Found 10 product(s) in the

SACD

category that are

Back Ordered

in the

Classical Music

genre in

Product Reviews

Results Per Page
Viewing 1 - 10 of 10 Products
Edo De Waart - Grieg: Peer Gynt/ Elly Ameling Product No: CDEC 90205 SA
Available: BackOrdered
Category: Hybrid Stereo SACD
Label: Esoteric (Decca)

Excellent sound but has vocals

2 Stars
Posted Saturday, October 12, 2019 by Frank Didn't notice it had vocals until I had already opened the packaging although it does mention Elly Ameling, Soprano on the back of the digipak. Had to eject the disk when Solveigs Song came on due to the loud vocalist I'll probably be selling mine in the future. Also the word Philips was removed from the album cover and even from the picture included inside even though it states front cover image is from the original LP 6514 378. How strange. Not recommended at all.


Al Di Meola, John McLaughlin & Paco DeLucia - Friday Night In San Francisco Product No: CSON 9637 SA
Available: BackOrdered
Category: Hybrid Stereo SACD
Label: Sony Music Entertainment

Good album, excellent sound!

4 Stars
Posted Monday, September 4, 2017 by Stephen Bieth Yea I know this is sacrilege but I am not a huge fan of this record. I heard about it for years so I thought I would grab it while the SACD was still around. Remember me not being a huge fan is an opinion, most people consider this a legendary record. As for the SACD this sounds amazing. Nice full sound but no boomy bass or shrill highs. I don't have one negative comment about the mastering or transfer of this disc. If you are a fan of this album I don't see how you couldn't like it!


Kleiber/Vienna Philharmonic Orch. - Beethoven: Symphonies Nos. 5 & 7 Product No: CDGJ 9006 SA
Available: BackOrdered
Category: SHM Single Layer SACDs
Label: Deutsche Grammophon

2 Stars
Posted Monday, September 15, 2014 by Anonymous


Salvatore Accardo - Vivaldi: The Four Seasons Product No: CFON 065 SA
Available: BackOrdered
Category: Hybrid Stereo SACD
Label: Fone

Stunning sound and (to me) great performance

5 Stars
Posted Tuesday, May 24, 2011 by Muzza I have two different versions of The Four Seasons and now this one. In a less than perfect room and in 2x channel mode I was blown away by the sound. The bite of the bows, the depth of the sound stage, the ambience of the hall, but most of all the recording allowed me to hear for the first time the real interplay between the musicians and their instruments.

I was blown away.


Various Artists - Mozart: Symphonies 38-41 Product No: CLIN 308 SA
Available: BackOrdered
Category: Hybrid Multichannel SACD
Label: Linn

Sparkling Mozart in Surround Sound

5 Stars
Posted Sunday, March 16, 2008 by XIC It is without question that the music on this recording is some of the most sublime in the classical music world, so a review in this case need only address sound and performance, both of which are truly excellent.

Using DSD technology, the SACD multichannel layer gives you a very realistic sound space, where you can almost visualize being inside the hall where it was recorded. The center, surround left and surround right speakers are used mostly for ambient, reverberant sound. While I normally prefer to hear the center speaker used as part of the orchestral soundstage, the feeling of natural hall acoustics that this recording gives makes up for that and works quite nicely.

As with all Hybrid SACDs, there is a multichannel and stereo SACD layer, and as a bonus, the regular CD layer is in HDCD, if your system can reproduce that. If not, it will read as a normal CD.

With four Mozart symphonies played tightly with enthusiasm and energy, this set is truly outstanding.


John Butt - Handel: The Messiah Product No: CLIN 285 SA
Available: BackOrdered
Category: Hybrid Multichannel SACD
Label: Linn

FANTASTIC !!

5 Stars
Posted Friday, June 22, 2007 by Rich L. What clarity on the vocals and horns! The Hallelujah Chorus on the 2nd disc is pure joy. Album as a whole is a tour-de-force, both in performance and recording excellence. Would make a great demo disc for SACD, it's that good.


Kleiber/Vienna Philharmonic Orch. - Beethoven: Symphonies Nos. 5 & 7 Product No: CDGR 471630 SA
Available: BackOrdered
Category: Hybrid Multichannel SACD
Label: Deutsche Grammophon

One of the great discs.A must have!

5 Stars
Posted Wednesday, June 21, 2006 by Anonymous It is really amazing how 30 year old recordings are brought to life on SACD. This wonderful performance just lights up in the SACD format. Do yourself a favor and get this one!


Anne-Sophie Mutter - Bizet: Carmen Fantasie Product No: CDGR 4775721 SA
Available: BackOrdered
Category: Hybrid Multichannel SACD
Label: Deutsche Grammophon

Unique interpretations of old chestnuts

5 Stars
Posted Friday, October 21, 2005 by Allan Krepina While there's no quibbling about the recorded sound: rich, resonant, life-like, Mutter's interpretations are uniquely hers. Liberal use of portamento, extreme pianissimi, etc. But she can make it SO convincing--not least because she's got the technique to carry it off flawlessly. Levine and the VPO are with her every step of the way. Remarkable.


Janos Starker - Dvorak: Concerto for Cello & Orchestra in B Minor Product No: CMER 4756608 SA
Available: BackOrdered
Category: Hybrid Multichannel SACD
Label: Mercury Living Presence

Must Have Mercury Living Presence CD

5 Stars
Posted Monday, July 25, 2005 by Denny Thompson This recording is phenomenal..! Such inner detail. This is as good as my origional record. (I never thought I would say that). A great achievement! A MUST HAVE for any Janos Starker fan.


Fritz Reiner - Mussorgsky: Pictures at an Exhibition & Other Russian Showpieces Product No: CRCA 61394 SA
Available: BackOrdered
Category: Hybrid Multichannel SACD
Label: RCA Living Stereo

As good as this recording can get... But there is better.

4 Stars
Posted Saturday, February 5, 2005 by Nate Greenleaf Don't get me wrong, bang for the buck this is a nice SACD. It is as crystal clear as one would expect, and it is a nice showcase for the ORIGINAL D-day, 1957 3 track (FR,FL,C) recording. The drums and cymbal crashes SNAP, and POP delightfully, and there is little analog hiss. However, there is still a slight hollow sound overall, (reminds me of the Fantasia Soundtrack recordings), something I would expect for it is almost a 50 year old recording. I prefer the NYPhil with Schippers directing that is coupled with Prokofiev's Nevsky. (CSON M87711 SA) Vinyl fans will probably love this one as it has that Analog warmth to it; It does however, lack the depth that I have come to expect of SACD. All in all, I would recommend this one, as it does sound great... and for $12, (I got it for $9!) you really can't go wrong. It also has extensive liner notes (15 pages), both about the music and the recording process.



Viewing 1 - 10 of 10 Products