Carriers are reporting longer-than-normal shipping times. Acoustic Sounds is not responsible for in-transit delays.

Blackthorne - Afterlife





Product No.:
UPC: 630428097612
In Stock

180 Gram Vinyl Record

No. of Discs: 2
New Arrival

180 Gram LP

or Add to Wishlist

180-gram gatefold double LP w/ bonus tracks!

1993 album from this hard rock supergroup featuring Bob Kulick on guitar, Graham Bonnet on vocals, Frankie Banali on drums, Jimmy Waldo on keyboards, and Chuck Wright on bass.

Few bands can be as worthy of the epithet "super-group" as Blackthorne, who released their sole album Afterlife in 1993. Featuring Bob Kulick on lead guitar, whose impressive CV included working with Meat Loaf and KISS. Not many singers have a career as lengthy and varied as vocalist Graham Bonnet, replacing Ronnie James Dio in Rainbow for their biggest hits, "Since You Been Gone" and the Down To Earth album, Graham also fronted the Michael Schenker Group as well as his own band, Alcatrazz.

Jimmy Waldo is probably best known for his keyboards with Alcatrazz, and was previously in the AOR band New England. Blackthorne's line-up was completed by Quiet Riot's Frankie Banali on drums, who also enjoyed stints with Billy Thorpe, Billy Idol and WASP. Released at the height of grunge, like many classic rock / hard rock artists of the era, Afterlife was a somewhat overlooked classic at the time, though Kerrang! Magazine recognized that, "Kulick's six string sting is never in doubt". Hit Parader magazine stated that, "This is a very good album, filled with stirring guitar solos and gut-wrenching vocals."

Featuring "Cradle To The Grave," "We Won't Be Forgotten" and "Breaking The Chains," the original album finished with a re-reading of the Rainbow classic, "All Night Long." This expanded collection now includes three previously unreleased bonus tracks, and liner notes by Malcolm Dome, based on recent interviews with Graham Bonnet and Bob Kulick.

1. Cradle to the Grave
2. Afterlife
3. We Won't Be Forgotten
4. Breaking the Chains
5. Over and Over
6. Hard Feelings
7. Baby You're the Blood
8. Sex Crime
9. Love from the Ashes
10. All Night Long
11. Wild Inside (Demo)
12. Get My Heart Out of Here (Demo)
13. Afterlife (Demo)
14. Baby You're the Blood (Demo)
15. Afterlife (Live)
16. We Won't Be Forgotten (Live
17. Since You Been Gone

Be the first to write a review for this item OR just rate it