Carriers are reporting longer-than-normal shipping times. Acoustic Sounds is not responsible for in-transit delays.

James Gang - The Best Of The James Gang


Analogue Productions



Product No.:
UPC: 753088120060
In Stock

Hybrid Stereo SACD

Hybrid Stereo SACD
(Not Eligible for Additional Discount)


or Add to Wishlist

Also available on:
180 Gram Vinyl Record

Now on Hybrid Stereo SACD — The 10 best songs from the acclaimed Joe Walsh-led trio!

Mastered by Kevin Gray at Cohearent Audio from the original analog tapes

The 10 best songs from 1969's Yer' Album, 1970's Rides Again and 1971's Thirds. The James Gang, formed in Cleveland, Ohio, in 1966, may be best known as the band that was first to feature guitarist/vocalist Joe Walsh before his rise to stardom as a solo musician and a member of the Eagles.

The James Gang performed with a stylistic versatility, hard-rocking edge and ultra-sharp musicianship. Their power-trio template has never sounded fiercer than on this Analogue Productions Hybrid Stereo SACD. Mastered by Kevin Gray at Cohearent Audio — directly from analog tape to DSD.

You'll hear James Gang favorites including the FM radio staple "Funk #49," — kick-started by the outspoken declaration "I sleep all day, out all night/I know where you're goin'" — the sexual thrust of the head-bobbing "Woman," and proto-metal slash of the multi-part "The Bomber." The rest of the track list is just as steeped in psychedelic-and-blues-leaning discourse. "Midnight Man," "Stop," "Yadig?" "Take A Look Around," "Funk #48," "Walk Away" and the Jack Nitzsche-orchestrated "Ashes the Rain and I" are rounded out by Walsh's Echoplex-equipped slide guitar, and his trio-mates, band founder Jim Fox on drums, piano and vocals, and bassist Tom Kriss, later replaced by Dale Peters.

The James Gang burning on stage with the audience getting higher and higher. Listen — this is American music — strong, inventive and clean.


1. Walk Away
2. Funk #49
3. Midnight Man
4. The Bomber
- Closet Queen
- Cast Your Fate To The Wind
5. Yadig?
6. Take A look Around
7. Funk #48
8. Woman
9. Ashes, The Rain And I
10. Stop

Customer Reviews (4.50 Stars) 2 person(s) rated this product.

Great sound BUT

posted on 01/07/2021
4 Stars
The sound is pure, detailed and layered without etching, a real joy to listen to. Lacks the dynamic range and transparency of the best SACD reissues and the bass is a bit muddy, but it's possible these particular masters are only capable of so much. My minor complaint is the disc is short, only 10 songs vs 16 on the 2000 James Gang Greatest Hits CD. My major complaint is that this disc contains the edited version of the Bomber Suite, with the Bolero section excised. There's just no excuse for mutilating one of their greatest songs since those copyright issues were worked out 20+ years ago. So this is the best way to listen to most of these songs on silver disc, but Greatest Hits remains the best collection.

Sounds Great

posted on 05/01/2020
5 Stars
Reviewer: Jdawg
Some great tunes here for us old-timers of the late 60s and 70s. Brings back lots of memories. The sound is not perfect but pretty damn good for an album recorded almost 60-years ago!

Write a review and let people know what you think of this product OR just rate it.