Kubelik, Chicago Symphony Orchestra - Mussorgsky: Pictures At An Exhibition

 (Half-Speed Master)


Mercury Living Presence



Product No.:
AMER 52190
UPC: 028948521906
In Stock

180 Gram Vinyl Record

180 Gram LP
Original Price: $45.98
(Not Eligible for Additional Discount)


or Add to Wishlist


180-gram vinyl

Mercury Living Presence Vinyl Series 1

Hear how Tom Fine, the son of the original recording engineer Robert Fine, and original producer Wilma Cozart Fine, VP of Mercury Records' classical division, handled duties as both the reissue producer and remastering engineer for the Mercury Living Presence Vinyl Series. Here.

This year marks the 70th anniversary of the Mercury Living Presence label and its distinctive sound. To celebrate Decca Classics is planning to release the complete digital catalog and reissue selected titles on CD and vinyl.

Series 1 includes five beloved titles from the famed classical music label, newly remastered from the original master tapes and cut to vinyl at half-speed by Miles Showell at Abbey Road Studios, and pressed at Optimal in Germany on 180-gram super-quiet vinyl.

Available on vinyl for the first time in decades, here's the recording that birthed a label: Mussorgsky's Pictures at an Exhibition, with Rafel Kubelik conducting the Chicago Symphony Orchestra — the release which led Howard Taubman, chief music critic of The New York Times to write, "One feels one is listening to the living presence of the orchestra."



Modest Petrovich Mussorgsky (1839-1881)
Orchestrated by Maurice Ravel
Side A:
1. Promenade I
2. Gnomus
3. Promenade II
4. The Old Castle
5. Promenade III
6. The Tuileries Gardens
7. Bydlo
8. Promenade IV
9. Ballet Of The Chickens In Their Shells

Side B:
1. Two Polish Jews - Rich And Poor
2. Limoges - The Market Place
3. The Catacombs (Sepulchrum romanum)
4. Cum mortuis in lingua mortua
5. The Hut On Fowl's Legs
6. The Great Gate At Kiev

Customer Reviews (5.00 Stars) 1 person(s) rated this product.


posted on 01/31/2022
5 Stars
Wow great work here. Quiet/dynamic. Remarkable work from the analog tape. Takes me back in time. Amazing this was recorded with one mono u47.

Write a review and let people know what you think of this product OR just rate it.