Found 31 product(s) in the

SACD

category that are

Back Ordered

in

Product Reviews

Results Per Page
Viewing 1 - 20 of 31 Products
Edo De Waart - Grieg: Peer Gynt/ Elly Ameling Product No: CDEC 90205 SA
Available: BackOrdered
Category: Hybrid Stereo SACD
Label: Esoteric (Decca)

Excellent sound but has vocals

2 Stars
Posted Saturday, October 12, 2019 by Frank Didn't notice it had vocals until I had already opened the packaging although it does mention Elly Ameling, Soprano on the back of the digipak. Had to eject the disk when Solveigs Song came on due to the loud vocalist I'll probably be selling mine in the future. Also the word Philips was removed from the album cover and even from the picture included inside even though it states front cover image is from the original LP 6514 378. How strange. Not recommended at all.


Al Di Meola, John McLaughlin & Paco DeLucia - Friday Night In San Francisco Product No: CSON 9637 SA
Available: BackOrdered
Category: Hybrid Stereo SACD
Label: Sony Music Entertainment

Good album, excellent sound!

4 Stars
Posted Monday, September 4, 2017 by Stephen Bieth Yea I know this is sacrilege but I am not a huge fan of this record. I heard about it for years so I thought I would grab it while the SACD was still around. Remember me not being a huge fan is an opinion, most people consider this a legendary record. As for the SACD this sounds amazing. Nice full sound but no boomy bass or shrill highs. I don't have one negative comment about the mastering or transfer of this disc. If you are a fan of this album I don't see how you couldn't like it!


Jose Feliciano - Super Audio Best Product No: CTOP 7021 SA
Available: BackOrdered
Category: Hybrid Stereo SACD
Label: Top Music International

2 Stars
Posted Saturday, January 28, 2017 by Cellerino Bernardino Despite being an SACD with self proclaimed "high resolution mastering" this hybrid disc is a poor recording - clear, but flat and lifeless. What's worse, the versions of songs like "Light my Fire", "In My Life", and "California Dreaming" are not the hit versions that we all listened to in our youth but rather less desirable alternative takes that I've never heard before. A huge disappointment - don't waste your money.


Bryan Ferry - The Ultimate Collection Product No: CUNI 8204 SA
Available: BackOrdered
Category: Hybrid Stereo SACD
Label: Universal Records

What a shame

2 Stars
Posted Monday, September 12, 2016 by Steve B I was very pumped when I saw this coming out. I love Ferry and Roxy and have a number of SACD's for both. I thought this would be a favourite but unfortunately no. The sound on this very's a lot. Tracks like Dance away sound good but Tokyo Joe actually has distortion on it. Then some other tracks thin out all together. I know these songs have been collected from different sources (albums) so there would be some difference but this is too much! I listened to it the day I received and just put it on again this weekend and I turned it off 4 tracks in. What a drag


John Coltrane - A Love Supreme Product No: CIPJ 77 SA
Available: BackOrdered
Category: Hybrid Stereo SACD
Label: Analogue Productions (Impulse)

Fabulous!

5 Stars
Posted Thursday, November 26, 2015 by Joe Johnson The Analogue Productions mastering is the SACD version of this to own -- clearly and obviously superior to older CD and SACD versions. For once the sound is open, uncompressed, and natural rather than processed sounding. Please give us the rest of the Impulse Coltrane canon, Chad!


Bill Withers - Live At Carnegie Hall Product No: CMOB 2156 SA
Available: BackOrdered
Category: Hybrid Stereo SACD
Label: Mobile Fidelity

Bill Withers - Live At Carnegie Hall Hybrid SACD 2014

5 Stars
Posted Saturday, November 15, 2014 by Mark Powers I am not a big R&B person but this recording is now in my top 10 of live performances and I have been listening to music for quite awhile, a must purchase. Bill Withers voice is a pure and very strong true R&B voice. The band during this recording is perfect. It all comes together with a very enthusiastic live audience that you can hear throughout. Packaging is good with good liner notes. There are some issues here and there with the sonic quality's of the recording, some drops, announcer's mic doesn't seem to be on same board, sometimes the audience can get a little loud, very little things. The performance is so strong it blows away imperfections in the sonic quality. I am going to listen again, right now. If you are looking for a disc to take you out of your normal genre, this is it.


