The Singers Unlimited - Christmas





Product No.:
AMPS 209875
EAN: 4029759098751
In Stock

180 Gram Vinyl Record

180 Gram LP

or Add to Wishlist

180-gram vinyl

Tired of the same old Christmas carols sung the same old way? Then The Singers Unlimited's 1971 MPS album Christmas is the perfect stocking stuffer. Leader Gene Puerling's advanced harmonic concepts influenced Take Six, Manhattan Transfer, and Brian Wilson. Legendary jazz singer Jon Hendricks compared Puerling to pioneering saxophonist Charlie Parker, exclaiming "Gene broadened the harmonies, like Bird did with bebop."

Arguably the best-known of the 15 albums the Singers Unlimited recorded for MPS, Christmas contains such classics as "Deck the Halls," "Silent Night," and "It Came Upon a Midnight Clear," arranged in Puerling's signature style. The a cappella quartet modulates between the traditional and the jazz-inflected modern, at times exuberant, at times reflective.

Seven originals were penned by jazz trumpeter Alfred Burt. First intended as Christmas cards for friends and family with lyrics by Burt's Episcopalian pastor-father, the compositions have since become distinctive season standards. Sounding as clean and pure as a child's breath on a cold winter morning, Christmas is a holiday gift that is a joy to listen to at any time of the year.

Side A
1. Deck The Halls
2. Ah Bleak and Chill The Wintry Wind
3. Bright, Bright, The Holy Berries
4. Jesu Parvule
5. Caroling, Caroling
6. What Are The Signs
7. Night Bethlehem
8. While By My Sheep
9. It Came Upon A Midnight Clear

Side B
1. Silent Night
2. Joy To The World
3. Wassail Song
4. Carol Of The Russian Children
5. Good King Wenceslas
6. Coventry Carol
7. Oh Come All Ye Faithful
8. Have Yourself A Merry Little Christmas

Be the first to write a review for this item OR just rate it