Mary Black - Stories From The Steeples

 (Limited Edition)


Pure Pleasure Records (3u)



Product No.:
APPR 015
EAN: 5060149621691
Limited Stock

180 Gram Vinyl Record

180 Gram LP

or Add to Wishlist

180-gram vinyl, gatefold jacket

The award-winning Irish singer's first album of new material in six years. "It's all about the songs — each handpicked and worthy of Black's interpretative touch. Material such as "All The Fine Young Men," an anti-war anthem by the great Eric Bogle, and "Marguerite And The Gambler," a song by Cork's Ricky Lynch that takes its inspiration from The Falconer, a painting displayed in a Cork Art gallery. Then there's the totally melodic "Wizard Of Oz," one of three compositions donated by young songwriter Danny O'Reilly, that could easily become a standard. Add such guest-assisted goodies as "Walking With My Love," which boasts the talents of Finbar Furey, along with "Mountains To The Sea" (with Imelda May) and "Lighthouse Light" (with Janis Ian), wrap the whole in a production that appeals both to a commercial audience and one that favours a more traditional approach, and Black has achieved the perfect meld." — Mojo Magazine, March 2012

Side 1
1. Marguerite And The Gambler
2. The Night Was Dark And Deep
3. Mountains To The Sea (with Imelda May)
4. Faith In Fate
5. Steady Breathing
6. Walking With My Love (with Finbar Furey)

Side 2
1. All The Fine Young Men
2. The Night Is On Our Side
3. Lighthouse Light (with Janis Ian)
4. Wizard Of Oz
5. One True Place
6. Fifi The Flea

Be the first to write a review for this item OR just rate it