Carriers are reporting longer-than-normal shipping times. Acoustic Sounds is not responsible for in-transit delays.

Found 24 product(s) in the

SACD

category that are

Limited Stock

in

Product Reviews

Results Per Page
Viewing 1 - 20 of 24 Products
Harry Nilsson - Nilsson Schmilsson Product No: CMOB 2219 SA
Available: LimitedStock
Category: Hybrid Stereo SACD
Label: Mobile Fidelity

An artist for everybody

5 Stars
Posted Thursday, April 22, 2021 by Jacob Brodbeck Full disclosure here. As a teen in the 70s I heard the name Harry Nilsson and I heard the tune “ Jump into the Fire”, but never connected the artist to the song. When I realized that I could get “Jump” on SACD I took no time ordering it. That’s how much I groove to that tune. Truly psychedelic. As I sat and listened to the disc beginning to end I realized that this was a man who could relate to seemingly everyone. Each tune has its own slot in life. Nilsson related to us. While I cannot relate to his talent in song writing, it makes him the the dominant giver.

This just may be the FUNNEST cd I have. And like nearly everything MOFI puts out, it clean, crisp and transparent in its remastering.

If there is one song writer I’d like to sit, smoke a joint with, and talk about life, it’s Harry Nilsson.


Dietrich Fischer-Dieskau - Schubert: Winterreise D911 Product No: CDGJ 9039 SA
Available: LimitedStock
Category: SHM Single Layer SACDs
Label: Deutsche Grammophon

The greatest performance and the most outstanding recording/remastering SACD sound.

5 Stars
Posted Monday, October 12, 2020 by John Fang When I was a child, I heard the simplified version of the Der Lindenbaum. I was so attracted to it’s beautiful melody and it’s sweet-sour feeling that says “Come here to me,friend, here you will find your rest”. Later on I realized it is a lied from Schubert’s Winterreise. I was so astonished how artistic it is, with the contrasting middle section and the beautiful peaceful ending. Since then I started to collect many LP/Cassettes/CD in order to have a “perfect” one. I have 5 of his CD, from 1955 to 1985, including the CD version of this 1972 recording. The early one (1955) is very outstanding..However the recording is old, and the piano part is not well recorded. This 1972 SACD is totally different. The sound is so grandiose in both piano and vocal, as in cathedral, for hymn-like last two songs (21 & 23). It gives the Winterreise a deeper meaning, the life and destiny.


Carly Simon - Carly Simon Product No: CMOB 2165 SA
Available: LimitedStock
Category: Hybrid Stereo SACD
Label: Mobile Fidelity

Good for SACD, but not great

3 Stars
Posted Friday, April 20, 2018 by Anonymous I purchased this title after being really impressed with the Mobile Fidelity SACD release of Carly Simon's "No Secrets," which sounds great. This SACD sounds a bit better than a good sounding CD release, but not great. It is relatively veiled - lacking clarity or depth. It really holds some of the songs back from being magic - "Dan, My Fling" in particular which would be amazing with great quality sound. It very well could be the original recording or degradation of the master tape over time (although I've heard older recordings sound much better.) The music itself is often good, but not as consistently good as No Secrets. If you already like the album this may be as good as it gets. It just isn't up to the sound standards of a great SACD.


Santana - Lotus Product No: CAFZ 247 SA
Available: LimitedStock
Category: Hybrid Stereo SACD
Label: Audio Fidelity

A Must Have!

5 Stars
Posted Thursday, March 9, 2017 by Stephen Bieth This has been one of my favourite live album for years. This was originally a Japanese release only then in '91 it was released here. The '91 CD had some issues with distortion. However it doesn't here. The mastering on this SACD is great. I have to be honest I was thinking that this was not going to sound very good. Based solely on what I thought the master tapes might be like. Well I was wrong and very happy to admit it. This, hopefullly will show there is a market for Jazz/Rock fusion SACD's . I would love to hear the four CD set of Miles At The Fillmore on SACD!


Bob Dylan - Live 1964 Concert At Philharmonic Hall Product No: CAFZ 230 SA
Available: LimitedStock
Category: Hybrid Multichannel SACD
Label: Audio Fidelity

5 Stars
Posted Sunday, August 21, 2016 by Anonymous


Lyn Stanley - Interludes Product No: CATM 3104 SA
Available: LimitedStock
Category: Hybrid Stereo SACD
Label: A.T. Music

Pasionless

1 Stars
Posted Monday, March 21, 2016 by Cal Liedtke While the studio mastering and the individual artists that Stanley surrounds herself with are all outstanding it is Lyn Stanley herself that is a huge disappointment. Indeed, Stanley is the most passionless vocalist I have ever heard.