Kleiber/Vienna Philharmonic Orch. - Beethoven: Symphonies Nos. 5 & 7 Product No: CDGJ 9006 SA
Available: BackOrdered
Category: SHM Single Layer SACDs
Label: Deutsche Grammophon

2 Stars
Posted Monday, September 15, 2014 by Anonymous


Miles Davis - Bitches Brew Product No: CMOB 2149 SA
Available: BackOrdered
Category: Hybrid Stereo SACD
Label: Mobile Fidelity

Miles Davis - Bitches Brew Hybrid Stereo SACD

5 Stars
Posted Monday, September 8, 2014 by Mark Powers I am trying to open my mind to some classic jazz albums and I sure hit the jack pot on this SACD, Stereo only. Having taken a few psychedelic trips in my life I wasn't surprised to agree with the description. Bitches Brew, what a cool name. I listened to this mind warp in music via a fully set up home stereo, hunkered down and was just amazed at what I could hear from this reissue. Two drummers was incredible, with all the other musicians. I could hear Miles breath go right thru his trumpet with perfect sonic brilliance. I cannot believe that there is a better recording even though this is my first experience. I have no desire to hear a vinyl LP of this. I dug the music so much that on my way to work I played it in my car and I had to eject after 5 minutes as I couldn't listen to anything less than what I heard on the home system. Thank you MOFI and Miles Davis.


The Doors - L.A. Woman Product No: CAPP 75011 SA
Available: BackOrdered
Category: Hybrid Multichannel SACD
Label: Analogue Productions

Great surround mix!

5 Stars
Posted Thursday, March 21, 2013 by Tim Casey I'm just focusing on the surround mix here; I already have an excellent DCC Gold stereo CD of this album which I'm quite happy with. But this surround mix is incredible! It's apparently an old mix, sourced from a previous Doors boxed set on DVD-audio (I think). So if you own the box, you already have this mix. If not, once you hear "Riders On The Storm" in 5.1, you'll be glad you bought this SACD.

Another cool thing about this mix is that the mixing engineer leaves tracks on that weren't in the original stereo mixes. At the time, the band probably nit-picked everything, turning down this or that guitar riff, intro, etc.; but forty years later, nobody remembers what was rejected from the multitracks and you get to hear extra little bits of stuff all over the place.

I've only purchased their debut album on SACD along with this one. I may eventually get them all, but it'd be GREAT to have a "greatest hits" surround SACD as well (hint, hint).....


The Doors - The Doors Product No: CAPP 74007 SA
Available: BackOrdered
Category: Hybrid Multichannel SACD
Label: Analogue Productions

Doors on SACD

5 Stars
Posted Saturday, March 9, 2013 by Tony It may sound tiresome but the Doors never sounded better until now on SACD. Yes the DVD-Audio's were very good but this tops it because it's taken from analog which the last were but this somehow magnifies the sounds, you hear the seperation, can feel/hear the room what was where and how far. If Morrison sang serparetely then it was mixed well it feels as though your in the studio/room the sounds are pure with never any distortion and a joy to listen to from beginning to end it tops the DVD-Audio only because the sounds are magnified more here but it sounds like it's from the same mix and not remixed, they did something in 2012 then from 7 years ago something improved the sound by alot not just a little and i do believe in the DVD-Audios and like them but it would be untrue to say that these SACDs aren't a whole lot better. It's an experience only for the true Doors fan, I listened to these 6 releases so often it's sick so it's worth it for me.


Holly Cole Trio - Don't Smoke In Bed Product No: CAPP 049 SA
Available: BackOrdered
Category: Hybrid Stereo SACD
Label: Analogue Productions

Holly Cole is never better

5 Stars
Posted Monday, November 26, 2012 by Carl Mabee This probably rates as one of the top 10, all time Jazz albums. She treats a multitude of genres with sophistication and simplicity. The people behind her are top notch. The arrangements...wow! Performance...a zinger. And the quality of the recording doesn't get any better.


Nancy Sinatra - Super Audio Best Product No: CTOP 7017 SA
Available: BackOrdered
Category: Hybrid Stereo SACD
Label: Top Music International

Excellent SACD

5 Stars
Posted Friday, August 17, 2012 by Anonymous Bought this almost a year ago from Japan. It's the original recordings.


Dave Brubeck Quartet - Time Out Product No: CAPJ 8192 SA
Available: BackOrdered
Category: Hybrid Multichannel SACD
Label: Analogue Productions

Stereo great, multichannel useless...

