Eugene Fodor & Alexander Peskanov - Tchaikovsky: 1812 Overture





Product No.:
CTEL 60541 SA
UPC: 089408054105
In Stock

Hybrid Multichannel SACD

Hybrid Multichannel SACD


or Add to Wishlist

The 1812 Overture, Telarc's all-time best-selling recording, is an audiophile's dream. The superb playing of the Cincinnati Pops under the baton of Erich Kunzel combined with Telarc's sound effects make this an unbeatable performance! The bells heard on this recording are those of the Emery Memorial Carillon, recreating the tumultuous clangor of church bells which Tchaikovsky envisioned. In order to capture the most authentic recording, three nineteenth-century cannons, owned and manned by the Fifth Virginia Regiment, were utilized, and to capture the perfect cannon sound, a total of twenty-four different charges with sixteen shots of varying sizes were exploded and recorded, as required in Tchaikovsky's score.

1. 1812 Overture
2. Polonaise from Eugene Onegin, Op. 24
3. Capriccio Italien, Op. 45
4. Marche Slave, Op. 31
5. Waltz from Eugene Onegin
6. Festival Coronation March
7. Cossack Dance from Mazepps
8. Surround Loudspeaker Setup (tracks 8-13)

(4 Stars) 1 person(s) rated this product.
Write a review and let people know what you think of this product OR just rate it.