The Jayhawks - Tomorrow The Green Grass


American Recordings


Folk Rock

Product No.:
AAME 91601
UPC: 602537864300
In Stock

180 Gram Vinyl Record

180 Gram LP

or Add to Wishlist

The Jayhawks' Hollywood Town Hall and Tomorrow the Green Grass repressed, back in stock!

Reissues part of the band's massive career-spaning archival project

Remastered using original analog sources whenever possible

The Jayhawks — the beloved Minnesota twang-rockers — are marking their career with a series of deluxe vinyl reissues that include the seminal albums Hollywood Town Hall and Tomorrow the Green Grass.

Originally released in 1995, this album was released for the first time ever on vinyl in January 2011 and quickly sold out.

"Tomorrow The Green Grass showed that after two accomplished Indie albums (1986 and 1989) and their stunning 1992 breakthrough effort Hollywood Town Hall - here was a truly great Americana band hitting their stride. On 1995's Tomorrow the Green Grass, the Jayhawks found themselves in the tricky situation of trying to match the quality of Hollywood Town Hall without simply repeating themselves, and they came remarkably close to achieving that daunting task. Rather than simply mimic the warm and unaffected sound of Hollywood Town Hall, the Jayhawks reached for a broader and more eclectic approach on Tomorrow the Green Grass; with the presence of new keyboard player Karen Grotberg and the addition of strings on several tracks, the album certainly sounded fuller and more artful, but Mark Olson and Gary Louris' harmonies were still the band's secret weapon, and were as pure and emotionally compelling as ever, while Louris' electric guitar solos gave the songs real rock 'n' roll muscle without disturbing the essentially gentle nature of their music. And the best songs on Tomorrow the Green Grass are every bit as good as anything on Hollywood Town Hall, especially the opening hat trick of 'Blue,' 'I'll Run Away,' and 'Miss Williams' Guitar' (the latter a joyous love letter to Olson's new bride, Victoria Williams)." —


Side A
1. Blue
2. I'd Run Away
3. Miss Williams' Guitar
4. Two Hearts
5. Real Light
6. Over My Shoulder
7. Bad Time

Side B
1. See Him On The Street
2. Nothing Left To Borrow
3. Ann Jane
4. Pray for Me
5. Red's Song
6. Ten Little Kids

Be the first to write a review for this item OR just rate it