2 Stars
Posted Thursday, July 26, 2012 by Tim Casey ...but I'm giving you guys 2 stars for at least saying in bold at the bottom of the description that you used the old Sony multichannel mix. However, I hadn't noticed that caveat before I bought it.

I wanted it because it was multichannel. I should have read closer. All of the instruments are coming out of the center channel, except for the drums, which are spread out in the front left and right speakers. I didn't notice anything out of the rear speakers at all. And there are absolutely no low frequencies in this mix - a problem that the old Sony SACDs had with this title and "Kind of Blue" as well. The upright bass sounds like a kid's plastic toy. The stereo sounds rich, but this multi mix - why on earth did you give this anemic mix new life?

I was hoping for better from you guys (your other stuff is great). I wish I could return it, but it's already opened.


Ella Fitzgerald and Louis Armstrong - Ella And Louis Again Product No: CVRJ 4017 SA
Available: BackOrdered
Category: Hybrid Mono SACD
Label: Analogue Productions (Verve)

5 Stars
Posted Saturday, June 16, 2012 by Anonymous


Muddy Waters - Folk Singer Product No: CAPB 1483 SA
Available: BackOrdered
Category: Hybrid Stereo SACD
Label: Analogue Productions

Absolutely the best

5 Stars
Posted Friday, June 1, 2012 by dancehallAudio.com Young guy discovering quality music before my time. Muddy Waters is one of my favorite SACDs. Everything about this SACD is perfect. The production quality, the music, the lyrics. Certainly a must-have in your SACD collection.


Ella Fitzgerald and Louis Armstrong - Ella and Louis Product No: CVRJ 4003 SA
Available: BackOrdered
Category: Hybrid Mono SACD
Label: Analogue Productions (Verve)

Very Special

5 Stars
Posted Monday, December 26, 2011 by MyPal This is really an amazing remaster & transfer. When can MONO actually sound better than stereo? When it transports you back to then & there. A pleasure & feel most privileged to be able to appreciate their amazing talent the way they intended it to be.


Salvatore Accardo - Vivaldi: The Four Seasons Product No: CFON 065 SA
Available: BackOrdered
Category: Hybrid Stereo SACD
Label: Fone

Stunning sound and (to me) great performance

5 Stars
Posted Tuesday, May 24, 2011 by Muzza I have two different versions of The Four Seasons and now this one. In a less than perfect room and in 2x channel mode I was blown away by the sound. The bite of the bows, the depth of the sound stage, the ambience of the hall, but most of all the recording allowed me to hear for the first time the real interplay between the musicians and their instruments.

I was blown away.


Stevie Ray Vaughan - Texas Flood Product No: CMOB 2074 SA
Available: BackOrdered
Category: Hybrid Stereo SACD
Label: Mobile Fidelity

Simply amazing!

5 Stars
Posted Saturday, February 26, 2011 by Anonymous My listening setup: Onkyo C-S5VL SACD player -> Burson AB 160 -> Burson HA 160 -> Audeze LCD-2 orthodynamic headphones

I pre-ordered this last September and let me tell you the wait was well worth it. The original master used was well recorded as you can tell at first listen. There is very little grain which can be a detractor with high quality (re)masters of this order. There is a noticeable presence of air but not as much as on some other SACD/hi-def quality recordings.

Stevie's guitar sounds very life-like although I noticed in a one or two spots where it seems to be pushed back in the mix (noticeably quieter). [edit: I've learned that this is what is called 'print through' and unless you're listening very analytically on a decent setup you may not even notice it]

The vocals and other instruments are well defined in the soundstage and nothing really seems overbearing in the mix. It's all too perfect really.


Petula Clark - Kiss Me Goodbye Product No: CTOP 8935.2 SA
Available: BackOrdered
Category: Hybrid Stereo SACD
Label: Top Music International

not as amazing as my other sacds

2 Stars
Posted Friday, January 7, 2011 by Anonymous i was disappointed in this sacd of pet clark. it sounded no better than a good cd reproduction that i currently have.


Ben Webster - My Romance Product No: CTOP 8934.2 SA
Available: BackOrdered
Category: Hybrid Stereo SACD
Label: Top Music International

Music good, the sound is not.

3 Stars
Posted Wednesday, April 21, 2010 by Anonymous Bright, thin and hard sounding. Certainly not worth the extra asking price. Not recommended.



Viewing 1 - 20 of 31 Products