The Jayhawks - Rainy Day Music


American Recordings



Product No.:
AAME 90952
UPC: 602537909520
Back Ordered

180 Gram Vinyl Record

No. of Discs: 2

180 Gram LP

This item is Back Ordered and currently unavailable.

Please inform me of any status changes for this product regarding its upcoming availability.

The Jayhawks' Sound of Lies, Smile and Rainy Day Music reissued

Each a deluxe 180-gram 2 LP edition; Smile first time on vinyl!

Remastered in April 2014 using original  analog sources whenever possible

Just as they've done with their earlier albums, the Jayhawks — the beloved Minnesota twang-rockers — have reissued their three 1997-2003 albums Sound of Lies, Smile and Rainy Day Music as expanded double LP vinyl sets. Each features bonus tracks, fresh artwork and new liner notes. 

The three albums were made after original Jayhawks co-leader Mark Olson left the band in 1995 and feature Gary Louris at the helm. Reviewers characterize their sound as more rock-oriented than their previous counterparts, particularly 2000's Smile," which was produced by Bob Ezrin (Pink Floyd, Alice Cooper).

"The Jayhawks' seventh album backs away from their 'super-pop' releases like Smile and the underrated Sound of Lies and looks back to their earlier, rootsier sound. Produced by Ethan Johns (and overseen by Rick Rubin), Rainy Day Music goes back even further than the band's first albums, channeling the ghosts of the Byrds, Crosby, Stills & Nash, and Buffalo Springfield, and interpreting their '60s folk jangle and lazy, sunny harmonies through The Jayhawks' own sweetly awkward formula. 'Madman,' in particular, gives the listener a sense of Déjà Vu, sounding like a long lost CSNY demo, and the chiming Rickenbacker 12-string guitar of the leadoff track, 'Stumbling Through the Dark,' could've been lifted right from the master tapes of 'Mr. Tambourine Man.'" —

All of the original tracks on the three newest reissues were remastered in April 2014 by renowned mastering engineer Vic Anesini at Battery Studios in NYC using original analog sources whenever possible.

Sound of Lies and Rainy Day Music were only originally released on vinyl in very limited quantities so their reissue is great news for vinyl fans. Also back on the market are deluxe reissues of the seminal Hollywood Town Hall and Tomorrow the Green Grass.



LP 1:
Side 1
1. Stumbling Through The Dark
2. Tailspin
3. All The Right Reasons
4. Save It For A Rainy Day
5. Eyes Of Sarahjane

LP 1:
Side 2
6. One Man’s Problem
7. Don’t Let The World Get In Your Way
8. Come To The River
9. Angelyne

LP 2:
Side 1
10. Madman
11. You Look So Young
12. Tampa To Tulsa
13. Will I See You In Heaven
14. Stumbling Through The Dark (repise)

LP 2:
Side 2 (Bonus Tracks)
15. Tailspin (“Inbred” version)(demo)
16. Waiting For Salvation (demo)
17. The Book You Wrote (demo)
18. False Eyelashes (Blue-Eyed Soul) (demo)
19. Won’t Last Long (demo)
20. In The Canyon (Live)

Be the first to write a review for this item OR just rate it