Sonny & The Sunsets - Longtime Companion

 (+ Download Code)


Polyvinyl Record Co.



Product No.:
APRC 240
UPC: 644110024015
Limited Stock

180 Gram Vinyl Record

Note: Download Card offer subject to expiration.

180 Gram LP


or Add to Wishlist

180-gram yellow vinyl edition includes full album download code

The new Sonny & the Sunsets record Longtime Companion is a country record. It's a break up record. Love and heartache. Every song was written during and is about his breakup with his girlfriend of ten years.

The songs came fast and naturally so Smith let the record be something different, he embellished his Sunsets with members of his country band The Fuckaroos. Recorded to tape in a musty beer-stained basement, what transpired was a classic country record.

Smith grew up listening to old time music; his dad is a banjo player and his parents and friends played old time music. "It was around the house, but I didn't like it!" recalls Sonny. "My dad played banjo and his friends would come over and play fiddle and mandolin. But I would go watch tv or listen to AC/DC."

However, some kind of country strain sank in. Gene Clark, The Flying Burrito Brothers, Townes Van Zandt, a little Johnny Cash, even the countrier side of the Kinks — there are hints of all of these in the new record and yet ultimately it still remains the Sonny & the Sunsets sound through and through.


1. I Was Born
2. Dried Blood
3. Children of the Beehive
4. Pretend You Love Me
5. Year of the Cock
6. Rhinestone Sunset
7. I See the Void
8. Sea of Darkness
9. My Mind Messed Up
10. Longtime Companion

Be the first to write a review for this item OR just rate it