of surface noise on this LP. I will call and send this one back. Maybe my copy was not properly recorded but it has lots of surface noise as well as not as clear sound you expect from a $40 purchase. I have been waiting for a long time for this order to be fulfilled. I hope this was not a waste of time and is only my LP.


Claudio Abbado/Nathan Milstein - Tchaikovsky & Mendelssohn: Concertos for Violin & Orchestra Product No: ADGR 2530359
Available: BackOrdered
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Speakers Corner (Deutsche Grammophon)

@#$%^%$!!

5 Stars
Posted Saturday, December 4, 2010 by Anonymous I have had the original recording of this album for thirty years or so and have treasured it. I had the privilege of hearing Milstein play this piece in Baltimore which just adds to my pleasure listening to it. This recording is just gorgeous. The sound is superb, the performance great, his violin is stirring, with great soul, and just right on.


Donald Johanos - Rachmaninoff: Symphonic Dances & Vocalise Product No: AAPC 34145-45
Available: BackOrdered
Category: 45 RPM Vinyl Record
Label: Analogue Productions

None Better

5 Stars
Posted Monday, December 7, 2009 by Kevin This is the best for this recording. It has "you are there" kind of sound, and the playing is excellent... maybe not Philadelphia Symphony good... but still very good. Sound is extremely open and natural. Its not going to get any better than this, so pick this up right away, the vinyl is also very quiet.


Ernest Ansermet - Stravinsky: Petrushka Complete Ballet Product No: ADEC 2011
Available: BackOrdered
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Speakers Corner (Decca)

Speaker's Corner & Decca Score Again

5 Stars
Posted Thursday, December 22, 2005 by brucedboss Absolutely the BEST!! Good at any volume level, silent surfaces. Beautiful highs, mids and a bass that will have you loving your sub-woofer. Ansermet is exciting, but not rushed. The music is eerie at times and as jumpy as Stravinsky would have liked to hear. You can turn it up for added presence and it isn't going to sound distorted and that is the test of great audiophile recordings.



Viewing 1 - 19 of 19 Products