Genesis - Duke

 (White Vinyl)





Product No.:
AATL 1884120
UPC: 603497845293
In Stock

180 Gram Vinyl Record

180 Gram LP

or Add to Wishlist

Also available on:
180 Gram Vinyl Record

1980 album reissued on limited edition 180-gram white vinyl LP!

Featuring "Turn It On Again" and "Misunderstanding"

Genesis' tenth studio album, released in March 1980 on Charisma Records, is one of the band's groundbreaking albums and their biggest selling one after stripping down to the threesome of Phil Collins, Tony Banks and Mike Rutherford. Duke was Genesis? first ever No.1 album and it finally provided them with a firm foothold in the USA via some of the great singles from the album, namely, the strutting "Turn It On Again," the sprightly "Duchess" and the excellent "Misunderstanding."

Duke was the album via which Genesis finally managed to shed their "heavy progressive rock" tag and start to branch out a bit more — especially with the additional confidence of Phil Collins' vocals after replacing Peter Gabriel. The result was an album which boosted their worldwide audience massively and paved the way for both Genesis and Phil Collins' later success.

Genesis have always been known for their sense of spectacle and their groundbreaking live shows, as much as their ambitious studio albums like the evergreen Nursery Cryme, Foxtrot, Selling England By The Pound, and The Lamb Lies Down On Broadway. Throughout the last four decades, the group has sold 150 million albums worldwide and has influenced the likes of Elbow, The Flaming Lips and Jeff Buckley.


Side A
1. Behind the Lines
2. Duchess
3. Guide Vocal
4. Man of Our Times
5. Misunderstanding
6. Heathaze

Side B
1. Turn It on Again
2. Alone Tonight
3. Cul-De-Sac
4. Please Don't Ask
5. Duke's Travels
6. Duke's End

Be the first to write a review for this item OR just rate it