Carriers are reporting longer-than-normal shipping times. Acoustic Sounds is not responsible for in-transit delays.

Townes Van Zandt - Sky Blue


Fat Possum



Product No.:
AFAT 70619
UPC: 767981170619
In Stock

180 Gram Vinyl Record

180 Gram LP

or Add to Wishlist


180-gram vinyl

Solo acoustic performances!

Eleven unreleased recordings composed of two new songs, a reworked "Blue Ridge Mtns. and more!

A new posthumous collection by one of the greatest singer-songwriters ever reared in the state of Texas, Townes Van Zandt, is due out on March 7. The first pre-release from Sky Blue, a collection of mostly consisting of 1973 demos of Van Zandt songs which have been released in other versions (including "Pancho & Lefty" and "Rex's Blues") and covers, is out today.

"All I Need," a simple, melancholic strummer, is one of two previously unheard songs from the album. It's a must-hear for fans-definitely of the caliber of the songs that Van Zandt did release on studio albums during his lifetime. There are plenty of poetic, Townes-ish turns of phrase here: "Breath turns to melody/All I need gonna fall away like dreams."

Sky Blue marks the fifth Townes Van Zandt release since his death in 1997. The last collection was 2013's Sunshine Boy: The Unheard Studio Sessions & Demos 1971-1972.



1. All I Need
2. Rex’s Blues
3. Hills of Roane County
4. Sky Blue
5. Forever For Always For Certain
6. Blue Ridge Mountain Blues (Smoky Version)
7. Pancho and Lefty
8. Snake Song
9. Silver Ships of Andilar
10. Dream Spider
11. The Last Thing On My Mind

Be the first to write a review for this item OR just rate it