Carriers are reporting longer-than-normal shipping times. Acoustic Sounds is not responsible for in-transit delays.

Ray Charles - Modern Sounds In Country And Western Music Vol. 1 & 2





Product No.:
ACON 0899
UPC: 888072083202
In Stock

180 Gram Vinyl Record

No. of Discs: 2

180 Gram LP

or Add to Wishlist

Ray Charles's Modern Sounds in Country and Western Music, Volumes 1 & 2 are major landmarks in American culture. Charles demonstrated that great songs with signature performances work in all genres. "I Can't Stop Loving You" was a standard in country, soul and R&B, as he proved. Modern Sounds also brought America together during the Sixties' civil rights movement. Charles became one of the first recording artists to have ownership and complete control of the masters. Modern Sounds in Country and Western Music has been listed among the greatest albums of all time, along with the Beatles, Dylan, Motown, Springsteen, Hendrix and the Beach Boys.

Coming in February 2019, Modern Sounds in Country and Western Music, Vol. 1 will be re-released on vinyl for the first time since 2012.

This past fall, Ray was honored by the Grand Ole Opry with An Opry Salute to Ray Charles, with performances celebrating the iconic Modern Sounds tracks and his contributions to country music. In addition, Charles was inducted into both the Austin City Limits Hall of Fame, a program on which he performed multiple times, and the DownBeat Jazz Hall of Fame.

"Ray Charles was one of the most important artists in the history of American popular music," says Concord Records President John Burk, "and his Modern Sounds albums were some of his most impactful works. In addition to massive commercial success, these incredible recordings had a huge social and cultural impact, breaking down long established genre and racial barriers."

"We are excited about this eventful release, an opportunity for longtime fans to enjoy this music and to introduce new generations," says Valerie Ervin, President of the Ray Charles Foundation.

Modern Sounds in Country and Western Music, Vol.1 became an instant classic when it was first released in 1962. The album spawned four chart-topping singles: "Born to Lose," "Careless Love," "You Don't Know Me," and "I Can't Stop Loving You," the latter (and the album itself) being an RIAA-certified gold seller in only one month.


Side 1:
1. Bye Bye Love
2. You Don't Know Me
3. Half As Much
4. I Love You So Much It Hurts
5. Just A Little Lovin' (Will Go A Long Way)
6. Born To Lose

Side 2:
1. Worried Mind
2. It Makes No Difference Now
3. You Win Again
4. Careless Love
5. I Can't Stop Loving You
6. Hey, Good Lookin'

Side 3:
1. You Are My Sunshine
2. No Letter Today
3. Someday (You'll Want Me To Want You)
4. Don't Tell Me Your Troubles
5. Midnight
6. Oh, Lonesome Me

Side 4:
1. Take These Chains From My Heart
2. Your Cheatin' Heart
3. I'll Never Stand In Your Way
4. Making Believe
5. Teardrops In My Heart
6. Hang Your Head in Shame

Customer Reviews (5.00 Stars) 2 person(s) rated this product.

Is tjis the original Master Tape?

posted on 08/05/2021
5 Stars
Is this from the original master tape

Well done!!!!

posted on 12/28/2020
5 Stars
This sounds great to me. Great value!!!!!

Write a review and let people know what you think of this product OR just rate it.