Peter, Paul & Mary - Album 1700 Product No: CAPF 1700 SA
Available: LimitedStock
Category: Hybrid Stereo SACD
Label: Analogue Productions

The Best Version of A Classic, Favorite Album

5 Stars
Posted Thursday, March 10, 2016 by Jeffrey Fritz "Album 1700" is, by far, my favorite Peter, Paul & Mary album. I own the original LP and the Warner Brothers CD.

So how does the SACD sound? In a word "fantastic!" The vocals are clean and clear. Dick Kniss' upright acoustic bass is amazing on "Weep for Jamie" and "Whatshername." Clear, clean, strong and powerful-- much more so than on either the LP or CD. You can hear every string on the bass as it's played. The rest of the instruments come through sounding natural and real.

Kevin Gray has somehow figured out how to tame Mary Travers vocals. Mary had a powerful voice that could overload just about any microphone used to record her. How Kevin Gray overcame that is a mystery--but I'm glad that he did.

Tape hiss is audible during the quiet passages. I think that's a good thing because it may mean that processing was kept to a minimum in the remaster.

Kevin Gray's remaster lets me hear what happened in the recording studio back in 1967--and that


Elvis Presley - King Creole Product No: CAFZ 160 SA
Available: LimitedStock
Category: Hybrid Mono SACD
Label: Audio Fidelity

Not a Great Advert for Hybrid SACD

1 Stars
Posted Thursday, August 22, 2013 by FJC U.K. Now don't get me wrong, I'm a real Fan of Audio Fidelity and their latest batch of Hybrid SACDs and for the most part the ones I have are all pretty much near Reference quality.....but this Elvis disc is a stinker from start to finish I'm afraid - poor resolution, muddy sound, poor seperation of the vocals...etc. etc. - if you really want to hear this album at it's best either purchase (or keep hold of) the Sony Legacy release from the late 90's...play them 'A to B' aginst each other and if you didn't know any better you'd expect the Sony release to be the freshly minted disc.....oh well, never mind!


Harry Belafonte - Calypso Product No: CAFZ 138 SA
Available: LimitedStock
Category: Hybrid Mono SACD
Label: Audio Fidelity

Harry Belafonte's

5 Stars
Posted Sunday, April 28, 2013 by Michael "Bear" Arlt This is the first time hearing Harry Belafonte's "Calypso" without loud pops, surface noise from ground in dirt, crackle, inner-groove distortion, and groove damage at loud peaks caused by those clunky medievil 1950's hi-fi tonearms that double as phonograph record torture devices. Halfway though the third track, all I kept saying to myself is "wow!" No surface noise or distortion, I can hear fingers sliding on the guitar strings and a ride cymbal, this disc is amazing.

The SACD sounds better than my 2S/1S LP, and it doesn't have the audio problems of the 57 year old wax. This disc sounds more open and sweeter than the 2S vinyl and a 1956 Japanese Victor LP I own. When I found the Japanese LP, I was expecting a sonic miracle but the Japanese LP is pretty noisy and sounds a few tape generations down from the original tape.

The two LP's are now heading to Goodwill.

The SACD is the sonic miracle I was waiting for. Thanks to Kevin Gray for a great mastering job, and to Audio Fidelity for putting out this wonderful disc.


Seigen Ono Ensemble - Septet 2003 Live Product No: CSDA 1025 SA
Available: LimitedStock
Category: Hybrid Multichannel SACD
Label: Saidera Records

Good Jazz Performance

4 Stars
Posted Tuesday, January 1, 2013 by Anonymous I listened to Mr Ono's Septet for the first time in this SACD. Very interesting approach to Jazz and a very decent live sound. I like it.


Ray Charles - Genius + Soul = Jazz Product No: CAPP 2 SA
Available: LimitedStock
Category: Hybrid Stereo SACD
Label: Analogue Productions

Another jazz classic

5 Stars
Posted Wednesday, July 11, 2012 by Anonymous More jazz than R&B, this is another must-have disc. Excellent audio quality.


