Various Artists - Scott Pilgrim Vs. The World

 (Seven Evil Exes Edition 4 Picture Disc LPs (2LP Soundtrack + 2LP Score) + Poster)


10th Anniversary Four LP picture disc Seven Evil Exes Edition offering soundtrack/score!

Limited edition includes Brie Larson performance of "Black Sheep" and 11 other unreleased tracks!

This year marks the tenth anniversary of the theatrical release of Universal Pictures' Scott Pilgrim vs. the World. The film adaptation by director Edgar Wright (Hot Fuzz, Baby Driver) of Bryan Lee O'Malley's graphic novel series stars Michael Cera, Mary Elizabeth Winstead and Kieran Culkin and has since become a cult classic.

Now ABKCO, with Edgar Wright and Nigel Godrich's oversight, has curated an expanded, four LP picture disc Seven Evil Exes Edition offering of the soundtrack/score, including more performances by Sex Bob- Omb and demos from Beck, as well as fan-favorite "Black Sheep" by Metric and sung by actress Brie Larson. The set is slated for release on March 26, 2021.

Each side of each LP features an image of one of the "Seven Evil Exes" from the film, plus an image of Scott Pilgrim and Ramona Flowers on the eighth side. This marks the first time ever that Godrich's score will get a vinyl release, which will also be available separately on a blue vinyl 2LP set, also on March 26.

Scott Pilgrim vs. the World finds Cera's character smitten by Ramona Flowers (Winstead) and having to battle her seven evil exes who are out to kill him. Interwoven into the plot is a plethora of fictitious music groups acting out the performances of original compositions by real recording artists. Under the direction of producer Godrich (Radiohead, Paul McCartney, U2), Beck provided the music for Scott's low-fi garage band Sex Bob-Omb, Canadian synth-rockers Metric did the same for The Clash at Demonhead (fronted by Brie Larson), Broken Social Scene wrote and recorded for Crash and the Boys, and faux DJ duo Katayanagi Twins were brought to life by Cornelius. In some cases, the finished songs incorporate actual vocal and instrumental contributions from the actors who appear in the film.

Wright and Godrich worked together for a two-year period, during which they essentially cast ultimate fantasy bands and got non-musician actors to learn their respective instruments with the aid of Chris Murphy from the band Sloan. The original soundtrack, which went to No. 2 on the Billboard soundtrack chart, also includes songs by Frank Black, Beachwood Sparks, Black Lips, T. Rex, Blood Red Shoes, The Rolling Stones and The Bluetones.

Edgar Wright, who in the last decade has written/directed The World's End and Baby Driver and has directed the upcoming psychological thriller Last Night in Soho, waxes nostalgic about the music of Scott Pilgrim vs. the World. He commented, "It's been ten years since Scott Pilgrim first made it to the big screen and I think the fact that it's become so enshrined in the consciousness of so many for so long is due, in no small part, to the fact that the action was so music-driven. The Scott Pilgrim soundtrack and the score have played a huge role in making this an enduring phenomenon."



Side One:
1. We Are Sex Bob-Omb - Sex Bob-Omb
2. Scott Pilgrim - Plumtree
3. I Heard Ramona Sing - Frank Black
4. By Your Side - Beachwood Sparks
5. O Katrina! - The Black Lips
6. I'm So Sad, So Very, Very Sad - Crash and the Boys
7. We Hate You Please Die - Crash and the Boys
8. Garbage Truck - Sex Bob-Omb

Side Two:
1. Teenage Dream - T. Rex
2. Sleazy Bed Track - The Bluetones
3. It's Getting Boring By The Sea - Blood Red Shoes
4. Black Sheep - Metric

Side Three:
1. Threshold - Sex Bob-Omb
2. Anthems For A Seventeen Year Old Girl - Broken Social Scene
3. Under My Thumb - The Rolling Stones
4. Ramona (Acoustic Version) - Beck
5. Ramona - Beck
6. Summbertime - Sex Bob-Omb
7. Threshold (8 Bit) - Brian LeBarton

Side Four:
1. Black Sheep (Brie Larson Vocal Version) - Metric (Bonus Track)
2. No Fun - Sex Bob-Omb (Bonus Track)
3. Garbage Truck - Beck (Bonus Track)
4. Threshold - Beck (Bonus Track)
5. Indefatigable - Sex Bob-Omb (Bonus Track)
6. Go! - Plumtree (Bonus Track)
7. Ramona (Acoustic Demo Idea 1) - Beck (Bonus Track)
8. Ramona (Acoustic Demo Idea 2) - Beck (Bonus Track)
9. Ramona (Acoustic Demo Idea 3) - Beck (Bonus Track)
10. Ramona (Mellotron Version) - Beck (Bonus Track)
11. Summertime - Beck (Bonus Track)
12. Enter Goddess - Nigel Godrich (Bonus Track)

Side Five:
1. Universal Theme (Nigel Godrich Score)
2. Hillcrest Park (Nigel Godrich Score)
3. Fight! (Nigel Godrich Score)
4. Slick (Patel's Song) - Dan the Automator (Nigel Godrich Score)
5. Love Me Some Walking (Nigel Godrich Score)
6. Talk To The Fist (Nigel Godrich Score)
7. Rumble (Nigel Godrich Score)
8. Feel The Wrath (Nigel Godrich Score)
9. The Grind (Nigel Godrich Score)

Side Six:
1. Hello Envy (Nigel Godrich Score)
2. Mystery Attacker (Nigel Godrich Score)
3. Second Cup (Nigel Godrich Score)
4. The Vegan (Nigel Godrich Score)
5. Bass Battle - Nigel Godrich/Jason Falkner/Justin Meldal-Johnsen (Nigel Godrich Score)
6. Sorry I Guess (Nigel Godrich Score)
7. Roxy (Nigel Godrich Score)

Side Seven:
1. The Ninth Circle (Nigel Godrich Score)
2. Katanayagi Twins Vs Sex Bob-Omb - Beck & Cornelius (Nigel Godrich Score)
3. This Fight Is Over (Nigel Godrich Score)
4. Giedon Calling (Nigel Godrich Score)
5. Level 7 (Nigel Godrich Score)
6. Welcome To Chaos Theatre (Nigel Godrich Score)
7. We Are Sex Bob-Omb (Fast) - Beck/Nigel Godrich (Nigel Godrich Score)
8. Fast Entrance Into Hell (Nigel Godrich Score)
9. Chau Down (Nigel Godrich Score)
10. Game Over (Nigel Godrich Score)
11. So Alone (Nigel Godrich Score)
12. Round 2 (Nigel Godrich Score)

Side Eight:
1. Death To All Hipsters - Nigel Godrich & Beck (Nigel Godrich Score)
2. A Different Guy (Nigel Godrich Score)
3. Boss Battle (Nigel Godrich Score)
4. Blowing Up Right Now (Nigel Godrich Score)
5. Aftermath (Nigel Godrich Score)
6. Bye And Stuff (Nigel Godrich Score)
7. Love - Osymyso (Nigel Godrich Score)
8. Ramona - Osymyso (Nigel Godrich Score)
9. Prepare - Osymyso (Nigel Godrich Score)
10. Ninja Ninja Revolution - Dan the Automator (Nigel Godrich Score)

Be the first to write a review for this item OR just rate it