R.E.M. - Monster

 (Expanded Edition)

R.E.M. - Monster


Concord Craft Recordings



Product No.:
UPC: 888072111493
In Stock

180 Gram Vinyl Record

No. of Discs: 2

180 Gram LP

or Add to Wishlist

Also available on:
180 Gram Vinyl Record
25th Anniversary Edition

Deluxe 2LP 25th Anniversary reissue of R.E.M's acclaimed ninth album!

Original album 180-gram LP + LP featuring 2019 remix from Monster producer Scott Litt

Features reimagined cover art by longtime R.E.M. designer Chris Bilheimer

This expanded anniversary edition of Monster, offering the original album and the 2019 remixed version, is available on two 180-gram vinyl LPs featuring reimagined cover art by longtime R.E.M. designer Chris Bilheimer.

When Monster was released in September 1994, the members of R.E.M. were at a crossroads in their career. Singer Michael Stipe, guitarist Peter Buck, bassist Mike Mills and drummer Bill Berry were decompressing from the massive commercial and critical success of 1991's Out Of Time and 1992's Automatic For The People. In just a few years, the Athens, GA, four-piece had become one of the biggest, most recognizable bands in the world, thanks to hits like "Losing My Religion," "Man On The Moon" and "Everybody Hurts." It had also been six years since the group had toured.

By the time that work began on Monster, they were itching to end their self-imposed hiatus and get back on the road. The band was also looking for a sonic shake-up. While R.E.M.'s last two albums were full of ballads, acoustic rock songs and intricate arrangements, the group was ready to record something grittier, brasher and highly playable on stage. In his liner notes, journalist Matthew Perpetua writes that Monster "had no precedent in the band's catalogue," adding that R.E.M had "never been this distorted and dirty, or this glam or this flirty." Buck recalls, "We were trying to feel like a different band ... We wanted to get away from who we were." The group was also reeling from the strange nature of celebrity and identity, and many of the songs in this album reflect that. Perpetua notes, "There's no question that the characters on Monster are all dealing with obsession in some form or another, whether it's the infatuated narrator of 'Crush With Eyeliner,' the lovelorn protagonist of 'Strange Currencies,' or the cackling supervillain in 'I Took Your Name.'" As dark as some of the subject matter is, though, R.E.M. still infuses the songs with a dash of absurdity, irony and a humorous wink.

Highlights off the album include the distortion-soaked first single, "What's The Frequency, Kenneth?" which plays off the farce of media and marketing that pervaded Gen X pop-culture, while the catchy "Star 69" is a detective story, based on the '90s phone service of the same name (a precursor to caller ID). The second single, "Bang and Blame" features Sonic Youth's Thurston Moore, as well as actress Rain Phoenix — whose brother, River, had recently passed away and was Monster's dedicatee. "Let Me In" is an ode to Nirvana frontman Kurt Cobain, who had died by suicide just months before. Mills, who swapped his bass for Cobain's guitar on the track, shares, "It's Michael's cathartic release in response to the loss of a good friend and someone we all felt creatively aligned with."

The band's new artistic direction proved to be a hit. Monster debuted at No. 1 on the Billboard 200 and would be certified four-times platinum in the U.S. Rolling Stone offered this praise: "R.E.M.'s exceptional pop craftsmanship, their luminous melodic inventions, their sense of mission — in short, everything fundamental — are still there and shining more brightly than ever ... Monster is one urgent-sounding album, and that's as it should be."

In addition to having the chance to reflect on Monster, R.E.M. also had the opportunity to revisit the album creatively with their longtime producer, Scott Litt. Litt, who struggled with the original mix, recalls, "I had told the band through the years that if there was ever a chance to take another shot at mixing the album, I wanted to do it." Now, 25 years later, he's had the chance, and the results are striking. On some songs, according to Perpetua, Litt's work features "Entirely different vocal takes and instrumental parts that were either buried or excised from the original album mix." Mills adds, "I think as he listened to it over the years, he began to hear a different way to realize those songs." Ultimately, with this reissue, fans will not only have the opportunity to re-discover Monster but also, perhaps, see the album in a completely new light.

25th Anniversary Expanded Edition
180-gram vinyl 2LP
Original LP remastered by Greg Calibi at Sterling Sound from the original analog master
Special 2019 remix LP from original producer Scott Litt
Reimagined cover art by longtime R.E.M. designer Chris Bilheimer


Side A:
1. What's The Frequency, Kenneth?
2. Crush With Eyeliner
3. King Of Comedy
4. I Don't Sleep, I Dream
5. Star 69
6. Strange Currencies

Side B:
1. Tongue
2. Bang And Blame
3. I Took Your Name
4. Let Me In
5. Circus Envy
6. You

Side C:
1. What's The Frequency, Kenneth? (Remix)
2. Crush With Eyeliner (Remix)
3. King Of Comedy (Remix)
4. I Don't Sleep, I Dream (Remix)
5. Star 69 (Remix)
6. Strange Currencies (Remix)

Side D:
1. Tongue (Remix)
2. Bang And Blame (Remix)
3. I Took Your Name (Remix)
4. Let Me In (Remixed)
5. Circus Envy (Remix)
6. You (Remix)

Be the first to write a review for this item OR just rate it