Jimmy Hall - Ready Now


KTBA Records



Product No.:
AKTBA 92721
UPC: 711574927210
In Stock

Vinyl Record

New Arrival


or Add to Wishlist

Legendary Wet Willie vocalist and harmonica player Jimmy Hall returns!

Ready Now produced by Joe Bonamassa and Josh Smith

All-star lineup features Bonamassa, Smith, Reese Wynans, Michael Rhodes, Greg Morrow, Warren Hayes and Jared James Nichols

"For my money, Jimmy is the best white R&B singer alive." — Steve Cropper

Legendary vocalist Jimmy Hall is set to release Ready Now — his first new solo album of original material since 2007. Producers Joe Bonamassa and Josh Smith worked with Jimmy to make an album worthy of his amazing career and talent.

Jimmy Hall first gained popularity as the lead vocalist, saxophonist, and harmonica player for the band Wet Willie, emerging from Mobile, Alabama. His unique brand of R&B-infused rock and roll and onstage swagger propelled the group's signature song "Keep on Smilin'" to the Top 10 on the Billboard singles chart in 1974. After seven albums with Capricorn Records, Wet Willie moved forward to Epic Records releasing the singles "Street Corner Serenade" and "Weekend." Both singles hit the US Top 40 and five other songs were placed in the Billboard Top 100.

Hall performed in Salina, Kansas at the 14th annual Blues Masters at the Crossroads concert in 2011 at Blue Heaven Studios. Throughout his career he's shared a studio and stage with artists such as The Allman Brothers, Lynyrd Skynyrd, Jeff Beck Group, Grand Funk Railroad and a host of others while Wet Willie gained the reputation as one of the hardest working bands on the road.

Packed with inforgettable, amazing songs and performances, his new album, Ready Now, is a major statement in a career full of highs dating back to Jimmy's work with the legendary Southern Rock band Wet Willie. Jimmy's singing, harp playing, and writing have never been stronger or more laser focused on making a definitive career defining album.

From epic southern rock tunes like "Ready Now" and "A Long Goodbye," to the boogie and blues of "Girl's Got Sugar" and "Jumpin' for Joy," Jimmy's incredible voice is front and center. Backed by a crack band that includes Joe Bonamassa, Josh Smith, legendary keyboardist Reese Wynans, Bassist Michael Rhodes and drummer Greg Morrow, Hall is free to give his all to the songs and performances. None more so than on the track "Dream Release" written with his son Ryan Hall about his lifetime friendship with Gregg Allman.

Joe Bonamassa co-wrote five songs on the new album and plays unforgettable guitar solos on "Jumpin' For Joy," "Risin' Up," "Holding On For Dear Love," "A Long Goodbye," and "Will You Still Be There."

Co-producer Josh Smith plays an exquisite guitar solo on "Girl's Got Sugar."

The album also features special guest performances from legendary guitarists Warren Haynes and Jared James Nichols. Haynes plays a slide guitar solo on the title track "Ready Now," while Nichols plays a guitar solo on "Without Your Love."

Ready Now is a major statement on an amazing career by a legendary blues performer!





1. Jumpin’ For Joy
2. Risin' Up
3. Dream Release
4. Girl’s Got Sugar
5. Ready Now
6. Holding On For Dear Love
7. A Long Goodbye
8. Will You Still Be Here
9. Without Your Love
10. Love For It
11. Eyes In The Back Of Your Head

Be the first to write a review for this item OR just rate it