Dr. John - Dr. John's Gumbo

Dr. John


Analogue Productions



Product No.:
AAPP 093
UPC: 753088009310
In Stock

200 Gram Vinyl Record

Note: 200 Gram

200 Gram LP  
(Not Eligible for Additional Discount)


or Add to Wishlist

Also available on:
45 RPM Vinyl Record
Hybrid Stereo SACD

No. 404 on Rolling Stone's list of 500 Greatest Albums of All Time!

Remastered by Kevin Gray at Cohearent Audio, from the original analog tapes

200-gram vinyl plated and pressed by Quality Record Pressings!

Tip-on style gatefold jacket by Stoughton Printing

Dr. John's Gumbo is the fifth album by New Orleans singer and pianist Dr. John, a tribute to the music of his native city. The album is a collection of covers of New Orleans classics, played by a major figure in the city's music.

Dr John's Gumbo was released in 1972 and is in many ways a tribute by Dr. John, aka the Night Tripper, to his hometown New Orleans. It features excellent interpretations of New Orleans traditionals ("Iko Iko", "Tipitina", "Junko Partner" and "Stack-O-Lee") and contemporary R&B written or played by the likes of Huey Piano Smith ("Blow Wind Blow" and "Huey Smith Medley") and Earl King ("Big Chief" and "Those Lonely Lonely Nights").

Dr. John delivers a strong set of infectious songs drenched in good vibes and spiced with a pinch of voodoo. His eccentric (stage) appearance adds unique color to his stature as master of the ivories and as an entertainer.

This great album receives the full Analogue Productions reissue treatment here, starting with Kevin Gray's remaster from the original analog tapes. Then we back that up with 200-gram plating and pressing on super-silent vinyl by our own Quality Record Pressings. Finally it's all housed in a tip-on gatefold jacket from Stoughton Printing. Deluxe all the way; you'll be ecstatic with the results!

1. Iko Iko
2. Blow Wind Blow
3. Big Chief
4. Somebody Changed The Lock
5. Mess Around
6. Let The Good Times Roll
7. Junko Partner
8. Stack-A-Lee
9. Tipitina
10. Those Lonely Lonely Nights
11. Huey Smith Medley (High Blood Pressure / Don't You Just Know It / Well I'll Be John Brown)
12. Little Liza Jane

Customer Reviews (5.00 Stars) 2 person(s) rated this product.

What any audiophile wants...

posted on 07/13/2022
5 Stars
Reviewer: David
I hope Chad reads this: A record like this is why I have spent the time and energy into audiophile equipment and LPs.

Dr. John is just cool and this album was right down the alley of great New Orleans fun, masterful musicianship and most of all, feel. The quality in the engineering, mixing, mastering by Kevin Gray and pressing by QRP are so good that you just feel the Dr. John party in your room.

If anyone likes this guy in the slightest amount, just for the sake of well recorded, mastered and pressed music, get this.


posted on 09/11/2020
5 Stars
Reviewer: Jon
Excellent sounding album. Drums and bass sound incredible and the vinyl is completely flat and dead silent. Couldn’t ask for better.

Write a review and let people know what you think of this product OR just rate it.