Ray Charles - Ray Charles and Betty Carter Product No: CAPP 385 SA
Available: LimitedStock
Category: Hybrid 3-Channel Stereo SACD
Label: Analogue Productions

5 Stars
Posted Wednesday, July 11, 2012 by Anonymous


Ray Charles - Live In Concert Product No: CAPP 500 SA
Available: LimitedStock
Category: Hybrid Stereo SACD
Label: Analogue Productions

R.C. Live, as good as it gets.

5 Stars
Posted Wednesday, July 11, 2012 by Anonymous For anyone lucky enough to have seen Ray live, this will bring back memories. Excellent audio quality.


Billie Holiday - Body And Soul Product No: CVRJ 8197 SA
Available: LimitedStock
Category: Hybrid Mono SACD
Label: Analogue Productions (Verve)

Mono sounds awesome

5 Stars
Posted Monday, February 6, 2012 by Steve Short and sweet, I will be buying the complete set. The mono recording is so clear, it really sounds like a live concert. I am running this direct DSD through an Oppo BDP 83 SE, but the non SACD layer is also excellent. It is amazing what modern technology can do for these master tapes. As an audiophile and jazz lover, I really appreciate that Analogue Productions is reproducing these classics for lucky listeners.


Nat Product No: CAPP 1613 SA
Available: LimitedStock
Category: Hybrid 3-Channel Stereo SACD
Label: Analogue Productions

5 Stars
Posted Tuesday, November 22, 2011 by Anonymous


Nat Product No: CAPP 782 SA
Available: LimitedStock
Category: Hybrid Mono SACD
Label: Analogue Productions

WOW... PHENOMENAL!!! DO NOT MISS!!!

5 Stars
Posted Wednesday, January 5, 2011 by Roberto-Juan Gonzalez BRAVO, INDISPENSABLE!!! Nat "King" Cole, with his trio and distinguished guest artists, in MONO, with sound that continues the outstanding sonics of this incredible series.

Nat Cole was about to turn the corner into the singing career that made him famous when he brought his trio into Capitol records in 1956 and made these recordings. The man had an uncanny ability to comp (jazz lingo for piano accompaniment) while singing. His solos are virtuosic, pared down to essentials, just like vintage Count Basie, and the band is so tight, they fit like a tailored suit. The contributions from the assembled instrumental soloists are lovely.

I hear more color in his vocals than I have EVER heard in ANY issues of these recordings, and I own all of them. Even in mono, this sounds like the trio is sitting in my living room.

PLEASE, BUY THIS, LOVE IT, and SUPPORT THE OUTSTANDING AUDIO RESTORATION OF THESE INCREDIBLE RECORDINGS!!!!!


The Jung Trio - Dvorak: Piano Trio Op.65 Product No: CGRN 1043 SA
Available: LimitedStock
Category: Hybrid Multichannel SACD
Label: Groove Note

"Sonic Manna"

5 Stars
Posted Tuesday, February 2, 2010 by Adrian B. A most superlative recording and performance!


Jackie McLean - Capuchin Swing Product No: CBNJ 84038 SA
Available: LimitedStock
Category: Hybrid Stereo SACD
Label: Analogue Productions (Blue Note)

Recommended

5 Stars
Posted Wednesday, October 14, 2009 by Bret Miller Some of the older less known jazz guys are worth checking out. I like it after many listens.


Matthias Jung/The Saxon Vocal Ensemble - Bouzignac: Motets, Motetten Product No: CTAC 156 SA
Available: LimitedStock
Category: Hybrid Multichannel SACD
Label: Tacet

Beautiful voices, beautiful reverberation

5 Stars
Posted Saturday, October 6, 2007 by Anonymous When I read Tacet's description of their "Real Surround" and saw how different parts of the chorus were dedicated to individual loudspeakers, even I (a very liberal thinker regarding how to deploy surround channels) was dubious, but the effect is simply gorgeous.

The spatial arrangement of the vocalists changes track by track and it's always very aesthetic. Even though the basses or sopranos may technically be coming from one speaker, the substantial reverberation (and perhaps the mixing) is such that you always hear an ensemble sound.

And the music of Bouzignac is a revelation itself.

Wow!


Anthony Wilson Nonet Featuring Diana Krall - Power of Nine Product No: CGRN 1035 SA
Available: LimitedStock
Category: Hybrid Stereo SACD
Label: Groove Note

Great sound

5 Stars
Posted Wednesday, September 13, 2006 by David I think I like the TRIO album better but this is still very good work from a true master.

Sound quality of this album is as good as it gets.



Viewing 1 - 20 of 24 Products